Electricity consumption, Query

TSajai@jakes
post Jul 9 2015, 10:56 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 9 2015, 10:51 AM)
I'm afraid that the electricity usage calculation is not straight calculation as calculated by weikee. Load are not pure resistance since there is also inductive load from compressor. No matter how much phase is corrected or how efficient is your inverter air-conditioner, the reactive or capacitive load will result in unproductive power, the reactive power. The meter used by TNB calculates both active and reactive power unfortunately  smile.gif
I will keep this in mind. I have called tnb, they are also supprised by the spike. they will come over to the house to check the meter. hopefully it is a meter fault and nothing more.
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 9 2015, 11:50 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 9 2015, 11:41 AM)
well from your monitoring you use 33 kWh per day which is line with your old consumption and usage pattern. 49 would mean either you used something else for that bill or your billing cycle was not 30 days but maybe 45 or more? maybe you want to double check the bill.
billing cycle was from 15 may to 16 jun. approximately 32 days. I checked this on the bill.
Things just don't make sense.
my consumption from 16 june to 7 july is 950kwh!! which is about 21 days meaning my consumption per day is 45kwh.
I started monitoring from 7 july till this morning and my consumption for 2 days is about 66kwh or about 33kwh per day.
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 9 2015, 11:52 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Jul 9 2015, 11:46 AM)
I had forgotted to turn off my water storage tank 25L from 7am to 8pm the extra charge from just turn on power on is around 5 - 8kwh extra

If don't believe just try to leave it from morning till after work and see how many kW from the meter to compare as normally
well....for the last 2 days since I started monitoring my meter...everything use will be turned off once finish. that include storage water heater and water pump.
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 9 2015, 11:53 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 9 2015, 11:50 AM)
Nope, I own 2 storage heaters, and purposely leaving it on for few days. The extra was about 2kw
I am leaking electricity somewhere!! but not sure where. 26/27kwh for 12 hours from 7pm to 7am doesn't seem right...
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 9 2015, 12:00 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(enduser @ Jul 9 2015, 11:57 AM)
jiran sebelah curi letrik ka  biggrin.gif  /k /joking
tak kottt...hehe
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 9 2015, 12:03 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 9 2015, 11:57 AM)
What i would do is check your meter accuracy. Like switching off everything, and leaving one A/C running max at lowest temperature for 1 or 2 hours, see if really clock more than it suppose, or accurate.
a bit difficult to turn everything off bro. stuff like my unifi difficult to access to completely shut off.
anyways, made an appointment with tnb. they will check the meter this next 2 or 3 days. in the meantime I will continue monitoring my usage until the next bill comes. especially since I know the billing will start somewhere between 14 july to 16 july. need to make sure it tallies with the numbers I have.
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 9 2015, 02:50 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 9 2015, 02:31 PM)
the thing is for two days you act more aware and safe power. you need to monitor longer. when you start to be less caring you get the real figures again. do it longer. water heater and pump will have a small effect only maybe 2-3 kWh per day depending on the amount and length of the hot showers and stuff you take. mostly hot water will be a factor. you can switch to gas heater if you like. way cheaper in the long run.
yup. will be monitoring till the new bill cycle to have a better idea of how much electricity I consume.
it just does not make any sense that I have to pay upwards of RM700 a month for my electricity bill.
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 9 2015, 02:51 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 9 2015, 02:00 PM)
Beside monitoring the meter, you also need to trouble shoot the hike is not due to billing discrepancy, you need to check whether your RM700+ bill is E bill or N bill. If not mistake, TNB adopt Normal billing and Estimate billing on alternate month at certain area.
If the 2 bills are N bills, then please check the meter reading date is consistent or not ie about 30 days usage.
this is the normal billing. I checked. so far both months are for normal billing and not estimate billing. the billing cycle for the RM700 bill is 32 days. I called to check.
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 10 2015, 03:23 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 10 2015, 02:00 PM)
From your list of usages it look normal. Mine higher because my AC running are longer. If you notice some month I only use 8+ units / day, because my AC usage are lower but substitute with more hot water usage during rainy season.
this is weird. I use 26 units from 7am to 7pm for 3 days straight.
electrical items used are:

2 x 1hp inverter aircond for 9 hours each.
10 minutes 50 liter storage water heater
10 minutes 500 watt water pump
2 ceiling fans for 9 house each
4 LED downlights for 3 hours
20 minutes 2800 watt vacuum cleaner.

Help me. does this make any sense?

TSajai@jakes
post Jul 10 2015, 03:28 PM

107 posts

usage from 7am to 7pm is more ridiculous!!!

3 hours for ONLY 1 inverter aircond 1 hp
30 min 50l storage water heater
30 mins water pump
10 mins deep fryer
1 x 18 watt led downlight 4 hours
50 inch lcd tv for 6 hours

guess how much I used..14 units.
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 10 2015, 04:06 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 10 2015, 03:55 PM)
7am to 7pm ?? So the above are for 12hours of daytime usage ??

What about 7pm to 7am night time usage ??
night time usage is 26units.

