Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

kingkong81
post Apr 11 2008, 09:23 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 10 2008, 10:00 PM)
OMG! Change of form again! Seems like the form that I have going to be obsolete.
U can return it to ur agent & get the new form from him...but the old form usage will b ceased on 29th APr...starting 30th Apr onwards, all should use the new forms.

as reminder, the forms stated are:
1)New Cash Investment Application Form
2) EPF investment Application Form
kingkong81
post Apr 22 2008, 08:02 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Apr 22 2008, 02:33 PM)
Interesting, given that dealing with gold is more like speculating rather than investing. Given recent events which has driven gold to high prices, I wonder if this is a good time to go in. Still, this is giving the average person an 'investment' opportunity they normally wouldn't have. So I might talk to someone next time I go to the bank, and maybe buy a gram or two.  smile.gif Or does this need to go thru an agent?
Dun think you need an agent as this is PB product...you should find the bank officer there.

To start off, you have to buy 20g Gold 1st.... hmm.gif
kingkong81
post Apr 30 2008, 02:19 PM

1,351 posts

The best thing is to get the clarification from your agent. If it is true that the agent made the mistake/buy other funds without your permission, you can file a complaint to CIMB or directly to the FMUTM.

For cooling off period...usually it is only available to those 1st time investor in that particular investment bank/company. But there is certain day for you to exercise this right...

for example, for PMutual, it is 6 business days from the day of submission...if still within this 6-days, you can ask for full refund without charges....if after the 6-days, u cannot exercise this right & will have to sell-off your units & lose out in the service charged paid as well as lost incurred through daily trading that affects the price.

for CIMB i'm not too sure wat is their cooling-period, so u might wan to check it out

QUOTE(shikuzika @ Apr 30 2008, 02:03 PM)
being conned or the agent trying to be clever - This is exactly what I thought.
And it was all very unprofessional. They even spelled my name wrong!!! I looked at the website, still no clear explanations between the two funds. I think I'm going to call the care line and find out what's happening... Haih, these people, really taking advantage of amateurs like me...
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 30 2008, 02:10 PM)
Usually for new fund, there is a cooling off period that you can withdraw if you change your mind. I don't much about the cooling off precedure, never done it before.

Added on April 30, 2008, 2:24 pmDECLARATION OF DISTRIBUTION FOR FINANCIAL YEAR-ENDING 30TH APRIL 2008

PIDF 2.00 sen/unit
PFEBF 1.75 sen/unit
PIADF 0.40 sen/unit

QUOTE(guanteik @ Apr 30 2008, 11:44 AM)
anyone know what's the distribution per unit for PIDF and PIADF?
This post has been edited by kingkong81: Apr 30 2008, 02:24 PM
kingkong81
post Apr 30 2008, 02:38 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 30 2008, 02:34 PM)
They cannot do it like that, it is violating the rules big times, agents cannot be try to clever. If the client wants ABC, UT company or agent cannot give ABC and ABCD.
Otherwise, next time, they can simply put your money elsewhere. It is serious stuff, don't take it lightly.

You can complain to BNM or FMUTM.

Hope your problem fixed and if can kind to share with us, why it is done in this way.

Cheers.
Yes...Cherroy is totally right on this.

As the investor still holds the right to determine how they wan their $$ to be invested.
The role of an agent is as an advisor to provide information & recommendation on the best way to manage the investor money. But the investor will stills be the one to do the decision & agent have no right to manage the investor's $$ without their consent & knowledge.
kingkong81
post May 1 2008, 10:22 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ May 1 2008, 07:29 PM)
lazy read newspaper doh.gif 1 day go and ask
@ jordy
wat is EPF investment fund, like TS i plan to take my money from EPF to put in FD
possible any alternative to make my money grow more
EPF Investment Fund is those Unit Trust Funds that are eligible to use savings in EPF to invest in.

However, EPF only allows their members to withdraw their money from Account 1 to invest in local unit trust funds. (i.e. funds that is investing 100% in Malaysia)

There are some withdrawing criteria which is based on age and the maximum withdrawal is 20%, with a minimum of RM1,000.

for example....

Case 1
at age 22, Mr. ABC has RM8,000 in his Account 1 (EPF)

The minimum savings required in Account 1 for Age 22 is RM5,000.

The withdrawal amount = (8,000 - 5,000) X 20% = RM 600

Therefore...MR ABC is not eligible to withdraw his money from his Account 1 to invest in unit trust.

Case 2
at age 25, Mr. DEF has RM22,000 in his Account 1 (EPF)

The minimum savings required in Account 1 for Age 25 is RM9,000.

The withdrawal amount = (22,000 - 9,000) X 20% = RM 2,200

Therefore...Mr. DEF is eligible to withdraw up to a maximum of RM 2.2k or a minimum of RM1k to invest in unit trust.

