The Rat Thread V1, Come in and join the World of RATSss

adriane_1707
post Oct 6 2008, 04:29 PM

215 posts

I am planning 2 get 2 rat ... 2 bela.. where 2 find.. Help pls

10q, can GP and the fancy rats put in the same room? diff cage!
adriane_1707
post Oct 7 2008, 01:58 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(@nnie @ Oct 7 2008, 01:37 AM)
Hi Adriane. Where is your location? If you're at PJ then you can come over to 'wang wang aquarium shop' here in PJS 8/9 to get them. (Just a blok away from pet shack) But those are feeder rats (same as fancy rats), and there are a new batch of baby rats there now.

Yes, you can put fancy rats and Guinea Pig together in one room different cage. Just remember to change their bedding often to keep them healthy and happy. =)
Welcome Flying Penguin... So nice to have new rats keeper here. This thread is way too quite.

Anyway, like what I answered Adriane, you can come over to 'Wang Wang' to get your rats. I got my Tickle and Milo there too. The new babies they have there now are niece and nephews of my rats. =P
I posted here earlier ago that said Pets Family has fancy rats, I visited their store in Taman Megah a week ago and found out that the fancy rats they kept there are not for sale.  blush.gif  Too bad...
hello.. thanks for the reply.. but i stay in cheras wor.. any shop in kl area? can u guys show me the pix of the cage.. can use the plastic big aquarium that put turtle wan ar?
adriane_1707
post Oct 7 2008, 03:24 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(cblam99 @ Oct 7 2008, 03:49 PM)
u can find it at petaling street if u often go there....got 2 pet shops near there...walk along the street...from pasar seni station....u will find the shop on right side of shop lot there.....zoological pet shop

or midvalley pets wonderland...but d price more expensive than normal pet shop

if u use plastic big aquarium...is good for temporary...coz not good air movement (ventilation)...but for long term..u need find a  suitable cage....hamster cage is ok if u just have 2-3 mice....remember!! buy 2 male or 2 female..if u dun want to breed them...if not...u will  doh.gif ...need more cage for them....

1. Make sure the cage spaces is small enough (1cm-2cm) that mice cannot get out or escape from it..
2. water bottle
3. Solid wheel....wire wheel is not recommended
4. Food bowl
5. Small hide Box (Plastic or seramic) if plan to u wood...need change 2-3 months(Wood will absorb water)

This cage cost how mch? where can i get it? thumbup.gif nice cage.. by the way.. wan 2 ask, one mth hw mch u guy spend for the rat food average?
Nid 2 knw the budget and etc.

what bedding is most popular for the rat? I saw in pet shop they using grey pallet.

This post has been edited by adriane_1707: Oct 7 2008, 03:26 PM
adriane_1707
post Oct 7 2008, 03:41 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(cblam99 @ Oct 7 2008, 04:39 PM)
the cage is around RM30-80 depend on the size of cage...u can find it in pet shops which got sell hamster....

depend on what food u wanna give your rat to eat.....no need high budget for rat food....coz they eat very less per day.....around RM10 per month.....if u give them eat bread...mice like it very much.
Food intake is approximately 15 g per 100 g of body weight per day;
water intake is approximately 15 ml per 100 g of body weight per day
rat n mice like to bite thing...u need provide thing for them to bite....
Thank u ar.. how bt the bedding?
adriane_1707
post Oct 7 2008, 04:02 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(cblam99 @ Oct 7 2008, 04:46 PM)
i normally use A4 paper and newspaper as bedding...save more money...  whistling.gif

