124 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Personal Financial Management, Are you always lacking $$$$?

Kamen Rider
post Jan 2 2009, 10:54 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(trunksku @ Jan 2 2009, 10:32 PM)
My point is saving will makes you comfortable, but it will not makes you become wealthy. You must understand the word rich and wealthy. Kiyosaki's advices will make you wealthy, ultra rich, ultimate investor. David Bach's automatic millionaire is good, but it is not for people who want to become a billionaire. There are many differences between saver and investor. But if you want to become millionaire nowadays is easy especially with the help of the internet. All you have to do is increase your financial knowledge, seek financial educations, attend seminars, read more books, listen to audio etc. The most important is Act!

Added on January 2, 2009, 10:42 pm
Wow, million huh?? how old is the 'Husband' once pension. we want to make alot of money while we are young, retired young and rich. not 55, 56, 57?? don't you realised that you live in this world once in a lifetime, how can you say that you are FREE while other Peole have the authority to fired you, to push you and even you like it or not wake up every morning and stuck in a jam just to go to work???
mmmmm............... Financial Independent, this is my dream and we need bullets to make an investment therefore we start a saving .................. and then we have bullets, it is time to see what instrumentals best suit us....... so far i still searching and learning how to start.... smile.gif

lin00b
post Jan 3 2009, 09:23 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

My point is saving will makes you comfortable, but it will not makes you become wealthy. You must understand the word rich and wealthy. Kiyosaki's advices will make you wealthy, ultra rich, ultimate investor. David Bach's automatic millionaire is good, but it is not for people who want to become a billionaire. There are many differences between saver and investor. But if you want to become millionaire nowadays is easy especially with the help of the internet. All you have to do is increase your financial knowledge, seek financial educations, attend seminars, read more books, listen to audio etc. The most important is Act!

Wow, million huh?? how old is the 'Husband' once pension. we want to make alot of money while we are young, retired young and rich. not 55, 56, 57?? don't you realised that you live in this world once in a lifetime, how can you say that you are FREE while other Peole have the authority to fired you, to push you and even you like it or not wake up every morning and stuck in a jam just to go to work???
no, kiyosaki's "advice" are general brag-fest about how he got rich that offer no concrete reproducible methodology of repeating his success. which is ironic, given how he advocates buying "automatic business that require no active intervention". stuff like go start a business, go invest, etc anyone can say. he did not advise anyone about how to become a successful B, or I. he did not even give any advise on recognising good properties or business which are supposedly his main vehicles.

i'm not saying his advise are bad, just that i have found better books that gives clearer ideas and methodology with proper supporting facts and datas. Bach is one, smart investor is another. each is readily reproducible by the layman without the need of much skills. kinda like franchise of wealth generation/management. which is a good place to start for most until the are knowledgable/skillful enough to go into more advance topics. i guess i'm the kind of people that finds comfort in having proper clearly laid out plans to general go out and do business type of advise

readers must be aware that:
1. inherently B and I have more risk than E and S. yes, you can manage the risk, but that does not change that B/I is riskier than S/E
2. a person can be successful from any of ESBI via different method (kiyosaki's own words)
3. for every rich dad, there's many many poor dad that did not make it for one or more reasons. this is not a discouragement, but a caveat you must understand before you rush in without thinking.

no offence though.

This post has been edited by lin00b: Jan 3 2009, 09:29 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 3 2009, 09:40 PM

52,874 posts

How Real People Grow Their Wealth

1. Grow Your Own Food
2. Set Limits and Stick to Them
3. Buy Savings Bonds
4. Redirect Your Raises
5. Split Raises in Half
6. Track Spending
7. Spend Less by Budgeting
8. Save by Using Credit
9. Take Advantage of Rewards
10. Save With Coupons
11. Use Direct Deposit
12. Leverage Automatic Savings
13. Don't Touch the Money
14. Pay Attention to Progress
15. Save a Little Each Week
16. Check Grocery Store Ads

URL: http://finance.yahoo.com/banking-budgeting...ow-Their-Wealth
trunksku
post Jan 4 2009, 07:27 AM

34 posts

Most of Kiyosaki's teaching are emotional related. He is programming your brain to think like the rich 1st, and then you will act, make mistakes learned from it, gain more experiences, and finally success. Not all people can do that, are you one of them? Studies show that only 3-5 percent of the people can do that, and they are wealthy.
Anyway, thanks for lowyat.net's forum like this for us to exchange thoughts.
zenwell
post Jan 5 2009, 03:15 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 2 2009, 05:04 PM)
This is the most youngster problem, once graduate and start working without think of saving first, the first in their mind to think is to get a car or a house, eventually, become the slave of the loan taken.

