> Consumer Groups: Don’t Panic Over Ringgit Drop,, Just Buy Made-In-Malaysia More News

TSironmaid89
post Jul 7 2015, 10:09 AM, updated 11y ago

Malaysians need not panic over the weakening ringgit, as long as both government and consumers play their parts, say consumer groups.

Malaysian Consumer Protection and Welfare Board (LPKPM) president Dr Saharuddin Awang Yahya said consumers are wiser in that they understand what is going on economically.

However, Dr Saharuddin said that there are more ways that consumers could contribute, such as buying Malaysian-made products.

“Consumers should not opt for imported items that cost more when they can buy items of the same quality at a cheaper price.

“This would definitely help Malaysia to regain our economic stability,” he said.

He also advised consumers to not spend excessively and only buy what is necessary.

“The currency is dropping so prices of items might go up in the near future. We cannot afford to spend blindly, he said.

Dr Saharudin said the last thing to do right now is point fingers at the government.

“Do not blame them (the government). Instead, we should help them by playing our part, however small it may be,” he said.

He personally suggested the government peg the ringgit against the US dollar, as before in 1998.

According to him this should halt the value of the ringgit from fluctuating.

In September 1998, during Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s leadership, the value of ringgit was fixed at RM3.80 (S$1.35) to the dollar and Malaysia instituted capital controls, which stopped the ringgit from dropping further.

Malaysian Consumers Association (Maconas) secretary-general Amarjit Gill agreed that the government and consumers should work hand in hand to avoid facing a situation similar to Greece’s.

“Sure, the currency is dropping and our purchasing power has lessened whilst incomes are stagnant. It sounds worrisome but it looks like the government is trying their best to handle the situation,” he said.

Mr Amarjit said that it would not be a good idea for Malaysians to travel overseas, especially ones with lower income bracket.

“Even visiting neighbouring countries like Singapore is no longer cheap. Travel locally. Think of it as an opportunity to show our support to the local tourism industry.

“If you must travel overseas, opt for airlines which offer the lowest fares.” he added.

He also advised consumers to make a habit of spending wisely all the time, and not only for critical situations. THE MALAY MAIL ONLINE

http://www.todayonline.com/world/asia/dont...singlepage=true

pinkfoxlulu
post Jul 7 2015, 10:10 AM

159 posts

menteri bodo
SUSsoundsyst64
post Jul 7 2015, 10:10 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

Inb4 handphone made in malaysia
shelby_yong
post Jul 7 2015, 10:12 AM

550 posts

bodoh lagi.. salah satu manusia ... DR lagi... certificate dari jamban
99FoxDemon
post Jul 7 2015, 10:13 AM

23 posts

Like always.... blame the jews, problem solve.

JohnLai
post Jul 7 2015, 10:17 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

Last time in year 1998, there were many investors putting their money in Malaysia, that why pegged currency somehow 'worked'.
This time, not many investors left, peg the currency also useless.

This minister is an idiot. Does he know most of our food import from our neighbour nation? Rice for thought? Malaysia is a FOOD importer nation for pete sake.
swks26
post Jul 7 2015, 10:17 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

Buatan Malaysia atau buatan 1Malaysia?
smallcrab
post Jul 7 2015, 10:18 AM

139 posts

Why no blame civil servants spend govt money excessively ie. screwdriver set for RM3000...

FireIceCombo

206 posts

travel locally is more expensive than being overseas.
mousqy

758 posts

Dr Saharudin said the last thing to do right now is point fingers at the government.

“Do not blame them (the government). Instead, we should help them by playing our part, however small it may be,” he said.

topkek
JoeYoung
post Jul 7 2015, 10:19 AM

152 posts

During the Asian Financial Crisis in 97, Koreans give up their gold to help their country.
Call me unpatriotic, but should pendatang like me that didn't went to public university due to quota care much? Nope.
Amri
post Jul 7 2015, 10:19 AM

pala buto dia menteri bodoh mmg everything yg boleh beli guna ringgit cb
joe_mamak
post Jul 7 2015, 10:20 AM

363 posts

Do not blame the government......