----

Besides, the withdrawal can only be done once every 3 months & any profit (capital growth / distribution) will go back into EPF...

So far EPF have managed to give out about 5.5% p.a. It is a safe place to keep your money.
But if you want your money to grow more, unit trust will be one of the investment vehicle that is available for you to do that. But in any case, investment comes with risk...same with unit trust, just that the risk is less than direct share investment.

FD is definitely another safe place to keep your $ and a puny interest of 3.75% p.a. which i doubt that it can hedge against the inflation. But i dun think u can take your $$ from EPF to put in FD though.

If you want your money to grow...investment will be one of the best way...Unit Trust is one of the easy one....
There are others as well like share trading, properties..etc.

This post has been edited by kingkong81: May 1 2008, 10:26 PM
kingkong81
post May 3 2008, 11:51 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(sher87vin @ May 3 2008, 10:00 PM)
Hi all...wanna ask i hv start buying Public mutual fund last yr with an agent tat is still newbie and even i ask something regarding the fund,she still  cannot answer me definitely....so if nxt time i wan buy another PM fund..can i buy with other agent?

thanks...
Yes...you can buy other PM Unit Trust Fund from another agent.

But your new agent cannot help you monitor the previous funds bought under the old agent, as d database will only be visible to the agent's own clients. But the new agent can still help you to look into it by getting a statement printout fr PM branch.

Sometimes it might oso b good to get 2nd opinion fr other agents, especially if you r not happy wif the previious agent.
kingkong81
post May 5 2008, 11:41 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Jean72 @ May 5 2008, 06:25 PM)
I tried to read most articles here and half way through ..finding it too tiring! It shows that many have great interest in fund investment, which is a good sign smile.gif

Good Luck to all and happy investing!
yeah, it might be quite tedious too look back one page by one.
Maybe u can try to filter out using some keywords to help on find the relevant discussion.

With more ppl getting interested in Unit Trust Investment...i do hope that this is a sign that more people are aware on the needs to have a proper financial management plan for their future. smile.gif
kingkong81
post May 6 2008, 09:59 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(jeff_ckf @ May 6 2008, 09:08 PM)
Hi there fellow mutual funds gurus and enthusiasts, i got a question regarding the recently announced gross distribution by Public Mutual. I invested in Public Islamic Asia Dividend Fund in August 2007 and was attracted to this fund because it claims to offer potentially high returns from dividend. However, the recently announced distribution shows it to be around 0.04 sen per unit. So how do I calculate my return %? EPF announced a 5.8% last year, what does my investment give me from Public Mutual? Any idea why the distribution is so low?

Any help or opinion is much appreciated. Cheers
The distribution payout was affected by the recent market downturn. Therefore, the PM can't announce a higher distribution for this PIADF. As the fund started of in early May 07 where most of the stock prices are surging up, the downturn later in the year will definitely affect it more. In this period of times, all the funds are affected.

In terms of percentage of return from the dividend...a simple calculation based on the 25sen initial offer price..the distribution payout is about 1.6% or so.

The fund seems to move up much slower compared to other older funds (2yrs above)...might be bcoz its fundamental is not as strong as those olders one. It is definitely quite a dissappointment when its performance on the early part of the year is quite promising.

Since u mentioned u bought it in Aug 07...i suppose during that time d price is quite high (between 0.27+?). If you plan to sell/switch out now, u might b losing quite a bit. I personally still think that this funds has it own prospect in coming years. Therefore, the best thing to do might be to do some constant small amount of top-up to average down your cost price. Else, you might wan to consider switching out to another fund with a better growth prospects.

Get in touch wif your agent and hav a discussion wif him/her nod.gif

This post has been edited by kingkong81: May 6 2008, 10:05 PM
kingkong81
post May 6 2008, 11:11 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(jeff_ckf @ May 6 2008, 10:13 PM)
Hi kingkong, if I am the type that looks at long term prospect and I want to beat FD rate consistently, which fund would you propose? I just need some advise. Yea, I personally quite like this fund but the 1.6% return (which I had calculated and you confirmed it) is really very very pathetic imho. I am about to get my bonus this month so am thinking of whether to continue topping up or switch out. I am not in need of cash for the foreseeable three years.
In this case...you can try have a look at a few funds like PFEDF ( thumbup.gif ), PRSF or PITTIKAL. These few have been giving quite a constant & considerable annual distribution returns.

To me, i will give PIADF until this year end to see how it is going to fare before deciding to switch out. As i'm still quite confident in Asia market growth...then i'll see how the Fund Manager going to manage it till end of the year smile.gif

Juz another point...the funds' prices might b way above its offer price last time, like PITTIKAL is at RM1+/unit. But the price is not wat we are looking at...it is the percentage of growth that the fund can brings in. Fund Manager will constantly give out distribution as well as unit split to investors in a way to make the price lower & more attractive to other new investors. So, dun only look at the price smile.gif

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0451sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:14 AM