6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

NVIDIA GeForce Community V15 (new era pascal), ALL HAIL NEW PASCAL KING GTX1080 out now

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 29 2015, 09:17 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 29 2015, 02:39 AM)
May I know what's the different upgrading driver by going to nvidia website and download compare to going to windows updates and update the intel and nvidia driver ?
i use this app to uninstall drivers
http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/displa...r-download.html

but before that i already downloaded the drivers first from
http://www.geforce.com/drivers

so in the DDU process it reboots you safe mode, then proceeds to uninstall the driver. then it reboots back to windows.

now can safely install from the drivers downloaded direct from nvidia doh.gif

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 29 2015, 09:31 AM

4,454 posts

this is a very good article concerning why the nvidia camp has gameworks, and hows it's impacting the amd camp
http://wccftech.com/exclusive-nvidias-amds...s-bottom-issue/

i notice though in benchmarks, gameworks tend to decrease fps by a lot. the benchmark i saw was in 4k, where playable settings were on medium to high, and with gameworks disabled doh.gif

What GameWorks Is And Why It Exists

GameWorks is a developer program set-up by Nvidia to provide game developers with a collection of graphics libraries and tools aimed at improving the visual quality of games. It includes technologies such as PhysX – Nvidia’s proprietary physics engine – as well as VisualFX which encompasses a number of Nvidia optimized rendering techniques and in-game visual effects. These include things like shadows, anti-aliasing, depth of field, global illumination, hair simulation, ambient occlusion, lighting and other effects.
Below you will find the VisualFX solutions as listed on Nvidia’s website.

VisualFX provides solutions for rendering and effects including:

HBAO+ Enhanced Horizon Based Ambient Occlusion
TXAA Temporal Anti-aliasing
Soft Shadows Improves on PCSS to reach new levels of quality and performance, with the ability to render cascaded shadow maps
Depth of Field Combination of diffusion based DOF and a fixed cost constant size bokeh effect
FaceWorks Library for implementing high-quality skin and eye shading
WaveWorks Cinematic-quality ocean simulation for interactive applications
HairWorks Enabling simulation and rendering of fur, hair and anything with fibers
GI Works Adding Global Illumination greatly improves the realism of the rendered image
Turbulence High definition smoke and fog with physical interaction as well as supernatural effects

i think gameworks is a good idea. but only games that added features will have them. the only game i know that extensively revolved around gameworks was lords of fallen. but would other games e.g. build on frostbite, cry engine, unreal engine etc ?

One of the discussion points that Brian and I talked about which did not make its way to the interview was about the balance of trading performance for added visual quality, and how much performance was being lost for some GameWorks features such as HairWorks.

I argued that due to how intensive HairWorks is at tessellation factor x32 ( the standard setting for the feature ) many gamers, including ones using NVIDIA hardware, may choose to disable it completely in favor of improving the overall performance of the game. And that those gamers would have probably appreciated the choice of toggling between different tessellation factors just as they would normally toggle between different gradients of any other effect such as shadows or anti aliasing. Rather they are forced to accept x32, which is very intensive, or nothing at all.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 29 2015, 10:08 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 29 2015, 02:09 PM

4,454 posts

just updated to windows 10.... now waiting for dx 12 games to come out tongue.gif lel
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 29 2015, 05:37 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 29 2015, 05:32 PM)
Oh yes, I do mean the bezels and the cheap stand that wobbles pretty badly. It may not seem like an issue, but the glossy bezels do cause reflection and personally, it is extremely annoying for me. I know, because I owned several Samsung and Viewsonic monitors back from 2009 when glossy was like icing on the cake, everyone must make something glossy. doh.gif

I agree the panel is indeed very good, there's really not much qualms about it. AUO has been doing a great job lately, over the last few years. They've really stepped up their game.

But like I said, the issue lies with Acer's QC. You can read up on other forums like reddit, neogaf, OCN even, there are numerous issues like terrible backlight bleed that just happens over a few weeks of usage. There many stories on dead pixels too, pretty much unacceptable for a monitor of such high price.
ok the backlight bleed i didn't look into. but depending on severity could be a major reason not to get it.

my own monitor has it in the bottom right corner, but it's not too bad, so i give it a pass.

but definitely prospective buyers need to check on this doh.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 29 2015, 07:53 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 29 2015, 07:35 PM)
Moogle Stiltzkin
sorry , can explain the step again ?

