AM2 X2 3800+, Upgrading from Barton 2500

TShari
post Nov 12 2006, 04:54 AM, updated 20y ago

258 posts

Hi. I was searching the thread but cannot find the answer.

I was thingking of upgrading from my old Barton 2500 (OC 3200) to AMD2 X2 3800.

I found that not much AM2 X2 information about OC.

My question:

1. What core/stepping to look for in AM2 x2 3800?
2. How high can oc?
3. Default speed 2ghz - is it too low sisnce my barton running 2.2ghz
3. What MB?

Thanks in advance

This post has been edited by hari: Nov 12 2006, 03:19 PM
DaRkSyThE
post Nov 12 2006, 10:05 AM

4,809 posts

1. i think there are 2 flavours of AM2, but i dont really think it matters much (ps. everyone is on conroe, so im not sure bout the stepping)
2. it really depends on ur luck/skill and alot of other factors. its tough to tell u off hand
3. its a dual core, and the architecture is different compared tio ur barton. if u like, im sure u can hit 2.2ghz easy with ur AM2
4. er, this one im not sure of, maybe nvidia 590?

hope this helps
soulfly
post Nov 12 2006, 10:43 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

You are confused my friend. There is no such thing as AMD2. AMD is always AMD.

I believe you are referring to AMD Socket-AM2 architecture. AM2 is not a brand... it's just a socket layout name. AM2 utilizes 940-pin design, but not to be confused with Socket-940.

You could've find the answer if you do a simple search on the net, not just this forum.

Currently there is no specific good stepping for the Athlon64 series, it all depends on luck and your skills, and also depends on your motherboard as well.

A K8 will run faster than a K7 eventhough it's running at slower speed, this is due to the integrated memory controller system. There is no northbridge memory controller, the memory communicates directly to the processor.

And again... there is no such thing as AMD2.
TShari
post Nov 12 2006, 03:20 PM

258 posts

Edited AMD2 to AM2. I feel stupid!
TShari
post Nov 12 2006, 03:25 PM

258 posts

Can give an example of combination. AM@ x2 3800 and what motherboard.

I dont want to end up buying any MB and then someone told me that I should have bought some other MB.

gengstapo
post Nov 12 2006, 03:35 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

since u already know it was AMD AM2
y dont u try g00gle bout it

just my suggestion larr, rather than waiting for others reply
soulfly
post Nov 12 2006, 04:03 PM

15,903 posts

DFI Infinity UltraII-M2 .... the most overclockable and non-headache AM2 mobo
nckent
post Nov 12 2006, 09:20 PM

||>e-M'si@n<||
676 posts

QUOTE(hari @ Nov 12 2006, 03:20 PM)
Edited AMD2 to AM2. I feel stupid!
actually u should write like tis:
AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ (AM2)
or simply like AMD X2 3800+ (AM2)

AM2 is a socket name not a model
so thr is no AM2 X2.. tongue.gif
watever, it's not important as all noe wat u mean.. hehe..

btw, as soulfly said.. DFI is an overclockable mobo thumbup.gif
soulfly
post Nov 12 2006, 11:23 PM

15,903 posts

Biostar TForce 550 is not bad too... however often got issues with divider.
TShari
post Nov 12 2006, 11:52 PM

258 posts

I'm from Alor Star. Went to few shop here. Most dont have this processor.

1 shop have but quoted me RM1k + !! tongue.gif

Another shop seems to know about this but offer me the 3600+ but saying this new AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ EE 65w @ RM520 with cache 512 x 2. I siad it should come with 256x2. But he said new one!

And suggest the Abit K9 Ultra board

Your coment please. TQ.
nckent
post Nov 13 2006, 12:05 AM

||>e-M'si@n<||
676 posts

QUOTE(hari @ Nov 12 2006, 11:52 PM)
I'm from Alor Star. Went to few shop here. Most dont have this processor.

1 shop have but quoted me RM1k + !! tongue.gif

Another shop seems to know about this but offer me the 3600+ but saying  this  new AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ EE 65w @ RM520 with cache 512 x 2. I siad it should come with 256x2. But he said new one!
d shop seems bad la.. not honest.. sad.gif
nvr heard tat got another newer AMD X2 3600+ wif 512x2 cache wo..
it should hv oni 256x2 cache n d price at LYP is around RM450
bsides, AMD X2 3800+ sell around RM560

don buy at tat shop better..
mayb u can get from LYN.. thr r sum forumers sell it..

