8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

leekk8
post Oct 17 2007, 12:27 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Oct 16 2007, 11:20 AM)
Im opening this thread to ask for tips on getting a good Unit Trust Consultant (UTC)..

my few question:

a) How to know that the UTC is a legit UTC? Do they have any agent ID etc?
b) Can we check with the respective bank for their UTC validity?
c) Do they have a rank to evaluate their performance?
d) Or how do they evaluate their performance?
e) Can we lodge a report to bank etc if theres any unwanted cases happened? (abandoned/cheated etc)

hope someone here can enlightened me here..

many thanx in advance..  smile.gif
You can always check on FMUTM website, www.fmutm.com.my. By entering the full name of the agent, you can check if the agent is registered with FMUTM. Only agents who are registered with FMUTM is legit.

If you are not statisfied with your agent performance or your agent misconduct, you can always complain to the unit trust company and FMUTM.

Added on October 17, 2007, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(bengang13 @ Oct 16 2007, 06:31 PM)
Hi guys,

I am new to this thread. Hope to get some pointes from the old timer here. I started investing in Mutual Funds since 2003 but that was mostly done by my parents on my behalf. only lately have i taken it seriosuly. Mine is mostly in Public Mutual. But I am thinking of diversifying it since, I htink Public mutual is kind aof over-rated and not giving me a satisfactory returns..

I thought of putting into CMS. have anyone heard of it?
Although CMS Premier performs quite well recently, unit trust investment is long term investment. It's better you look at the longer period of performance when you justify a fund is good or not.

CMS is a quite well known company as well, but as I know, only some of their funds performance well.
Others than CMS and Public Mutual, maybe you can consider OSKUOB as well.

Added on October 17, 2007, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(Lover @ Oct 16 2007, 08:49 PM)
wats the minimum for the investment at public mutual fund?
short term means how long? few months?
where to noe the news about the investment.. whether it got the potential to grow o nt.. ^^ thx.. newbie want to learn..
Unit trust investment is not suitable for short term. It's more to long term investment. Long term here normally is 3-5 years or more than that.

About market news and potential of a fund, you need to read newspaper always and try to get a good agent and have a discussion with him/her often.

This post has been edited by leekk8: Oct 17 2007, 12:34 PM
leekk8
post Oct 24 2007, 10:36 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(SK2 @ Oct 24 2007, 10:14 AM)
i still not very clear...but the public mutual website is monday price wo?so can u please check for me, if i want buy PIADF, then the NAV is how much?where to refer?thanks..
Today before 11am, public mutual price will be Monday price. After 11am, the price will be Tuesday price. If you buy today before 4pm, the price that you buy is Wednesday price, which you only can see at public mutual website tomorrow after 11am.
leekk8
post Oct 29 2007, 11:13 AM

1,059 posts

For those who has more than 5 years to retire, it's good to withdraw the EPF to invest in unit trust. Even local fund, it should give better return than EPF. Since EPF is money for retirement, it's not good to invest in high risk fund, dividend fund should be the best choice.
leekk8
post Nov 2 2007, 10:24 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Oct 29 2007, 03:42 PM)
I wonder do many people actually use their EPF money to buy UT?
I guess there are quite many people use their EPF to buy UT, especially those who are in 30s and 40s.
leekk8
post Nov 28 2007, 10:43 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(Charlie CY @ Nov 27 2007, 11:00 PM)
Recently the Public Mutual fund drop dramatically for most of the fund and unstable, anyone know what is happening? is it the US government loan issue? I think it not just mutual fund, shares price and currency also drop, isn't it?

I am interested in mutual fund but the current situation make me feel worry, any opinion  about the fund or advise give to me?

TQ
US is having subprime mortgage issue, where it affects the financial sector mainly, also caused by the price increase of petroleum.

As the market is low now, this is a good time to start invest, instead of you start invest when market is high. Unit trust is long term investment, try to understand more about unit trust and find out some funds which are suitable for you is more important.
leekk8
post Dec 3 2007, 11:19 AM

1,059 posts

For those who understand unit trust well, can read the prospectus of any fund to understand the investment policy and investment strategies of that particular fund. You can go to any bank to buy unit trust, some banks selling many companies' unit trust, for example, as I know, UOB sell OSKUOB, Prudential, Pacific, etc...RHB sell CMS, RHB, OSKUOB, etc...you can always ask the bank or refer to their website.

If you really have no idea on unit trust, and you need agents to serve you, Public Mutual is the best choice as I know.
leekk8
post Dec 5 2007, 11:29 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(orangeface @ Dec 4 2007, 06:35 PM)
I started investing in investment linked from AIA, with a guaranteed minimum interest of 2%. I don't know much about other mutual funds but as far as I know, it has upfront charges where each time you buy or sell, or even switch fund there will be some charges. As for Investment Linked from AIA doesn't charge that way, they provide 4 free switches in a year and no upfront charges. It is because it has already been charged during the first 6 years of investment, after that 100% of the money you put in is to purchase units.

Long term wise, is it an advantage?  rclxub.gif

Another thing is, I do understand that investment linked gives lower return compare to other mutual funds. The advantage of Investment-Linked is the protection provided where there is sum assured given together with the dividend earned if death of disability strikes.

