Official Microsoft Surface Thread V4

Besanth
post Oct 24 2015, 04:49 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 23 2015, 01:45 PM)
Just got charged for my 512GB Core i7 16GB RAM with Nvidia GPU Surface Book. Converts to RM11950. Should arrive here by November 7th.
Which model of the nVidia GPU did they include in the Surface Book?
Besanth
post Nov 10 2015, 06:17 PM

668 posts

Anyone knows any shop that would accept trade in of my Surface 2 w/ type keyboard for an upgrade to the Surface 3/Surface 3 Pro?
Besanth
post Nov 14 2015, 07:51 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(Music4ever @ Nov 13 2015, 09:43 PM)
iPad pro is way thinner!!!
way thinner but much more limited for use. Surface can be used as a laptop, run all types of laptop programs. iPad on the other hand... smile.gif
Besanth
post Nov 18 2015, 05:39 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(hlee91 @ Nov 17 2015, 10:08 AM)
i only receive a sealed box as the photo i uploaded just now....anyone have experience on this situation??kindly share with me...
THANK YOU
Pretty weird. I sent my Surface 2 in for a replacement unit and what they did was ask me to wrap it up in a sealed box with only the Surface in it and they had a dispatch arrive to my doorstep to pick it up.

Maybe you should contact them again and ask them about the address that you should ship it to.
Besanth
post Nov 26 2015, 05:05 AM

668 posts

Anyone has any idea where I can trade-in my Surface 2 for a S3/SP3?
Besanth
post Dec 13 2015, 08:42 AM

668 posts

I just checked out the SP4 in Harvey Norman yesterday. Damn it's beautiful and the keyboard is amazing. A huge difference from the previous keyboards. thumbup.gif
Besanth
post Dec 15 2015, 02:34 PM

668 posts

Is the Surface 2 (RT version) really dead? icon_question.gif
Besanth
post Dec 15 2015, 04:36 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(cylon @ Dec 15 2015, 02:57 PM)
It's dead the day it was launched..
I guess it was promising when it was released, but briefly after they released the Surface 3 and that's where everything went down the drain. unsure.gif
Besanth
post Dec 16 2015, 10:18 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(cylon @ Dec 15 2015, 04:39 PM)
Basically it runs on Windows RT, which not compatible with standard Windows OS apps.
Don't understand why they don't wanna upgrade the Windows RT and make it more compatible with more applications. They can definitely make it work if they want to.

Treat it like a tablet with extra features instead of trying to sell it like a laptop.
Besanth
post Dec 16 2015, 02:59 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(Music4ever @ Dec 16 2015, 12:17 PM)
Another point is Microsoft ady have Windows 10 Mobile in the line for ARM architecture.
Develop two different OS in same architecture kinda wasting resources.
Very shitty thing to do for consumers who have already bought Windows RT products. It's like saying "hey, sorry we didn't make this work so we're gonna shut down the operation completely. Either use it till you get tired of this product that will get no expansion or fork out a couple thousand extra to buy our new products. Enjoy!" mad.gif
Besanth
post Dec 17 2015, 04:45 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Dec 17 2015, 03:44 PM)
every single business entity selling products that require software supports does this... it's not exclusives...

Google does it (oh, you're on Windows Phone? Screw you, We'll update our API and your app will require update to function but we'll not going to update the app on your phone)
Apple does it (oh, your iPhone is too old cannot handle our new shiny iOS... though to be fair, your iPhone is really old if it can't get the update)
Samsung does it (oh, your Galaxy is too old and will never get new Android version. Screw you, you'll not even get the critical security patch released by Google even if your phone is proven 100% vulnerable)...

I'm betting that people also bitching the same thing when Apple moves to x86 for their desktop/laptop lineup previously but business is business... can't satisfy everyone but what's need to be done will be done...

at least Microsoft still give the updates and patches to current Windows RT until 2023, so saying that they are shutting down operation completely isn't true. They still support the OS, just no refreshed version and store is up until Windows 8 App Store support only.

Sucks? yes... can you do anything about it? yes... how? stop whining and move on... universe isn't revolving around you...
I guess it's just bummy for me cause right after I bought the Surface RT, they announced that they're discontinuing it. cry.gif
Besanth
post Dec 20 2015, 07:52 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Dec 19 2015, 11:50 AM)
Can anybody comment on the 2gb ram found in Surface 3? Will it cause any lags along the way?
Light usage won't affect much. But I definitely recommend upgrading to 4GB/8GB RAM.
Besanth
post Dec 20 2015, 07:53 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(mypalm79 @ Dec 20 2015, 02:01 PM)
it is impossible to fix due to its structure, i broke my screen last month, have to pay $1340 for a replacement, guess what? they send a brand new one without the sticker saying 'Fixed'. got the replacement in 3 days time. this is my second replacement :-(
If I'm not mistaken, last time I called them for support upon my Surface and they said Malaysia does not have support for repair. If any problems, they will replace it with a brand new one. If under warranty it'll be free and if warranty no longer available they'll charge you the price intended for payment.
Besanth
post Dec 22 2015, 02:45 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(mypalm79 @ Dec 22 2015, 01:10 AM)
No such thing as replace with a brand new one, they will take your damaged unit... fix it and send it out as a replacement unit. I know cause my first replacement has a sticker on the box stated 'fixed'. While my second replacement doesn't has that sticker.
Not too sure in your case but when my screen was defected (no touch response anymore) and I called for a repair, they said that Surface units in Malaysia has no repair service so they'll replace with a new one.
Besanth
post Dec 22 2015, 03:59 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(Music4ever @ Dec 22 2015, 03:02 PM)
They will replace by refurbished unit depend on stock level. If no refurbished unit stock left. They replace by new one
Ah, alright. I guess that's where the representative on the line with me failed to explain. Thank you. smile.gif
Besanth
post Jan 3 2016, 08:32 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jan 2 2016, 02:28 AM)
if you have the TC3, i dun think so.
better off buying an actual mechanical keyboard >.<
Of course you can't compare a mechanical keyboard to a keyboard that works as a typing accessory to the Surface. If you are in the context of typing comfort as well as the track pad, the upgrade is worth it. The typing feels significantly better, as well as the track pad.

However, if you don't have much complaints about your current one then I'd say just stick with that first.
Besanth
post Jan 3 2016, 09:08 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jan 3 2016, 08:52 PM)
i think u missed out the context of everything I am trying to say here.
if you have a TC3, and do not have a mech keyboard -- the mech keyboard is a better investment.
the mech keyboard can be something you plug ur SP into at work or at home; using the TC3 on the go till it give way (then u upgrade to TC4).

having 2 mech keyboard (1 mini one), i chose the TC4 myself for the mobility factor when I am out.
at home/ work, I just use my mechs.
I get you, but he's asking if it's a right choice to upgrade to the TC4. So to do a comparison as such is pretty irrelevant. I get what you mean, though. smile.gif
Besanth
post Jul 30 2016, 04:37 PM

668 posts

Anyone here knows how to install Clash Royale on Surface RT?

0.0274sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:37 PM