When will we get gigabit internet?

vandechrome
post Sep 15 2015, 02:35 PM

^^^^^^^
4,016 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ Sep 12 2015, 02:30 PM)
In 2006, our scientists reveal they found how to use electric cable for internet link. They claim the speed can reach 1gb. But it end up with no support from our government to commercialize this service. TM will not survive if this technology to be implemented by others.

I heard, that technology has been sold to isp on china and Indonesia.
need to consider the maintenance cost as well by using cables. Copper cable is said could allow access up to 1GB/s as well, but how far can we lay the cable and factoring the db loss in each km?

there's a lot of factors why the internet in Malaysia seem like no progress at all.

1) local authority approval when telco want to penetrate new areas. cannot dig here lah, there lah..,
2) high cost to do open trenching. what i hear it can cause nearly a million for 1km of trenching.
3) we mostly depending on external contents. hence increasing the cost price to get traffic from US, UK etc.

0.0191sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:13 PM