Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> [urgent] hardware failure after COD, not urgent anymore but all r welcomed..

nlks
post Nov 13 2006, 01:39 PM, updated 20y ago

198 posts

the case is like this,
i saw a phone on lyn,
then agree with the price so we COD,
when COD the phone is ok,
then 1 hour after COD the phone cannot be switched on.
the phone are given 2 weeks personal warranty.
would like to ask is the warranty excluding the hardware failure?
I ask somebody on lyn they said it's depend on the seller.
by the way the seller never tell me that hardware failure is not included.
and I also din ask coz I always think it's should include every thing, seldom buy thing like this.

any opinion?

This post has been edited by nlks: Nov 22 2006, 02:08 PM
valeron009
post Nov 13 2006, 01:43 PM

317 posts

why dont you ask the seller first.

This post has been edited by valeron009: Nov 13 2006, 01:44 PM
nlks
post Nov 13 2006, 01:52 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(valeron009 @ Nov 13 2006, 01:43 PM)
why dont you ask the seller first.
he rejected to refund.
but will give me back the phone.
KilJim
post Nov 13 2006, 02:13 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

If it's excluding hardware failure, what would the warranty possibly be useful for?
nlks
post Nov 13 2006, 02:20 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Nov 13 2006, 02:13 PM)
If it's excluding hardware failure, what would the warranty possibly be useful for?
he said tat warranty is for software failure only
means like mms is not functioning..

maybe it's better to provide the phone model.
it's Sharp 903, so there will be no sparepart at malaysia.

This post has been edited by nlks: Nov 13 2006, 02:45 PM
Enigmatic
post Nov 13 2006, 03:03 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Alrighty who is the seller? And what sort of symptoms of not being able to turn on?
nlks
post Nov 13 2006, 03:47 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Nov 13 2006, 03:03 PM)
Alrighty who is the seller? And what sort of symptoms of not being able to turn on?
seller Id is Triangel.
symptoms ? for 903sh when we connect the battery the light will blink once,
the light still blink when i input the battery.
but the phone just cant be switched on no wonder how hard you press.
furiousrider
post Nov 13 2006, 04:12 PM

46 posts

The sell thread is this rite??
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=363867&hl=sharp

Warranty is only given for Hardware la where got software warranty, firmware flash mean no warranty and malaysia no selling sharp , so better ask seller refund cause in the personal warranty period.
If seller refuse to refund tat mean he noe the problem and purposely wanna c** u .
KilJim
post Nov 13 2006, 04:32 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(nlks @ Nov 13 2006, 02:20 PM)
he said tat warranty is for software failure only
means like mms is not functioning..
maybe it's better to provide the phone model.
it's Sharp 903, so there will be no sparepart at malaysia.
No such thing
He's just changing things once you noticed the problem
Within those 2 weeks, whatever the problem is, as long as it wasn't caused by the buyer, he should fix it
abubin
post Nov 13 2006, 05:02 PM

10,429 posts

have you contacted the seller to ask him to come to this thread and explain? Let's say what he have to say.

BTW, did he explicitly say warranty is only software before you trade? Or else it's just a con job.
young_soul
post Nov 13 2006, 05:08 PM

THIS is how you use a hammer
2,032 posts

software failure warranty...pfft!!
nothing mentioned on software warranty. It says personal warranty. Basically lightning also got warranty! tongue.gif
But its funny that a 4-month-old item got no manufacturing warranty...
vikingw2k
post Nov 13 2006, 06:36 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

Do PM him to comeover and discuss here, there's no such thing as software warranty crap. Even shops also dont provide warranty on software.
RangerRed
post Nov 13 2006, 07:01 PM

2,083 posts

Wow if he can do that i can also put personal warranty for only the ramsinks on a gc. That's some amazing bold face con I tell ya.
KilJim
post Nov 13 2006, 07:42 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

Alright, some updates from triangel on the matter
It seems that the problem might have occured on the buyer's side, physical damage to the phone itself after getting it
I'll just let them discuss it over first and hope they find a solution since they both sound like nice ppl smile.gif
vikingw2k
post Nov 13 2006, 07:50 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

den lets wait for triangel to reply first.
nlks
post Nov 14 2006, 08:15 AM

198 posts

1st of all sorry for causing nicholas such a big trouble for coming down malacca
twice for the fon and i do hope how i COD with you and explain it clearly and do tell whether
is the phone functioning well..

I must explain that during Cash On Delivery (COD) I had done all the step which seller
should had shown to the user.

Below are the step which i had done in showing the phone to Nicholas during COD
- On the fon
- Off the fon
- Insert Sim card/ replace his sim card
-On bac the fon and everything working perfectly..
-Tested the camera and the buyer tested the camera himself
-Show the buyer some scratchess which i told the buyer before
-Play mp3 for the buyer.
-Show him some other function on the phone such as barcode scanner, expenses memo
- Show user camera gallery and also the icon on menu which the mini sd memory card was inserted.
- User wanted to test video call but malacca don't have the coverage of 3G

After everything ok, nicholas paid me rm 1200 and during that period the whole phone is in perfect condition.