The first step to be rich/wealthy is save or saving!
yeah, made this mistake 3yrs ago, so now I'm tied down with the loan. Luckily the amount is not that big.

This post has been edited by zenwell: Jan 5 2009, 03:20 PM
linuxskate
post Jan 8 2009, 01:04 AM

289 posts

im just about to start to manage my financial. any advice for what to do with salary? everyone is talking about new car / house. i read about all those investments thread etc, but i dont really understand. where should i start first as a noob?
b00n
post Jan 8 2009, 09:30 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(linuxskate @ Jan 8 2009, 01:04 AM)
im just about to start to manage my financial. any advice for what to do with salary? everyone is talking about new car / house. i read about all those investments thread etc, but i dont really understand. where should i start first as a noob?

Start off with calculating your income vs your spending. See how much is left in the end.
Than from there, adjust your lifestyle to save for emergency fund and also plan for future plannings.
dreamer101
post Jan 8 2009, 10:32 AM

15,855 posts

trunksku,

The couple is less than 50 years old. And, I am talking about HIS pension amount now. Aka, the husband has 2 million in the pension alone now. This is NOT counting all his and her other assets. They are BOTH salary workers. They probably have enough to retire any time that they want now of they choose to.

Dreamer
linuxskate
post Jan 8 2009, 01:49 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jan 8 2009, 09:30 AM)
Start off with calculating your income vs your spending. See how much is left in the end.
Than from there, adjust your lifestyle to save for emergency fund and also plan for future plannings.
thnx
Peace7
post Jan 10 2009, 08:19 PM

18 posts

"The Secret Psychology of Wealth"
A weekend that will change your financial life forever!

Join the sold out event, Millionaire Mind Intensive by T.Harv Eker, best selling author of "Secrets of the Millionaire Mind". It is mind-blowing and superb!

MMI 2009 Malaysia is open for registration already!
Date: 12-14 June 2009
Time: 9am-9pm daily
Venue: Mines International Exhibition Convention Centre, Kuala Lumpur
Early bird promotion price: RM360 before 26 Jan (USD101)
* After 26 Jan will be RM435 (around USD122)

For more info,
email: mytrainingseminar@gmail.com
or visit this link for more info and updates: http://mytrainingseminar.blogspot.com

Let me know if you would like to get the registration form.

You have a millionaire mind!
jasonkwk
post Jan 10 2009, 11:03 PM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

Anyone here using any personal finance manager software like Quicken?
b00n
post Jan 11 2009, 09:18 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Jan 10 2009, 11:03 PM)
Anyone here using any personal finance manager software like Quicken?
Take a look here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=694479&hl=
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=795302&hl=

whoknowz
post Jan 12 2009, 02:49 AM

518 posts

Hello ,

Everyone here , Nice to meet you all .

ok let get started without wasting time .

First and foremost spend in what is necessary
example :

Buying a book .... , any friend of your buy before ? how much knowlege you can get from this only book .(means do this is the only book that you can get information from ?) reminder "internet" the treasure box find the key and open it there goes the thingy you wan maybe in cheaper price or freee just like buying a gadget in here lowyat forum .

Second you have some money in hand example 1k what to do ,
example :

learn stock investment
buy a chance rather buy a thing that doesnt worth a chances (example ermmm.. maybe a stall)

Third try not to keep in bank and get the commision

1k is too little to keep bank .

Fourth
see what field you are now IT , bizz , promoter ,

what to spend? is go meet more friend and you might stand a chance in having a next bizz just by meeting friend , dont just stay with the friend you have now .but dont tak peduli your old friend la .

