QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 8 2015, 01:27 PM)
this might indicate much higher a/c consumption than before due to lack of insulation. try to meter your regular usage for a week as suggested and then try (if you can tahan) one week without any a/c. compare the figures to find out your a/c portion of the bill.
1200 units is a lot. i a/c 24/7 (but insulated very well) and use all appliances (washing machine, dishwasher, pc, fridges, tv, etc etc.) in approx. 9 units per day per 1000 sqft living space (ceiling height is 12 ft). thats an average for hot/cold season over a couple of years. but this is running all on as energy efficient appliances as i can find (LED lights, inverter a/c, AAA+ or higher rating). if you calculate the volume of your house (and maybe the old) you can also get an estimation of how much A/C you probably need by default. then the lack of shading etc. will greatly increase concumption too.
don't think I can live without air conditioning for a week.1200 units is a lot. i a/c 24/7 (but insulated very well) and use all appliances (washing machine, dishwasher, pc, fridges, tv, etc etc.) in approx. 9 units per day per 1000 sqft living space (ceiling height is 12 ft). thats an average for hot/cold season over a couple of years. but this is running all on as energy efficient appliances as i can find (LED lights, inverter a/c, AAA+ or higher rating). if you calculate the volume of your house (and maybe the old) you can also get an estimation of how much A/C you probably need by default. then the lack of shading etc. will greatly increase concumption too.
in terms of trees providing shading, that will not happen so soon.
as to calculate the volume of my house..i am not a technical person nor am I good with numbers.
Jul 8 2015, 02:01 PM

0.0273sec