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

nestlebliss
post Jul 7 2015, 10:21 AM

315 posts

I already try my best to buy local .... anymore local i need to grow my own food lol
jacckl

65 posts

najib cakap makan kangkung, kangkung kan murah
SUSGion

186 posts

he better eat the sand properly
Ichibanichi
post Jul 7 2015, 10:22 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2015, 10:17 AM)
Last time in year 1998, there were many investors putting their money in Malaysia, that why pegged currency somehow 'worked'.

This minister is an idiot. Does he know most of our food import from our neighbour nation? Rice for thought? Malaysia is a FOOD importer nation for pete sake.
Thanks to their NEP which grab the land and deprieve the hardworking farmer earn better income.
JohnLai
post Jul 7 2015, 10:24 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(JoeYoung @ Jul 7 2015, 10:19 AM)
During the Asian Financial Crisis in 97, Koreans give up their gold to help their country.
Call me unpatriotic, but should pendatang like me that didn't went to public university due to quota care much? Nope.
I agree......when I got all B for my STPM, I wasn't accepted by any public university.
Maybe my result is poor and I somehow accepted the outcome, but then.....one of my Malay friend who only got 1C and 3 subject failed for his STPM got accepted into public university...... I was like.....seriously? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Jul 7 2015, 10:25 AM
Berus Wine
post Jul 7 2015, 10:27 AM

101 posts

Yeah no nid panic coz when 1usd = RM4, our import become expensive.
Not only fruits, grain, maize, corn..
All others manufacturing will be affected.
Factory that relies on spare part from overseas need to cut cost coz their operating costs increases. Later nid to retrench people.. And the chain effect reaction.
pandah
post Jul 7 2015, 10:28 AM

719 posts

well, better cakap ada rumput boleh makan lagi, bersyukur lah wahai kambing semua
JohnLai
post Jul 7 2015, 10:30 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(pandah @ Jul 7 2015, 10:28 AM)
well, better cakap ada rumput boleh makan lagi, bersyukur lah wahai kambing semua
Our digestive system cannot process the grass into energy tongue.gif
Wassupman

722 posts

please list out all the barang buatan malaysia. thank you.
G_KeN

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

QUOTE(nestlebliss @ Jul 7 2015, 10:21 AM)
I already try my best to buy local .... anymore local i need to grow my own food lol
Then u r not helping the economy becoz u no gip money to usahawan bumi tempatan! vmad.gif
hanzyms
post Jul 7 2015, 10:32 AM

68 posts

Epal iTelefon Enam = RM250
JoeYoung
post Jul 7 2015, 10:34 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2015, 10:24 AM)
I agree......when I got all B for my STPM, I wasn't accepted by any public university.
Maybe my result is poor and I somehow accepted the outcome, but then.....one of my Malay friend who only got 1C and 3 subject failed for his STPM got accepted into public university...... I was like.....seriously? shocking.gif
To think that was a blessing in disguise seriously. Currently holding UK degree and masters. Salary not in MYR.
XIII
post Jul 7 2015, 10:36 AM

165 posts

mcb, whose fault is it in the first place!?
Shiniz
post Jul 7 2015, 10:37 AM

112 posts

datang dah another minister bodoh lvl
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 7 2015, 10:39 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Wassupman @ Jul 7 2015, 10:30 AM)
please list out all the barang buatan malaysia. thank you.
pisang goreng pak arnus...
JohnLai
post Jul 7 2015, 10:39 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(JoeYoung @ Jul 7 2015, 10:34 AM)
To think that was a blessing in disguise seriously. Currently holding UK degree and masters. Salary not in MYR.
rclxms.gif Congratulation for you. I still stuck in Malaysia doing account/tax/audit.
nagflar
post Jul 7 2015, 10:40 AM

1,813 posts

omg thjis is of quality bodoh, narrow minded also can become ministers omg.

better put a monkey there
TheReaderReads
post Jul 7 2015, 10:44 AM

701 posts

Nike shoe is USA brand

Converse shoe is USA brand

Laptop is foreign brand

Handphone also foreign brand

Cars, alot of parts are foreign brand

Steel and cement, well, we are the net importer. So how???
doppatroll
post Jul 7 2015, 10:46 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Jul 7 2015, 10:18 AM)
Why no blame civil servants spend govt money excessively ie. screwdriver set for RM3000...
is that even buatan Malaysia ? hmm.gif
ctrl_alt_del
post Jul 7 2015, 10:46 AM

607 posts

He is partially right....don't panic cause you won't get anything from being panicked...
Go look for incomes from other currencies...
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 10:48 AM

