Official Microsoft Surface Thread V4

BeastX
post Nov 11 2019, 08:10 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(Waffler @ Nov 11 2019, 07:05 PM)
I see, btw, do you know the pricing of SL2? It's a good student laptop right?
Not the best bang for the buck.... SL2 is not serviceable or upgradable, lack ports (no usb-c)

10210u comet lake laptops from other manufacturers at RM2k

This post has been edited by BeastX: Nov 11 2019, 08:13 PM
BeastX
post Nov 14 2019, 05:06 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(rhodry @ Nov 14 2019, 04:04 PM)
And the Pro X is coming here! NICE!

BeastX
post Nov 15 2019, 01:25 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Nov 15 2019, 11:58 AM)
my surface 3 cannot be charged anymore. i think the charging port is loose inside. when i ask around, the price to repair is too expensive. anyone has experience repairing? any other way to charge it through usb3 (magnetic port) or display port or something?
No other way... power is non reversible like the usb-c

This post has been edited by BeastX: Nov 15 2019, 01:27 PM
BeastX
post Nov 15 2019, 04:54 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Nov 15 2019, 02:12 PM)
Learn my lesson the hard way when I bought HP Elite X2. Cannot be charged and because it is a compact computer everything is integrated and I have to change the motherboard which would cost me more than a new laptop (about RM3k plus). I bought the HP less than two years for RM5k. But the warranty had expired. Now, when I bought the new Surface Go I took the five years warranty. So sad, I cannot repair the HP just because the power charge was broken.
Should be repairable by replacing components on the board... via like "louis rossmann" board repair.. even replacing the board entirely may cost you less than 1k, bought from aliexpress...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Nov 15 2019, 04:58 PM
BeastX
post Nov 15 2019, 04:59 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(raito-kun @ Nov 15 2019, 04:57 PM)
where did you bought 5yrs warranty?
Available from MS online....
BeastX
post Dec 4 2019, 10:30 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(yyteik @ Dec 3 2019, 01:13 PM)
Wanto ask right. My SP6 with the dock, the dock only support 2 display port. If I get the converter to hdmi from Microsoft is at around rm180...

But there are other brands cheaper. May I know anyone uses the converter? Can recommend Any converter to connect the dock? Or Microsoft is the best.

Thanks in advance
There are generally 2 types of DP to HDMI converters (Active/Passive that could be split to 3 variants below):

1. DP to HDMI signal pass-through: Around RM5, Most DP ports on GCs and laptops carries this signal by-pass using the DP port or mini-DP port (not applicable in your case: Surface dock). Resolution and frequency depends on the chipset's iGPU/GPU implementation.

2. Active Digital converter DP to HDMI1.4 (4k@30Hz): Mini DP or even limited to 1080p@60Hz (hdmi 1.3)...costing RM15 to RM20.

3. Active Digital converter DP to HDMI2.0 (4k@60Hz): Around RM30 to 40

With option 1 you can purchase a "cheap" mini-dp to hdmi and run it direct off your tablet (not dock)

Basically you could purchase 2 or 3 for the dock...depending on the targeted display output.... 2 & 3 options available from Aliexpress. Shopee & Lazada are rarer and more expensive...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Dec 5 2019, 08:36 AM
BeastX
post Dec 5 2019, 08:31 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(wlchong79 @ Nov 27 2019, 10:07 AM)
guys, where can change my cracked pro3 with reasonable price?
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Dec 5 2019, 02:36 AM)
Unfortunately due to how the SP3 is built - you are much better off with a new one sweat.gif

You cannot replace the display without destroying the entire unit itself (essentially there's nothing you can replace - even Microsoft themselves can only give you a refurbished one, but not a repaired unit) sweat.gif
Actually, you can.... but the act of replacing the previous screen may destroy the previous one (no harm except increasing e-waste)..

In addition of the new screen you'll need sticky tapes to hold the new screen in place

BeastX
post Feb 11 2020, 04:36 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(yyteik @ Feb 10 2020, 10:42 PM)
Just to answer my own questions.

I went to physical shops looking for 4K mini dp to HDMI converter. Insist must be 4k or tell them active. But normally active can't tell. So, in order for 4K display need to be active. Just ask for 4K.

I tried SUnway and IOI mall, those shops sell for RM50-RM150 each.

I fed up, I went Lazada, bought those said 4K for RM7.5 each. I bought 6.

It's working fine, using dock dual screen, windows can detect monitor model etc. And I was thinking why the heck shop selling for 10 times the price?
As mentioned at 4k @30Hz active converters are relatively cheap... And higher end converters not only pushes 60Hz, can also higher chroma subsampling, bit-rate, HDR, etc, so higher price may not be just mark-up but with added functionality.
BeastX
post Feb 17 2020, 08:52 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Feb 17 2020, 08:00 PM)
I just use Firefox and Excel in my Surface Pro 4 and the memory usage goes as high as 90%.

