LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V5, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners

RoxyMunky
post Mar 21 2016, 03:08 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Mar 20 2016, 10:16 PM)
Hi, I just bought a 2012 Vios.
Been driving for 4 days... and today, the engine jerks a bit ...even with my foot on the brakes. Also, I just added Ceratec (Liqui Moly) ... Does it have that kind of effect?

And on another question; How often do you change the auto transmission oil?
if your on D, standstill engine idling causes trembling; most probably engine mounting dead.

but its year 2012, thats a short life span. what's the current mileage?

it could be that the idling RPM is too low, hence shaky.

as for ATF oil, best change every 20k on the ODO.
RoxyMunky
post Mar 22 2016, 09:52 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Mar 22 2016, 05:13 AM)
Yes , the trembling comes at D position. However, the problem comes and goes.
I'll be checking the pcv valve later .. or just change a new one.
This problem occurs after adding Ceratec (Liqui MOly). Probalby clogged the pcv.
Trial and error. ...

Current mileage is 40K .. so will change the ATF too.
Not sure if the previous owner takes care of it...

Gonna flush out the coolant and replace with filtered water & new coolant.
happy troubleshooting bro

RoxyMunky
post Apr 4 2016, 04:12 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Apr 4 2016, 03:48 PM)
Guys, i'm looking for a used Vios 1st gen year 2004 G spec which clocked less than 100k.
Checked the overall condition all seem to be okay except the red circle part which is vibrating upon engine startup.
Any solution for this?
is the engine mounting in good condition?

that part is air filter --> throttle body assembly.. perhaps the housing clip loose?
RoxyMunky
post Apr 4 2016, 05:31 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Apr 4 2016, 05:17 PM)
The mounting looks good. This one i can't confirm since this only can be checked at workshop after purchased.
I might just need to confirm this is a minor issue which can be fixed within 2-3k (engine mounting, drive shafts, lower arms, front rear suspensions, fan belts, etc).

Do you think this could be the cause?
http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2659768-vi...-problem/page-3
looks and feels different bro.

engine mounting is tear and wear parts. try start the car, engage D, stand still and see if the vibration is harsh on steering and floor pan.

drive shaft issue is only noticeable upon speed pickup.

lower arms would be running over uneven road and see if there's any "ngok ngok" noise. same goes to suspensions.

fan belts are the screeching sound.

hope above help.
RoxyMunky
post Apr 5 2016, 12:47 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 4 2016, 08:52 PM)
Sifu. Whenever my car reach 90kmh, the car have significant "ngung.... ngung... ngung...." sound, which is more or less like bee sound. And it will end at 100kmh. Sharp. I noticed really long time already. What can be the reason?
check if its either pregnant tyres or wheel bearing.

or spoilt absorbers that caused uneven tyre threading, hence creating the noise.

QUOTE(laith @ Apr 5 2016, 11:28 AM)
Thanks Roxy sifu for the in depth explanation.  notworthy.gif
no issue, helping out only.

QUOTE(killerpigglet @ Apr 5 2016, 12:16 PM)
Yup. Get the carb cleaner. Take out the air filter n the pipes n u can see the throttle body. Not sure how to explain.
Major issues nope. Minor a few but cheap fixes.
Fuel consumption not that good recently. Trying to find out what's the problem though..
try Caltex Techron fuel for few tanks. it got cleaning agent that helps to reduce carbon residue in the combustion sytem.
RoxyMunky
post Apr 5 2016, 03:03 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(sa10 @ Apr 5 2016, 02:20 PM)
just bought a set of hand tools eg, ratchet, breaker bar, torque wrench
gonna to do brake cleaning n adjustment myself.
gonna do brake oil bleeding?

make sure got another fella help you press on the brake pedal to bleed it clean, and try to avoid letting air get inside.
RoxyMunky
post Apr 5 2016, 05:19 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 5 2016, 05:09 PM)
tyres new. just 7000 km.

wa, if wheel bearing like very expensive...... is that common wheel bearing exposed to wear and tear... damnmnnnnnnnnnnnn
wheel bearing around RM150-300 per pcs, depending on brand.

its a tear and wear item... my year 2008 car also got this bearing issue... but its not a Toyota lar.
RoxyMunky
post Apr 6 2016, 08:37 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 5 2016, 06:29 PM)
I Google around 350 per pc. Omg. One car got four pcs. Waaaaaaaa. Better I get a girlfriend.
just change spoilt one, the rest can leave it.

QUOTE(therain01 @ Apr 5 2016, 07:02 PM)
Bearing can be removed and replaced without replacing the body in some of the car.  Not sure for vios.

