AM2 X2 3800+, Upgrading from Barton 2500

edwuave
post Nov 13 2006, 01:32 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(hari @ Nov 12 2006, 04:54 AM)
Hi. I was searching the thread but cannot find the answer.

I was thingking of upgrading from my old Barton 2500 (OC 3200) to AMD2 X2 3800.

I found that not much AM2 X2 information about OC.

My question:

1. What core/stepping to look for in AM2 x2 3800?
2. How high can oc?
3. Default speed 2ghz - is it too low sisnce my barton running 2.2ghz
3. What MB?

Thanks in advance
why bother about the 3800 X2 when u can get the 3600 X2 at RM120 cheaper. and both perform the same.

about the overclock, it can achieve 2.4Ghz easily provided u have sufficient knowledge about overclock.

and one more thing, u cant compare a K8 2.0GHz vs K7 2.2GHz, since K8 will easily pawn K7. K7 need to be at least 300Mhz faster to compete with K8 (*done this test at my home using Barton 2600 2.3ghz vs Sempron E6 2500 @2.0GHz)

the result is, encoding and rendering stuffs, K8 wins by leaps and bounds, other area like gaming, super PI it is almost equal. u can refer to the CPU chart at www.tomshardware.com where there is a barton. (i think there remove it liao since it is so old)
edwuave
post Nov 13 2006, 03:12 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Nov 13 2006, 01:37 PM)
My advice is if you are changing to new platform, it is good opportunity to get Conroe. Price-wise, AMD X2 is not cheap and almost same price with C2D. You get better o/c performance with C2D. Everyone is dumping their AMD for INTEL. FYI, E6400 can easily hit 3.2 Ghz. (Stock 2.16Ghz)

Also, NF3 and NF4 chipset had some problem with LAN. It is not stable especially for 24/7 downloading of torrent. NF5 suppose to solve this problem.
he is not asking for Intel cpu, please read b4 u reply. who say AMD isnt cheap? the cheapest one cost RM450, while the cheapest Allendale cost RM685. for budget consumers, AMD is the choice. and the e6400 cost almost twice the price of amd 3600 X2. plus, the motherboard for Allendale/conroe doesnt come cheap.
btw, i currently using NF4, and dont find any problem with torrent 24/7. please post facts not myth k.

0.0156sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:47 PM