After an hour, he sms-ed me said can't sms. i asked him tried to resend as sometimes due to network coverage
sending sms will fail.

After some time, he sms-ed me again saying the whole phone cant on. i called him up using my friend phone and ask why.
He said he open up the back cover of battery and remove a sticket which i sticked on the battery cover then can't on phone already.

On sunday, he came down to malacca to meet me up and show me the phone really cant on. I took the phone back and
i check it with my friends phone which is exactly the same model and i found out the charger connector there the pin
had broken. I suspect the phone had fall off or some hard material had cause the connector pin broken.

I called him immediately and told him i really cant on the phone and i found out the phone had spoil at the charger part there
he said something which i can't listen clearly and then he said he called me back tomorrow which is today.

I do hope you can kindly explain how the pin in the charger connector can broke off and the day before the thing is perfect condition.

p/s: tis pm will cc to kiljim and nlks as a matter of safety for both buyer and seller.

I've received pm from triangel yesterday but not able to respond to it yesterday. and here is my reply.
Ok, first of all, I admit that all the steps mentioned above are correct. But there is one thing I wanna ask, triangel told me that hardware failure is not included in the warranty, I would like to know the reason. He ask me that is the phone in good condition when COD, I agreed with him. Then he said that he have no choice but to return the phone to me, so I ask how about the personal warranty? The phone is given 2 weeks personal warranty. Triangel explained that the personal warranty only included the software only. So I told him he never mention of this before. Triangel then ask me back is it the first time I trade on lyn, continue he said many things could happen after COD so the hardware failure is not covered.

And now, answer to his question.
First, I didn't drop the phone. I put it in my pocket the whole day and dun even dare to put it into my bag cause it may scratch the phone. so I am very sure the phone is not drop, or being quake that may caused by putting down the bag.

Second, the time when I informed triangel that the phone cant be switched on, the charger connector is not tested yet. I only open it once to see what connector is that. There is no point I wanna charge my handphone on the way back to KL and I am on the bus at that time. For the charger connector, I don't know why it's spoild. I didn't check it on COD but even I check I don't know how should it look like. After I arrive at home then only I try to charge the phone as triangel ordered cause we think low battery might be the reason why the phone cant be switched on.

finally explain about why he cant hear me clearly on the phone on sunday. I am on the highway back to KL. I Guess that place got worst network coverage. Therefore I said I'll call him tomorrow cause I will arrive KL at 12PM.

That's all for my explaination. Thank you.

This post has been edited by nlks: Nov 14 2006, 08:59 AM
vikingw2k
post Nov 14 2006, 11:22 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(nlks @ Nov 14 2006, 08:15 AM)
so I ask how about the personal warranty? The phone is given 2 weeks personal warranty. Triangel explained that the personal warranty only included the software only. So I told him he never mention of this before. Triangel then ask me back is it the first time I trade on lyn, continue he said many things could happen after COD so the hardware failure is not covered.
i doubt Triangel knows anything bout personal warranty. It's very rare that sellers will provide personal warranty on software. Even shops dont provide warranty on software. 2 weeks personal warranty on an item should cover whether the item is working or not. If item found malfunction between Personal Warranty period then the seller should refund the money to buyer.

nlks
post Nov 14 2006, 12:44 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Nov 14 2006, 11:22 AM)
i doubt Triangel knows anything bout personal warranty. It's very rare that sellers will provide personal warranty on software. Even shops dont provide warranty on software. 2 weeks personal warranty on an item should cover whether the item is working or not. If item found malfunction between Personal Warranty period then the seller should refund the money to buyer.
I think maybe he means if you found any feature of the phone not working,
then he can cancel the deal.
but I'm not quite familliar with it, tat's why I'm asking for opinion here.
nlks
post Nov 22 2006, 09:24 AM

198 posts

last friday triangle said that the charging port is ok already can be charged.
the failure of power on just becoz of the firmware,
so he suggest that he pay for the flashing fees,
and i take back the phone.
I try asking for refund but he said no such thing as refund since the phone is in good condition.
so no choice I met with him last saturday and get the phone.
after that I go to flash the firmware,
the flasher show me his 903sh,
then only i know the pin inside the charging port got damage but still can be charged.
it's not in good condition actually.
and the personal warranty is until this friday only.

any 1 can guide me wat can I do?

[edit] sorry forgot to mention, now the seller suspect I drop the phone, but I cant trust the seller also.

This post has been edited by nlks: Nov 22 2006, 10:24 AM
nlks
post Nov 22 2006, 11:14 AM

198 posts

ok i think i should discuss this here also,
there is a thread which posted by lbc521,
in that thread, a user called Xcrusad3r reserved a 903sh from him,
and with the hotmail account triangle provided me,
the username is Xcrusad3r also,
but triangle told me that 1 is not him.
I'm not sure are them the same person,
I tried to call the contact person in that thread but cannot get through.
maybe moderator can check it out for me?

please refer to this topic.
lbc521's topic

0.0176sec    1.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:05 AM