Media Player [WTS] HIMEDIA H8 Plus 4K UHD, Dual Band WIFI and Gigabit Ethernet
Oct 1 2015, 09:08 PM
4,761 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: My house |
Does this H8 support video up-scaling?
Thanks. |
Oct 1 2015, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(nicety @ Oct 1 2015, 09:35 PM) I am not sure what you mean "support up scaling", but if you have 720p movies play in 1080p TV there is no problem at all. Google search yields ..A video scaler is a system which converts video signals from one display resolution to another; typically, scalers are used to convert a signal from a lower resolution (such as 480p standard definition) to a higher resolution (such as 1080i high definition), a process known as "upconversion" or "upscaling" (by contrast, converting from high to low resolution is known as "downconversion" or "downscaling"). Upscaling is a common feature in BR player. I googled "Himedia" with "upscaling" and cannot find the link. Not supported? |
Oct 6 2015, 07:16 PM
Oct 7 2015, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(timothyy @ Oct 7 2015, 05:57 PM) Received my H8 last Monday. Looks like I am also a caveman like you moving to highland (HiMedia). Ha.Didn't know I was from cave until I got this player. Heck... you don't need torrent anymore. Thanks much. Love. Heard about media player before but did not bother to explore further till recently when I set up streaming from My Cloud to my TV. PM me any good tips, sites etc. Thanks. |
Oct 10 2015, 03:27 PM
A quick update here.
Got my H8 yesterday (Fri) even though Nicety sent it on Monday. I am renaming Pos Laju to Pos Sangat-Tak-Laju! Their web tracking update is quite useless, not updated on time and some parts missing. I think it is the working mentality there causing the delay. Next time, use normal courier though it may be a few dollars more expensive. Have watched 2 movies now using H8. Though I am still on streamyx 2 Mb, I buffer it up and then watch them. Plan to switch over to Unifi. Managed to watch Harry Potter (the last episode) with my wife, her favourite movie. Picture and sound qualities are good, better than the torrent version (usually cam version). So, I have brought a cinema to my house! Ha. The TV box user interface needs some getting use to. AA Frustrating with the mouse control on the H8 remote. Like to have feedback from other users on how they find the Air Mouse, wireless mouse etc. Difficulty in getting it to do what you want can take the enjoyment out in watching otherwise an entertaining movie. So like to sort this one out. BB There are many settings in Kodi. You select this or that. For some, I do not know what it will do if I selected A etc. Is there a manual describing all these options? Then I can optimise the settings for my use. CC Like to know whether it is ok to set up both cabling: 1. HDMI from H8 to TV 2. RCA cables from H8 to AVR, AVR to TV Switch on AVR when I am watching action movies or concerts. Normal viewing will be from H8 to TV. DD Any one here tried the Beast or SpinzTV build on your H8? Your feedback - good and bad? Many thanks. P/S For BB, found some infor from http://kodi.wiki/view/Add-on:Confluence/Settings PP/S For AA, try this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fx180ZvGdII This post has been edited by plumberly: Oct 10 2015, 05:59 PM |
Oct 12 2015, 10:16 AM
Oct 13 2015, 12:04 PM
Noted the Kodi in my H8 is version 14. Can I install Kodi V15 without loosing the current setup?
As simple as going to kodi site and click on the latest version? Thanks. |
Oct 13 2015, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(nicety @ Oct 13 2015, 02:01 PM) Yes, you can. But to be noted that some addons not compatible with 15 which you need to reinstall if not working and you need to add again SuperRepo where the repository differrentiate between Helix and lsengard. Oh dear. It can be like opening a can of worms then. I have tried Kodi on my PC before buying H8. Call it a rookie with limited knowledge & skill on Android/Kodi, it was not a smooth or easy learning phase for me then. Feel that it is not well organised/structured. Maybe that is due to it being an open source software with all sorts of people doing their programming.Like to know whether any H8 users here has upgraded to V15 and whether you encountered any problems? Please share and help here. Thanks. P/S Managed to find an old cable mouse which was damaged before (my son's laptop). Opened it up and amazed at how it works, the simple design! I thought they have 2 springs in there for the 2 clicks buttons. No springs in there. Instead they use see-saw level mechanism for the click. Simple and cheap design! Broken plastic stand at one end which resulted in loss of the "spring" mechanism. Managed to fix that with folded paper inserted into the space (spongy effect). Cut a long story short, now with the mouse, it makes using H8 and watching movies a lot more comforting and enjoyable! Suggest hooking up a mouse or keyboard to H8 instead of using the H8 remote for screen navigation. Enjoy! |
Oct 13 2015, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 13 2015, 02:50 PM) aa. Thanks.i use both air mouse and wireless mouse but on 2 diff devices. my experience is wireless mouse is easier. air mouse has keyboard but my fingers too fat for the small buttons. note - for some apps functions, the REMOTE is required, mouse can't do. cc. hdmi to tv is good becos u want the best picture quality and still get tv sound. rca cables... i think this model does not have coaxial (round orange) but only optical (black square) toslink connection unlike q16 which have both. you need to buy toslink cable (inexpensive from any diy store) if u do not have it. optical or coaxial are digital, u get dts/dolby but can't get dsthdma/dolby truehd - this, only hdmi can handle. try not to use rca cables for l/r (white/red) for avr as this gives stereo only, not so good. Using an old cable mouse. A lot better than using the H8 remote! Ha. Will keep my eyes open for a wireless mouse/keyboard later. Logitech comes to mind with a good review on TV box usage. Yes, that guy complained about the small buttons on air mouse etc. Thanks for the infor on CC. Using optical cable on my Onkyo AVR. I thought optical cable handles both the audio and visual signals. No? |
Oct 18 2015, 09:49 AM
One tip for new TV box beginner.