This post has been edited by nckent: Nov 13 2006, 12:18 AM
edwuave
post Nov 13 2006, 01:32 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(hari @ Nov 12 2006, 04:54 AM)
Hi. I was searching the thread but cannot find the answer.

I was thingking of upgrading from my old Barton 2500 (OC 3200) to AMD2 X2 3800.

I found that not much AM2 X2 information about OC.

My question:

1. What core/stepping to look for in AM2 x2 3800?
2. How high can oc?
3. Default speed 2ghz - is it too low sisnce my barton running 2.2ghz
3. What MB?

Thanks in advance
why bother about the 3800 X2 when u can get the 3600 X2 at RM120 cheaper. and both perform the same.

about the overclock, it can achieve 2.4Ghz easily provided u have sufficient knowledge about overclock.

and one more thing, u cant compare a K8 2.0GHz vs K7 2.2GHz, since K8 will easily pawn K7. K7 need to be at least 300Mhz faster to compete with K8 (*done this test at my home using Barton 2600 2.3ghz vs Sempron E6 2500 @2.0GHz)

the result is, encoding and rendering stuffs, K8 wins by leaps and bounds, other area like gaming, super PI it is almost equal. u can refer to the CPU chart at www.tomshardware.com where there is a barton. (i think there remove it liao since it is so old)
pierreye
post Nov 13 2006, 01:37 PM

1,308 posts

My advice is if you are changing to new platform, it is good opportunity to get Conroe. Price-wise, AMD X2 is not cheap and almost same price with C2D. You get better o/c performance with C2D. Everyone is dumping their AMD for INTEL. FYI, E6400 can easily hit 3.2 Ghz. (Stock 2.16Ghz)

Also, NF3 and NF4 chipset had some problem with LAN. It is not stable especially for 24/7 downloading of torrent. NF5 suppose to solve this problem.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Nov 13 2006, 01:57 PM
edwuave
post Nov 13 2006, 03:12 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Nov 13 2006, 01:37 PM)
My advice is if you are changing to new platform, it is good opportunity to get Conroe. Price-wise, AMD X2 is not cheap and almost same price with C2D. You get better o/c performance with C2D. Everyone is dumping their AMD for INTEL. FYI, E6400 can easily hit 3.2 Ghz. (Stock 2.16Ghz)

Also, NF3 and NF4 chipset had some problem with LAN. It is not stable especially for 24/7 downloading of torrent. NF5 suppose to solve this problem.
he is not asking for Intel cpu, please read b4 u reply. who say AMD isnt cheap? the cheapest one cost RM450, while the cheapest Allendale cost RM685. for budget consumers, AMD is the choice. and the e6400 cost almost twice the price of amd 3600 X2. plus, the motherboard for Allendale/conroe doesnt come cheap.
btw, i currently using NF4, and dont find any problem with torrent 24/7. please post facts not myth k.
mypetridish
post Nov 13 2006, 04:06 PM

1,313 posts

i dont mean to boast, but my 939 X2 3800 could run at:

1. 2.8ghz stable at 1.8V (? cant recall).
2. 2.4ghz at default voltage

Early batch I suppose, I was one of the earlier adopters.
soulfly
post Nov 14 2006, 01:05 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Nov 13 2006, 01:37 PM)

sorry but your statement is a baseless judgement

anyway... this is an overclocking section. if someone wants to overclock an AMD, only discuss about AMD. if you want to discuss about Intel, go to Intel thread. If you want to recommend someone for Intel above AMD, go to Hardware Questions & Answers section.
8tvt
post Nov 14 2006, 09:51 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

hari,

if u want to change to AM2, don't forget to put some budget for DDR2 also..
TShari
post Nov 14 2006, 12:32 PM

258 posts

Thanks for all the advise. Anyway I'll always be with AMD.

Just another question.

My friend want to sell to me AMD Athlon (Winchester) 64 3200+ + MSI K8N Neo4-F Nforce4-F at RM400

1. Is it cheap?
2. Can OC how high? (He is using default speed)
3. How much performance different from Barton 2500 (oc 3200) in using Photoshop and video editting?

8tvt
post Nov 14 2006, 01:13 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

if RM400 better take sempron AM2.. and cheap mobo..
mypetridish
post Nov 17 2006, 11:07 AM

1,313 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 14 2006, 09:51 AM)
hari,

if u want to change to AM2, don't forget to put some budget for DDR2 also..
which is cheaper than DDR. and obviously he has to buy ram. DUH

0.0144sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:41 PM