Is there anyone here who chooses NOT to upgrade, to Windows 10?

SUSraynman
post Aug 10 2015, 05:11 PM, updated 11y ago

4,333 posts

Which Windows version are you currently on, and what are your reasons for not wanting to upgrade to Windows 10?
omgimahero
post Aug 10 2015, 05:17 PM

479 posts

7.. got my 10 d...

but dont want upgrade yet... wait for more bug fixes and other ppl review on 10 first...
johnsdoes
post Aug 10 2015, 05:19 PM

257 posts

win 8.1 why ? because stable.
SUSraynman
post Aug 10 2015, 05:20 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(omgimahero @ Aug 10 2015, 05:17 PM)
7.. got my 10 d...

but dont want upgrade yet... wait for more bug fixes and other ppl review on 10 first...
I am looking for people who don't want to upgrade to Windows 10 at all.

kherel77
post Aug 10 2015, 05:25 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

Win 7 Pro 64bit : I'm poor-fag : old hardware : no real advantage to upgrade yet.
As long as still got support for Win 7 for all my software, I'll not upgrade...
SUSraynman
post Aug 10 2015, 05:26 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Aug 10 2015, 05:25 PM)
Win 7 Pro 64bit : I'm poor-fag : old hardware : no real advantage to upgrade yet.
As long as still got support for Win 7 for all my software, I'll not upgrade...
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the matter. Appreciate it. smile.gif

hooh888
post Aug 10 2015, 05:29 PM

Shinei, bakemono.
1,535 posts

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, don't intend to upgrade as I'm already so comfortable with it. The UI from Windows 8 onward all make my eyes bleed and I don't feel like getting used to those. Will only upgrade if there are software that I want to use or games I wish to play that aren't supported on Windows 7.
MeToo
post Aug 10 2015, 05:33 PM

9,336 posts

me... cause I dont like to be a guinea pig...

and I dont wanna risk my 101 games not working..
SUSraynman
post Aug 10 2015, 05:34 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ Aug 10 2015, 05:29 PM)
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, don't intend to upgrade as I'm already so comfortable with it. The UI from Windows 8 onward all make my eyes bleed and I don't feel like getting used to those. Will only upgrade if there are software that I want to use or games I wish to play that aren't supported on Windows 7.
Those are good reasons not to upgrade. smile.gif

one punch man
post Aug 10 2015, 05:36 PM

234 posts

win 7 serve me very well now, no problem at all.
and i see no real reason to force my self to re-learn and adapt to new os. dun want waste time lo

SUSraynman
post Aug 10 2015, 06:32 PM

4,333 posts

There is a friend of mine who chose not to upgrade to Windows 10 because he is scared that his pirated copy of Microsoft Office 2013 will be caught out and cannot run on it. laugh.gif
andears99
post Aug 10 2015, 10:11 PM

62 posts

I already tried windows 10, but boot to os is taking more time. smile.gif Windows 8.1 will more faster. biggrin.gif
low yat 82
post Aug 11 2015, 09:19 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

r window 10 free? im sticking wit win8. at least it free?
maraippo
post Aug 11 2015, 09:28 AM

~PoPoPoPoPo~
1,165 posts

win7. already got my updates ready but no plan to install it yet. win7 serves me well. maybe i wait n see first how it goes.
GamersFamilia
post Aug 13 2015, 09:43 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,825 posts

QUOTE(andears99 @ Aug 10 2015, 10:11 PM)
I already tried windows 10, but boot to os is taking more time.  smile.gif  Windows 8.1 will more faster. biggrin.gif
true , it takes sometime for booting
andears99
post Aug 13 2015, 10:01 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Aug 13 2015, 09:43 AM)
true , it takes sometime for booting
Unless Using A SSD , otherwise windows 8.1 will faster alot. brows.gif
raizo7
post Aug 14 2015, 12:12 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Aug 11 2015, 09:19 AM)
r window 10 free? im sticking wit win8. at least it free?
What?
JnkTfk
post Aug 14 2015, 12:15 AM

75 posts

Will stick to Windows 7 till no support. Used to it alrd. using those cpu meters and network meters heavily
WiLeKiyO
post Aug 14 2015, 01:38 AM

5,144 posts

Windows 7 serves me well, I do not need fancy Windows 10 to do my everyday task and gaming.

Unless, if Windows 10 provides increase performance in gaming(more than 10%), I'll upgrade immediately.
huattk
post Aug 14 2015, 03:31 AM

271 posts

I'd love to move over to OS X Mavericks instead, but software that run exclusively on Windows is the only thing stopping me. So I'm stuck on Windows 7.

Tried Windows 8, then 8.1. Both OSes only make sense if you have a touchscreen or tablet. Even with tablet, the Metro UI only works if you have Metro/Modern programs. If you have a non-Metro-supported program, you might as well throw your tablet out of your window, because Microsoft didn't think it important to have your keyboard auto-pop up when you need to enter text into a box. This is why I was forced to give up on Firefox and switched to IE on a tablet. Why not Chrome? Well, you can make Chrome work with Metro, but it doesn't integrate well enough, and you end up with a screen that looks like a cheap knockoff of a Chromebook, the bottom bar showing you Google's idea of a UI instead of Windows bar. It feels like Google trying to moon Microsoft. So, you stick to IE, and lose all the bells and whistles of Firefox and Chrome.

