When will we get gigabit internet?
TSgaleclearwater
Sep 11 2015, 01:16 AM, updated 11y ago
I try not to concede to the fact that Singapore, our noisy neighbour, is doing so much better than us, but sometimes, we just have to admit that we are losing out in all areas. Be it political stability, wealth, infrastructure, we have nothing that we can honestly say we're proud of. Singapore is set to offer internet speeds of 2 Gbps, which will make them the second country to offer such a service, while we lag laughably behind at 100 mbps. Even internet speeds of 1 Gbps, something that Singapore has offered since around two years ago, has dipped in price and it's now approximately 50 SGD a month, which roughly translates to 150 MYR (based on recent exchange rates), and our 100 mbps internet is being offered by most ISPs at prices of nearing 400 MYR. I am disenchanted by many things about this country, and I have considered many times whether or not I should just hand my passport back to the people who call themselves our government.
My question is WHEN will we stop playing catch-up and start acting like we want to become a first-world nation for a change? How hard is it to actually implement internet speeds of 1 Gbps with low latency? If we have no competency in the implementation of it, how hard is it to actually outsource the work to established companies like Singtel? Hell, Singtel is starting to roll out their internet service in Thailand, and sooner or later, Thailand is going to surpass us, mark my words, even Indonesia is already on their way. The issue now is not how we can make sure we're still in the game, but why are we not in it. People complain all the time that Malaysia is a gone case but the fact is the government is not the only one to be blamed. When was the last time people talk about Malaysians as being hardworking? I know Singaporeans are known for that, why can't we be known for that as well? I see thousands of people who are more willing to take their lives easy than be productive for the sake of the economy and country. I can't even go one month without having my internet disconnected because of accidents during roadworks. We are an endless supply of corrupt individuals and we have no shame in doing so. We blame the government, but we're no better ourselves. Contractors cut corners by using subpar material for civil construction and we always end up with subpar infrastructure. When are we gonna walk out of this illusion that Malaysia is in a safe state in the ever-progressing world?
WHEN WILL WE GET GIGABIT INTERNET?
ShadowR1
Sep 11 2015, 01:30 AM
The tech is way there, there's reason why its not.
This post has been edited by ShadowR1: Sep 11 2015, 01:31 AM
kyogre
Sep 11 2015, 01:33 AM

GbBit internet not long, but AFFORDABLE GbBit.... never
scamboy
Sep 11 2015, 01:36 AM

There's 1Gbps in KL, limited areas and it cost around RM1k per month.
Q-C
Sep 11 2015, 10:00 AM
ask not what the country can do for you. ask what you can do for your country.
The peoples perspective is quite narrow. Why not try to do something instead of complaining and ranting here
DonMe
Sep 11 2015, 10:26 AM

What to do when the infra is provided by TM, unless the companies willing to spend billions of ringgits to lay another backbone, then can easily see 1gbps or upcoming 10gbps faster.
Q-C
Sep 11 2015, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(DonMe @ Sep 11 2015, 10:26 AM) What to do when the infra is provided by TM, unless the companies willing to spend billions of ringgits to lay another backbone, then can easily see 1gbps or upcoming 10gbps faster. +1
Danath
Sep 11 2015, 02:45 PM

Singapore small area. Cheap to lay fiber. Malaysia so big.
ohtheirony
Sep 11 2015, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(DonMe @ Sep 11 2015, 10:26 AM) What to do when the infra is provided by TM, unless the companies willing to spend billions of ringgits to lay another backbone, then can easily see 1gbps or upcoming 10gbps faster. What to do When the fiber project first started, nobody willing to participate Without tm who reluctantly willing, fiber internet is still a dream
boonhan
Sep 12 2015, 09:43 AM
even it available, it will be limited to very less certain area. and as always, cost never be cheap.
capoi
Sep 12 2015, 02:30 PM
In 2006, our scientists reveal they found how to use electric cable for internet link. They claim the speed can reach 1gb. But it end up with no support from our government to commercialize this service. TM will not survive if this technology to be implemented by others.
I heard, that technology has been sold to isp on china and Indonesia.
DonMe
Sep 15 2015, 01:01 PM