if u use pellet...then the cage is not so suitable...cause pellet is smaller than cage spaces...i prefer using paper...they can absorb the smells too....
Gd idea... bt wud its soak and kena stain towards the body?
adriane_1707
post Oct 7 2008, 04:29 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(cblam99 @ Oct 7 2008, 05:24 PM)
first u have to change the paper regularly....so its wont soak and wont kena stain...it wil help to absorb mice pee too....
u put the paper on the floor n bottom of cage....its will absorb mice pee...and u cut some small n long pisces of paper...put some in the hidding box.....
better find a cage that have plastic tray on bottom of cage....so u can easily clean the cage..... icon_rolleyes.gif
thumbup.gif thank you so mch.. do u all ever try sleep wit the rat? did it run away?
adriane_1707
post Oct 7 2008, 04:48 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(cblam99 @ Oct 7 2008, 05:45 PM)
never do like tat......if your mice run into small empty place.... rclxub.gif  u will need time to find them coz u wont know where they hide......and they will pee in your bed......better don't try....i play with them only...put in my hand......when i free only....

if u can train them.......try close your eyes and pretend u r sleeping....  flex.gif ......c what your rat reaction first.......
hahah.. remind me of my gp.. close my eyes she bite me, hahahaa...

I am still curious how u all bring the rat out? do they pee inside pocket?

This post has been edited by adriane_1707: Oct 7 2008, 04:51 PM
adriane_1707
post Oct 8 2008, 01:23 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Oct 7 2008, 07:21 PM)
That cage looks a bit small. Rats can grow quite big so maybe something the size of a medium zoozone or a small dog cage with narrower bars would be better. I have slept with my rats before, I was playing with them and fell asleep once. I woke up and straight panicked! Searched everywhere and found them sleeping under my pillow! lol

I tried putting them on my bed a few times and on the sofa. They don't even show effort to run away, they would rather snuggle under the pillow or under my shirt. biggrin.gif

I used to bring Winter out in my shirt. Yes! My shirt!! tongue.gif She would run around my pants hem and peek out from my collar, even hitch a ride on my shoulder. If I didn't want her on my shirt I would put her in my hand bag. She peeks out once awhile and sleeps inside with my phone and wallet. biggrin.gif

RIP Winter.... sad.gif

Bedding I use WoodyPet as the absorption is very good, it's only the woody smell I have to deal with. Healthypet and Breeder Celect is good too. My friend tried crystal cat litter, apparently it works too, but I prefer not to use as I'm afraid they make eat or chew on it.

Newspaper can stain the fur and tail with ink and isn't very healthy for them if they chew on it. When you do not change the bedding regularly enough, the tail will stain greyish and will really stink.

Annie : I'm not sure what age I bred her because I don't know her birthdate. But she was with me more than 4 months before she bred. smile.gif
when inside the hand bag.. do there ever pee?
adriane_1707
post Oct 10 2008, 11:01 AM

215 posts

so Fascinating.. cant wait 2 get my myself.. the rats... tongue.gif
adriane_1707
post Oct 10 2008, 01:02 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(@nnie @ Oct 10 2008, 01:29 PM)
Can get rats from tikusniaga ma. He said he have some babies there.. =)
They won't attract street rats to you house.. haha... seriously.

I use Chipsi + A4 paper plus + newspaper for my rats bedding. Usually I'll just put in the Chipsi and throw some papers inside for them to play. They'll arrange the papers the way they like. As for the frequency of changing them.. hmm... 6 to 7 days.

Their poo poo doesn't smell but their pee pee smells. But the smell of rat's pee is not as strong as mice's pee.

My rats won't 'poo poo' or 'pee pee' outside their cage. So it's safe to let them roam in my room. The bad thing is they made some holes on few of my favorite shirt la. Now better d, because after all the scolding and grounding, they will not go into my cupboard anymore.

If you're afraid of their poo poo dirtying the cage, you can try toilet train them. Then everyday you can just change the bedding of their toilet only. =)

For the cage, I don't recommend in putting a wheel inside as rats are not like hamsters. They have really long tail that might get stuck when playing with the wheel. And most of all, rats are just too smart to figure out that they are running on a wheel and go no where therefore they probably won't even bother playing. =/
I have make arrangments with tikusniaga aredy, thank you so mch for all the valuable information.

thumbup.gif
adriane_1707
post Oct 10 2008, 01:30 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(@nnie @ Oct 10 2008, 02:21 PM)
Happy keeping your ratties =)... so happy for you. Have you pick names for them? Keep us update ya. =)
Notchet ar......... ANy recommendation...hehehhee...