To me Windows 10 feels no different from Windows 8.1. There may be added features, but one thing they didn't fix is font rendering. You still have to face the jagged and blocky Chinese font, like this one:

Someone in Redmond finds this pretty.

It doesn't take a magnifying glass to see where Cleartype went wrong compared to Mac font rendering.

For the longest time, Microsoft's Cleartype team think they got font smoothing down to an art. If that's the case, Google should be implementing Cleartype on their Android, instead of copying Apple/Linux. If Microsoft is right, then iPhone and Android have inferior font rendering than their Cleartype, then Windows phone should have no problem outselling Samsung.

And yet, we're now on Windows 10, and look, it's the same crap.
aliesterfiend
post Aug 25 2015, 03:01 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

I participated on widows insider for few months ago, Once done and the OS finally released I reformatted my pc back to using windows 7 as not all game are currently playable. Probably gonna wait until almost a year later (while still free to upgrade) before finally upgrading it for good.

SUSkayro
post Aug 26 2015, 05:14 AM

411 posts

Torrent trackers banned Windows 10 users. If you find your torrenting speed slower than average speed, you may be banned. Games and software compability problem. Microsoft monitor contents in storage to identify pirated contents and other type of files. Microsoft uses your internet like hell to seed users who downloading win 10 via windows update and many more. That why I stick to Windows 7 in my desktop. For laptop, I upgraded to win 10 because it much easier to use with touchpad. biggrin.gif
delsoo
post Aug 28 2015, 01:56 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Aug 10 2015, 06:32 PM)
There is a friend of mine who chose not to upgrade to Windows 10 because he is scared that his pirated copy of Microsoft Office 2013 will be caught out and cannot run on it. laugh.gif
As long as you do not update ur microsoft 2013, then it's fine.
Edis0n
post Aug 28 2015, 06:32 PM

159 posts

Satisfied with my win7 64 pro. biggrin.gif
matiko95
post Aug 28 2015, 06:34 PM

922 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Aug 10 2015, 05:11 PM)
Which Windows version are you currently on, and what are your reasons for not wanting to upgrade to Windows 10?
because butthurt still hurt?
no support in ide such as eclipse mars.. got prob..
moiskyrie
post Aug 28 2015, 08:14 PM

3,217 posts

aiyoh....all my pc just upgrade to win10....
hand feel itchy when popup say can upgrade...>.>
chanhin
post Oct 26 2015, 12:02 AM

1,615 posts

My 9 years old desktop Vista (original) fail to upgrade into Windows 10.

Found out only Windows 7 and 8 can upgrade.

Does it mean I just upgrade to pirated Win 7/8, then I can upgrade into Windows 10 original?
1024kbps
post Oct 26 2015, 02:55 AM

李素裳
6,015 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Oct 26 2015, 12:02 AM)
My 9 years old desktop Vista (original) fail to upgrade into Windows 10.

Found out only Windows 7 and 8 can upgrade.

Does it mean I just upgrade to pirated Win 7/8, then I can upgrade into Windows 10 original?
I think you can install Windows Insider build, to upgrade to Windows 10.
after finished install just opt-out the beta test.

Not really sure if this will work, since the Windows Insider convert to legit build might only works if you install it prior to July 2th.
huislaw
post Nov 19 2015, 07:03 PM

1,344 posts

Windows 8.1
Not upgrading coz worry older games can't run properly.
SUSnastyaheyyo
post Nov 26 2015, 04:28 PM

17 posts

I hate the notifications on my desktop, but it's almost ok after a few months! No, all the friends say 'don't', so I won't upgrade
ricstc
post Nov 26 2015, 10:42 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

Is this FAQ useful for anyone since MS lately does not permit the
latest update to be got by the MediaCreationTool?

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...dows-update-faq
uzer85
post Nov 26 2015, 10:46 PM

love............love......
3,812 posts

upgraded to win10. gotta say, need to get used to it. still love win7 tho.
Oyaji
post Nov 28 2015, 06:13 AM

516 posts

Win 8.1. why? I've read those privacy issues with Win 10 so I'm sticking with my current windows.

this might be off topic but how to get rid of that win 10 icon on the bottom right of the monitor?
AkmalWarrior
post Nov 28 2015, 10:49 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Aug 10 2015, 06:32 PM)
You can, but you must use KMS activator.
However told him to buy Ori Stuff ok.
deathNOTE
post Dec 2 2015, 01:04 PM

15 posts

I upgraded on my desktop but not on my laptop. It's actually not as bad as I thought, slowly starting to like it more than 7 BUT the privacy stuff makes me concerned.

0.0263sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:40 PM