The pc having both driver , one is intel and another is geforce.

The DDU driver uninstall tools cannot uninstall Intel driver right ?

Installing at Window 7 update driver at the optional section better or Using DDU better ? or just download the nvidia driver and get it install ?

Same graphic , didn't change anything , just wanted to update for some extra features
ddu can uninstall intel, nvidia and amd graphics smile.gif

step 1
download ddu

step2
install ddu

step 3
open ddu (it ask you to open safe mode, say yes)

step4
when in safe mode it auto open ddu. just select uninstall whatever brand graphics driver your using. for laptop sometimes you got both intel and nvidia. so you do accordingly lah ;x

step5
reboot

step6
now install nvidia driver. make sure you select custom/ clean installation. usually i have this downloaded before i even begin the process. cause if internet cannot access mampus lah laugh.gif

step7
sometimes for fun, i'll also use ccleaner to clean up registry smile.gif though probably not needed, because DDU does all that related to the graphics left over files.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 29 2015, 07:54 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 30 2015, 10:59 AM

4,454 posts

Over the weekend, Gordon Kelly at Forbes posted an article about Microsoft's botched Windows 10 Nvidia driver patch. Advanced Nvidia customers are furious -- for good reason. Thanks to the magic of Windows 10 forced updates, the good, old Nvidia driver was replaced with a new Microsoft-approved version, and all hell broke loose.

http://www.infoworld.com/article/2952996/m...ch-blocker.html

using windows 10 enterprise, i updates to defered. but other win10 users won't have this option.
http://www.extremetech.com/computing/21020...g-term-deferral

instead it would just simply update .....

only way is to use the microsoft tool to manually hide/choose which to install/not install.

so you'll be having to use that tool all the time whenever you want to update..... makes me wonder why they don't bother integrating the tool options into os itself then :{

http://gadgets.ndtv.com/apps/news/microsof...-updates-720758

interestingly i just updated the latest nvidia drivers, but it's still listing a new driver in the windows update..... wtf..

*update

weird now it's not doing that doh.gif guess needed a few minutes to detect the new drivers installed.. lel smile.gif

anyway i think for win10 users, you'll need to download driver, and ddu. then disconnect your internet while your reinstalling the driver. otherwise it will just download install driver ontop of the other automatically doh.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 30 2015, 11:25 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 31 2015, 07:19 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jul 30 2015, 01:59 PM)
Waiting for ti users to flood with vram swapping issues with w10.
hearthstone works but

storm of heroes doesn't. had to use compatibility for 8.1 to work, and even then sometimes it may crash after 1-2 hours or so if left on idle hmm.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 1 2015, 02:10 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 1 2015, 02:06 AM)
Moogle Stiltzkin Thanks for t he guide biggrin.gif
np flex.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 1 2015, 10:27 AM

4,454 posts

just wondering but what kind of performance upgrade can i expect going from a kepler 680gtx to a pascal ?

hmm.gif a rough guess.

By the way, an interesting comment by amd developer

"Nvidia Gameworks typically damages the performance on Nvidia hardware as well, which is a bit tragic really," he told PCR. "It certainly feels like it’s about reducing the performance, even on high-end graphics cards, so that people have to buy something new.

this i didn't really care because i usually get the high end cards anyway (minus titan x level rolleyes.gif )

“If you look at Crysis 2 in particular, you see that they’re tessellating water that’s not visible to millions of triangles every frame, and they’re tessellating blocks of concrete – essentially large rectangular objects – and generating millions of triangles per frame which are useless.

but this caught my eye though.

is there any basis on that claim i highlighted ? or is there a valid reason it's done that way. any IQ improvements or technical limitations for not doing this better ?

http://www.mcvuk.com/news/read/amd-accuses...amaging/0153557

it's a shame that these 2 camps don't have a similar agreement like intel did with amd for amd64 for intel instruction sets (in gpu case nvidia gameworks, gsync and source code for amds.... not sure what lel... freesync ? rolleyes.gif ), but sadly it's a reality we have to live with :{

but still i'd like to know regarding what i mentioned doh.gif cause are they intentionally gimping performance on purpose to get us to upgrade ?