Please correct me if I am wrong. I don't know much about investment but I would like to learn more.

Anyone here brought any Investment Linked? Do share your opinions.

Thx
Investment-linked is different from unit trust, as investment-linked is some sort like insurance combined with unit trust. For me, it's better we invest in unit trust and buy the traditional insurance to get protection. Traditional insurance has higher coverage with lower premium compared to investment-linked. I believe unit trust companies like Public Mutual, OSKUOB, etc is more professional and better in investment compared to insurance companies.

This is all up to you. If you know nothing about unit trust, maybe investment-linked is a good product for you.
leekk8
post Dec 6 2007, 11:06 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Dec 6 2007, 09:41 AM)
Something to share on how reinvestment of distribution helps on cost of unit (NAV)

PFEDF
BEfore Distribution (30 Nov 07)

Unit Price = 0.3055 sen/unit
Total Capital = RM 1, 500
Total Units   = 6,000 units (Bought at offer period, 0.25sen/unit - service charge added)

Average Cost per Unit = 0.2500 sen/unit

After Distribution
Distribtion = 2 sen/unit
Total Distribution in RM = 6000 X 0.02 = RM 120

Unit Price after Distribution = 0.3055 - 0.02 = 0.2855

Unit obtained from reinvestment = RM120/0.2885 = 415.94 units
(no service charge for reinvestment of distribution)

Total Units = 6000 + 415.94 = 6415.94 units
Total Capital = RM 1,500 (same)

Average cost per unit = RM 1,500 / 6415.94 units = RM 0.2338 sen/unit
The calculation i did take into account of tax of the distribution, just a simple calculation.
Yes, distribution reinvestment definitely will lower the cost per unit, but it didn't contribute any added value to your portfolio. Do you get my idea? What investors want is not lower cost, but is the return. Lower cost just a term to make people feel like we can get more profit, but in fact, if you really understand about unit trust, there is no such thing.

Taking your example, before distribution, your value of fund is 6000x0.3055=RM1833. After distribution, your value is 6415.94x0.2855=RM1831.75. So, the value is same here, and don't forget there is tax for distribution which we didnt take into consideration here.

Let's said, the fund get 10% return after sometime,
Without distribution, RM0.3055x110%=RM0.33605. Your total value is RM0.33605x6000=RM2016.30
With distribution, RM0.2855x110%=RM0.31405. Your total value is RM0.31405x6415.94=RM2014.93

From this, we can know, distribution is not really giving added profit to investors.

Added on December 6, 2007, 11:11 am
QUOTE(bbmars @ Dec 5 2007, 11:14 PM)
Pardon me, I am from SG, are there any online UT trading that you can buy from.  Everything is done online, buy & sell... nothing much... an what about charts that you can refer too espcially the performance so far.. this would help you to track and monitor the best funds...

In fact, I think there are also list of top performing funds too...

As for investment link product like AIA.... I used to own them too.... however, I sold them after making 20% lost within 1 yr during the down turn..  I would suggest, unless you are not the risk taker or you are not keen and just want someone to do it for you..  Things which I found out about their funds, even my SG agent could not answer me at all although he did provide me with good services, but I just ask too much about their product so much so that he find me too much to handle.  Another thing is, you see, whatever fund you buy into, do read the brochue carefully, and I suspect, they may not give you those in details which I got from my agent, which in fact, I discovered, he wasn't even aware of, the details of the fund that I bought.. they possibly tell you what they invest into which segement, but no break down of what they are.

AIA actually buy into into feeder fund, especially from AIG, the parent company.  You pay sales charges to AIA, AIA in term pay to buy from AIG. Double paying sales commision. The bit and ask price is lower than that of AIG even for the same fund, likewise, when the price rises, it is much slower .. You can easily check this with your fund website.. or you account from whoever you buy from.

Do a little read up and find out more from the internet, there are materials available for your reference... That's how I learn to invest after selling off my AIA investment link product... I am better off doing my own investment than buying from AIA.. I recovered my lost way before compared to holding on to it till now.. and even make more profits from it..

by the way, may I know what is the sale charges like in MY?
So far, Malaysia do not have such facility that we can buy/sell/do everything with unit trust online. (If Im not mistaken). We can wait for Tune Money, which they will offer online unit trust facility in future.

For equity fund, Malaysia imposes 5-7% of service charge.

Yes, it's good that investors can know how the fund is invested and where the fund has been invested into.

This post has been edited by leekk8: Dec 6 2007, 11:11 AM
leekk8
post Dec 7 2007, 01:01 PM

1,059 posts

Definitely SG unit trust sales charge is lower than MY. MY unit trust companies now also trying to reduce the sales charge. Anyway, I don't think the sales charge can be gone to as low as 1%, if it's not internet transaction.
leekk8
post Dec 10 2007, 11:14 AM

1,059 posts

About the transparency issue, I think interim and annual report of each fund will cater the information of the portfolio of the fund. So far I know Public Mutual and OSKUOB have. Public Mutual also publish the portfolio of each fund every month, just most of the investors are not aware of it. Please always request this from your agent.