2 x 1hp inverter aircond. each for 9 hours
10 mins 50l storage hot water
10 mins water pump
4 x 18watt led down lights for 4 hours
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 10 2015, 04:06 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(razaliChe @ Jul 10 2015, 03:52 PM)
Is your meter the old or latest digital with coded seals?
digital year 2013
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 10 2015, 04:08 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 10 2015, 03:46 PM)
Wow, that insane high.
yes it is. I have a strong suspicion there is something wrong with the meter.
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 10 2015, 04:09 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 10 2015, 04:08 PM)
Better check your meter. Sound like your meter run at least 2x faster. Could be 3x
yup. already did a report with tnb yesterday. hope to set an appointment with them before raya.
TSajai@jakes
post Jul 24 2015, 10:52 AM

107 posts

Hi Guys,

Finally the TNB guys came this morning. After checking, they confirmed that there was something wrong with their meter and they will replace it this next few days. Hopefully yhen, I will have normal meter reading. Luckily, I took note of my daily usage for the last one month to compare.
Fingers crossed.
I would like to thank everyone for their advice and input on this issue. I will update again once the new meter has been installed.
TSajai@jakes
post Aug 5 2015, 04:07 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 24 2015, 05:01 PM)
Good to know that. After they come over and change, record the usage for a month or two, and bring that back to TNB ask them how they compensate?
I just got my new meter on 3 August 2015. They came at about 1pm and took about 5 mins to install. So far, I am happy as from what I have recorded, I have only used up 28kwh from 3/8/2015 at 1pm to 5/8/2015 up to this morning 7am. that is a solid 42 hours of usage. With my old meter, this was the consumption recorded from 7pm to 7am!!!

As for the compensation, I checked with tnb via phone and also to the person who changed my meter, they said the same thing, tnb will credit my account. not too sure how they will do that though.

This post has been edited by ajai@jakes: Aug 5 2015, 04:14 PM
TSajai@jakes
post Aug 5 2015, 04:11 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 26 2015, 08:56 AM)
Wah my bill just came. so far i have received two bills since moving here. last month - Rm217. this month - Rm255 (630units)
I checked my meter yesterday evening and checked again this morning
8 units from 6pm to 9am
Using 2HP aircon set at 26C from 9pm to 9am. Few hours of TV usage.
Got 400L inverter fridge running 24hours
Does this sounds normal?

night time already 8 units. daytime i think about 10 units...everyday 20 units  cry.gif
I think thats about right. Cause when I was using my old meter, my reading was double your reading. you can read in my earlier postings what I used during the night.
hopefully my new meter I will get your reading, which I will be very happy with.
TSajai@jakes
post Aug 5 2015, 06:25 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(chantzeshyuan @ Aug 5 2015, 05:55 PM)
first question.go touch ur LED light/bulb/tube whether is hot when turn on after 5-8 hours.if yes,ur led is cheap led(some no brand china led),which doesnt help in consumption but increase ur electricity.

if you found this issue, meaning you get con on LED.
Dear Chantzeshyuan,

I do not want to be confrontational.

First
I don't think you read my earlier posting as I clearly mentioned that I am currently using LED downlights. If you had noticed or not been so ignorant, you would not have asked me if I want to change all my downlights to LED and instead should have asked me whether I want to change to a better quality downlight.

Second
I had thanked you for your input and politely mentioned that I am already currently using LED downlights.

Third
This thread was never about cheap or expensive LED. It has always been about electricity consumption.

Fourth
As you do not know me or my financial status, then please reserve your comments on whether I am using cheap LED downlights or otherwise.

Fifth
I do not have to answer to you or anyone else whether I have been conned or otherwise. Plus, you do not know what brand or how much my LED costs and neither do you know who had installed or where I purchased it.

Sixth
Lets leave it as it is and please use another thread if you want to promote LED lights, whether the LED lights are from you or from a colleague.

TSajai@jakes
post Aug 5 2015, 07:11 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(chantzeshyuan @ Aug 5 2015, 06:54 PM)
Sorry if i am rude to the ur question and comment but Stil the same answer given to u.led driver get hot in an hour or less than a day is definately a cheap LED,i will say u bought the led less than rm30 or maybe less than rm10.00.there is always customer ask : y some led is more expensive.the answer is given by urself already.so when the driver is hot,it wont help u save electricity,but help u use more electricity.
2. Of course i saw ur post.that y the second answer replied you was to check ur led whether will get hot or not.Quality led wont get hot and will help u save electricity.that y i am asking if you want to change ur led.
I will let you assume that my LED is less than RM30 or maybe less than RM10. I don't have to justify to you.

I will also let you assume that I have already provided an answer whether I am using cheap or expensive LED. IF I am not mistaken, I never mentioned whether it was cheap or expensive and I do not think I even mentioned how much it was. but if you had derived that I am using cheap LED downlights from my postings, then I think you are in the wrong career path and should take up mind reading.

I am not an electrician and neither will I pretend to know about LED downlights and whether if a driver is hot would use more electricity, that I will leave to the people who has more knowledge.

All I can say is that personally, I am uninterested with your offer to change my LED downlights due to the fact that you kept talking bad about other LED downlights whilst at the same time claiming that your LED downlights are of a better quality than China made ones without any proof or without any mentioned of what brand or anything to back your claims. Further, I think your attitude as a seller of LED downlights is a turnoff.

I will leave it to the rest of the readers to determine whether they want to purchase their LED downlights from your or not.

TSajai@jakes
post Aug 5 2015, 07:16 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(chantzeshyuan @ Aug 5 2015, 07:01 PM)
Worst bro.go check on philip news.zzz.lazy explain.i am using opple.go google opple.com n check.hardly u can get opple here
Thank you for the website.

you are selling Opple branded China LED downlights. noted.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0301sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:18 PM