Why aren't you growing, Good article from Iron Addict

-Dan
post Apr 24 2010, 03:32 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(clazzikul @ Apr 24 2010, 03:25 PM)
height= 174cm

weight= 68kg

Breakfast= high5 chocolate bread

Lunch= mix rice (2type of vege and fish)

Tea time= bread

Dinner= fried rice

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

workout ikut mood, no specification  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

but i concerntrate on cardio besides i will swimming once a week time

++ normally my workout time were 8.30pm++ will tis effect the grow of muscle??
This is exactly why you aren't growing.
-Dan
post Aug 2 2011, 11:53 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Aug 2 2011, 04:45 PM)
I wonder, those squat hack machines, are they similar to doing squats?a any disadvantages for using hack squat machines compared to free weight?

at least if the machines its safer for the back for i fear of not doing it correctly.
Just because you use a machine, it doesn't take away the risk of injury if you perform the exercise with poor form. You need to have good form for every exercise you do.
-Dan
post Oct 23 2011, 11:11 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Mihawk7 @ Oct 23 2011, 10:04 PM)
i dont get the video. i understand when he said we cannot target specific muscle to grow. he tried to explain why people are doing it? i know he said it stimulate the muscle. stimulate to what? grow? he said earlier we cannot target specific muscle to grow. what did he meant? care to explain anybody?
Compound exercises recruit more than 1 muscle group. The more muscles involved, the more stimulation there is for the release of growth hormones and for protein synthesis. More growth hormones and protein synthesis = more growth overall.
-Dan
post Oct 25 2011, 04:40 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Mihawk7 @ Oct 24 2011, 11:12 AM)
Correct me if im wrong:

so its better to do squat and deadlift which stimulate more muscle rather than dumbbell curl which only stimulate the biseps?

but people cannot do squat and deadlift everyday because its too much for our body which might cause counter-production
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Oct 24 2011, 12:07 PM)
Bolded is the problem.
QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 25 2011, 12:14 AM)
well, can you curl everyday? whats the point of your question?
its because we cant use the same muscle everyday that we have split routines. try thinking before you post. seriously.
QUOTE(Mihawk7 @ Oct 25 2011, 04:31 PM)
sry to say, you are not bright either. try understanding the question before answering like an *******
I don't think you did much thinking when you posted the first time. You answered your own question. Kyoyogami and mike answered your question as well. And this is the kind of reply you give? Seriously, ditch the attitude.
-Dan
post Nov 19 2011, 09:35 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(zephyr1986 @ Nov 19 2011, 08:29 PM)
Sorta like a summary to what i've been doing, but feels like my gains are diminishing. Eating more now perhaps thats my problem. Seems like my legs are healed now so i'll be restarting that.

Just putting it up to see if y'all sifus got any 2 cents to add, i'll take it with a pinch of salt & sugar.
Well for starters, eat more. But I see you're addressing that, so that's good. And why don't you split up back and legs? Those're the 2 biggest muscle groups in the body and TBH, if you can train both on the same day, it means one of them isn't really being trained to its limit or you're superman. Some things to think about there.
-Dan
post Aug 5 2012, 01:39 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Aug 4 2012, 11:47 PM)
could be taller.
Arnold Schwarzenegger peaked at 6'2". How much taller do you want someone to be?
-Dan
post Nov 27 2012, 08:49 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(painaddict @ Nov 27 2012, 12:22 AM)
thats a pretty good advice man. thanks a lot! all this while ive been thinkin dat there must be something wrong, either my shoulders r too weak or im not doing it in proper form

Added on November 27, 2012, 8:28 am

1x bdweight? r u serious bro? im 75kg, does dat means ive to press the same weight? aiyoooo...
It's just a goal, man. Keep setting small goals for your lifts and it will help you progress in the long run.
-Dan
post Jan 3 2013, 02:29 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Jan 3 2013, 02:06 PM)
I been doing push-up 15 times every day for this past few days (5 in the morning, 5 in the afternoon and 5 at night) and carry heavy chemical container with chemical (weight arount 5-7kg) up and down inside everyday (morning, afternoon, night). Now the area near my chest is having some pain. Is this normal?
If you aren't used to physical activities such as what you've mentioned, then it's likely a normal case of DOMS.
-Dan
post Aug 9 2013, 02:20 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Aug 9 2013, 01:29 AM)
I have a question, a brief one actually, hence I've decided to ask here rather than to open a thread.

I have been working out for well over a year, went from 55kgs to about 66kgs right now. However, my gains are definitely there, but however slower compared to the last couple of months.

Has/ does anyone do drop sets? I overheard a few guys talking about it at the gym the other day. Should I start heavy and go light?   

What do I need to know about drop sets? And do I even need to do drop sets in the first place? Or stick to my usual routines?

Thanks smile.gif
Dropsets are a method of completely exhausting the muscle by technically hitting failure multiple times in a set. They're sometimes used to help in breaking plateaus or just to change things in a routine. They're not necessary and you can get by without ever doing them but they are fun to do sometimes just to 'feel' like you're pushing that extra bit more.
-Dan
post Aug 9 2013, 01:04 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Aug 9 2013, 02:24 AM)
I thought of giving dropsets a try actually, I've never done them before.
So basically right now I'm lifting light to heavy at 10 reps per set, 4 sets per workout.

If I decide to do dropsets, I'll be doing heavy to light at 10 reps per set, 4 sets per workout? hmm.gif
Not exactly. I mean, it's not set in stone, but you'd generally only incorporate a dropset on the last set of an exercise, or do one all out set. What I'd do is pick a weight I can get 5-8 reps with and hit as many as I can, drop the weight by 15-20% or so and repeat, then drop the weight maybe once or twice more.
-Dan
post Oct 20 2013, 08:32 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Oct 20 2013, 04:54 AM)
Guys i have a question. I checked my bady stats through a fitness centre machine. Naturally i have a very high metabolism, and the machine recorded Basal metabolic rate at 1650 cal /day (amount of energy expanded at rest). Currently my cal intake/day is at 2700.. Sometimes 3000 or may be lower than 2700 depends.. Doing weights 5 times/week.. Do you think it is enough for optimum gain?
Are you gaining weight or losing weight? At what rate are you gaining/losing weight?

0.0165sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:21 PM