The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V8, V8 POWAHHHHH!

westlife
post Nov 11 2018, 12:23 AM

14,235 posts

the iphone 6 plus screen still look superb even after 4 years++ now.

thanks to the 1920x1080-pixel resolution at 401 ppi.
westlife
post Nov 11 2018, 02:50 PM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(WA300 @ Nov 11 2018, 01:45 PM)
Lucky you, my i6 plus started having issues... sad.gif
what problem. Is it the TOP left corner got distortion? Like a small corner of the screen gone?
westlife
post Nov 11 2018, 03:29 PM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(WA300 @ Nov 11 2018, 02:54 PM)
More serious than that, the famous multi touch issue. If send back to Apple for repair, the cost is about 700...

Today just ordered a XR, still thinking what should I do with i6 plus 😁
if multi touch prob I got this is covered under repair program?
westlife
post Nov 11 2018, 03:52 PM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(WA300 @ Nov 11 2018, 03:50 PM)
Yes. It’s under Apple’s repair program, but in US, the cost is usd 149 and in Malaysia, it’s about RM 700 now. This repair program is valid for 5 years from the launch of i6.

I heard they will give a new refurbished set, not so sure.
Ic. If that’s the case maybe can consider to fix also.just use as spare phone maybe. The iPhone 6 should be able to last another 1 to 2 years minimally for normal usage.
westlife
post Nov 11 2018, 04:08 PM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(WA300 @ Nov 11 2018, 04:02 PM)
Normally I would sell off or trade in for new phone, don’t really keep phones as spare. This time maybe have to keep it as spare.

I6 plus actually a good phone even a 4 years old phone. The only drawback is the 1gb ram, which might not be sufficient in the future.
yes 1GB ram is the only bottleneck now. Sometimes play game will cause unexpected shut down of the app.
westlife
post Nov 11 2018, 07:15 PM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(WA300 @ Nov 11 2018, 05:43 PM)
Ya. The GPU outdated by the standard now. But for those casual games, still ok. Graphic intensive game, will feel the lag.
yeah. So I think it will be a good phones to parents or other family members who do not have much computing needs.
westlife
post Nov 12 2018, 07:24 AM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 12 2018, 06:48 AM)
Actually I tried passing my 6 Plus to my mum back in the day but she said it was too big. She's happy with her 5S now (which is also running great on iOS 12.1) smile.gif
hahaha. Ic. Then iPhone se also will suits her. 😜
westlife
post Nov 12 2018, 08:39 AM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 12 2018, 07:44 AM)
Ya, that will be her upgrade path should the 5S eventually dies laugh.gif
Ya. But too bad now no more se in selling by Apple. Can only source remaining stocks at authorised dealer or 2nd hand.

Anyway se is already more than 2.5 years old. May not be worthwhile to get anymore unless the price is really Low.

I recalled that Apple had not dropped the pricing for se even at the second year. Seems like it already hits the lowest possible price for Apple.
westlife
post Nov 12 2018, 09:01 AM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 12 2018, 08:50 AM)
Yeah, has to be a second hand one or a refurbished one by the time my mum's 5S dies off, haha... It's a pity they discontinued it, a lot of people actually liked the 6S' internals in the SE's form factor smile.gif
Yeah. Correct. It is as powerful as 6s this is a plus point at the time of launch, quite similar to the situation of XR now.

I bought the se becos I missed to purchase any iphone 5 or 5s previously. But I like the design so buying to keep haha.
westlife
post Nov 18 2018, 10:59 PM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 16 2018, 08:55 AM)
New sets of iPhone 6 and 6S Plus are still available at some retail stores or online platforms. During the 11.11 sale I saw an iPhone 6 32GB going for RM999 while the 6s Plus 32GB was going for RM1569 or something like that. The retail prices are RM1099 and RM1699 accordingly. Maybe can wait till 12.12 and check it out.
Very good deal man.

