QUOTE(r i k h a i @ Dec 27 2009, 01:53 PM)
Among the top are Wharton, UMich, NYU and Purdue.Study in America!, How?
Study in America!, How?
Dec 28 2009, 12:45 AM
4,152 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Dec 28 2009, 01:33 AM
142 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Okay, thanks for the info.
Dec 28 2009, 08:14 AM
3,940 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(r i k h a i @ Dec 28 2009, 01:33 AM) u may wanna jump on this threadhttp://talk.collegeconfidential.com/other-...iversities.html |
Jan 9 2010, 01:16 PM
1,744 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
is it true that too study in the states,you need to have half a million ringgit in your (sponsor's)bank account?
Jan 10 2010, 07:26 PM
130 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: KL |
QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jan 9 2010, 01:16 PM) is it true that too study in the states,you need to have half a million ringgit in your (sponsor's)bank account? most (higher range) middle tier to top tier US unis need at least 50k+ USD(inclusive of books, fees, food, accomodation, everything) for the first year of admission. If you get in, they will ask for proof of at least 50k+ USD in the sponsor's bank account. Fees range from uni to uni, but that is the average for the more competitive unis. This is without any scholarships taken into account. If you have a scholarship, it is deductible from the 50k amount. |
Jan 11 2010, 03:20 PM
1,744 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
thanks neorelated4..that IS ALOT of money haiz.
Jan 13 2010, 02:04 PM
606 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Guys, i too want to know more about ADP, do i have to choose my major 1st before entering? if not when do i gotta choose?
Isit different case depending on which Uni? |
Feb 11 2010, 09:15 PM
687 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: S Van Buren St, IA |
i guess im bumping old thread
hope can answer my question.. currently im doing ADP & will transfer to US (fall 2010 intake) the issue is; almost all university required high school transcript (some said if necessary). but i think i dont have any of those because of my previous didnt keep it as record (i guess). is spm certificate is enough? |
Feb 11 2010, 09:37 PM
15,855 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(spoil_ @ Feb 11 2010, 09:15 PM) i guess im bumping old thread spoil_,hope can answer my question.. currently im doing ADP & will transfer to US (fall 2010 intake) the issue is; almost all university required high school transcript (some said if necessary). but i think i dont have any of those because of my previous didnt keep it as record (i guess). is spm certificate is enough? 1) Where you are doing the ADP should be able to tell you that. 2) Don't you keep your high school's report cards?? That is your transcript... Dreamer |
Feb 11 2010, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(spoil_ @ Feb 11 2010, 09:15 PM) i guess im bumping old thread No they don't mean your SPM certificate. In Malaysia we don't have a secondary school transcript. So the solution is just to create one yourself. When you design it, make it clean and simple. Include your grade from your mid and final year exams. If you don't have a the final year exam marks, just use your the real or percubaan PMR and SPM marks. Add in important details like your position in class and your CGPA (calculate it yourself). Discuss this with your school counselor or headmasters, explain it to them and get them to sign it. I just got my counselor to sign it, it works. My counselor even helped my by adding in the school's logo and official header, so it looked pretty neat in the end.hope can answer my question.. currently im doing ADP & will transfer to US (fall 2010 intake) the issue is; almost all university required high school transcript (some said if necessary). but i think i dont have any of those because of my previous didnt keep it as record (i guess). is spm certificate is enough? |
Feb 11 2010, 11:18 PM
687 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: S Van Buren St, IA |
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 11 2010, 09:37 PM) spoil_, currently in Taylor's ADP. 5th semester.1) Where you are doing the ADP should be able to tell you that. 2) Don't you keep your high school's report cards?? That is your transcript... Dreamer about high school transcript, i lost it. after spm (2007), i dont know it is important! seriously. then i try ask my school, they didnt found it. fyi, my previous school is private school and also kampung-like school (same like sekolah pondok or something like that if you know what i mean). i guess there is no way to retrieve it QUOTE(mumeichan @ Feb 11 2010, 10:32 PM) No they don't mean your SPM certificate. In Malaysia we don't have a secondary school transcript. So the solution is just to create one yourself. When you design it, make it clean and simple. Include your grade from your mid and final year exams. If you don't have a the final year exam marks, just use your the real or percubaan PMR and SPM marks. Add in important details like your position in class and your CGPA (calculate it yourself). Discuss this with your school counselor or headmasters, explain it to them and get them to sign it. I just got my counselor to sign it, it works. My counselor even helped my by adding in the school's logo and official header, so it looked pretty neat in the end. just PMR and SPM only enough?about college i think there is no problem at all. just my high school transcript only is the issue |
Feb 11 2010, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(spoil_ @ Feb 11 2010, 11:18 PM) currently in Taylor's ADP. 5th semester. I mean include your mid and final year exam from F1 - F5, but some schools, like mine, don't have final year exams in F3 and F5, so you can substitute it with your PMR and SP results. Of course, you need your school's approval first.about high school transcript, i lost it. after spm (2007), i dont know it is important! seriously. then i try ask my school, they didnt found it. fyi, my previous school is private school and also kampung-like school (same like sekolah pondok or something like that if you know what i mean). i guess there is no way to retrieve it just PMR and SPM only enough? about college i think there is no problem at all. just my high school transcript only is the issue |
Mar 9 2010, 12:39 PM
100 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
hey there...