QUOTE(ohtheirony @ Sep 11 2015, 03:59 PM) What to do When the fiber project first started, nobody willing to participate Without tm who reluctantly willing, fiber internet is still a dream Actually can be done, but to dig the roads in Malaysia, have to go through tons of depts to seek approval. Also definitely the costs will be super high. If fiber can go nation wide, first 5 years will see the price hovering above 200~300rm/mth, after that then it will come down to 100+rm.
vandechrome
Sep 15 2015, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(capoi @ Sep 12 2015, 02:30 PM) In 2006, our scientists reveal they found how to use electric cable for internet link. They claim the speed can reach 1gb. But it end up with no support from our government to commercialize this service. TM will not survive if this technology to be implemented by others. I heard, that technology has been sold to isp on china and Indonesia. need to consider the maintenance cost as well by using cables. Copper cable is said could allow access up to 1GB/s as well, but how far can we lay the cable and factoring the db loss in each km? there's a lot of factors why the internet in Malaysia seem like no progress at all. 1) local authority approval when telco want to penetrate new areas. cannot dig here lah, there lah.., 2) high cost to do open trenching. what i hear it can cause nearly a million for 1km of trenching. 3) we mostly depending on external contents. hence increasing the cost price to get traffic from US, UK etc.
Hummingbird
Sep 23 2015, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(Danath @ Sep 11 2015, 02:45 PM) Singapore small area. Cheap to lay fiber. Malaysia so big. It is cheap to expand the network of small area to achieve the same KPI, however, it also means the room of growth (in term of subscription) is also limited. Large area proves to be more challenging to expand but in return, the potential of the market is so much more dynamic and optimistic. Invest more also means they receive more from renenue too.
fireballs
Sep 23 2015, 10:49 AM
you can get 1terabit to myix or nearest exchange only, the outgoing pipe would be 100kbps
Zot
Sep 23 2015, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(galeclearwater @ Sep 11 2015, 01:16 AM) I try not to concede to the fact that Singapore, our noisy neighbour, is doing so much better than us, but sometimes, we just have to admit that we are losing out in all areas. Be it political stability, wealth, infrastructure, we have nothing that we can honestly say we're proud of. Singapore is set to offer internet speeds of 2 Gbps, which will make them the second country to offer such a service, while we lag laughably behind at 100 mbps. Even internet speeds of 1 Gbps, something that Singapore has offered since around two years ago, has dipped in price and it's now approximately 50 SGD a month, which roughly translates to 150 MYR (based on recent exchange rates), and our 100 mbps internet is being offered by most ISPs at prices of nearing 400 MYR. I am disenchanted by many things about this country, and I have considered many times whether or not I should just hand my passport back to the people who call themselves our government. My question is WHEN will we stop playing catch-up and start acting like we want to become a first-world nation for a change? How hard is it to actually implement internet speeds of 1 Gbps with low latency? If we have no competency in the implementation of it, how hard is it to actually outsource the work to established companies like Singtel? Hell, Singtel is starting to roll out their internet service in Thailand, and sooner or later, Thailand is going to surpass us, mark my words, even Indonesia is already on their way. The issue now is not how we can make sure we're still in the game, but why are we not in it. People complain all the time that Malaysia is a gone case but the fact is the government is not the only one to be blamed. When was the last time people talk about Malaysians as being hardworking? I know Singaporeans are known for that, why can't we be known for that as well? I see thousands of people who are more willing to take their lives easy than be productive for the sake of the economy and country. I can't even go one month without having my internet disconnected because of accidents during roadworks. We are an endless supply of corrupt individuals and we have no shame in doing so. We blame the government, but we're no better ourselves. Contractors cut corners by using subpar material for civil construction and we always end up with subpar infrastructure. When are we gonna walk out of this illusion that Malaysia is in a safe state in the ever-progressing world? WHEN WILL WE GET GIGABIT INTERNET? It is not that we have no knowledge, but the cost of implementing and when is the ROI since adoption rate is not high. To reach most population it is costly. Singapore is small place. All the country income just go to small island. So, how to expect Malaysia catching up in infrastructure that fast.
OKLY
Sep 24 2015, 01:03 PM
The Penguin Vader
Before even thinking of gigabit, the first step is making at least 100mbps a norm for broadband in Malaysia and increasing the international bandwidth.
kenhng
Sep 24 2015, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(DonMe @ Sep 11 2015, 10:26 AM) What to do when the infra is provided by TM, unless the companies willing to spend billions of ringgits to lay another backbone, then can easily see 1gbps or upcoming 10gbps faster. +1