Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V21, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

kazekage_09
post Jul 26 2015, 03:59 PM

511 posts

I have a question here to ask.

Received a call last week to upgrade my existing vip10 to Unifi30. So yesterday i checked my online unifi bill and yes the status already changed to Unifi30.

Done speed test and only got about 15mbps download and 5mbps upload. Immediately do a complaint and within 24 hours their technician came which is surprising (they just leave my house minutes ago).

They said it the router problem because if tested using lan cable definetely getting above 30mbps. If wifi only at 15mbps max.

So they advise me to get new powerful router that can support unifi. Either tplink or asus. Why TM didnot provide the router also beyond me.

So anyone can recommend me new router for me? If possible with the model number. And also do i need to do the setting later myself?
kazekage_09
post Jul 26 2015, 05:26 PM

511 posts

I guess you will face same problem. My technician said today all his client he attended all with same complain
kazekage_09
post Jul 26 2015, 06:51 PM

511 posts

Lol i dont know whether can cancel or not but if u using lan cable then it should be no problem.

Yes finding new router is troublesome for a IT-naive like me. Just hoping later the new router will not cause a new problem doh.gif
kazekage_09
post Jul 26 2015, 07:44 PM

511 posts

Yeah TM should provide router that can support 30mbps. Who still use lan cable lol
kazekage_09
post Jul 26 2015, 09:40 PM

511 posts

I think i want to complain to mcmc and see how before i opt for new router. The technician also seem on our side lol. saying tm already knew about the router problem but still went with the upgrade.

But at first time after my technician configure my setting, I did get about 26 mbps but that it, it only that one time.

kazekage_09
post Jul 27 2015, 05:20 PM

511 posts

Wait, actually there are people getting wifi 30mbps using stock router? Mine is stock also, model RG MARITIME-TRG212M. How to do it?

Tried install speedtest on my smartphone and tested. On mobile get 15mbps on laptop 10mbps only. What does this mean? Really I starting to regret upgrading lol

This post has been edited by kazekage_09: Jul 27 2015, 05:27 PM
kazekage_09
post Jul 27 2015, 05:42 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 27 2015, 05:32 PM)
going to higher n higher speed, not all wifi is created equal...

i feel many malaysian is learning this once upgrade to 30mbps n above.
What you mean by not all wifi is created equal? Do you mean different router different wifi speed?
kazekage_09
post Jul 28 2015, 09:13 AM

511 posts

Haiz, for a not technologically smart like me what options do i have to get my deserved 30mbps wifi speed.

fruitie can help me lol? tongue.gif
The setting and result u just got are from stock router is it?
kazekage_09
post Jul 28 2015, 01:48 PM

511 posts

First time I see someone getting rm189 for 30mbps. Anyone else? Why got different promotion price for same product?
kazekage_09
post Jul 29 2015, 04:49 AM

511 posts

This is my TM stock router. Model RG MARITIME-TRG212M. By any chance this router can make my laptop and smartphone get the 30mbps wifi speed? now both tested only getting max 15 mbps only
kazekage_09
post Jul 29 2015, 01:33 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Jul 29 2015, 04:49 AM)

This is my TM stock router. Model RG MARITIME-TRG212M. By any chance this router can make my laptop and smartphone get the 30mbps wifi speed? now both tested only getting max 15 mbps only
Help anyone? Anyone using this router getting their deserved speed?
kazekage_09
post Jul 29 2015, 04:22 PM

511 posts

Sigh...really heartbroken to hear my stock router is crap.

Can recommend me router that support unifi in price range 200-300 that doesnt need me to do setting? If posibble you all have a recommended seller? I want it to post to me.
kazekage_09
post Jul 29 2015, 08:40 PM

511 posts

Argghh you poisoning me fruitie!!
kazekage_09
post Jul 29 2015, 08:41 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 29 2015, 05:08 PM)
I compiled a list of routers that are compatible with Unifi here.
http://www.blacktubi.com/unifi/unifi-repla...nt-router-list/

TP-LINK WDR4300 is within your budget.
Thank you! I find as soon as i can. Meaning if I buy one of the fully compatible, i just plug and play right?

This post has been edited by kazekage_09: Jul 29 2015, 08:43 PM
kazekage_09
post Jul 29 2015, 09:24 PM

511 posts

blacktubi, which one u recommend Asus RT-N14UHP or TP Link TL-WDR4300? both price almost same right?
kazekage_09
post Jul 31 2015, 11:48 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 29 2015, 10:17 PM)
Spec wise, WDR4300 is better (Dual band N750).

Feature wise, N14UHP is better (Asuswrt).

Signal wise, N14UHP should be better.
Thank you. Im gonna buy one this weekend. Cant tahan d..
kazekage_09
post Aug 1 2015, 04:55 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(biloxee @ Aug 1 2015, 12:14 PM)
Using wifi 1.5m away from router given by TM...
May i know what type/model your stock router is?
kazekage_09
post Aug 1 2015, 05:12 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(biloxee @ Aug 1 2015, 05:06 PM)
RG-MARITIME-TRG212M
Oh same as mine. So actually this router can reach 30mbps in wifi. Do you do your own setting?
kazekage_09
post Aug 1 2015, 05:44 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(biloxee @ Aug 1 2015, 12:14 PM)
Using wifi 1.5m away from router given by TM...
How do you able to get 30mbps for that router? Mine also same but maximum i can get is only 15mbps
kazekage_09
post Aug 1 2015, 08:01 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(biloxee @ Aug 1 2015, 06:40 PM)
Don't put anything on the router. When I left the set-top box on it, the speed was affected.

Here my wifi setting...America  lol tongue.gif

[attachmentid=4680190]
followed your setting but still same result

Anyone can help?

0.0490sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:28 AM