1 ques...i'm applying for postgrad...is it possible to apply online without any of GMAT/IELTS/TOEFL score...since i hvnt take it yet (planning to take dis mid march)... |
Mar 11 2010, 11:50 PM
156 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(HMB @ Mar 9 2010, 12:39 PM) hey there... Yea. you may apply first. You can call them if you have any doubt.1 ques...i'm applying for postgrad...is it possible to apply online without any of GMAT/IELTS/TOEFL score...since i hvnt take it yet (planning to take dis mid march)... Skype to any US land or cell phone is only USD 0.024 cents (plus tax) |
Mar 12 2010, 05:01 PM
20 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
hey hey...im taking ielts on da 20th which is da mid of march...XD
hope to c u there..btw,any tips or advice for ielts?? n i wanted to enquire that whether ADP provide a transfer to US for a undergraduate in PHARMACY??plz take note is pharmacy... plz help n thank you...^^ |
Mar 12 2010, 06:24 PM
28 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(~PussyDevil~ @ Nov 15 2006, 10:15 AM) I graduated in New York in 2009. Well is US, almost everything that you do in the courses counts toward the final grade. Here's the typical grading policy and grade distribution in my engineering course:5% - attendance 5% - final presentation 10% - weekly quizzes 10% - weekly homework 15% - Exam 1 15% - Exam 2 15% - Exam 3 25% Final exam > 93% = A (4.00) 90 - 92 = A- (3.67) 87 - 89 = B+ (3.33) 83 - 86 = B (3.00) 80 - 82 = B- (2.67) 76 - 79 = C+ (2.33) 70 - 75 = C (2.00) 65 - 69 = C- (1.67) 60 - 64 = D+ (1.33) 55 - 59 = D (1.00) < 55 = F Most lecturers know that it's a pain in the ass to give 100% commitment to your courses in the whole semester, so they offer things that can raise your grade such as: 1. you can miss 2 classes without grade penalty 2. you can drop 1 exam with lowest grades so the final will count more towards the final grade 3. you can do optional assignment 4. you can get 5% bonus score if you attend all classes 5. etc. So you can judge how hard/easy is it to get good grades in US. Overall I'd say that it's EASY and FUN but the most important thing is don't miss any assignment. One assignment could reduce you final grade by 0.5% but if you keep missing it, like me, at the end it will be very hard to get A. They really encourage group work and discussion so almost in every class you'll have 1-3 partners. |
Mar 12 2010, 06:41 PM
4,781 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(gjoy993 @ Mar 12 2010, 06:24 PM) I graduated in New York in 2009. Well is US, almost everything that you do in the courses counts toward the final grade. Here's the typical grading policy and grade distribution in my engineering course: HAHA5% - attendance 5% - final presentation 10% - weekly quizzes 10% - weekly homework 15% - Exam 1 15% - Exam 2 15% - Exam 3 25% Final exam > 93% = A (4.00) 90 - 92 = A- (3.67) 87 - 89 = B+ (3.33) 83 - 86 = B (3.00) 80 - 82 = B- (2.67) 76 - 79 = C+ (2.33) 70 - 75 = C (2.00) 65 - 69 = C- (1.67) 60 - 64 = D+ (1.33) 55 - 59 = D (1.00) < 55 = F Most lecturers know that it's a pain in the ass to give 100% commitment to your courses in the whole semester, so they offer things that can raise your grade such as: 1. you can miss 2 classes without grade penalty 2. you can drop 1 exam with lowest grades so the final will count more towards the final grade 3. you can do optional assignment 4. you can get 5% bonus score if you attend all classes 5. etc. So you can judge how hard/easy is it to get good grades in US. Overall I'd say that it's EASY and FUN but the most important thing is don't miss any assignment. One assignment could reduce you final grade by 0.5% but if you keep missing it, like me, at the end it will be very hard to get A. They really encourage group work and discussion so almost in every class you'll have 1-3 partners. The first thing to do is to scout for solutions to the assignments. The professors usually reuse the assignments....That would save you so much time and heartbreaks. |
