A Used MPV with Less Problem & Maintance, Budget Around Rm20k,Less Den 8 Yrs Car

TSStr33tBoY
post Sep 8 2015, 04:05 AM, updated 11y ago

1,874 posts

as topic,i am finding a used MPV to ferry my things actually...
i nid a 5 seater place to put my clean things,& a big boot for my dirty things...
so thinking an MPV would suit wat i am looking for...
wana ask sifu here can guide or suggest me wat to get?
btw,i am travelling average of around 50km daily...
i did look into some model...
best if it is under 1600 cc...

1)toyata avanza(1.5) = dis car would fit into wat i nid nicely,low maintainance & less problem,but d ride is awful,terrible & horrible...

2)proton exora = quite an comfy rite,but a lot of problem,and also high maintainance(can become a gd weekend holiday ride)

hopefully there r other option go look around,mainly for work purpose,to fetch big things around...
thx in advance...
Khai RULE
post Sep 8 2015, 09:43 AM

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Sep 8 2015, 04:05 AM)
i nid a 5 seater place to put my clean things,& a big boot for my dirty things...
1)toyata avanza(1.5) = dis car would fit into wat i nid nicely,low maintainance & less problem,but d ride is awful,terrible & horrible...

2)proton exora = quite an comfy rite,but a lot of problem,and also high maintainance(can become a gd weekend holiday ride)

hopefully there r other option go look around,mainly for work purpose,to fetch big things around...
thx in advance...
Can you share what is the problem of Exora based on your assumption? ad whre can get exora for 20k?

This post has been edited by Khai RULE: Sep 8 2015, 09:44 AM
Deja Vu
post Sep 8 2015, 10:10 AM

1,863 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Sep 8 2015, 04:05 AM)

hopefully there r other option go look around, mainly for work purpose,to fetch big things around...
thx in advance...
Avanza manual or Unser manual/diesel. Solid FR layout with ladder chassis will be good for load hauling and maintenance, but with expense of some levels of comfort.

Other more comfort based option is d Suzuki ERV but that's powered by a 1.3L engine n auto only; and the more logical sense (on paper) 1.4 Renault Kangoo.

Or you can consider the original people/goods mover - vans. 20K should list out plenty of 1.6 Rusa, and Vanette.

Btw, are used Exoras really below 20K now?
jeffW
post Sep 8 2015, 10:29 AM

149 posts

I 2nd Suzuki ARV. Low maintenance n durable.

kww
post Sep 8 2015, 02:23 PM

320 posts

Perodua Rusa, can get below 5k.

This post has been edited by kww: Sep 8 2015, 02:23 PM
TSStr33tBoY
post Sep 8 2015, 04:40 PM

1,874 posts

Exora a lot of ecu problem,like error lights alwaz on suddenly,den nid to go to sc to check or reset...
Maintainance wise is around rm1k when d cvt oil change...
Market price should be around rm40k - rm50k depends on specs & year...
But exora is d best budget mpv dat offers comfort compare to other...
So dis would be my last option if can't find anithing rite...
Currently more lean towards avanza as a work horse...
With tight budget...

Thx for d suggestion,but would prefer an mpv more den a van,as sometimes i do nid to drive d car for outing also,i mean as my secondary car...
SleeplessEyes
post Sep 8 2015, 07:30 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Sep 8 2015, 04:40 PM)
Exora a lot of ecu problem,like error lights alwaz on suddenly,den nid to go to sc to check or reset...
Maintainance wise is around rm1k when d cvt oil change...
Market price should be around rm40k - rm50k depends on specs & year...
But exora is d best budget mpv dat offers comfort compare to other...
So dis would be my last option if can't find anithing rite...
Currently more lean towards avanza as a work horse...
With tight budget...

Thx for d suggestion,but would prefer an mpv more den a van,as sometimes i do nid to drive d car for outing also,i mean as my secondary car...
RM 20k wont get you near to even Exora CPS manual version.
The things above you are condemning about " Exora a lot of ecu problem,like error lights alwaz on suddenly,den nid to go to sc to check or reset...
Maintainance wise is around rm1k when d cvt oil change..." , is the Exora Turbo version. Its not that terrible as you think.
If you feel Exora is super-unreliable, I suggest you go check out Proton Exora Bold Owners comments -> Here

And also Exora and Avanza are both different class of MPV.

If I were you with such limited budget, its either Avanza, or a used Perodua Kembara DVVT version
riezzien
post Sep 8 2015, 07:36 PM

107 posts

Where got exora can get 20k.
and where got exora very troublesome.
I am not proton macais but I donno mang, where u get all these info?

