Volkswagen Cars Discussion: Ver. MK VIII, Das Auto

unitron
post Oct 19 2017, 11:45 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

I'm thinking of getting a Passat.

Which is "better" the 1.8T or 2.0T ?

Better as in less issue, reliability and availability of replacement parts over long term ownership.
unitron
post Mar 10 2020, 01:36 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

hmm... not much info on the Mk7 Golf GTi in the forum.
Was thinking of getting a used one.

Wondering if any owners here can share what are the common problems with the MY units here.

unitron
post Feb 17 2021, 11:29 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

Just got a used VW Golf GTI MK6 with 86k KM on it.

Any trusted workshop in Melaka ?
Searched this topic, couldn't find any recommendation.

Plan to get the DSG oil changed, otherwise maybe i can do it myself.
So anyone who have done it themselves before can also advise.
unitron
post Mar 15 2021, 08:21 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(rizd2200 @ Mar 14 2021, 10:05 PM)
Stop by at VW Sg Besi.. the salesman said end of this month or early next month.. he don't have any info launching date..
oho... i asked the salesman here (Mlk) he said probably July.
Maybe they all dunno and simply guess only laugh.gif
unitron
post Aug 12 2021, 11:39 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(adrianzz @ Aug 12 2021, 10:59 AM)
Hi all.

I’m shortlisting the following models as my daily:

Polo GTI 1.4
Scirocco 1.4
Golf GTI MK6
Scirroco 2.0 if managed to find.
Beetle 1.4 or 2.0 TSI.

Personally, I’m leaning towards to the POLO GTI or the Scirroco 1.4 as the price is considered reasonable.

However, I m aware to take into account of the potential problems arises from the crack piston and the 7 speed dry dsg.
Then again, I have heard to select the model from 2012 or 2013 in which those problems have been recalled and replaced by Volkswagen?

As for the Golf MK6 GTI, it had always been my fav hot hatch but it’s getting old and still pricey. There should be minimal problem for this particular model?

And for the scirocco 2.0, I don’t see a lot of listing for this model?

Coming to beetle, it’s abit too girly for me but I can accept it if it’s casual problems for the 2.0 as I believe the 1.4 beetle would have the similar problem as mentioned in polo gti and scirocco.

Hope to get some advices. Thank you.
You should be able to find many 1.4 TSI for a bargain.

Myself, i went with a Mk6 GTI earlier this year.
Mainly for the added power from 2.0 TSI, wet DSG and being more global model, easier to find parts if needed.
unitron
post Aug 23 2021, 10:55 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(hiyoshi @ Aug 20 2021, 02:08 PM)
Hi to all sifu here. Looking to get a second opinion.

I recently sent in my 2013 Polo Sedan 1.6 to VW service centre to get checked after it started squeaking when going over uneven roads.
As expected, both front and back absorbers needed replacing.
On top of that, the steering rack was also suggested to be changed.
All in all, I was quoted RM 10k to replace the front & back absorbers, steering rack plus labour.

Is this the normal pricing for said parts?
Can I get it done for cheaper outside, and if yes, is the service reliable?

Thanks in advance to those who reply. Cheers
My 2013 Golf GTi also squeak when going over speed bumps when driving the car from few hours being stationary.
Since it goes away after a few bumps, never bothered to get it replaced.
unitron
post Mar 29 2022, 04:11 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(chang1908 @ Mar 29 2022, 03:42 PM)
Anybody order the Golf MK8 GTI? Would like to know how long is the waiting time once ordered.
super duper fast... my colleague booked and his car arrived at the same time the test drive car delivered at the showroom.
He wasn't even ready to collect the car.

This post has been edited by unitron: Mar 29 2022, 04:11 PM
unitron
post Apr 10 2022, 11:18 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Apr 8 2022, 06:33 PM)
Any owners bought coolant to top-up themselves? Where did you get it from? I see Shopee and Lazada selling G13 coolant for VW an Audi. Is this the correct one?
I buy my coolant from spare part shop that i know stock genuine parts.
Which model is your VW/Audi ? I believe the correct coolant is labeled on the tank itself.
unitron
post Apr 26 2022, 09:47 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(leaF @ Apr 12 2022, 02:46 PM)
do you mind to share the place and price ?
You're in Melaka ?... the shop i buy from is in Melaka.
unitron
post Sep 8 2022, 02:23 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 6 2022, 05:34 PM)
If wan buy volkswagen golf or passat 2nd hand, which version actually is a better choice with less headache? Going to work in brunei, their 2016 golf gti price is around 33k bnd. If malaysia around 160k?

ofkos it's the Mk7 or Mk7.5
unitron
post Sep 9 2022, 08:02 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 9 2022, 01:39 PM)
Okay so this mk7 and mk7.5 wouldnt have much problem on the engine and transmission right?
I wouldn't say as reliable as a Japanese engine and gearbox, but Mk7.x lesser problem.
Also the 2.0 engine using the wet clutch DSG is the more reliable one compared to the 1.4 with the dry clutch DSG.

unitron
post Jan 25 2024, 01:23 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Jan 8 2024, 03:35 PM)

All this started happening after i changed the transmission oil and did a clutch adaptation.

Using original oil or some other brands ?
Anyway it's been almost 3 weeks, i assume you probably got it fixed already.

0.2566sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:34 PM