[Worklog] Project:Black Fire, 56k beware, WaterCooling Pics Up, 31 Dec 2007

TSlolhalol
post Nov 20 2006, 11:30 AM, updated 18y ago

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

teh mod is curently at this stage

Hey, This is my second mod project. Anyway some info bout the mod, first the case , a 0408-sl i cute aka Aerocool Jetmaster(Aerocool)
secondly a list of things to do:-
1)Cut out mobo tray holes for cable management
2)Make the cd-drive bays shorter
3)cutout the floppy bays
4) make a mounting plate for a double 120mm radiator
5)make divider plate between power supply and the rest of the components
6)paint interior black as well exterior, but with flame stencils on all sides.
7)remove front panel
8)make new front and top panels out of acrylic
9)get case ready for water cooling

heres a list of my current hardware:-
AMD Athlon 64(939) 4000+ Clawhamer (FX-53 Core)
DFI UT NF4-Ultra D
mushkin enhance memory Level2 DDR3500 (old skool bh-5)
HIS X1650Pro 256DDR3
FSP Epsilon 600wtt(RMA), Currently Acbel 390WT
80Gb Pata WD Caviar
LG H220N DVD-RW(coming soon) Currently OEM IBM DVD-rom

Cooling:-
Swiftech Storm g5 Rev.2 (coming Soon) currently i have a whitewatter sitting in front of me,bt using stock hsf.
Swiftech MCP655 aka Laing D5 and a Nirox p2800
Swiftech MCR220
Swiftech MCRES-Micro
Swiftech Hydrx
alright enough with the words, lets start with the pictures.

first i went to my local hardware store to get some supplies bout Rm100 worth.
Heres a list:-
11 cans or Spray Paint (Nippon brand)-3 Tangerine,2 Flat black, 3 Gloss black, 3 Clear Coats
4 Rolls of 1 1/2" Masking tape/Painters tape
6 Rolls of 1/4" masking tape /painters tape
1 Roll of 1 1/2" Double sided tape(thick)
1 Roll of 1/4" Double sided tape(thin)
100pcs of 1/2" x 1/2" Pop Rivets
1 Hand Riverter
1 Hacksaw blade
1 800 Grit wet/dry sandpaper
1 1500 grit wet/dry sandpaper
1 1/2L Paint Remover
1 Pair of Rubber Gloves
1 Dust Mask
30pcs of tack cloth

user posted imageheres the case to be modded.

this is a server cube i got for free, dam this thing is heavy as it is large, whole thins is constructed out of 2mm thick steel. Look at the comparison between the case and the spray can.

user posted imagebt it has a lot of metal i can use.

user posted imageits an old server from a printing company.

the case needs to be striped down first so after 160(i counted) rivets drilled out
we have a pile of junk metal on one side, a clean chassis on the other.

user posted image]
theres lots more metal but it couldn't fit the box ....

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Jan 1 2008, 10:44 AM
TSlolhalol
post Nov 20 2006, 11:31 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

while de-riverting the case a drill bit broke, snaped actually, with half the drill bit still in the rivet...

then i got a knock on the door and a big brown box was delivered to me, biggrin.gif biggrin.gif some of my wc stuffs has arrived.

sorry for the blur pic's, using a sony clie camera..

anyway went to ace hardware n got this
a spray gun ....it really helps with the painting...
wait n c the pics...updates coming on wednesday.....

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Nov 29 2006, 05:23 PM
ResQ
post Nov 20 2006, 12:44 PM

1,039 posts

spray gun tu nak guna macam mana ya?
TSlolhalol
post Nov 20 2006, 12:54 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

u attach to the spray can and just use like a gun....
theres a tab that presses down on the nozzle ...
yuka
post Nov 20 2006, 01:16 PM

ヾ(\ ̄ー ̄)
2,265 posts

how much for this? anyway, nippon is good brand?
11 cans or Spray Paint (Nippon brand)
gonna buy it too tongue.gif...