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 1 2015, 10:34 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 1 2015, 04:11 PM

4,454 posts

found my answer

doh.gif so i definitely can ultra + msaa x2 or 4 + hairworks with a pascal :} on 1920x1200

http://www.anandtech.com/show/9306/the-nvi...980-ti-review/8

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 1 2015, 04:12 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 4 2015, 06:40 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(eatsleepnDIE @ Aug 4 2015, 04:49 PM)
errr...you water cool it or put it "under" the water?

care to give pics or how to do?
think he means water cooled doh.gif like this

anything under 60c for gpu while on max performance is decent in my book :}

if pascal comes out with a small size due to hbm, maybe the gpu waterblock will also be equally smaller hence cheaper i hope hmm.gif

i respect amd for at least trying to add default water cool to their fiji, unfortunately it had noise issues.... they trusted the wrong partner (cooler master from i heard rolleyes.gif )

i personally use water cooling, and haven't had a single leak since my pc was build back in 2012 doh.gif but i use quality threads and water cooling parts. So the experience is probably different if you get bad parts smile.gif

posted my water cooling diary here sweat.gif
https://disqus.com/home/discussion/wccftech...ment-2160523623

PS: water cooled gpus tend to have priced marked up by 600 more + a regular gpu due to the water block. So everytime you upgrade gpu your paying substantially more just to get water cooling for that part .....

water cooling is expensive because some of the parts particularly the water blocks are not interchangeable with other new hardware doh.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 4 2015, 06:48 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 5 2015, 09:07 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jul 8 2015, 08:55 PM)
Thinking of watercool my gtx980ti, our ringgit so low the block +backplate nearly cost RM700
gst and weak currency.... not really best time for us consumers >_<;

ironically when we become frugal with spending as a whole, that just digs us into further trouble rclxub.gif it's a cycle.

700 is alot :{

just see this

using the Amd R9 Fury x as an example because of the size of the card using hbm (hopefully pascal is this size)
https://shop.ekwb.com/ek-fc-r9-fury-x

113.99 USD = 441.829 MYR

1 USD = 3.87603 MYR

so the pascal would be somewhere around 2400 ish + 450 ish. Still better than 700 ish :/

If our currency becomes 1:4 thats gonna hurt cry.gif

the 980ti water block not much difference in price

EK-FC Titan X - Nickel
https://shop.ekwb.com/ek-fc-titan-x-nickel

125.49 USD = 486.243 MYR

PS: never mix metal whens possible. as water circulates other time it will rust..... and thats whats gonna kill your radiator by making holes. So if you do have mixed, then your gonna have to use anti rust coolant as a safety precaution.

Short answer:
Nickel plated blocks are slightly more corosion resistant.

Long answer:
As stated nickel is corrosion resistant. Also as stated copper is the best option for a heat sink. Nickel plated copper blocks do only have a thin layer of nickel.

The major benefit of a nickel plated copper water block is that if the surface to be mounted against the cpu is nickel plated it will most certainly be mirror smooth and will allow the thermal grease to flow without entrapping air bubbles. A non plated block could also be polished on the mating surface but will tarnish upon exposure to air so it would have to be done immediately before mounting and any buffing compound would have to be removed.

For corrosion resistance of an uncoated copper water block you could simply use some clear coat on the externally exposed copper except for the mating surface. Assuming you don't have large quantities of dissimilar metals in your system internal corrosion wouldn't be an issue. Keep in mind that any two dissimilar metals in contact or in the presence of the same electrolyte(A liquid which supports the flow of electrons) will incur a galvanic reaction. Most water based solutions are an electrlyte to some extent especially when you factor in contaminants.