Fifth

you like lu you think you spend buy or throw money in there can get you something in return go for it le .
example

spend money in Girlfriend (dont too much la )thn you might have better future with your family more love ......
or you go wishing will you throw money in it, you rasa god can grand you something go lu .

last but not least la , just enjoy your life but dont waste your life , spend money in the thing you think it will colored you life d .(not say every day go CC play game la , go there lepak without reason )

anyway have fun in your life while you wont put your own life in danger.
dreamer101
post Jan 12 2009, 11:41 AM

15,855 posts

http://www.lewrockwell.com/blog/lewrw/archives/024800.html

All,

A funny video on how to save money.

Dreamer
lin00b
post Jan 13 2009, 07:58 AM

nobody
3,592 posts

mind reposting in youtube or similar? hulu only shows in US?
Peace7
post Jan 14 2009, 04:56 PM

18 posts

If you are earning a decent salary, but always wonder at month end where has all your money gone, you need to seriously work on your money management skill.

A year back, a speaker on financial management gave me these advices:

1. In order to have better money management, you must take record down all your income and expenses in detail into dollar and cents for AT LEAST 3 months. Personally, i will record down in an excel sheet on a daily basis.
2. Then you will be able to track where have you spent all your money and in which area, such as necessity, entertainment, education, etc. I categorize my expenditure in the same excel sheet as well.
3. It seems a tedious work, but if when you start doing this, you will get more organised. And when you are more organised, your money will be organised too. Got the trick? At month end, you will know whether you spend more than your income. From there, you start to adjust your spending pattern and budget your expenses.
4. When you are discipline in recording your expenses, the next time when you take money out of your wallet or purse, you will be more alert and aware of your spending. In other words, you will start to control your spending habit.

After practicing this simple money management for a few months, I find that i get more organised with money, and i continued the habit of recording down my income and expenses everyday until now. In fact, most money management tips given by those renowned experts advices the same thing. So for a change, do what the expert advice and you will see the difference. So when should you start? Not tomorrow, next week or next month but NOW! Don't give excuses that you will start when you bonus comes or when you have a lot of money to manage.

For the next step, to grow your money, i find that the money jar system thought by T.Harv Eker has been very useful.

You split your net income after tax into 6 different accounts. You can do it by having multiple bank accounts or using a physical jars. Even if you are study or living on retirement savings, you still need to use the jars system.

You can start using the money jar system with as little as $1. The important thing is to cultivate the habit of managing your money. When you start managing your money, you will have lots of it.

The 6 different jars are:

1. Financial Freedom Account (FFA JAR) - 10%

This is your golden goose that will bear you golden eggs. This is your key to financial freedom. Take good care of the golden goose and she will take care of you.

The money that you put into FFA account is used for investment and building your passive income. The revenue from your passive income should go back to this account. You can only put money into this account but you CANNOT spend it. The purpose is to grow this FFA account to continue generate passive income for you.

2. Long Term Saving for Spending Account (LTSS JAR) - 10%

This is the account that you can use to spend for high value nice to have items that you have been craving for, eg. 42' LCD TV, touch screen PDA phone, a nice car, etc. You can also use this account to pay off your debt.

You can also split your LTSS account into 2, 5% for each account, with different purpose. You can use LTSS account to save for your house, car, travel tour, children education, etc. The idea is, dont spend your money before you even have it. You delay your purchase until you have the money to buy it. Don't spend on credit. You should clear all your debt before you start spending this LTSS account.

3. Education Account (EDU JAR) - 10%

As T.Harv Eker puts it, "If you are not growing, you are dying". You can use money from this jar to attend training courses, buy some books, audios or videos for personal development and self improvement.

This EDU JAR is investment for your own education, not your children'. You are you most important asset.

4. Necessity Account (NEC JAR) - 55%

This is for daily necessity that you can't do without, it includes rent, utilities, food, mortgage, clothing, transport, etc.

When your income increases, you should reduce the percentage of this NEC JAR and divert some to GIVE or FFA JAR. You don't need to spend so much anyway.