bro, do update here if u see any good deals again haha.
westlife
post Nov 19 2018, 08:40 AM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 19 2018, 08:40 AM)
Huh? Why would you still wanna look for good deals on iPhone 6 and 6s? Hahaha...
Haha. maybe phones for my parents or... haha
westlife
post Nov 19 2018, 02:15 PM

14,235 posts

just changed my case to this one. Feel very nice. Ultra hybrid is still the best model of cases by Spigen.

westlife
post Nov 19 2018, 04:25 PM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Nov 19 2018, 02:23 PM)
where to buy bro?
i bought from spigen lion city online website.
westlife
post Nov 20 2018, 07:16 AM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Nov 20 2018, 12:26 AM)
link to website bro. where is the spigen lion city?
https://www.spigen.com.sg/store/uh-2828.html

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 20 2018, 07:12 AM)
Hope you didn't pay too much for it... iPhone 6/6 Plus cases can be bought much cheaper at warehouse sales these days smile.gif
i bought it at SGD19.90. Is it a good deal?

westlife
post Nov 20 2018, 08:15 AM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 20 2018, 07:20 AM)
Ok la, one for one, don't convert to RM, then it's fine smile.gif
Wow. bolehland only sells it at rm19.90?

where to get it?

Now I realised that I had two consistent gestures I always tried to do it on my iPhone 6 Plus nowadays. One is to swipe up (return to home screen), the other one is to tape to wake up the screen. 😜

This post has been edited by westlife: Nov 20 2018, 08:19 AM
westlife
post Nov 20 2018, 11:23 AM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 20 2018, 09:36 AM)
No la, usually when I go for those warehouse sales can see old Spigen cases going for around RM30-RM50.
Ic. haha.

Becos this price I bought is also clearance price on the lion city spigen website. 😜
westlife
post Dec 5 2018, 09:05 AM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 26 2018, 08:11 AM)
iOS 12 offers better performance on the iPhone 6 compared to iOS 11 (theoretically, that is). Anyway, I have a couple of colleagues still using the 6 Plus and they both agreed that iOS 12 is much better than iOS 11 - slightly faster and a whole lot more stable. Hence don't see any reason not to update.
I am still using iOS 10.3.3 the last iOS 10 version.

My phone still works like charm. It is still Super smooth, sometimes I cannot even believe that it is already 4 years old phone now.

Will not upgrade to any newer iOS to Ensure that my user experience of this phone does not change until the phone retires.
westlife
post Dec 5 2018, 04:48 PM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Dec 5 2018, 12:43 PM)
Yup, 10.3.3 was stable, the whole of 11 is like a disaster. 12.1 has been good, even on my Mum’s 5S. Maybe you can try it just before your phone retires.
haha. probably will not becos the 10.3.3 is really good. dun fix it if it is not broken. hahaha.
westlife
post Dec 6 2018, 08:45 AM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Dec 6 2018, 06:14 AM)
That was Toyota's mantra before they got done in by Honda in Malaysia, hahaha...

I'm the exact opposite though, I always update to the latest iOS version as soon as it becomes available. Downloading 12.1.1 now smile.gif
Normally I will just update my any iPhones to only one more iOS version than the stock one. IPhone 6 Plus comes with stock iOS 9, that’s why now it is on iOS 10.

My iPhone X will be the same. After iOS 12, I will not upgrade to iOS 13 anymore. Haha.

But of course by September next year I will switch to the latest iPhone and my iPhone X will become my secondary phone and iPhone 6 Plus will retire and become spare phone. 😜

But seriously still love the screen size of 6 plus, prefer to use it more for web surfing than X.
westlife
post Mar 7 2019, 10:45 PM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(RoastedChicken @ Mar 5 2019, 08:58 PM)
Happen to my iphone recently after updated the IOS 12 from IOS 10. Sometimes i need zoom in zoom out only responsive. even keypad lagggg delay few seconds which is annoying
This is the reason why my iPhone 6 Plus is still on iOS 10. Super smooth even for a 5 years old phone. Hahaha.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0521sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:07 AM