If I were to design a small scale cooling system I would use all copper and solder which is meant for it to limit corrosion. Silver is a natural anti-microbial and would inhibit mould growth. Many potable copper pipe solders are silver bearing. The use of an automobile heater core which would be almost all copper would be perfect as a radiator. Standard car coolant of 50/50 mix would be fine as a coolant.
This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 5 2015, 09:21 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 5 2015, 11:00 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(eatsleepnDIE @ Aug 5 2015, 10:28 AM)

sifu wanna ask, what is the different between Acetal+Nickel waterblock and just the Acetal waterblock? i read it is the same performance is it true? do i need the anti corrosion coolant?

and on ek website, it says the block designed to accommodate a weak pump, so if i want to cool just my gc, suffice for me to get the cheapest and weakest pump right?

thanks in advance
not really an expert but i am vaguely aware of the galvanic issue doh.gif

Even liquid with a corrosion inhibitor won't last long. You'll likely be changing coolant very often. It's best not to use them together at all.

The most damage would be to the aluminum radiator, not so much the block (which is unfortunate, because you can't see the damage inside the rad). Eventually, you'll probably end up with pinhole leaks in your rad.

I'd recommend getting a copper radiator or a nickel plated block..... or a lot of anti-corrosive liquid.

Liquid usually turns into a milky color when corrosion is occurring in your loop.

http://www.overclock.net/t/1222245/how-to-...orrosion-alu-cu

i'm using a copper radiator and cpu waterblock

1 x Feser X-Changer Triple 360 mm Extreme Performance Radiator - 15mm Spacing

1 x Swiftech Apogee XT CPU Waterblock

unfortunately when i bought my 680gtx waterblock i forgot to check the metal type.... i ended up getting/using a nickle/acetal. however thankfully...

There is no difference really.

Nickel plated and full nickel are the same thing just worded differently.
Acetal is a type of plastic that the top is made of, it will either be acrylic or acetal.

EN nickel is a newer type of nickel plating that EK uses and is supposed to reduce the likeliness of the nickel flaking.

Copper and nickel are almost the same chemically so there isn't any problem mixing them.

EK only sells EN nickel now as they had some major problems with the nickel plating flaking off.

Some people will say not to use EK due to the nickel flaking problems which still seems to happen sometimes with the EN but I have had no problems with mine (running since May)

http://www.overclock.net/t/1342447/differe...and-full-nickel

smile.gif phew dodged a bullet

anyway i use plain distilled water.
Distilled water is water that has many of its impurities removed through distillation. Distillation involves boiling the water and then condensing the steam into a clean container.
i prefer a simple setup. Sure i could have put anti rust, but that takes maintenance to change out..... and even worse is colored coolant because overtime it becomes gunk like slimish. Needs to take out the whole radiator to shake out the slime, and replace......

thats why simple effective setup is best.

I use 2 of this 99.9% silver kill coil inside my water reservoir to prevent algae from growing

and this tygon silver lined tubing

water cool cpu and gpu makes the most sense. you can reduce the rev up noise from fans when pc is underload.... also good for pcs like mine which is left on 24/7

and even though i use 6 radiators on my radiator, i set to low medium, can hardly hear pc make noise at all doh.gif

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 5 2015, 12:35 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(eatsleepnDIE @ Aug 5 2015, 12:22 PM)

so much info! thanks a lot! now i think i have more confidence in starting water cooled setup biggrin.gif
if you want to save money, maybe can skip out on gpu waterblock (which is much harder to support newer gpus in future).

and just get cpu waterblock only. depends how much you willing to spend every 4-6 years when your replacing your gear (for which you may need to buy a compatible waterblock for the part as well ohmy.gif )

yeah moogle... spreading the poison whether it be mechnical keyboards or water cooling laugh.gif

by the way the latest game i'm playing lately is magic the gathering duel origins. this game even at ultra settings the aliasing is so bad.... despite having some good still graphic images ..... it's game developers that do crap like this that makes me wonder even bother get top of the line graphics card doh.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 5 2015, 12:37 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 5 2015, 04:09 PM

4,454 posts

weird how nvidia gpu is performing different on linux and windows
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=arti...n10-linux&num=2

*short story

play game only on windows tongue.gif lel

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 5 2015, 03:55 PM)
The day Malaysia gets snow is when the world will perish... logically and scientifically speaking.

But on a more on-topic note, I don't know where the assumption comes from if snow = super low temps for PC? Okay sure, definitely lower than in hot countries but the perception of living in a cold country and having low temps on PC is wrong. I stayed in the US during winter, several times. Guess what? We have to turn on the heaters.