About the service charge and fee, yes, 6.5% is a bit high, so in fact, most of the unit trust companies now are trying to reduce the service charge. Anyway, Spore UT industry is different from Msia, as Msia still need some time to achieve the current state of Spore UT industry. I believe eventually, Msia UT industry will be same as Spore, using online facility to trade UT and minimize the need of agent service.

About foreign funds, yes, some of the funds really did well in these 3 years, cause of the China booming market. In Msia, there is no fund specialize on China region until recently, but in HK, the China fund there has been launched for more than 3 years. They experience the total booming of China market, but Msia funds only experience it recently. This is due to the different investment strategies, and the China market is booming. Another thing I realize, foreign fund is almost impossible for small investors, where I found there is 1 HK fund minimum initial investment is USD5000, which is more than RM15,000.
leekk8
post Dec 11 2007, 10:18 AM

1,059 posts

We can see actually Msia is going to improve the UT industry...government trying to push the service charge to be lower, and EPF is going to reduce the requirement for EPF investment. Currently, I understand that many Sporeans like to invest using their CPF, but over here, only those who have RM55k in account 1 can withdraw EPF to invest. For those who just work for few years, definitely don't have such big amount in EPF.

Next year, EPF investment, service charge can be up to 3% only. This is really a good step to promote UT to all Msians.
leekk8
post Dec 14 2007, 10:57 AM

1,059 posts

I think they object this is because of the EPF troublesome procedure. As I know, EPF always reject application to withdraw money to invest UT, they are too particular with the forms and etc...This increase the workload and admin work of agent and UT companies. Recently, PM imposes penalty of RM50 to agent if the application of EPF investment is rejected.

Anyway, Cherroy, where you get the info about the objection of FMUTM about this service charge?
leekk8
post Dec 17 2007, 11:06 AM

1,059 posts

I believe the service charge of UT will be reduced slowly and eventually goes to 3-4% level, especially when online trading for UT is introduced in future.

UT companies and agents need more sales to cover the loss if the service charge is reduced. Only when more and more Msian aware about UT, the demands of UT will be increased and eventually increase the sales of UT. By that time, UT service charge can be reduced further. Public Mutual will reduce its service charge next year, this is a good move. Service charge cannot be reduced much in short time, it should go slowly and let agents and investors to be adapted to it. More education to investors is still needed to make the UT industry stronger.
leekk8
post Dec 24 2007, 11:08 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(adrianocy @ Dec 24 2007, 09:21 AM)
how can i become a public mutual fund agent..i knew hafta go thru CUTE...but where can i take it? is it easy to pass? thanks
You can look for any Public Mutual agent who can recruit downline. He/she can arrange all the agent registration, class and exam for you.

CUTE is not difficult, a quite simple exam.
leekk8
post Jan 2 2008, 11:12 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(onlyforthecars @ Jan 2 2008, 10:51 AM)

Been reading the thread and is wondering whether there are any links that can let us see charts and graphs about the UTs performance?

Business Times Online does not provide charts.

You can get the performance at UT's website, example www.publicmutual.com.my to see the Public Mutual funds, and www.oskuob.com.my to see the OSKUOB funds, etc...
leekk8
post Jan 4 2008, 10:39 AM

1,059 posts

I don't think fund performance can be measured by the unit price...High price now didn't indicate that the room of growth is limited. Fund is not totally same as share. If the investment strategies of that fund is still good in prospect, no matter how expensive is the fund, I still will go for it.
leekk8
post Jan 8 2008, 10:34 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(sootienann @ Jan 8 2008, 10:17 AM)
can some one explain to me how the annual 1.5% fee works?
is it calculated daily or once every year ?
how is the payment made ?
The annual management fee 1.5% is calculated daily and deducted from the fund NAV before the daily NAV being published.
leekk8
post Jan 10 2008, 04:26 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jan 10 2008, 03:16 PM)
do i been charged annually? if i invest in 1 fund?
There are 3 types of charges and fee in unit trust investment.
Service charge is charged when you invest the money in.
Annual management fee is deducted everyday from the fund NAV before the NAV being published.
Annual Trustee fee is also deducted everyday from the fund NAV before the NAV being published.
leekk8
post Jan 11 2008, 05:07 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Jan 11 2008, 12:13 PM)
I don't know how exactly, but I imagine it would be be something like this:

Management fee: 1.5%
Number of days NAV calculated: 52 weeks X 5 days - 20 public holidays = 240 days (or thereabouts)
Management fee per NAV day: 1.5 / 240 = 0.00625%

Therefore 0.00625% is deducted each day NAV is calculated. Sounds reasonable?
You are correct, this is the way they deduct the management fee.

leekk8
post Jan 16 2008, 10:50 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(lifeless_creature @ Jan 15 2008, 03:27 PM)
sorry, i've a question here to the agents out there -> My question is, I've submitted DDI previously on Fund A that deducts every 8th of the month, now I'm thinking to submit another DDI that deducts on 18th, on the same Fund A as well (same acc), is that possible ? Thanks.
I think you can increase the DDI amount.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0266sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:31 PM