Study in America!, How?

spunkberry
post Nov 18 2008, 02:23 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

I made $130 every two weeks last year while I was working part-time ... habis semua orang suruh belanja when I got back to KL
spunkberry
post Nov 18 2008, 03:42 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

hahaha I only worked ten hours. my dad wasn't happy at all when he found out I had the job ... so ..
spunkberry
post Nov 18 2008, 04:04 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Nov 17 2008, 04:02 PM)

Why? He's afraid of you on concentrating enough on your studies?
BTW, your family is in U.S with you?

My mum said is okay to have a job as long as not interfere with studies. Besides my job is very simple as a front desk. rclxm9.gif
He doesn't want me to have a job .. and he said I don't need to have a job until I graduate from college .. so he wasn't happy about it but oh well. No my family is not with me. I'm here with my brother ... we both attend the same college.

I worked as a barista, so it got hectic sometimes. smile.gif
spunkberry
post Nov 18 2008, 09:12 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

yes I'm on F-1 visa.
spunkberry
post Nov 18 2008, 01:33 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

american companies don't tend to hire internationals just because there's no guarantee that they'd stick around.
spunkberry
post Nov 18 2008, 08:22 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

lol my boyfriend's talking about marrying me so I can enjoy the benefits of it ... but I'm like uh, I don't want to marry you for that. But he knows what the companies are like when it comes to internationals. He doesn't want me to go back to KL either ...

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Nov 18 2008, 08:24 PM
spunkberry
post Nov 18 2008, 10:58 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Nov 18 2008, 10:48 AM)
You bf local? That's the easy path for getting green card.
yeah he's american. we're serious enough about each other to consider marriage but at the moment, it's all hypothetical. He's graduating next may and I still have two years to go.
spunkberry
post Nov 19 2008, 02:03 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Nov 18 2008, 12:37 PM)

Aha very nice.

But just MHO, I think getting married at this age is NO NO  sweat.gif  sweat.gif . You still have a long way to go. A lot to learn in time to come. A long way down the road before you get married. When you get into the working world, you meet more people from all walks of life. Just my personal opinion. Sometimes I don't get it why Americans get married right after college. unsure.gif  unsure.gif
oh I don't really care. marriage isn't even a consideration at this point. after college then I'll consider it.
spunkberry
post Nov 19 2008, 07:08 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Nov 18 2008, 04:29 PM)
Don't get married early. That's my opinion. Get tied down & there goes your future. Unless, got pregnant at early stage. Then no choice lo icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
it won't really be early. I'm gonna be done when I'm like 22 or 23. my mother got married around 25. And pfft, premarital sex is not really my thing at the moment.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Nov 19 2008, 07:16 AM
spunkberry
post Nov 19 2008, 09:09 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Nov 18 2008, 08:14 PM)
say only... can ur bf tahan? after 1st time then say... a little no harm.. then more and then more and then leak... and then baby... lol... happened to a lot of my local friends
it's been ten months.
spunkberry
post Nov 19 2008, 09:25 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

I don't see why he wouldn't be able to wait, but then again that's just you guys.
spunkberry
post Jan 23 2009, 12:37 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

well seeing as the economy here is so bad, with two million unemployed for 400 000 jobs ... chances are slim at the moment.
spunkberry
post Jan 23 2009, 10:34 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

University of California caters to Californians. Internationals have to be amazing to be accepted into them - and I mean, AMAZING. Perfect scores, grades, well-rounded in extracurricular activities blah blah. University of Chicago is easier than University of California.

spunkberry
post Jan 24 2009, 02:45 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Jan 23 2009, 12:25 PM)
not exactly... i have been to berkeley, UCLA n stanford... if u enter their campus u will realise it is 40% international yellow skin students... no joke... but mostly these students are from US allied countries like japan, HK, taiwan

the best way to enter those elite unis in the west as in west coast is to enter community colleges 1st... then transfer credit in, that's the recommendation of most counsellors there...

UCs accept top 87.5% of their high school grads... wherelse CSUs accept top 70%... so if u really wanna enter... i would say enter a not so established UC or a good CSU... then transfer credit during ur 3rd year

top 87.5% of their percentile is not that hard.. whities.. if u score near straight As during SPM or pre-u ... then u should be able to cope ^^
Yeah, but you can't apply directly in, and that's the whole point. You have to had attended some other school within california for the chance of you getting accepted to increase. You have completely missed the point.
spunkberry
post Jan 24 2009, 03:37 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

you could always just go to grad school and it'll be the same.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Jan 24 2009, 03:43 AM
spunkberry
post Feb 1 2009, 02:04 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

Yes SAT.
Yes TOEFL.

We are a third world country.
spunkberry
post Jun 5 2009, 05:16 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

Google is ALWAYS a good place to start.
spunkberry
post Jul 31 2009, 09:18 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

you should google these things hello? because you asking us to recommend some good universities is as good as asking us to do YOUR research for you.
spunkberry
post Aug 2 2009, 09:23 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

boston university is expensive as hell too.
spunkberry
post Sep 25 2009, 05:52 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

ADP is a transfer program, which only means that you do two years of classes locally and then transfer overseas to finish off the rest of your degree.
A diploma is a more indirect and cheaper way towards your degree.

Somebody please correct me if I'm wrong.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Sep 25 2009, 05:52 AM

0.0315sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:40 PM