You select a movie, it comes up with many links. You try one and see if it works. Try, try till you get one working. Initially that is OK but after a while, it becomes annoying. Ha. Found out this tip last night. In Genesis, go to TOOLS, Playback and set it to AUTOPLAY. Activate the other selections in the PLAYBACK page anyway (don't really know what they are for). With this setup, the next time you select a movie, it will try to open the first link. If it is not successful, then it will the next and so on. Now you may be saying what if the order in the link list is not what you want? You can configure which order list. Cannot remember the page name now. Just look for "priority" selections. This really makes watching movies a lot easier instead of trying this and that! The above is for GENESIS. I think other software can do the same. Just check it out. By the way, what is the name of the software for TV shows written by the team for GENESIS? Genesis is good. So I think that TV show should also be good. Thanks. |
Oct 18 2015, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(nicety @ Oct 18 2015, 12:22 PM) Thanks a lot for sharing the good piece of info. This really help a lot to reduce the effort to search video sources. Many thanks for the link. Below are the list of the addons created by Genesis Author, not sure the TV shows your refer is in the list : http://addons.tvaddons.ag/author/lambda/ One thing I don't like with Kodi in general is the vague infor they use, expecting everyone to understand/know by just 1 word or sentence (though their programs may be very good). They don't describe what each add-on can do. Will try some later. Cheerio. |
Oct 18 2015, 07:40 PM
Continuation on what I said earlier about selecting your preferred source/host list in Genesis.
Infor from : http://koditips.com/genesis-5-tips-genesis-hosts-order/ HD Hosts Order (sorted from fastest to slowest) MrFile Gvideo Yify Dizimag VK Muchmovies Videomega Turbovideos Openload Vidplay MovieTV Moviefarsi SD Hosts Order (sorted from high quality down to low quality) Openload HQ Mrfile HQ Uptobox HQ Dizimag HQ Turbovideos HQ V-vids HQ Skyvids HQ Gvideo HQ Mightupload HQ zStream HQ Vidspot MQ Streamin MQ Allmyvideos MQ Vidto MQ Streamcloud MQ Letwatch MQ Enjoy your cinema at home watching! |
Oct 20 2015, 08:40 PM
AA
Found one very good link for guitar lessons (beginner and advanced). Install UltimateGuitar in the Video add-on. BB Played a movie from my Hdisk using pre-installed Media Center in H8. Surprised that it does not have STOP, FORWARD buttons. Only PLAY, PAUSE, SKIP CHAPTERS buttons. Very limiting when compared with PC's VLC etc. Maybe I have not explored enough. Need to install and use other media playing software? Thanks. This post has been edited by plumberly: Oct 20 2015, 08:42 PM |
Oct 26 2015, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(nicety @ Oct 25 2015, 02:24 PM) Thank you for inquiry. Thanks for the infor on HiTV. Have not explored it yet. Sounds promising!1). Beside HiTV, CloudTV, there are Kodi, Showbox, PopcornTime and more. Sorry bro, could not disclose here publicly, otherwise it will be throttled by local ISP. The 30++ apps included tools such as backup and etc. If include Chinese apps, there are more 50++ apps in the repository. Anything you have in mind just tell us, we could install for you. 2). Those famous Chinese apps such as YouKu, Qiyi, Tuduo has Geo restriction, but there are many 3rd party Chinese streaming apps that work as relay agent to relay the movies outside China, no VPN required. 3). I do not want to discuss HiTV openly here, we do not do any tricks in the HiTV. Free stuff need some effort, the apps are come and go, for example PPS and QVOD are very good apps, unfortunately it were killed. However, when one app is killed, new apps will born again. As well as you follow the thread closely, you will get the new apps. 4). Kodi are none commercial developed platform, I did not see much Geo restriction in Kodi. Maybe you use the wrong Addons, read more about Kodi in the below thread. Similarly. Kodi addons are come and go, switch your addons when necessary. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...entry77021428 5). Sorry bro, Himedia do not copy Mibox 3 as the hardware manufacturer should focus on the box and not the content. Media content might attract buyer for short term. In long terms, the hardware manufacturer will stop those illegal content service. As mentioned in point#2, there are many developer already done that which relay the content from the main China stream sources. Similarly Genesis in Kodi also relay the movies from the major streaming source from US and Europe. |
Oct 31 2015, 06:56 PM
Find MOVIEHD (pre-installed in H8) good, fast and almost 100% success in streaming.