1,985 posts

The 1997-1998 Asian Financial Crisis did something good for the education sector in Malaysia. Because of the crisis, we had realized it was stupid for us to waste precious foreign exchange by sending our children to study overseas. From then onwards, the gov encouraged the setting up of private universities and colleges so now we have hundreds of them.
maraippo
post Jul 7 2015, 10:51 AM

~PoPoPoPoPo~
1,165 posts

i was wondering. why now we did not tie up our currency like last time 97 did? current currency is lower compare to that time tho.

also no action from our gomen to curb from continue falling. like inflasi sifar, beli barang buatan malaysia campaign like last time.

we know la ringgit weakening. but why no action wan. haiyoh
SUSM4A1
post Jul 7 2015, 10:52 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

“Do not blame them (the government). Instead, we should help them by playing our part

THEN SALAH SIAPA????????????????
MR_alien
post Jul 7 2015, 10:52 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

sa pikir maslan datang lagi
SUSM4A1
post Jul 7 2015, 10:54 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Jul 7 2015, 10:44 AM)
Nike shoe is USA brand

Converse shoe is USA brand

Laptop is foreign brand

Handphone also foreign brand

Cars, alot of parts are foreign brand

Steel and cement, well, we are the net importer. So how???
Kasut beli asadi
Laptop beli 1malaysiapad
handphone beli CSL
car beli proton

DONE icon_rolleyes.gif
JohnLai
post Jul 7 2015, 10:56 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Jul 7 2015, 10:48 AM)
The 1997-1998 Asian Financial Crisis did something good for the education sector in Malaysia. Because of the crisis, we had realized it was stupid for us to waste precious foreign exchange by sending our children to study overseas. From then onwards, the gov encouraged the setting up of private universities and colleges so now we have hundreds of them.
Except the degree from these foreign private universities isn't recognized by Malaysia.
Do you know the accounting degree from Sunway/Monash/Curtin is only classified as "GENERAL DEGREE"?
The accounting degree from public university is classified as "ACCOUNTING DEGREE".

This also happen with engineering degree......classified as GENERAL DEGREE.......

*I should have taken ACCA directly instead of going to private university.
(at least I am exempted from taking 9 fundamental papers.....oh well).

Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 10:57 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(maraippo @ Jul 7 2015, 10:51 AM)
i was wondering. why now we did not tie up our currency like last time 97 did? current currency is lower compare to that time tho.

also no action from our gomen to curb from continue falling. like inflasi sifar, beli barang buatan malaysia campaign like last time.

Last time we had imposed capital controls and pegged the ringgit to 3.8 because our foreign currency reserve levels were very low. Now our currency reserves are high, so no need to bother. If we were to defend the ringgit, a lot of the currency reserves would be wasted. Do we really want that?

treblecase
post Jul 7 2015, 10:58 AM

IHI
779 posts

I will celebrate the fall of the ringgit by spending the upcoming holidays oversea. rclxm9.gif
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 10:59 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2015, 10:56 AM)
Except the degree from these foreign private universities isn't recognized by Malaysia.
Do you know the accounting degree from Sunway/Monash/Curtin is only classified as "GENERAL DEGREE"?
The accounting degree from public university is classified as "ACCOUNTING DEGREE".

This also happen with engineering degree......classified as GENERAL DEGREE.......
*I should have taken ACCA directly instead of going to private university.
(at least I am exempted from taking 9 fundamental papers.....oh well).
I thought, in the case of accounting degrees, the local unis were also not given the exemption already?

SUSM4A1
post Jul 7 2015, 11:01 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

artus dah datang

brace urself
maraippo
post Jul 7 2015, 11:04 AM

~PoPoPoPoPo~
1,165 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Jul 7 2015, 10:57 AM)
Last time we had imposed capital controls and pegged the ringgit to 3.8 because our foreign currency reserve levels were very low. Now our currency reserves are high, so no need to bother. If we were to defend the ringgit, a lot of the currency reserves would be wasted. Do we really want that?
oic. ya. i did recall mahathir mention now our foreign capital reserve is billions and way more than 97 that he said to use it for better purpose rather than keep it stagnant.
acbc
post Jul 7 2015, 11:04 AM