Ask your mechanic to check for you. If it is over the front wheel they could just jack up the car and Rev the front wheel until the sound appear.  Not sure how to check the rear wheel though.

Change only the defective bearing.  There's no need to replace all of them. Well after all it might not be the bearing but just other part.
yeap, second that.

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Apr 5 2016, 08:47 PM)
Want to ASk:  FC

My spec Vios 2012, J series
Semi Syn, Added Lqui Moly Ceratec
16" rim. Single driver ..most of the time
10.95 km/l

What is your reading?
mine is J, still stock but fully loaded with soundproof.. getting around 11.5km/litre.

your ODO is already distorted by the different wheel+tyre size due to different contact surface caused by the 15 to 16' rim+tyres.

Its depending on the surface equivalent.

If you're from 185/60/15 to 205/55/16, then its equivalent. Try this site: https://tiresize.com/calculator/

205/55R16 24.9X8.1R16 24.9"Equal
225/50R16 24.9X8.9R16 24.9"Equal

195/60R16 25.2X7.7R16 25.2"+1.2%
215/55R16 25.3X8.5R16 25.3"+1.6%
135/90R16 25.6X5.3R16 25.6"+2.8%
245/50R16 25.6X9.7R16 25.6"+2.8%
205/60R16 25.7X8.1R16 25.7"+3.2%
225/55R16 25.7X8.9R16 25.7"+3.2%
275/45R16 25.7X10.8R16 25.7"+3.2%
255/50R16 26X10R16 26"+4.4%
RoxyMunky
post Apr 6 2016, 01:48 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Apr 6 2016, 12:01 PM)
Thx for the feedback but I think 10.9km/l is too low.
At least 12 km/l is reasonable.
Wow ... thx for the info.
Kinda suspect the tire size too.
thats why i said depends on your wheel size.

last time i was on 205/55/16 changed to 215/45/17... the reading off by 1%.
RoxyMunky
post Apr 8 2016, 08:26 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Apr 6 2016, 09:59 PM)
1% is quite small difference.
Thinking of changing back to stock 15" rims and tires.
Wanna see the difference.

Heavier rim affect torque output hence consume more petrol
Suspect la... we see how.
not entirely true that bigger rims are heavier.

my stock Ford Focus TDCi 16' rims are heavier than a Vossen CV5 17' rims.

it really depends on which type of rims you buy.

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Apr 8 2016, 03:13 AM)
Actually I didn't change them.
It came with the car ..bought 2nd hand.
You think 16" is ok?
Looks nice though ... I like it.
But I heard the tyres price is a killer.  confused.gif
16' tyres cost is definitely higher than 15's.

a PS3 205/55/16 cost RM380-420 per pcs, whereas a cheaper alternative like Kumho Ecsta7 cost around RM250-280 per pcs.

On the extreme part, my friend installed Advan AD08R RM880 per pcs on his TDCi. sweat.gif

again, depends on what brand and model of tyre you want.

RoxyMunky
post Apr 8 2016, 01:29 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Apr 8 2016, 11:49 AM)
Roxy gor, are you driving Ford Focus TDCi mk2.5?
mk2 petrol, but got 3 close member on TDCi mk2.5.
RoxyMunky
post Apr 8 2016, 10:06 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 8 2016, 04:13 PM)
regarding the ngong ngong sound, I check with 2 mechanic. Both say the same thing which the bearing is in normal condition. The sound produced is from the tyre itself.
Try swap rear tyre to front.

QUOTE(laith @ Apr 8 2016, 04:59 PM)
Great!. Do you have any idea about the reliability, performance, cost of maintenance, issues on TDCi MK2.5?
Damn reliable. Common problem is the intercooler hose. Maintenance is pricier as the parts are rather costly.

So far no major issue.

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Apr 8 2016, 06:23 PM)
Damn ... time to change mah rims.
Thx for the info bro.
No problem.
RoxyMunky
post Apr 10 2016, 11:29 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 9 2016, 06:38 PM)
Yea... I think I tyre. See after rotation how. 4000 km more to service rotate coolent eo.... Arghhh cost bomb again.

I asked them ad. If bearing problem, the sound getting loud after hitting some speed. It won't disappear like mine.
good luck bro.
RoxyMunky
post Apr 11 2016, 04:51 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Apr 11 2016, 03:17 PM)
Thanks for the info Roxy guru.
I am thinking of getting used Vios & Focus tdci, replacing my lmst.
used Focus TDCi price range around RM50-65k, depending on year of make; and whether its Hothatch or Sedan.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0209sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:14 AM