However, I cannot pause, fast forward, view how long is the movie etc. Tried many buttons on the remote. Possible to preset these in MOVIEHD? Or I have to live with the current defaults? Thanks. |
Nov 1 2015, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(nicety @ Nov 1 2015, 12:50 AM) MoviesHD player is mouse operate app, plug in your PC mouse, left click you see Pause and fast forward. Thanks!Additional tips: when you choose the movies to play, don't click play but click "custom" then it will prompt for player, you can choose Kodi or MX player pro or other player. Choose kodi player in order to utilize Kodi features such as subtitle and audio offset. I was using Bin@gual (hope I got the name right). Nice music videos in there. I noted that it has that select player option on right mouse click. I selected H8 instead of the default DVDplayer. Question came to mind then is, how can I select H8 player as the default in this add-on and all others? Cheerio. |
Nov 17 2015, 01:30 PM
Tried to connect the optical cable from H8 to my Onkyo AVR on optical #1 port.
On AVR SELECT DIGITAL AUDIO, selected optical #1. Cannot get any sound output. Also tried #2, same problem. Is there something I did wrong? No shape bend on the optical cable. Both ends fully plugged in. Thanks. This post has been edited by plumberly: Nov 17 2015, 01:39 PM |
Nov 17 2015, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(nicety @ Nov 17 2015, 07:21 PM) Many many thanks!See what I mean when I said where have I gone wrong? Ha. Saw a few overseas threads asking the same question on why no sound! Ha. Though they may not be using H8, I guess they have to do something similar on the audio setting. On the bottom half of H8 remote, what are TV mode Subtitle Audio buttons for? I pressed them and some numbers were displayed on the top left corner. Thanks. P/S Just tried to update the setting. From the main menu, went to setting, playback. Cannot find "audio output". Also opened up Kodi and looked there. Tak ada. Please clarify. Thanks. This post has been edited by plumberly: Nov 17 2015, 08:44 PM |
Nov 18 2015, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(nicety @ Nov 17 2015, 09:37 PM) Sorry, not "audio output", should be "hdmi output" as per below screen : Many thanks again.The "TV Mode" button is for switch the resolution setting of the box. The "Subtitle" button is for switch the subtitles when play movie from media center. Most of the blueray file support multiple subtitles, use this button as short cut to switch different subtitle. The "Audio" button is for switch audio track when play movie from media center. Tried the HDMI output to sxxxx last night, not working either. Will try again later today. Thanks for the tips on the 3 buttons. The instruction sheet from H8 could be better if it already has what you described on the button function. Maybe they are in the sheet already but either I did not see them or they are so easily missed that I did not see them. Does not matter how good or powerful a product is, if the instruction is not there, lacking or poorly worded, in the view of the customer that product is just average. My apology for my criticism on H8. Just trying to make it a better product by improving some of the flaws here and there as a user. I hope other readers here will find your answers to my questions beneficial to their use of the H8. Cheerio. This post has been edited by plumberly: Nov 18 2015, 09:54 AM |
Nov 18 2015, 02:57 PM
Nicety,
Wanting to update the firmware to the latest 3.x in your skydrive. * download and unzip the file to UPDATE directory in a pen drive * plug the pen drive into the USB port * start H8 and go to the firmware update menu Or * insert a pointed stick into the hole next to the power plug to start the firmware update? Thanks. P/S Mine has kernel version = 3.10. Does this mean I already have the latest firmware 3.x? Thanks. This post has been edited by plumberly: Nov 18 2015, 03:09 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0372sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:01 PM |