The house is actually dryer and hotter with the heaters than in Malaysia where you'd just have the fan on instead. Ironic? Yeah.

Don't turn on the heaters? Well, if you enjoy wearing 3 layers of clothes, then be my guest. biggrin.gif
Also, one of the main reason for going water is for looks. I don't know why people found it pleasing to have 2 AIOs in their system, it's so tacky and n00bish looking. I mean, I'm not trying to even sound like a snob here but it is what it is. Might as well just optimize for air cooling instead, because good air cooling is nearly as effective as AIOs (in some cases, even better), cost less and guess what? It won't break (where as AIOs will, just read up the numerous amount of stories about AIOs dying prematurely).
i'd spend my buck on pc, gpu, hdds, etc etc.... water cooling really is the last resort when you run out of things to upgrade. that and mkb laugh.gif

i understand the temptation of the bling, but in all honestly the primary concern should be the temp. just run a few temp program to track your cpu and gpu temps. if it goes 70-80+ should really go water cooling for sure :]

or even the sound issue. for me this was important :}

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 5 2015, 04:16 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 5 2015, 07:07 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 5 2015, 06:03 PM)
There are 3 main reasons for water, temps obviously, looks and noise.

I personally don't like AIOs at all. They're inconsistent, could either be noisy, look terrible, or just like I said... prematurely fail without you knowing.
That's why I said if AIO is the last resort for lower temps, that I do not agree at all. A very well optimized case for airflow and airblow is just as good as AIOs, if not better (the latter, if you bring cost into the discussion).
Keep those fingers crossed. I'm not trying to hate on AIOs, but when I open up and see how low quality the stuff are in there, it cringes me when people go around and say AIOs are awesome. They didn't even know what they paid for. AIO isn't even leak-proof to begin with, yet it is being marketed as being so...?

Good that your AIO has not died. But just keep an eye on it when you start hearing the pump squeel. Have seen several systems died because of a failed AIO and the system was left running at very high temps for a long period of time.
i stay away from AIO's

tbh i never tried them before, but i never heard good things about them sad.gif

besides my Swiftech MCP 655 pump is very reliable.... thats why
https://martinsliquidlab.wordpress.com/2012...ve-pump-review/

Anyway regarding waterblocks apparently the one meant for titan x also works for the 980ti for the EKWB branded one. So some waterblocks will work with other gpu.... but i wouldn't hold my breath if it would on pascal. Moment pascal comes out, my 680 water block is as good as an expensive paper weight doh.gif

For newbies by the way a AIO water cooling is kinda like this. but in this instance the loop is strictly only for the gpu

At the top of the pack are a pair of water-cooled cards. The GTX 980 Ti HYBRID uses a closed loop water cooler with a 120 mm radiator and retains the cooling fan to keep the rest of the card cool, similar to the solution used for AMD's R9 295x2. EVGA claimed the hybrid cooler significantly lowers GPU temperatures.

Also announced is a Hydro Copper edition with dedicated water block that includes G1/4 threads for use with standard water cooling fittings.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 6 2015, 02:22 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 6 2015, 02:10 PM)
Zero chances of any existing blocks working for Pascal. The fact that the PCBs will definitely be smaller and also the GPU + HBM dies being overall bigger, there's just no way for any existing block to be compatible for Pascal.

Yeah, one problem with GPU waterblocks is that it isn't compatible forever. More so in Malaysia where the WC community is quite puny, selling it off is also quite difficult. US and EU has a way larger market where even blocks back from the Fermi days can still be sold relatively easily.
guess your right lookin at this picture hmm.gif

to digress, apparently skylake cpu is
This new LGA 1151 socket is backwards compatible with most air and water CPU coolers which is certainly welcomed.
http://www.hardocp.com/article/2015/08/05/...ocking_review/2

by the way i tried to get my pc serviced at apes for water cooling. they helped me set it up the first time.

but on my second trip they held my pc for 2 weeks and did nothing with it. so i collected it back and nothing was done, was disappointing. you know any alternative places i can seek help sad.gif

is a bit related because when pascal comes out, i'm gonna need help to fit in a new water block for gpu rclxub.gif

random pic 980ti asus poseidon water cooled

water cooling options for pascal... either i get like a poseidon asus type, or a specialist block sold separately like from ekwb doh.gif whichever cheapest. preferably copper this time around (instead of nickle/acetal i'm using atm sweat.gif )

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 6 2015, 02:29 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 6 2015, 09:53 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 6 2015, 09:37 PM)
Actually... there's more to the story than just avg fps and 10% higher numbers.
In a nut shell (since this isn't an Intel thread), Skylake > Devils Canyon/Haswell by a noticeable margin when it comes to min.fps and most importantly, frame latency.