*ur mother in 3rd pics? LOLx
TSlolhalol
post Nov 20 2006, 01:31 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

bro dats my grandma..neway how much for wat ?the gun?thast 15bucks if im not mistaken... yeah nippon is good...man u havent heard of nippon the house paint brand? same company....
styloe
post Nov 20 2006, 02:21 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

nice stuff there i keep track on this thread.cant wait to see the final product...
WC kitt sweet...since the casing is huge.Maybe wan side will be the WC kit perhaps?
TSlolhalol
post Nov 20 2006, 04:24 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

@styloe
bro beware dat the big casing will nt be the final product, the icute uc in the first post , thats the one... common misconception..neway i got some work done just now, updates in a minute
TSlolhalol
post Nov 20 2006, 05:00 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

here we go....

first i wanted to strip the paint before i started cutting

heres the cap ayam paint remover...

the panels laid out ready for some stripping action whistling.gif whistling.gif

i forgot to buy a brush so i had to use my hands to spread the fluid around, i swear u dun wan to try this at home, paint stripper burns man....
all spread out

user posted image]
almost there, the paint becomes like wrinkly then u can use a scraper and scrape it off...of the panel there is after 3 coats of flat black.... almost the whole can is finish di coz i painted the other side to...

this is after some wet sanding with 800grit on the panel with the window, the other panel is waiting for some bondo to cover up the icute logo whistling.gif whistling.gif ...

time to paint
my tool of choice.. can gun.... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

my painting area...neway so sorry no close ups coz my camera battery suddenly gave up on me shouting put me back on the charging dock,,,.... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Nov 29 2006, 04:57 PM
TSlolhalol
post Nov 20 2006, 05:13 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

while waiting for my paint to dry.. i took one of the big side panels and started to mask it up... after 3/4 of a roll we have this

all taped up...

the white paper u c is actually a template i got from acryan.Templates
they help me line up the holes for the radiator....

holes drilled and filled

all prepped for cutting....

here is my cutting desk, my drill and my angle grinder..u can call this my work space..

cutting the outlines....very slow work because i didn't want to over cut...
after bout an hour later we have this....

cutting out the floppy bays....

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Nov 29 2006, 05:59 PM
TSlolhalol
post Nov 20 2006, 05:17 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

then cutting a big hole in the mobo tray for cable management....
then disaster struck when i was half way through.. the cutting disc i was using on my angle grinder shattered, spitting the broken pieces at mach1 all over the place... luckily i wasn't hit sweat.gif sweat.gif cool.gif
but when i thought it couldn't get worse the angle grinder got jammed and i couldn't remove the center part of the broken blade... so no more cutting for me for now... maybe ill just get a dremel...

but in the end i manged to get it cut anyway....

after some sawing and filling we have this

the radiator mounting plate.. i know it is not straight whistling.gif bt it fits and no one is going to see it anyway once I'm done....

here we go testing with two fans... perfect fit.. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Nov 29 2006, 05:59 PM
TSlolhalol
post Nov 20 2006, 05:33 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

k here we go again...riveting the case back together...
cdbay
heres the rad plate mounted on....

another shot of it......

test fitting to c whether the rivets can hold....n it does...

[user posted image
final shot for today... did so much work since morning 6 am non stop..u can literaly c my hand shaking ..look at the pic how shaky.......tired like a B****....

neway want to try n c whether i can cut this .... without rotary tools....(looks up to the sky praying for icon_question.gif )

comments as usual are always welcome....tell me wat u think... constructive criticism is always good....now time to go play nfs carbon..finnaly ariived my pre order kit.... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

p/s again so sorry for the lousy pictures... im gonna get a sony cybershot ...Sony

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Nov 29 2006, 06:02 PM
Kataro
post Nov 20 2006, 05:35 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

Nice job there bro... biggrin.gif
ianho
post Nov 20 2006, 10:07 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

All posts containing n regarding vandalism have been deleted. We are not interested in n do not condone vandalism n destruction of public property while modding. Please be responsible while modding.

