Proton Prevé V23, Livin la vida loca

alanishev
post Nov 24 2016, 04:02 PM

32 posts

Hi Guys,,

I drive 2014 M/T preve (mileage just 35,000). Just yesterday some burnt smell (bau hangit) came out from the aircon vent (i think so). After i park my car, i tried to find the smell at engine bay, tyres(brakes) but cant seems to smell any.
1. Any ideas what might have cause the burnt smell?
2. Any forumer got similar experience?
3. Any suggestion on initial check up i can do.
4. If it is involving clutch is there any familiar symptoms (apart from the burnt smell) i need to know before it kaput?

Any feedback is much appreciated. Thank you.
alanishev
post Jan 10 2017, 07:35 PM

32 posts

guys,

my aircond sometimes blew air harder intermittently. Seems like the blower RPM is not stable. I also noticed sometimes that the backlight of head unit flickering.. any ideas why? is it electrical problem?
alanishev
post Jan 16 2017, 10:41 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(oto1202 @ Jan 12 2017, 08:31 AM)
any type of light is flickering when aircond kick in.. some user suggest grounding cable to reduce it. Maybe because of proton alternator..
Thanks for the reply.. Is installing voltage stabiliser might help too?
alanishev
post Jun 29 2017, 03:24 PM

32 posts

Hi..anyone know where to get the reverse sensor cover? The circle plastic white color thing which attached to the sensor and bumper hole..mine was broken. The sensor itself is fine and i would like to avoid buying 1 whole piece if i can replace the cover only. Thanks

alanishev
post Jul 9 2017, 06:13 PM

32 posts

Anyone here hv issues with handbrake? Mine need to pull to maximum to achieve max braking. Adjustment (underneath coin holder) already at max. Rear brake pad already change new.only slight improvement. What i notice is the cable mechanishm when i pull the lever is not balance. One cable (black) will be pulled more then the other (white).see pic attached.u can see this when u open the coin holder and peek inside. Is there any other place u can do the cable adjustment instead underneath the coin holder? Thanks

This post has been edited by alanishev: Jul 9 2017, 06:17 PM

alanishev
post Jun 6 2018, 08:42 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(hong3831 @ Jun 5 2018, 07:23 PM)
Any member replaced their absorber already? My car is having harsh ride and sound when going through road bump.
Thinking to replace the shock absorber and seeking for recommendation.
Thanks Sifu
Actually im going to ask the same question. im having harsh ride too nowadays but no noticeable sound at bumps. Anyway how long the stock absorber should last before need replacing? Mine just clocks around 60k mileage- should it last longer? or is this normal?

I also would like to ask if others replaced their absorber with aftermarket brand such as sachs, improve imp, proride or others? (im not looking for adjustable type). how is the ride compared to oem?

Honestly speaking i also would like to go for oem but im having doubts about its durability and longevity.

alanishev
post Jun 7 2018, 02:05 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jun 6 2018, 06:59 PM)
Sometimes it is just your tyres

When is the last time you changed your tyre?

Is the tyre pressure ok? Not too low not to high?

How is the treads

U might also want to check the bushings. It is cheap things to replace but bring major diff to your ride
For me, front tyre early 2016. rear end 2017. thread, pressure all ok.

Do u mind sharing on the bushings? where is the location etc2? thanks
alanishev
post Nov 18 2019, 10:30 AM

32 posts

Hi all. My car have start problem usually after a quick stop. For example after driving, stop for a fuel.. then try to start back car need 2, 3 time baru can start. Its not like the car does not start at all. The car started, then died after few seconds. Mine just normal key. Not push start button. This problem doesnot occured during cold start. Im ruling out battery because when i newly changed the battery, this problem still occurred. Anyone have the same problem? Thanks
alanishev
post Nov 18 2019, 09:20 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(daus89 @ Nov 18 2019, 06:45 PM)
alternator checked??
Sorry, any reason why it is alternator?
From my understanding, alternator function is to charge battery and power the electrical system while the engine is running.

When u say alternator, at the same time u r referring to the battery right?