5. Play Account (PLAY JAR) - 10%

Its time to relax and give yourself a good break! This is the account where you can pamper yourself and feel like a millionaire. Once a month, go somewhere or do something that you have never done before. You can bring your partner for a romantic dinner in a luxury restaurant, go for an diving escapade, pamper yourself with 5 hours spa treatment, sail on the sea, anything that you have wanted to do but always put in on hold because its luxury to you. You have to spend all the PLAY JAR every month, or at max every 3 months if it is something very luxury.

Go and have fun and get a taste of the luxury lifestyle of a millionaire. Saver often find it very hard to do this, because they have been conditioned to save and save and save only. They will never safe enough. This is the change for you to experience the richness of life.

6. Give Account (GIVE JAR) - minimum 5%.

If you can reduce NEC JAR by 5%, then increase GIVE JAR to 10%.

All millionaire gurus always give this same advice. You have to give back to the society. The more you are willing to give, the more you will receive. It's a universal law. You are telling the universe that you have abundance of wealth and in return you will attract more abundance into your life.

Be a generous giver. Put smiles to the needy. You will feel good when you have done your part to the society. You can give your money to charity organization, someone that you know is in need of money, or maybe just the old cleaner down the lane who is working hard for living. See the gratitude in their eyes when they say thanks to you. Your give of life means a lot to them.

Visit my blog: http://mytrainingseminar.blogspot.com
lin00b
post Jan 14 2009, 08:08 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

that seemed a cumbersome and required very very much discipline.

try looking up automatic millionaire, same concept but easier implementation.

basically i dont think i will care where my money goes as long as my monthly expenses do not exceed the set %age. (currently at 70%) meaning my "FFA-JAR" is set at 30, and the other 5 jars i just bundled into 1.
mtsen
post Jan 14 2009, 10:49 PM

1,473 posts

where can I buy these Jars ?
wodenus
post Jan 14 2009, 11:56 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Jan 5 2009, 03:15 PM)
yeah, made this mistake 3yrs ago, so now I'm tied down with the loan. Luckily the amount is not that big.
Isn't that "leveraging" ?

Added on January 14, 2009, 11:59 pm
QUOTE(degeo @ Dec 28 2008, 11:06 AM)
Which is very true. Recently i bought myself this great deal package. it is just about, hmmm maybe RM34.50 (i tried it even though it seems unbelievable, cuz it's CHEAP...it's like RM34.50 to disclose a magic trick! LoLx) from a guru.

After that, everything is history. I have been doing this part time job for about 3 months and still going.

It comes with full guide and easy way step by step instruction and guidance shown by the guru himself. It even includes a READY MADE business built in for you. So that you will immediately start working from home in no time.

Normally, we wouldn't believe in stuffs like these, do we? But for RM34.50, i took the chance and tried it tongue.gif  Furthermore, RM34.50 can't even get you a decent shirt nowadays.

With such terrible economy situations nowadays, working from home online as a part time job seems to be a very good alternative because it saves time and money. And the most important thing, it's a business that's kinda cheap to start.

Besides working from home is much better than the office. You get all the freedom that you want! smile.gif And one thing that is for sure, you can manage your work from home with your familly instead of being apart.
Believe it or not, I'm now making a 4 figure income just by doing this part time job! (And I'm still keeping my day job!) wink.gif

The bottomline is, get your brains thinking and start looking for alternatives which could get yourself more money to save!
I hope you don't lose your job.. good luck smile.gif Remember to diffrentiate net income from gross income smile.gif

Added on January 15, 2009, 12:04 am
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jan 8 2009, 10:32 AM)
trunksku,

The couple is less than 50 years old.  And, I am talking about HIS pension amount now.  Aka, the husband has 2 million in the pension alone now.  This is NOT counting all his and her other assets.  They are BOTH salary workers.  They probably have enough to retire any time that they want now of they choose to.

Dreamer
Yea, what do you say to that, silly business owners smile.gif

Added on January 15, 2009, 12:16 am
QUOTE(Peace7 @ Jan 14 2009, 04:56 PM)
For the next step, to grow your money, i find that the money jar system thought by T.Harv Eker has been very useful.

No offence, but did you really pay all that money to some guy to tell you how to save money? it's very easy, just spend less. If you want more money just make more.