Anyway we can upgrade our RAM or use external RAM?
Soldered on RAM... No such thing as external RAM...

If you really want to: Void warrants, crack open glued device (likely damage the screen), desolder RAM chips... and resolder higher capacity RAM chips.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Feb 18 2020, 10:27 AM
BeastX
post Feb 19 2020, 01:40 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Feb 19 2020, 12:23 PM)
got way to add RAM to surface pro 4?
without replacing the mainboard.... desolder/solder on DDR3 chips (assuming there are higher capacity chips available).

This post has been edited by BeastX: Feb 19 2020, 01:45 PM
BeastX
post May 21 2020, 06:18 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(cmng @ May 20 2020, 12:49 AM)
Anyone know where to replace Surface Pro 1st Gen battery ?
Been using this since 2013 and still good except the battery performance start degrade and running hot.
You should be aware....Surface Pro & Surface Book are designed (as as now) as a single use device.... Mainly because of the glued in screen and batteries....

Similar in design....

This post has been edited by BeastX: May 21 2020, 06:22 AM
BeastX
post May 21 2020, 04:03 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(cmng @ May 21 2020, 12:43 PM)
Yea. Aware that. That why need a pro to change it instead of DIY.

There is many battery reseller but non of them do battery replacement.
Those do repair , just say no stock for battery.
Then i mention if i supply battery but you repair what the cost and all quiet, no reply.
Sigh
I suppose if you can accept that doing so may kill your device/destroy the screen... where's there's no cost risk for them, they will do it...
BeastX
post Jun 4 2020, 06:05 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PeeNutt @ Jun 3 2020, 09:28 AM)
Actually u can try ask those Bangla that do pc repair in lowyat. Last time my friend ask to repair fix his Surface RT power & volume button (actually i tell him just forget it je la the RT biggrin.gif ) but surprisingly they can fix. Some of those Bangla actually got IT or Engineering degree so they actually are good
More like chemical engineering degree to developed a solvent/heat solution that can easily disassociate the battery and screen...

Plugging and unplugging sockets/ribbons do not require an engineering degree... Solving/diagnosing individual components and tracers on the PCB board will be aided w Elec. engineering degree, swapping whole boards as is frequently done by "Engineers" are the most rudimentary/easy of labour.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 4 2020, 06:14 AM
BeastX
post Jun 27 2020, 01:32 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(lindtra @ Jun 27 2020, 12:26 PM)
Hi, my Surface Pro 3 screen is bulging.

Anyone know where can i get it fixed? I've tried to survey around Lowyat plaza, but no shop offers repair. They said is likely because battery swollen causing the bulge.
Welcome to MS engineering an essentially a non-repairable product... risk of changing the screen when changing the battery...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 27 2020, 01:34 PM
BeastX
post Jul 7 2020, 05:21 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Foo Mun @ Jul 7 2020, 02:15 PM)
Is good to know that you managed to fixed your Surface. May I know from where you source your spare parts?
QUOTE(tommy210 @ Jul 7 2020, 02:20 PM)
I got both from Taobao, I had to use freight forwarder for battery as it doesn't ship directly to Malaysia. Screen had no issue with direct shipping.

Battery - https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....ucket=18#detail
Screen - https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09....=7201ies3o94d17
Aliexpress ships directly to Mal..... Shopback gives you additional 7% cash back...
BeastX
post Sep 29 2020, 01:07 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 29 2020, 10:16 AM)
Anyone encountered the issue of surface pro battery bengkak until your screen pun bengkak?

This is my second time the battery bengkak after my surface pro 4 was changed by Microsoft for free.
I suppose they change your entire unit.... instead of replacing the battery?

Li Polymer "bengkak"...can occur in all device's batteries including from MS...until manufacturers adopt new tech...
BeastX
post Sep 30 2020, 12:36 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 30 2020, 12:25 PM)
They won't approve to replace as it is 3 years 1 month in which battery swollen covers 3 years from the date of purchase.

I think don't buy Microsoft Surface Pro anymore. Sure will happen battery swollen issue.
buy a spare battery... some shops/services maybe willing to change it for you...
BeastX
post Jan 15 2021, 12:58 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Jan 14 2021, 09:21 PM)
My Surface Pro 5 SSD died after 2 years of using.

Any idea where to repair and how much its going to cost me?

Soldered on... not replaceable...
BeastX
post Jan 16 2021, 04:34 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Jan 15 2021, 03:31 PM)
gg what a bad product

I would have been fine if the device ssd died after like 5 years. But 2? Wtf microsoft

I need to iterate that microsoft is clearly aware of the problem since all new surface lineups are introducing removable ssd sticks. Bai bai microsoft, macbook here I come
The M1.....

BeastX
post Aug 3 2021, 10:43 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(kagamistar @ Aug 2 2021, 05:59 PM)
Just curious why there is a lot of second hand surface..mind to share what are the cons?
Not built to be serviced, dead batteries, dead soldered on components... fragile screen...

0.0261sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:37 PM