Long way more coz thinking 2 get it next mth onli rclxm9.gif

adriane_1707
post Oct 10 2008, 01:46 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(TheHacker @ Oct 10 2008, 02:31 PM)
its true that rats love to chew on everything...they r the biggest household destroyer in the world...so must monitor them when they are out of cage to play...if not, u will find some of ur furniture or expensive damage....
What toys do y gv the rats 2 chew on then?
adriane_1707
post Oct 10 2008, 04:49 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(@nnie @ Oct 10 2008, 05:44 PM)
adriane_1707: Are you getting girl girl rat or boy boy rat?? How many are you taking in?

My rats just like to chew clothes and nothing else. Don't know why but they especially enjoy jumping and rolling in piles of clothes. It's cute to see them diving in the laundry basket sometimes. But when see the shirt got lubang of course bengang la. Haha... Anyhow.. the naughty rat will get their punishment for rosak-ing my clothes. Haha...
Still discussing with Tikusniaga on it.. taking one pair. icon_idea.gif

How u punish them ar?teach me.. hehehe wan 2 punish my gp the same way also. she always bite my finger.. walaueh (pain) vmad.gif\

do u mind show me ur Rats pix.... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by adriane_1707: Oct 10 2008, 04:57 PM
adriane_1707
post Oct 10 2008, 05:39 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(@nnie @ Oct 10 2008, 06:16 PM)
Just post their photo. =)

How to punish a? Hmm.. usually I just scold them lo. Or do a loud kissing sound. Haha... don't know how to explain... but they are afraid of kissing sound. Haha... or sometimes I'll catch them and beat their butt. Or if they're playing just put them in their cage and don't let them out.  rclxms.gif 

Hahaha.... I'm evil...
so cute la...... so geram see the two gurls (GURLS kan??)... hehehehehe drool.gif

@nnie one day when i also have my own rATS. we can do outing.. wud be fun rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by adriane_1707: Oct 10 2008, 05:45 PM
adriane_1707
post Oct 11 2008, 09:14 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(@nnie @ Oct 10 2008, 08:01 PM)
Yup... mine are girl girl.. =)

I bring my rats together with me when I travel too. Haha... I always tell them how fortunate they are. Haha... where got rats can travel to so many places wan?  icon_idea.gif You shud see their face when riding in the car. Syok saje..
wah so syiok arr ur rats...................... u put them where when inside the car?
adriane_1707
post Oct 12 2008, 10:56 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(@nnie @ Oct 11 2008, 04:40 PM)
I bring their cage along lo. They'll just sit on their hammock and look outside the window lo.  brows.gif
wah so fun!!! rclxms.gif
adriane_1707
post Oct 13 2008, 11:14 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(tikusniaga @ Oct 13 2008, 10:52 AM)
hahaha.. adriane, very exicted over rats now.  drool.gif  i bet waiting is not easy for her biggrin.gif
hhahha paiseh ar.... wub.gif day and 9t thinking ar... hehehe the fun and the exciting of it.. hahaha
adriane_1707
post Oct 13 2008, 12:39 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(tikusniaga @ Oct 13 2008, 01:30 PM)
End of the month, you will get yours. ... Just hand on there , adriane.
rclxms.gif wah more exciting now.. terima kasih... counting the days.. icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif brows.gif
adriane_1707
post Oct 20 2008, 12:27 PM

215 posts

What happen 2 this forum?? EVERYONE MIA
adriane_1707
post Oct 20 2008, 02:27 PM

215 posts

yeah i agreed...

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top