It's even more significant if comparing Skylake to SB/IVB though. So... yeah, don't just look at the avg.fps and draw the conclusion.
*PS
Where's the Intel thread anyway?
*EDIT
For reference only:

See how frame hitching on i5 6600k is as good as an i7 4790k at lower clockspeeds? OC that thing mildly and wham! It's a clear noticeable difference!
ooo so the 20fps increase isn't really the full story ? ok i'll check that out ty.

*update

found a newer video

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 6 2015, 10:00 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 7 2015, 05:42 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(crash123 @ Aug 7 2015, 04:57 PM)

Hurm, not worth uprgrade, need to buy new mobo,cpu and ddr4. I think I will skip Pascal as well. Wait until HBM matured 1st. Maybe build new rig when pcie 4.0 release
well amd's fiji was using hbm1 which had a critical flaw. it was maxed at 4gb vram compared to current offerings like 980ti that had 6gb of gddr5 vram.

that said it was few titles that pushed vram usage, and even then most of the time it was for 1440p or higher resolutions.

but still it was a limitation.

hbm2 which is what pascal will be using will be either 8,16 or even 32gb. Either one will still be amazingly ample enough for just about anyone smile.gif

also bandwidth will be 1tb vs the current 500 ish or so for hbm1.

So in my book i think that is more than mature worth me buying :} so i wonder, what improvement to it do you think is worth waiting for that on book seems more than sufficient to last for a long while hmm.gif more vram ? seems like even 8gb is good enuff. faster bandwidth speed ? Sure but by how much and is it really worth waiting on that ?

people also mentioned how 980 quickly is going to become obsolete by a large margin due to many factors pointed out about pascal's tech e.g.
1. hbm2 (smaller gpu cards, more memory bandwidth and bigger vram capacities)
2. nvlink (probably going to benefit multi gpu setups)
3. double the transistor count of a titan x and fiji amd (better gpu performance ?)
4. mixed precision (probably less of an affect for gamers)

basically i think this is going to be one of those times there is a giant leap in performance. volta was delayed for quite a long time and is scheduled for after pascal maybe 1 or 2 years after. i'm placing my bet the leap from pascal to volta won't be too huge.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 7 2015, 06:05 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 7 2015, 08:09 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(crash123 @ Aug 7 2015, 07:43 PM)

Ya i kinda agree this hbm thing is really future tech. If u see benchmark between gtx 980ti/titan sli vs fury x cf, u will see fury x is more efficient in cf
I will wait until they refresh the skylake and pascal then i will consider to totally upgrade my rig

Fury x 4GB almost beat 980ti 6GB. I wonder what if Fury x 6GB will do  sweat.gif Gonna save my money for future rig

Pascal refresh, PCIEx16 Gen 4, Skylake refresh, cheap DDR 4 and NVMe. Thats is the year I will upgrade the rig  rclxm9.gif
ddr4 cheap ? hm... last i checked it wasn't. maybe it's changed ? but that said there are motherboards that will support ddr3 so can keep using old ram which is sufficiently good even for gaming.

i'm not really excited about pc ram unless it's hmc or xpoint hmm.gif

as for pciex16 even my older ivy bridge mobo had that
2 x PCIe 3.0 x16
1 x PCIe 2.0 x16
2 x PCIe 2.0 x1
2 x PCI

for me i use 1 pcie 3.0 x16 for my single gpu. and i guess the other can be used a pcie ssd (then again isn't m.sata ssd better ?)

anyway guess those multi gpu setups would need those extra pcie 3.0 slots doh.gif for me think is sufficient with what i got atm.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:08 PM