Its time to relax and give yourself a good break! This is the account where you can pamper yourself and feel like a millionaire. Once a month, go somewhere or do something that you have never done before. You can bring your partner for a romantic dinner in a luxury restaurant, go for an diving escapade, pamper yourself with 5 hours spa treatment, sail on the sea, anything that you have wanted to do but always put in on hold because its luxury to you. You have to spend all the PLAY JAR every month, or at max every 3 months if it is something very luxury.

What is luxury to me : Just the other day I was on the bus going home. I happened to look through the window, and there was this great sunset. It's very hard to explain, just to be there at that time and in that place, to catch something like that.. how much is that worth? how many million? smile.gif teh tarik with an old man at the mamak, listening to his life story, how many million? you tell me.

Money takes the fun out of everything. I remember when I was studying, and I used to dream of eating pizza every day. Every day I'd pass by Pizza Hut, and I'd tell myself, one day.. one day I will make enough to eat pizza for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I will. So when that day finally came, I did. It was fun for a while, but somehow after a while it started tasting like cardboard. I don't know why. So now I have very strict limits, and when I can afford to go to McDs or KFC or wherever (which is not often,) I do. I recently hit KFC at 3 AM in the middle of the week. Wow, no queues, no people, it was my own personal KFC outlet smile.gif best meal ever smile.gif all the people eating at all the luxury outlets in the world, did they ever have the whole restaurant empty and the staff just serving them alone?

All millionaire gurus always give this same advice. You have to give back to the society. The more you are willing to give, the more you will receive. It's a universal law. You are telling the universe that you have abundance of wealth and in return you will attract more abundance into your life.

Didn't work for Madoff though did it ?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Jan 15 2009, 12:54 AM
Peace7
post Jan 15 2009, 03:00 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Jan 14 2009, 08:08 PM)
that seemed a cumbersome and required very very much discipline.

try looking up automatic millionaire, same concept but easier implementation.

basically i dont think i will care where my money goes as long as my monthly expenses do not exceed the set %age. (currently at 70%) meaning my "FFA-JAR" is set at 30, and the other 5 jars i just bundled into 1.
Yeah...you can adjust the % according to your needs, if you can control them well. But i find that sometimes you will tend to neglect the GIVE JAR and EDU JAR.

Added on January 15, 2009, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(mtsen @ Jan 14 2009, 10:49 PM)
where can I buy these Jars ?
I found one sample image in this site. That person also practicing the jar system.

http://www.stephenmartile.com/?p=96

You can use those cookie jars. You will be very happy when you see the money grows. Some people prefer to use bank account, but when you see it physically, it gives you a good feeling and motivates you.

Added on January 15, 2009, 3:31 pm
QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 14 2009, 11:56 PM)
No offence, but did you really pay all that money to some guy to tell you how to save money? it's very easy, just spend less. If you want more money just make more.
What is luxury to me : Just the other day I was on the bus going home. I happened to look through the window, and there was this great sunset. It's very hard to explain, just to be there at that time and in that place, to catch something like that.. how much is that worth? how many million? smile.gif teh tarik with an old man at the mamak, listening to his life story, how many million? you tell me.

Money takes the fun out of everything. I remember when I was studying, and I used to dream of eating pizza every day. Every day I'd pass by Pizza Hut, and I'd tell myself, one day.. one day I will make enough to eat pizza for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I will. So when that day finally came, I did. It was fun for a while, but somehow after a while it started tasting like cardboard. I don't know why. So now I have very strict limits, and when I can afford to go to McDs or KFC or wherever (which is not often,) I do. I recently hit KFC at 3 AM in the middle of the week. Wow, no queues, no people, it was my own personal KFC outlet smile.gif best meal ever smile.gif all the people eating at all the luxury outlets in the world, did they ever have the whole restaurant empty and the staff just serving them alone?
Didn't work for Madoff though did it ?
Thanks for the sharing. I believe in investing for my education, i am my best asset. You will never know enough.

I agree money is not everything, but money gives you freedom.
Some people think that money is the root of all evil, and they wonder why they are always broke.
You can be good and rich at the same time.

Btw, i never like fast food. Freshly cooked food would be better.

This post has been edited by Peace7: Jan 15 2009, 03:31 PM

124 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0337sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:10 PM