Might be quite expensive due to the economy crisis . Ask your agent or the immigrations ?
Study in America!, How?
Jan 31 2009, 06:50 PM
1,799 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Might be quite expensive due to the economy crisis . Ask your agent or the immigrations ?
Feb 1 2009, 02:04 AM
1,890 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Yes SAT.
Yes TOEFL. We are a third world country. |
Feb 1 2009, 02:24 AM
1,021 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Penang Island, Alor Star |
if anyone planning to do electrical, mechanical, compE then go to purdue univ!
go boilers! hehe ... just promoting my uni but hey, if u got the chance to go ... dun worry too much coz most uni's are good in US ... man, it's been 4 years since i left US ** can't remember my sat/toefl scores ady This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Feb 1 2009, 02:29 AM |
Feb 4 2009, 01:40 PM
10 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
hi all,
i finished my spm last year( 2008) i duno what should i choose, so far i minimize until left ADP, foundation, and A-lvl. any advice what should i choose? i quite interested in engineering. who can be honest to tell the pros and cons of ADP? Inti ADP really good? Added on February 4, 2009, 2:07 pmi after spm waiting results but i got only 7As in trial is ADP is my choice? foundation? who can give me intro on ADP whats the pros and cons? thx for reply This post has been edited by wongty91: Feb 4 2009, 02:07 PM |
Feb 5 2009, 01:24 PM
90 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(zariqcools @ Jan 27 2009, 10:44 AM) Lebron fans? google college in Ohio. Added on February 5, 2009, 1:32 pm QUOTE(pokeat @ Jan 31 2009, 05:24 AM) lets not talk about the green card for now since its for permenent resident. choose your desired college, send in your application and resume. take required tests such as tofl, sat etc. scored the test, get accepted and apply your visa with i-20. Not sure about the cost, but it should be around $100 in dollar. None refundeble even if you didn't get the visa. Gather your financial evidence or any strong evidence that prove you are going there to study. This post has been edited by Anni: Feb 5 2009, 01:52 PM |
Feb 5 2009, 03:43 PM
10 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
oi
any ppl can give opinion on UK degree and US ADP? which 1 more costly and which 1 moe better? |
Feb 5 2009, 03:51 PM
120 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
May I know how much does it cost to do an engineering Postgraduate degree in the US??
Are those fees stated in the website for each semester/year/the whole course? Also, i heard that if you're doing a postgrad degree in the US and you manage to secure a research/teaching assistant position, they will waive the foreign student fees and charge you local fees...is it true??? |
Feb 6 2009, 01:25 AM
QUOTE(jackyjin @ Feb 5 2009, 02:51 AM) May I know how much does it cost to do an engineering Postgraduate degree in the US?? I know someone who is doing graduated degree in OSU and he got waived 4k out of the 5k he pays each semester by working as professor assistant. However the financial aids and tuition fee differ since America has too many colleges to choose from. I worked in the school soccer team and i got my international fee waived off. I am paying in state tuition fee which is cheaper than those who came from other state in US. Are those fees stated in the website for each semester/year/the whole course? Also, i heard that if you're doing a postgrad degree in the US and you manage to secure a research/teaching assistant position, they will waive the foreign student fees and charge you local fees...is it true??? The nice thing about America is you can always get scholarship as long as you maintained decent grade. This post has been edited by Anni: Feb 6 2009, 01:28 AM |
Feb 6 2009, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(Anni @ Feb 6 2009, 01:25 AM) I know someone who is doing graduated degree in OSU and he got waived 4k out of the 5k he pays each semester by working as professor assistant. However the financial aids and tuition fee differ since America has too many colleges to choose from. I worked in the school soccer team and i got my international fee waived off. I am paying in state tuition fee which is cheaper than those who came from other state in US. That seems to be very good indeed..so your friend only paid 1k for each semester for his course. But do you need to have an impressive academic record to secure these assistant positions? How do they select these candidates?The nice thing about America is you can always get scholarship as long as you maintained decent grade. Also, you mentioned it is easy to secure scholarships there. Will it be harder for international students to obtain company scholarships??? Thanks. |
Feb 6 2009, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(jackyjin @ Feb 5 2009, 08:17 PM) That seems to be very good indeed..so your friend only paid 1k for each semester for his course. But do you need to have an impressive academic record to secure these assistant positions? How do they select these candidates? The deal he got is a school internship and he isn't working as teaching assistant. I think he is involved in research of associate field. Unless you were an experienced lecturer, or else its no gurantee that you will be hired as teaching assistant. On top of that, some local folks here have a hard time understanding our accent. (unless you speak like an american) Still you will have other options by either working, or doing research etc. Also, you mentioned it is easy to secure scholarships there. Will it be harder for international students to obtain company scholarships??? Thanks. Pretty much every college has foreign student aid, how much you will get will solely depends on your grade, and luck as well. Unlike Malaysia, the distribution is fair here, only the best get the most, even you are a foreigner. you are set if you got a 4.0, 3.5 above is consider excellent, 3.0 above will secure your scholarship. But you will have to contact with the college you want to get things sorted. |
Feb 6 2009, 11:43 AM
Oh, i see. Well, i do have 1 year+ work experience in a related field and I hope it will be an advantage for me. It's good to hear the equal opportunities that you have there in the states, unlike Malaysia.
