Volkswagen Cars Discussion: Ver. MK VIII, Das Auto
kslee79
Oct 14 2015, 03:01 PM
Talking about changing battery, anybody have experience changing batteries outside (I mean not with the SC) while your warranty is still valid? Does that void your warranty? I found out that DIN55 Varta batteries sold by SC extremely expensive >RM600. AC Delco ones only RM400 plus.
kslee79
Oct 14 2015, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(ejenmulder @ Oct 14 2015, 10:31 AM) I changed my battery to Varta din55 at tayaria pj. Only rm380. My car is still under warranty. But I think battery is just one of those wear and tear items that shouldn't affect our warranty. Horee faark... if you all must know, the culprit who charged me over RM600 for the DIN55 Varta battery is none other than Wing Hin VW Balakong!
kslee79
Oct 14 2015, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(earl-ku @ Oct 14 2015, 01:49 PM) i assume its past 2 years initiall warranty and its now in the extended warranty period rite ... but most said that battery from SC comes with 2 years warranty ... so if u change outside is bout 400 compared to SC at 600 for 2 years warranty then its ok lah rite ... Yeah, my first battery died within 14 months, so the SC replaced it FOC. Second battery only lasted 16 months... WTF is wrong with batteries nowadays??? Last time car battery lasts >2 years easily. Nowadays is it because got too many USB charger outlet, infotainment system, DRL, come / leave home lights??? Dafuq...
kslee79
Oct 14 2015, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(earl-ku @ Oct 14 2015, 02:35 PM) i think the best way to explain this is like our mobile ... when we fully charge it 100% we will let it drain to 20 - 30% then recharge to full rite but in this case with our cars nowadays ... there is not much of a full discharge and recharge cycle ... due to the short distance travel thats why we need the battery conditioner, to recharge the battery every month or so to full cap Yeah, short distance commute is definitely bad for batteries...
kslee79
Oct 18 2015, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(wuszhtag @ Oct 18 2015, 12:37 PM) Hi guys I just went to vw showroom today and somehow my wife hooked up to the tiguan 2.0 model. We have yet to place booking or any sorts. Any advice from existing owner of tiguan? As i find tiguan to be very rare on the road Thanks A current owner here. I love my Tiguan and didn't regret as the choice of performance compact SUV 2 years ago was limited. There were just little problems here and there that could be fixed easily. Namely: bumper panel went out of alignment within 1/2 year, premature battery death, brake misalignment causes little squeeks... All fixed. Just want to let you know that you should consider the new BMW X1, Volvo XC60, Audi Q3 and Merc GLA250. They are all in the same price range... Also note that Tiguan new generation is already released in Europe... This post has been edited by kslee79: Oct 19 2015, 12:04 AM
kslee79
Oct 19 2015, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(sootienann @ Oct 19 2015, 03:12 AM) all the cars u mention are above rm 250k . way above tiguan 2.0 price range. Yeah, but I guess if you're willing to spending over RM230K for an SUV, might as well consider something else that is within reach with another 30~40K, right?
kslee79
Oct 28 2015, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(IsaacLiew52 @ Oct 28 2015, 04:54 AM) Your first car getting a Tiguan?!! not kidding. You damn rich You wish to get 1.4 tiguan or 2.0? My dad changed his X-trail 2.0 to Tiguan recently. I remember I asked my dad about this - how come you degrade yourself from 2.0 to 1.4? I have doubt on this whether Tiguan can reach up to the standard of being a real SUV. Further more, the Tiguan price is not cheaper than X-Trail neither. I just don't understand why he bought Tiguan that time?! The only answer I to find out why.. until I get a chance to drive the car. 1.4 engine is more powerful that x-trail 2.0 in surprise. Handling & performance can surpass X-trail all the time. In that case, you should hit the showroom and test drive a 2.0L Tiguan - SYIIIOOOOKKK!
kslee79
Nov 11 2015, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Nov 10 2015, 03:10 PM) [attachmentid=5269318] Plan to go to WingHin balakong, anyone have experience claiming insurance and used their body n paint service? Look for a gal named Darshini, she handles accident claims cases. Very helpful and efficient. In all, my repair with them went smooth. Great workmanship too on spray-painting.
kslee79
Nov 11 2015, 04:09 PM
3-4 days. Continue to use your car first and wait for them to call you in (when they got all the parts required for repair). Then you drop off your car there.
kslee79
Mar 4 2016, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(Error404 @ Aug 5 2015, 09:20 AM) Original Varta battery sucks! Mine died within 12 months & claim under warranty, again died after slightly 12 months... Have to fork out money to change outside, RM350 delivered & installed (century assist) Yes, Varta battery sucks. The one fitted originally on my Tiguan died <12 months and had a free replacement.
kslee79
Mar 14 2016, 09:11 PM
About windshield wipers. All VW wipers need that annoying clip, so I guess cannot buy generic wipers at store. Their wipers quite pricey, any solutions ugaiz have?
kslee79
Jul 5 2016, 03:10 PM
That's why. The thing that makes VW a premium brand is that not only they're expensive (in Malaysia), their service network requires you to have a backup car at home on standby because their turnaround time is oh-so-terror. Not many consumers have that kind of profile, quite exclusive actually!
On a separate note, anyone have any clue if Takata airbag recall involve any of our VW models? I know that Tiguan USA 2015 was recalled.
kslee79
Jul 6 2016, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(jsflim @ Jul 5 2016, 09:42 AM) what pissed me off is they need one day for inspection and another day for fixing. most of the time it will split into 2 weeks time as they always out of stock. Last time was worse, service bay full... wait, wait and more waiting... Can't do without a second car if you own a VW.
kslee79
Dec 5 2016, 10:31 PM
Anyone had a front lower arm bushing needing replacement before? Reporting from a 4-year old Tiguan... Age: 4 years, Mileage: 40,000 km.
kslee79
Dec 6 2016, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(Yapmy @ Dec 6 2016, 01:44 AM) Is it due to the creaking sound when going over the bump? Not really. No noise. Just was told it was worn. Anyway, wish to share this parts lookup site, very handy. Too bad they don't deliver to Malaysia but it is a great way to see how much $$$ the SC is scamming us. https://vwpartsdepartment.com/