Can't update/download apps via Unifi WIFI, Stuck at 'Waiting' or extremely slow

666devil
post Aug 17 2015, 09:10 AM

1,624 posts

Damn it. Wished i saw this thread much earlier as I spent my whole freaking weekend troubleshooting it!
Unifi certain ports screw up, or their firewall blocking App Store dl speed. That is the only logical explanation.
Changing DNS won't help.
I use this workaround and it worked for me. Initiated the updates in 3G/lte, wait for the circle to go 1%. Then without pausing the download, enable wifi to connect unifi. The download speed will be Normal, and u save mobile data.

Keep reporting as many cases as u can. Unifi need to see our range of IPs or areas affected by this issue.

666devil
post Aug 19 2015, 08:57 PM

1,624 posts

Oh oh. Happened to my unifi again- extremely slow download speed. It was ok yesterday. Browsing websites are ok.
8.56pm now. 18th August. Anyone can confirm their speed?
666devil
post Aug 20 2015, 07:21 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(jin_akira @ Aug 20 2015, 03:13 AM)
It's all good here; downloaded Speedtest by Ookla 19mb in less than 30 seconds Selangor region 20th August 3.13am
Thanks for info bro. I think back to normal again
666devil
post Sep 24 2015, 08:23 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(mun_sean @ Sep 20 2015, 04:15 PM)
I found something might solve this. I this it's related to the DNS and the wifi connection. I change the DNS on my phone to the one I bought to watch Netflix, I noticed the download is faster. And so happened that I tried the download near to my router, the phone next to the router, then BOOM. All download/update finish within 10 minutes.
I try to change the DNS to auto as per router IP. The download stuck again, switch back to the purchased DNS IP, it working again. But the download slowing down when I back to my room, the router is in opposite room. I tried to test the download again near to router then download resume rocket speed.
This is really weirdo. But at least I found the way to resume high speed download although it's not convenient.
Very good sharing. Have up guys never suspected its Apple device wireless driver causing the issue based on this test?
666devil
post Sep 25 2015, 08:24 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ Sep 25 2015, 07:29 PM)
Updating app is blazing fast.... I am using google dns now
When u guys change to google dns, is it in the router itself, or just in the iOS device? Maybe that's the one making difference which solve some member issues.
666devil
post Sep 25 2015, 09:17 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Sep 25 2015, 08:34 PM)
No difference on my end. Google DNS, OpenDNS, all mixture of both.... no difference whether on phone or router.
Screw unifi incompetency. Just find out which port AppStore is using and trace the network.
Gave up and updated os using maxis hotspot. 9.01 updated in 20 secs.
666devil
post Sep 25 2015, 11:06 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Sep 25 2015, 09:21 PM)
For most people complaining on this thread, it's not the iOS updates that are slow. Only updates and downloads from the App Store, iTunes and iBooks are suffering. OS updates are still fast.
Thank you. I'll try connecting/disconnecting to see if I can land on that range.  Tomorrow must go buy Toto already.
Nope my OS ota update still slow like dunk.something strange happened. Without turning on off router, I just disable and enable wifi on iPad. Then updates become fast again. Really lead me to think iOS wifi issue...same symptom as previous forumer.
666devil
post Sep 27 2015, 08:08 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Sep 26 2015, 05:42 PM)
Share if you want. I got nothing to hide. I don't see how it'll speed things up though. There's people complaining on Facebook, Twitter, 100 and still no response.

What I'm surprised is that not enough people are complaining.  Guess it just goes to show that the majority of people don't use anything more than the stock apps included on the phone, and maybe download an additional Facebook and IM app. 

Seriously, I can't update shit right now. When you require apps like Slack for team communications in your company and can't update the app, you lose productivity and are susceptible to security issues. Will TM reimburse me for lost income or a breach in my privacy?
Why not paste all the link here or in first page so many more can complain?
666devil
post Sep 28 2015, 08:43 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(freeman85 @ Sep 28 2015, 06:59 AM)
i noticed that if use vpn on phone apps download fast , so is not wifi or router problem, tm throttled speed?
Must be their lousy firewall blocking the ports. Imagine which childish company still blocking websites via dns?
Something strange happened again. My iOS update was estimating 6 hours after I waited for an hour already.
I went and turn off wifi on iOS device, turn back on without touching my router.
The next thing I know, the 900mb update completed within 1 hour...
This leads me to more and more suspect is iOS wifi driver issue. Or unifi just need to continuously 'reactivate' to keep the download from getting stagnant.
666devil
post Oct 2 2015, 06:09 AM

1,624 posts

Haha now AT&T exact same issue. Leads me to wonder izzit Apple Store issue?
http://www.macrumors.com/2015/10/01/att-ip...-download-apps/

Yesterday I update to 9.02 early morning b4 leave to work, damn fast. Done in 1 min.
Then after that come back house at night, damn sow again.
666devil
post Oct 24 2015, 04:09 PM

1,624 posts

Yes very inconsistent symptoms. When slow, I turn on free vpn also slow. So I am starting to think it is really App Store issue...
But cannot explain why if via mobile data no issue???
666devil
post Oct 25 2015, 10:59 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Oct 25 2015, 08:10 AM)
Something I've noticed for the last 4 or 5 days on both my Singapore ISP and TM UniFi;
When the update starts downloading and it crawls very very slowly, stop the update and start again. Usually the second or third time I restart, it'll fly like normal. Weird, but that’s what's been happening for me.
Random. Depends on luck. Turn off and on wifi in the phone might also help.
More and more pointing to App Store issue.
666devil
post Oct 29 2015, 07:47 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Oct 28 2015, 11:48 AM)
For me, appstore downloads not affected, but restoring from iCloud takes ages, also couldn't turn on iCloud music library. Could only do it early morning 6am+.
That is normal. So many apps to redownload back. Especially if u sync ur photos too.
666devil
post Jun 10 2016, 10:11 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jun 9 2016, 05:59 PM)
Yup, the problem is back.
Hate to say this but, welcome back guys.
Issue repeating again. Tm just never learns. Must be some stupid new throttling rule changes cause this.
Remember the last time they took months to 'investigate'? bangwall.gif
666devil
post Jun 10 2016, 10:29 PM

1,624 posts

Yup opera Vpn works for me. Even the auto select region feature.
Damn fast now.
Damn u tm scum. Now u can take ur slow time to investigate until July.

This post has been edited by 666devil: Jun 10 2016, 10:37 PM

0.0273sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:11 AM