But since u bajet so ciput..u can get :
1) Toyota Unser : famous among pasar malam businessman.
2) Nissan Serena first gen.
3) Nissan Vannete
SpoiledKid
post Sep 8 2015, 07:54 PM

25 posts

Ur budget so low, yet complaint many.. U want good mpv with 20k, either old like u complain awful or new lemon unit
SpoiledKid
post Sep 8 2015, 07:55 PM

25 posts

Or you mean 20k dp
Kirie
post Sep 8 2015, 08:00 PM

30k get nissan serena
netmatrix
post Sep 8 2015, 08:07 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

RM20K gets you old vans. Something like Rusa, Hijet, Liteace, Vanette, Bongo some Korean SUV, some station wagons.

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Sep 8 2015, 08:07 PM
arza04
post Sep 8 2015, 08:09 PM

303 posts

Exora cps the warning light lit up mostly because of the faulty abs sensor only, and rm20k is not enough for an exora btw
TSStr33tBoY
post Sep 8 2015, 08:10 PM

1,874 posts

of coz i know exora can't get around 20k,if exora i would top-up to 50k...
and d problem i for exora cfe & i have go through d thread & yet still a lot ppl complain about d error lights...
for CPS i am not sure though,as if exora would probably got for a cfe one...
as stated,up to 8 year old car...
can suggest me like nissan serena with 30k...
i will go to look into it for more details...
arza04
post Sep 8 2015, 08:16 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Sep 8 2015, 08:10 PM)
of coz i know exora can't get around 20k,if exora i would top-up to 50k...
and d problem i for exora cfe & i have go through d thread & yet still a lot ppl complain about d error lights...
for CPS i am not sure though,as if exora would probably got for a cfe one...
as stated,up to 8 year old car...
can suggest me like nissan serena with 30k...
i will go to look into it for more details...
Lols, stay away from the exora cfe.. my unit so many issues. Luckily everything settled and fix within warranty period sweat.gif

protonstradale
post Sep 8 2015, 08:53 PM

18 posts

My father in law juat bought unser 2002 rn 18k. 1.8l manual. Suit ur budget.
kadajawi
post Sep 9 2015, 08:38 AM

544 posts

The Rusa has a TERRIBLE ride. I drove a (badly maintained) one, and it was scary as hell even at low speeds! No complaints about the 1.6 with manual box, the stick is way too long, but it has quite some power. Very spacious too.

If you want good ride quality... Renault Kangoo. Easily beats the Myvi, Saga, Alza, Vios, City and probably many more for comfort, front and back. In places where others slow down a lot I don't, the suspension just eats it up. I've been in other cars, and since then I can understand why they slow down. In a Rusa those bits could even cause you to lose control of the car. The Kangoo feels like a normal hatchback or sedan that happens to have a really high roof and a wonderful sliding door for easy entry. No more bending down to enter the car.

It has a really big boot, and if you can find one in a good condition and maintain it properly (not too expensive IMHO) it'll also serve you well (and not too expensive). If you get a thrashed ex-company car, then prepare the lube, this is going to hurt.

Big issue to me is the automatic gearbox though, I have a rather fast and furious driving style, but while my Renault Kangoo 1.4 with 75 hp consumes roughly 10-12 liter per 100 km. In comparison my Citroen Xsara 1.4, again 75 hp, but 5 speed manual, consumes 6-7 liter. Even when I was driving almost full throttle/full throttle for a long time, doing 150-170 it hardly got over 7 liter. (Granted it is much more aerodynamic).
askm3
post Sep 9 2015, 09:33 AM

382 posts

Manual Toyota Unser is best suits your budget & requirements.

Low maintenance, low fuel consumption, huge boot space.

Only requirement that doesn't meet is below 1600cc.

But of course when u carries big and assuming heavy stuffs, you should have more power to move your car.
TSStr33tBoY
post Sep 10 2015, 12:38 AM

1,874 posts

Citreon Xsara nice to drive? Will look into it den...

For d unser,how much is d fc? See like it's a good ride to me also...
kadajawi
post Sep 10 2015, 02:29 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Sep 10 2015, 12:38 AM)
Citreon Xsara nice to drive? Will look into it den...

For d unser,how much is d fc? See like it's a good ride to me also...
The Xsara is a C segment hatchback, think Golf. I like mine a lot, though mine is the facelifted car that underwent some suspension etc. tweaks. This particular model never made it to Malaysia, the pre-FL car did.

My recommendation is the Kangoo, but it really can go both ways. Easy-ish to maintain or nightmare. But in terms of driving it is miles ahead of the usual suspects, being based on a B segment conti. It's a Clio with a higher roof and a bit stretched. The new Kangoo is a more mature and grown up car (Megane Scenic, a C segment MPV is the basis), but that never made it to Malaysia.

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Sep 10 2015, 02:54 AM

0.0156sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:15 PM