9,034 posts

Another 'change your lifestyle' advice from gahmen idiots. We import mostly everyone these days especially from China. Local industries mostly dead now. Many are fleeing to Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos to start new businesses and ventures because of strong USD.
drowning
post Jul 7 2015, 11:05 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Jul 7 2015, 10:58 AM)
I will celebrate the fall of the ringgit by spending the upcoming holidays oversea.  rclxm9.gif
Me too!!!!
JohnLai
post Jul 7 2015, 11:08 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Jul 7 2015, 10:59 AM)
I thought, in the case of accounting degrees, the local unis were also not given the exemption already?
I don't get what are you trying to say. Can you rephrase it?
Exemption by ACCA?
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 11:13 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(maraippo @ Jul 7 2015, 11:04 AM)
oic. ya. i did recall mahathir mention now our foreign capital reserve is billions and way more than 97 that he said to use it for better purpose rather than keep it stagnant.
We need the reserves just in case to pay for imports and to pay back foreign loans. If we were to use the reserves just to push the ringgit up, then it would be wasted because that's what speculators are hoping for. We have learned that lesson from the Asian Financial Crisis. Thailand was the one that lost the most reserves by trying in vain to defend. If foreign investors want to exit, then let them exit. Eventually if they see that local stocks are cheap, they would return and that would push up the ringgit.

netmatrix
post Jul 7 2015, 11:14 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,723 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Jul 7 2015, 10:20 AM)
Do not blame the government......
laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif
zenix
post Jul 7 2015, 11:15 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2015, 10:17 AM)

you're right.
we're a net importer nation.
even the famous kacang bentong has raw ingredients from china doh.gif
jonn zee
post Jul 7 2015, 11:16 AM

602 posts

QUOTE(maraippo @ Jul 7 2015, 10:51 AM)

last time the peak was RM 4.8 to a dollar
MENimalist
post Jul 7 2015, 11:17 AM

we panicking because government is shit man. not the ringgit
ChaoGuGu
post Jul 7 2015, 11:18 AM

138 posts

Low ringgit is good for tourism. Let's all sell nasi lemak at famous spot. Each nasi lemak kosong can be Sold rm 5
TOROBO
post Jul 7 2015, 11:18 AM

380 posts

so we should wait for gomen to fix this problem and not do anything?

ok guys, sounds like a good plan.
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 11:20 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2015, 11:08 AM)
I don't get what are you trying to say. Can you rephrase it?
Exemption by ACCA?
I thought I have read somewhere MIA wanted to remove the exemptions given to a list of local universities from its QE.

yokoloco
post Jul 7 2015, 11:20 AM

1,116 posts

MYR drop so more tourist come... then we rob them
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 11:21 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(ChaoGuGu @ Jul 7 2015, 11:18 AM)
Low ringgit is good for tourism. Let's all sell nasi lemak at famous spot. Each nasi lemak kosong can be Sold rm 5
Must sell those fancy RM20 nasi lemak at big shopping malls.
ar188
post Jul 7 2015, 11:21 AM

9,206 posts

made in malaysia using imported parts and subassembly.. then how?
JohnLai
post Jul 7 2015, 11:23 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Jul 7 2015, 11:20 AM)
I thought I have read somewhere MIA wanted to remove the exemptions given to a list of local universities from its QE.
hmm.gif Never heard of this one.....
WooTz
post Jul 7 2015, 11:23 AM

1,011 posts

Trusting a 57 year old racist and corrupt regime right before the biggest collapse ever.

What could possibly go wrong?

This post has been edited by WooTz: Jul 7 2015, 11:24 AM
kiasunkiasi
post Jul 7 2015, 11:24 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Jul 7 2015, 10:52 AM)
“Do not blame them (the government). Instead, we should help them by playing our part
THEN SALAH SIAPA????????????????
need to ask meh? I thot we all know the list

here...
LGE
Yahudi
Cina
etc.

wilstroth
post Jul 7 2015, 11:25 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(JoeYoung @ Jul 7 2015, 10:19 AM)
You have one damn good point. +1 for you.
paskal
post Jul 7 2015, 11:25 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 7 2015, 11:21 AM)
made in malaysia using imported parts and subassembly.. then how?
of course can sell cheaper mah since demand is through the roof.
ringgit is cheap, demand increase, export increase, trade balance increase = WIN laugh.gif
andymillenium
post Jul 7 2015, 11:26 AM

