Proton PrevĂ© V23, Livin la vida loca

torres09
post Feb 19 2016, 11:33 AM

577 posts

this OCH recall was really done badly by proton.
i had a leak when i got my car (first batch, 2012). after several visits to the SC, it got fixed (something cap or hose problem, cant remember). until now no leaking. but when this news came out, naturally i am concerned (burst?!). i am driving everyday and already about 75k km. so i called the SC.
SC told me "kita tak tau lagi samaada kereta encik terlibat. belum dapat senarai chassis". WTF? u announce recall and dont know affected vehicles? "kita akan check dan tukar kalau perlu. kalau ok kita takyah tukar". ask about my car already nearly 4 years, is it cover by warranty? cos i always service at SC. "itu tak pasti. kena dapat senarai dulu. try call balik isnin depan."
no wonder their CEO also said their SC and services suck.
torres09
post Nov 12 2016, 09:45 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(joe_kopitiam @ Nov 4 2016, 02:11 PM)
my advice is for you to test drive the car first. the mounting problem will happen to all models but it would be nice if you get one that hasn't gotten it yet or not so bad.

i test drove a 2012 unit that used to be a company car. the rumbling dashboard every time i move from a red traffic light drove me nuts the first 10 minutes i was in it. the second 2012 unit i drove was infinitely better so i bought that one instead.  laugh.gif

good luck bro.  smile.gif
bro, how much u got ur 2012 car?
i drive a CFE 2012 and recently songsong ask for trade in at various car dealers, max only offered me 26k.

cry.gif
torres09
post Mar 27 2017, 08:28 PM

577 posts

can i know where u guys service your Preve aircond?
my one think the coolant need recharge, and maybe servicing.. dont feel like doing at SC..

can regular outside aircond shop handle?
torres09
post Mar 28 2017, 10:44 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(ThisWorldisWeird @ Mar 27 2017, 09:03 PM)
I do my regular aircond service at normal ah beng shop..so far no problem. Cheaper also
thanks.
i think my compressor problem cos when turn on ac, compressor didnt kick in..
haiz..
torres09
post Mar 30 2017, 09:14 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(oto1202 @ Mar 28 2017, 08:47 PM)
"Aircond kejap sejuk, kejap tak sejuk..!"
"Aircond langsung tak sejuk.."

- Common problem for proton. Fusebox aircond relay problem. Best solution, change 1set fusebox. Recond set, search Ritz Tunerz Revolutions or Repair Fusebox proton preve. Don't bypass or modify internal wiring fusebox. It will happen again and effect other aircond system.

* Let specialist troubleshoot the problem. If your location far far away, ask some guideline from both specialist for 1st level troubleshoot.
serious bro? cos is my first time after 5 years owning this car.
where to do it or go SC better?
my maintenance all done at Edar Puchong.
torres09
post May 9 2017, 08:30 AM

577 posts

Bros, my CFE suddenly show the traction control sign.
And I cant turn it back on by pressing the button.
any idea or tips besides going back to SC?

This post has been edited by torres09: May 9 2017, 08:31 AM
torres09
post May 9 2017, 03:48 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(oto1202 @ May 9 2017, 09:23 AM)
what sign? ABS, ESC, ESC off? any picture?
ESC off
torres09
post May 10 2017, 10:16 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(oto1202 @ May 10 2017, 07:24 AM)
Press and hold more than 2 second tu activate or deactivate.
already tried but cant.
i rechecked again, the light is ESC light, not ESC off.
but after parked my car at office and drive off 8 hrs later, it didnt appear.
wonder whats the problem.
torres09
post May 10 2017, 01:51 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ May 10 2017, 10:21 AM)
Here are the possibilities:-

1. Alignment
2. ESC sensor (dusty)
3. Do Steering Angle Re-zero (Need to check with PADT. I have this problem, before)

thanks bro
torres09
post Feb 13 2018, 02:11 PM

577 posts

car brokedown yesterday and tow to Edar SC. water pump bocor.
quoted 700+. argued with them that I noticed abnormal sound after my timing belt change 2 months ago, but they insist the sound come from water pump but that time still not bocor.
no choice bite the bullet cos need to fix it for CNY.

complained also about engine vibration and they said engine mounting need change. another 400+. leave it for next time.

haiz...
torres09
post Feb 13 2018, 02:23 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(zan4182 @ Feb 5 2018, 11:55 AM)
Hi guys.. anyone here knows any good workshop around JB area?
My Preve's water pump is making weird sound and leaking too.
Sent to Proton Service Center at Plentong, JB and they quoted RM650 but no stock. Plus they couldn't do it during weekend.
mine just broke down yesterday. how old your car?
torres09
post Feb 20 2018, 03:06 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(zan4182 @ Feb 19 2018, 10:51 PM)
Mine will be 6 years old this coming May. How about yours?