This post has been edited by ianho: Nov 20 2006, 10:11 PM
ResQ
post Nov 20 2006, 10:18 PM

1,039 posts

bro spray gun tu senang nak cari ke? kalau nak beli kat kedai cat mesti ada kan? mahal tak? senang tak nak guna dia?
tyrion4
post Nov 20 2006, 11:01 PM

277 posts

Woah, I hope you had a pair of safety glasses on. Glad you're okay though.
Criptonox89
post Nov 20 2006, 11:08 PM

2,792 posts

Bro....i was wondering does your tools suitable for case modding? how about rounded corner cutting?

besides...nice beginning bro....so much updates...keeps it up....
bombman
post Nov 21 2006, 02:02 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

After being directed 2 look into dis thread by many forumers, so I came. Initially I thought dis ppl just buat lawak... tongue.gif

But I'm really shocked 2 find out wht 'd happened; malapetaka besar. Luckily nothin' happened 2 u dude rclxub.gif

How could hav the drill bit broke¿? Unless it was really cheapo, unreliable brand. I strongly advise u 2 invest in high-quality HSS ones

2nd, why didnt use the scrapper 2 spread the Paint Stripper instead? Wht u hav done is vry unsafe

And, I think the angle grinder wheel not suitable w/ the tool's speed or again, it's useless brand, or it was wrongly handled. This is a vry² dangerous power tool operating @ high speeds so b xtremely careful; I dont c u wearing goggles after all. I advise better use jigsaw or rotary tool

The shattering pieces might hav rocketed into & caused permanent eye (or any body part) injuries 2 u or any1 inside the home. Pls dont harm urself sweat.gif
TSlolhalol
post Nov 22 2006, 10:04 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

@everyone...
hehe thx for the compliments... yes i was wearing goggles but i didn't want to look like a scuba diver( i was wearing a half face mask..)..wink.gif neway thx for ur concerns as well...yeah im happy im still in one piece as well...lol... anyway sorry brother ian bout the vandalism part....

@res q
bro so far i havent seen at anywhere except acehardware in ikano power mall...near 1 utama... bt yeah its helps out loads and its really easy to use.. just pop it in n start spraying....

@Criptonox89

bro i dun really get wat u mean, bt yeah they work fine for me, just they are more harderr to get perfect cuts.... bt they are muich faster.... anyway for round corner cutting i use a 30mm hole saw and the rest u can guess,,,

@bombman
haha bro u sound like my dad..lol... neway i was using hss ones, bt i think after bout 150+ rivets non stop the thing got so hot it expanded, and when u move the bit around u tend to bend it so i think dtas y lah...dun worry bout the paint remover , thats the l;ast time, i thinkl... anyway updates coming right up... u loading now...
bro
TSlolhalol
post Nov 22 2006, 10:58 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

k as u saw in the first thread.... i had a swiftech mcres-miro with me... n was deciding where to mount it...i decided to mount it near the pci slots... as this case is inverted it is also the highest int in the loop(well almost) coz the rad is bout 2 mm taller....bt if i wanted to mount it there i would need to fabricate the mounting bracket...so here goes....
heres the reservoir, to me its the best ever design.... user friendly n good erformance with low pressure drop...
thats where i plan to mount it...

here i manage to get a aluminum l bar which will donate bout 5 inches of it self for my bracket.

rclxub.gif back to using hand tools, after my episode with exploding cutting discs, i went back to using hand tools... flex.gif ...

here it is cut, ready to be taped off and drilled...

the ever useful making tape

all taped in it temporary clothes..

drilling, i went slow this time as allu is so soft no broken drill bits this time...

drilled and fillled

test fit and voila, it fits perfectly...

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Nov 29 2006, 06:03 PM

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0263sec    1.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:43 AM