If it is alternator problem hence low battery current, It just doesnt make sense when the car can start next morning at the first try (cold start) but fail to start after the engine hv been off for awhile.

To add on, no low battery indicator was shown on the meter panel so lets rule out it is the battery issue

alanishev
post Nov 30 2019, 12:13 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Nov 19 2019, 08:37 AM)
The problem is after you manage to start the engine, but the rpm is very low and then suddenly it cuts off the engine?
If you recently service your car and face this problem after the service then it'll probably disappear after one or two weeks without doing anything (mine is like that); if you are always facing this problem it could be the throttle body needs some cleaning/servicing.
Yes..its like that..always.not after service. i think most of the time after refueling..maybe its the throttle body..maybe fuel pump..maybe fuel filter..this 3 need to check after this.

alanishev
post Nov 30 2019, 12:20 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(mr_geforce @ Nov 28 2019, 01:55 PM)
need to be more precise, like on which side it occur.

coz there are few things:

aircond water outlet clog, antenna seal, windows (front, rear gum seal), door weather seal, etc
+1 on the water outlet clog..face this problem after i diy using spray cleaner into the aircond vent..all the dirt clog in the outlet..habis banjir .hahaha..

alanishev
post Sep 21 2020, 05:08 PM

32 posts

Hi all,

After few years of delaying my hand brake cable change, I finally change both of right hand side and left hand side cable last friday. The thing is, I knew that the the problematic side is on the rhs but still proceed with both side cable changes.

A bit history on the rhs cable. Few years ago, i go to a workshop to rectify my handbraking problem which even i have pulled it to the max, the car still moves especially on the steep slope. Sometime, need to put the car in gear if parking at uneven parking space. Please note that my car is Manual. There is one instance my wife not pulling the handbrake properly at parking and the car reverse by itself and hit another parked car sweat.gif sweat.gif .

So comeback to the workshop, they cant source the cable that day and proceed to do some temporary quickfix on the mechanism. They put few washer at the end of the cable to 'shorten' the cable pull a bit so the piston can engage the brake pad. So after this, the handbrake can bite abit and i just ignore it until last friday when i decide to change it.

So after the finish install the cables, unfortunately the pomen said that the RHS caliper has jammed and even after the handbrake was pulled, the tyre are can be easily rotated by hand.

Below is the photo of the RHS caliper. Notice that there is a big gap. The cables pull is more but no bite at the pads.

Compare with this LHS photo below. The gap is small but no problem whatsoever in the braking. The cable pull is less

Both photo was taken during the hand brake was pulled.

the pomen said that the RHS caliper already jammed and need to be changed and cannot be repaired

My question is:

1. Should I changed the caliper as advise by the pomen? The sparepart will cost me around rm300 (not proton ori) and not including labour charge.
2. Should I try to at least try to repair the caliper? There is caliper rebuild/repair kit at shopee. caost around rm60. This means the caliper can at least be repaired right? or is this option is just waste of time..

Any thoughts will be helpful.. Thank you.

alanishev
post Aug 28 2021, 09:48 PM

32 posts

Hi anyone has the problem no buzzer sound if forgot to off headlight? I know the headlight will auto off but unfortunately the led light (front and back) will not auto off..

Normally the buzzer will sound after taking out the key right? Mine doesnt seems to work 😩
alanishev
post Sep 16 2021, 06:56 PM

32 posts

Hi..just trying my luck asking here again😅😅..

Anyone here ever change clutch set for manual transmission?

Mine just got changed because the clutch pump malfunction and the gear cannot be changed..

So after the repair, the engine suddenly vibrates more than previously.. for example, before repair when idling i dont really hear or feel the vibration from the engine.. after repair, the dashboard vibrates like hell..the sound from engine could be heard maybe because of the vibration through the car body..this was during idling.. it got worst when i ram the engine..the vibration got really bad when u lepas minyak after ramming..

Anyone here got any experience like this? Or maybe also change clutch plate set but the problem i mentioned never happened?

I want to know some info so i can face the workshop pomen who did the repair with some knowledge rather than no knowledge at all..please help me..

0.0274sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:36 AM