Your water pump totally kaput or starting to make noises?
Have you manage to get it fixed/replaced?
mine also 6 years this May. think our car are brothers haha..
totally kaput. coolant all leaked out. fixed at puchong SC for rm700 before CNY cry.gif
torres09
post Feb 20 2018, 03:10 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(ben16 @ Feb 20 2018, 03:09 PM)
Where is the Puchong SC?
near puchong jaya. Jalan Serindit something.
Nissan, Peugeot SC same row.
torres09
post Feb 21 2018, 05:11 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(zan4182 @ Feb 20 2018, 07:17 PM)
haha..
how long did it take to fix it? half day can complete?
i handed over the keys in the morning and only collected my car afternoon the next day
torres09
post Jun 9 2018, 09:20 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(chnwng @ Jun 6 2018, 11:54 AM)
Hmm.
Decided to sell off my preve turbo after owning it for close to 4 years. Wonder how much it can fetch. It is a great learning experience reading through this forum.
u can always ask those who give free quotation by you providing details. there are a few here in FnF forum.

if they quote you the price, just minus about 1-2k because when they "see car/tengok kereta" they sure say got things need replace or paint not nice etc.
torres09
post Jul 26 2018, 10:10 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 19 2018, 08:30 AM)
how much can i sell my car 2012 cfe? did modded soundsystem
i traded in mine for 20k 2 weeks ago.
2012 CFE white first batch.

edit: everything stock.

This post has been edited by torres09: Jul 26 2018, 10:10 PM
torres09
post Jul 27 2018, 01:50 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Jul 26 2018, 10:39 PM)
Congratulations.

What car u use now? Reasons of changing car are?
bought a K3 with tax holiday + huge discount.
reason of change is the preve started to give problem. brokedown twice by the road in last 6-8 months.

once is water tank leaked and once is radiator fan. cost me 1k+ to replace both.
torres09
post Jul 27 2018, 01:54 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 27 2018, 07:51 AM)
ohh ok.. 20k sounds reasonable for me.. if still got loan need to settle all first? how normally they do? yeah wat car u traded? i also plan trade in..
nope. dealer will gaodim for you. (depends on dealer also, please ask your new car salesman)
bought a K3. for me i just need a basic car for daily use so good enough. actually i couldve stuck with the preve but issues were starting to crop up..
torres09
post Aug 10 2018, 09:18 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Aug 10 2018, 08:34 AM)
May I ask how does your car break down 2 times in the last 6-8 months. What is the cause of the breakdown.

Personally after 5 years driving this Preve Turbo, apart from other minor quality issues (rattling inside the car) and suspension which starts to degrade approaching 5 years which does not absorb the knocks and bumps on the roads as efficient as before, I feel the CVT of the car may be the biggest weakness of the car. That's just my opinion and also experience after driving it for 5 years (from this month).

Just last month, the gearbox or CVT produced a weird and abnormal performance during hard acceleration. It's not that I frequently do hard acceleration but during that time when I did hard acceleration and lifted my foot off the pedal, the loud sound from the car can still be heard. It's like the gear or engine is dragging although the foot was already lifted off the pedal. In normal circumstance, when you press the pedal during hard acceleration, the sound of the engine will be loud due to the high RPM. WHen you lift your foot off the pedal, the car will stop accelerating and the sound of the engine and/or gearbox will slowly become softer. But in my case, when I lifted my foot off the pedal, the loud sound from the engine or gearbox is still there and did not become softer.

I"m not sure what is wrong with the car but after this incident, I think it is better to minimise or not do any hard acceleration with the car especially when it's close to 5 years old. When the car is relatively new say 1 to 3 years old, no issues with hard acceleration. But close to 5 years old or more, I think you cannot push the car too hard anymore or I'm afraid something will fail.

Eventually something will fail and parts will need to be replaced as the car ages. It's just like a young man and an old man whereby the old man will need to take more care and more vitamins etc. and will get an injury more easily compared to the young man who is more strong and robust. The car is almost the same except that it's mechanical. New parts are robust but when the parts(engine, gearbox etc.) get used more often and get worn out, it will need maintenance and some parts will eventually fail and need to be replaced.
as I mentioned in my post, it was the water tank and radiator problems. temperature hit the roof so there was no way I could keep driving.
My car was 6 years 2 months old when I sold it.

Edit: my car was fully serviced by Proton Edar service center. all service follow recommendations and use fully synthetic oil.

This post has been edited by torres09: Aug 10 2018, 09:20 PM

0.1433sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:42 PM