I believe the difference between the American edu and the British edu is the grading. I did my first degree locally (very much based on the British system) and I wonder whether I will have a hard time studying under the American system. How many intake do they have for graduate studies and normally when is the intake? I'm confused as the websites use terms like "Fall 2009" etc. Thanks for the information! |
Feb 6 2009, 12:33 PM
Fall of 09 means autumn season. In US, schools typically start in august, and some college start in sept. Basically its like Jan in Malaysia where everyone kicks start the new grade. If you are coming this year, you will start in the fall of 09.
You dont have to worry about the amount of new students unless you are going to harvard etc. 99% of the college are competing against each other, and on top of that US has way too many college. Grading is 90+ A, 80+ B, 70+ C, 60+ D, below 60 = failed in GPA.......4..........3.........2..........1.......retake the course lol education here is much more easy compare to malaysia. you gonna get tested on the stuff you learned in a month or 2 months period. You know excactly what will be on the test, no suprise at all. Usually, no comprehensive test even it comes to final, got exception tho. Final is usually the stuff that you learned during the month before final. This post has been edited by Anni: Feb 6 2009, 12:39 PM |
Feb 20 2009, 10:00 PM
307 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Feb 20 2009, 10:20 PM
5,227 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Anchorage, Alaska |
pls dont post comments with no value, this is a post count thread and it will cause u a warn.
to get good infos on unis in A, check out petersons website. highly recommended. |
Feb 20 2009, 10:39 PM
1,770 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(Anni @ Feb 6 2009, 12:33 PM) Fall of 09 means autumn season. In US, schools typically start in august, and some college start in sept. Basically its like Jan in Malaysia where everyone kicks start the new grade. If you are coming this year, you will start in the fall of 09. Hey,You dont have to worry about the amount of new students unless you are going to harvard etc. 99% of the college are competing against each other, and on top of that US has way too many college. Grading is 90+ A, 80+ B, 70+ C, 60+ D, below 60 = failed in GPA.......4..........3.........2..........1.......retake the course lol education here is much more easy compare to malaysia. you gonna get tested on the stuff you learned in a month or 2 months period. You know excactly what will be on the test, no suprise at all. Usually, no comprehensive test even it comes to final, got exception tho. Final is usually the stuff that you learned during the month before final. you seems to know a lot about the system there. Are you from OSU? When are you graduating? |
Feb 22 2009, 11:53 AM
11 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
can anyone advise on the GRE scores. My GRE scores lower than the min requirement of the course provided by the university, high chance i will my application will not be accpeted. but I would like to ask any one here who went thru similar situtation as me ?
are u able to enrol to the uni or totally no news??? thanks !111 |
Feb 26 2009, 04:41 PM
276 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: CA, USA |
GRE? are you trying to get into graduate school? If your scores are bad, I highly recommend if you retake the test.
Also, universities will always tell you if u get rejected or accepted, if there is no news its probably 1) they did not receive your application or 2) they have not reviewed your applications, either way the best way to find out is to email them or to call them. Best of luck in your application, I too will be doing my GRE/grad school soon considering i cant even get a job here =\. |
Jun 4 2009, 04:38 PM
865 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Paradise City |
guys..
i am just a graduate student with degree and adv diploma from TARC. i was wondering what is the requirement for me to study masters at US ? i am taking TOEFL soon. This post has been edited by unrealweapon: Jun 4 2009, 04:39 PM |
Jun 4 2009, 05:13 PM
171 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Vancouver |
GRE but its best to check with the university.
Jun 4 2009, 05:20 PM
865 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Paradise City |
San Jose State U
| Change to: | 0.0258sec
5 queries