Mar 12 2010, 07:28 PM
30 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Hi. Is there any recommended uni in US for undergraduates hospitality and culinary management course?
Thank you! |
Mar 12 2010, 11:56 PM
28 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(feynman @ Mar 12 2010, 05:41 AM) The first thing to do is to scout for solutions to the assignments. The professors usually reuse the assignments....That would save you so much time and heartbreaks. I did that most of the time. We can download textbook solution from internet, buy solution from cramster.com or get past assignment solution from friends/fraternity. I have to stress that I'm not encouraging anyone to do that; the best thing to do is do the assignment ourselves and meet the TA/professor if we need help. |
Mar 13 2010, 09:12 AM
90 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(gjoy993 @ Mar 12 2010, 06:24 PM) I graduated in New York in 2009. Well is US, almost everything that you do in the courses counts toward the final grade. Here's the typical grading policy and grade distribution in my engineering course: Also take note that difficulty of course is different from school to school in the U.S.. Generally, the more reputable is your school, the tougher it is.5% - attendance 5% - final presentation 10% - weekly quizzes 10% - weekly homework 15% - Exam 1 15% - Exam 2 15% - Exam 3 25% Final exam > 93% = A (4.00) 90 - 92 = A- (3.67) 87 - 89 = B+ (3.33) 83 - 86 = B (3.00) 80 - 82 = B- (2.67) 76 - 79 = C+ (2.33) 70 - 75 = C (2.00) 65 - 69 = C- (1.67) 60 - 64 = D+ (1.33) 55 - 59 = D (1.00) < 55 = F Most lecturers know that it's a pain in the ass to give 100% commitment to your courses in the whole semester, so they offer things that can raise your grade such as: 1. you can miss 2 classes without grade penalty 2. you can drop 1 exam with lowest grades so the final will count more towards the final grade 3. you can do optional assignment 4. you can get 5% bonus score if you attend all classes 5. etc. So you can judge how hard/easy is it to get good grades in US. Overall I'd say that it's EASY and FUN but the most important thing is don't miss any assignment. One assignment could reduce you final grade by 0.5% but if you keep missing it, like me, at the end it will be very hard to get A. They really encourage group work and discussion so almost in every class you'll have 1-3 partners. Curving grades is the other scale system used in U.S. In this system, 20-30% of the class shares the A+, A, A-. So imagine if you have 20 people in a class, only 5 people get to go to the A grade. If you have 200, that will be 50. Under this system, the professor does not have to worry about lampooning you with the hardest questions he can find because he is assured that there will be people who gets an A in the class. (My advanced calc 1's mean was 50%. There were only 5 questions on the test, 3 hours.) Difficulty also depends on who you are competing with. This usually is the element that makes the course the hardest. If you're in a very good school which only admits top students, you will be competing with crazy people (people from singapore, india, china, and malaysia) to be part of the top 30% of the class. So generally, difficulty of a U.S. school varies. |
| Change to: | 0.0303sec
5 queries
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:45 AM |