USA Stock Discussion v7, Greece Debt Crisis!
Hansel
Nov 5 2015, 01:59 AM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 5 2015, 01:20 AM) will be hard to go below 46.30 with dow so strong. want to long, it falls; want to short, it goes up. hence, been watching tv all night, see what happens to towards 3.30 am. I noticed that everytime the FOMC threatens with a rate hike, oil price will dip....I suspect that this could be another forward-looking nature of the mkt. Oil stockists are too nervous abt buying up oil for reselling because they are afraid that if the rate should hike, demands for oil will slow down, causing unsold inventories. A slowing demand in turn, causes prices to dip.
Hansel
Nov 5 2015, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 5 2015, 02:13 AM) the last i read, land and sea tankers doing brisk biz with traders stocking to the brim in hope of quick profits next year. a rate hike will certainly push crude prices down significantly. the truth is, despite all the optimism from opec and the rest, goldman is probably right - the oil glut will extend well into 2016 and even 2017. Good morning, AV,... Okay,...so our observation tells us that traders are doing the stockpiling. I'm a bit careful of Goldman's calls though,..tq for the input. Away for next few days,... enjoy the mkts.
Hansel
Nov 11 2015, 08:38 PM
Night party starting yeah ?? Okay, just wanted to share something here,... heard last week from one of my pals that Indonesia has, something like.. applied to join OPEC. And Indonesia's oil export will be added into OPEC's production volume,...
Hansel
Nov 24 2015, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 24 2015, 07:25 PM) will be jittery session tonight, i think... ... gdp, consumer data ... turkey downed russian jet ... oil up-down-up-down on saudi pledge fed meeting is on dec 16.somehow, i feel big bull or big bear coming...  So,.. we will know the outcome of whether hike or not by 2am Dec 20, Msian time.
Hansel
Dec 22 2015, 02:52 PM
Looks like the period now creates no opportunities for traders to make money - too dangerous. And it has been so in the last 2 months.
Don't you guys think it's still more worthy in being yield investors ?
Hansel
Dec 23 2015, 07:06 AM
[quote=mikehwy,Dec 23 2015, 01:55 AM] do u mean bonds, sovereign debts? [/quote Hi MIke,...not only limited to bonds and sovereign debts, but across the board for stable and resilient yield instruments, eg yield stocks, REITs, high-yield bonds,...
Hansel
Dec 23 2015, 07:07 AM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 23 2015, 02:17 AM) wti trading at parity with brent. one of them is either too high or too low? ....a sign that the price of oil is nearing the bottom,...the market does not know how to price them anymore,....
Hansel
Dec 23 2015, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(mikehwy @ Dec 23 2015, 11:21 AM) oic, but i would prefer THE king, cash! i prefer to retain them just in case it rains. lol Mike,...right ! At my end,... since I have continuous cash coming in from my investments in the form of coupon payouts, divdiends, etc,... I'll just fall on these for my rainy days.
Hansel
Dec 30 2015, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(mikehwy @ Dec 23 2015, 09:35 PM) I have to say KUDOS to your $ management. its sincerely great to see a guy here actually going for longer term earnings, and successfully too. Tq Mike, for the encouraging compliments,... I do feel the challenges too : have funds coming-in continuously now but don't really know where to put. And holding cash also depreciates purchasing power. Read an article yesterday from The Business Times - said that 2015 is the worst year ever in history for all the basic three asset classes - equities, bonds and cash. Happy New Year to all forummers,.. all the best for 2016.
Hansel
Jan 10 2016, 05:10 PM
Dow, Nasdaq and S&P500 Futures are all red now. High chance for the SG mkt to dip again tomorrow...
Hansel
Jan 11 2016, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jan 10 2016, 07:34 PM) Opportunity again to top up hmmmm Yes, and sure enough, as predicted,.... the STI dipped badly again today ! But don't top-up yet,....some strong supports have been broken by STI30 counters. More to drop,..... Back to my earlier words : steady, steady,.......
Hansel
Jan 12 2016, 06:33 PM
2008/09 is back,...........steady, steady,....get your bullets ready.
Hansel
Jan 13 2016, 08:03 PM
I'm getting the feeling that, perhaps,... China is purposely doing all those things to the world to 'go against' the Fed hike,... look at it, the moment the Feds increases the Fed funds rate, the big crash in China cam along,... is it really such a coincidence ?
Then the PBOC had to devalue its currency, pulling the whole world currencies down with it,... again diverging from the Feds. Is China trying to show the world that she is the one who is really in control of the world economy, and that with the world experiencing a recession, the US really have no chance at all to be strong economically.
The final result may be,... the Feds have to reverse the interest rate again,... so hoped China,....
Hansel
Jan 16 2016, 02:25 PM
I have given up watching CNBC and Bloomberg at night,... this year, it has all been 'market selloff' seen on screen when I stayed-up. I am begiining to think that it will continue to be so moving forward. But for how long ???
Hansel
Jan 16 2016, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(mikehwy @ Jan 16 2016, 04:50 PM) shd crude comtinue to drag abit longer, gllobal econ shall be hit in the most irrecoverable state for a long while. shd saudis continues to be stubborn, this will form the 2010s crisis. going to be a long hard period. damage is done. I see no miracles. damn....long hard days ahead. Hi Mike,... actually if China can recover, I think there will be impetus for country GDPs to recover, and oil could still be at lows. Low oil is actually good for stimulating growths.
Hansel
Jan 16 2016, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 16 2016, 05:22 PM) Any production reduced by Saudi will be taken up by Iranian, it is better for Saudi to take lower revenue than zero revenue. Lower commodities price mean higher profit margin for many companies and higher disposable income for consumers. Only those countries and companies overly depending on commodities are affected. I suppose the people who are meant by 'the consumers here' are the employees of those companies who have enjoyed higher profit margin. These 'consumer' should have higher disposable income by now. But I keep hearing in Malaysia : barang naik tapi gaji tak naik. Or does it again need time for such benefits to trickle down to the employees ? Commodity pricings have been dropping for a year already.
Hansel
Jan 22 2016, 10:42 AM
Hmm,... oil is just itching to reverse direction,... and US indices are following,... making me nervous about this. SGX experts are also itching to reverse direction, sentiment-wise,...
IS THE MARKET TURNING AROUND INTO POSITIVE DIRECTION ? The mkt has not fallen enough for me to buy-in,....
Hansel
Jan 25 2016, 03:55 PM
Reallllyyyy,.........sanctions have been lifted from Iran, and more barrels are pouring into the mkt,... Then what happened ?? Oil price is RISING ??????
Hansel
Jan 26 2016, 10:53 AM
If I ever buy AAPL, I will just hold on to it and not expend my bullets paying brokerage fees.
Hansel
Jan 26 2016, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 26 2016, 10:02 AM) the way it's looking now, crude slide has resumed. looks like wanting to return to 28 as fast as it got from 28 to 32.50.  ...and with it, the MYR shooting back above 4.35 to 1 USD,.....