776 posts

CCB......they mess it up now ask us dun complain and suck it up....na beh.....mad.gif
paskal
post Jul 7 2015, 11:27 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2015, 11:23 AM)
he'll derail the thread to ACCA vs everything else.
let's not do that.
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 11:29 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2015, 11:23 AM)
Couldn't find the article about it, but I remember it was a suggestion, but judging from their website, they have not done it yet. Anyway, from the list, you can see most of them are public universities, but I can see some private universities in it, such as UTAR and INTI:

http://www.mia.org.my/new/members_being_application.asp

JohnLai
post Jul 7 2015, 11:30 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jul 7 2015, 11:27 AM)
he'll derail the thread to ACCA vs everything else.
let's not do that.
Ah, pardon me....

In any case, Ringgit drop is an serious issue for Malaysian.
Since Malaysia is net food importer, this is going to affect citizien like us.
It is enough that I need to spend RM600 for food every month. Sad.... cry.gif
FlamingFox
post Jul 7 2015, 11:34 AM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

This means don't buy Toyota, buy Proton
JohnLai
post Jul 7 2015, 11:35 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jul 7 2015, 11:34 AM)
This means don't buy Toyota, buy Proton
But proton component isn't locally sourced.....
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 11:36 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2015, 11:30 AM)
Ah, pardon me....

In any case, Ringgit drop is an serious issue for Malaysian.
Since Malaysia is net food importer, this is going to affect citizien like us.
It is enough that I need to spend RM600 for food every month. Sad....  cry.gif
Food imports constitutes a very small part of our total imports.

http://www.matrade.gov.my/en/malaysia-expo...t-products-2014
cactus1
post Jul 7 2015, 11:46 AM

131 posts

another retard in the making of suggesting pegging. u think this 1mdb has the ability to push usd myr from 3.2 to 3.7 in less than 6 months?

come on, 1mdb do have effect on malaysian currency depriciation, but is very minimal.

for those keep emphasizing sgd myr another record high, pls bear in mind, strong sgd vs usd which lead to strong usd vs myr is very Bad for singapore economy in mid term.

the main reason of usd strenghtening againts myr is because USD or USA will for the first time after many years to increase INTEREST RATE.

All this hot easy money when US is busy contemplating quantitative easing, or print money will eventually flow back to USA.

the main culprit of rapid drop of USDMYR is also the rubbish work of BNM that increasing rate too high from 2012 till now. instead, they should have maintain the rate till now.
JohnLai
post Jul 7 2015, 11:47 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Jul 7 2015, 11:36 AM)
Food imports constitutes a very small part of our total imports.

http://www.matrade.gov.my/en/malaysia-expo...t-products-2014

The pie chart kinda misleading, Malaysian might spend thousand on electronic product, but these generally only applies to those middle income citizens.
Perhaps around 30-40% of Malaysian accounts for the 27.9% of the pie chart's electronic product. We can be certain the processed food 2.5% must be accounts for 100% of Malaysian......(who doesn't need to eat to live?) laugh.gif

Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 11:50 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2015, 11:47 AM)
The pie chart kinda misleading, Malaysian might spend thousand on electronic product, but these generally only applies to those middle income citizens.
Perhaps around 30-40% of Malaysian accounts for the 27.9% of the pie chart's electronic product. We can be certain the processed food 2.5% must be accounts for 100% of Malaysian......(who doesn't need to eat to live?) laugh.gif
Maybe you forgot that we also produces a lot of food ourselves?
TrustULoveU
post Jul 7 2015, 11:52 AM

569 posts

bobo menteri
SUScocbum4
post Jul 7 2015, 11:52 AM

57 posts

Buy only local newspaper
It is reliable
Without Jew element
Halal
And true to the facts
SUSAllnGap
post Jul 7 2015, 11:54 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

This time no George Soros yahoodee to blame.
Hahhahaja
JohnLai
post Jul 7 2015, 11:55 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Jul 7 2015, 11:50 AM)
Maybe you forgot that we also produces a lot of food ourselves?
Such as?
We still importing our staple rice from Thailand.....
Lifeis@mess
post Jul 7 2015, 11:56 AM

108 posts

itu consumer, how about us businessman who need to import lot of things. for sure kena upcarprice
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 11:56 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(cactus1 @ Jul 7 2015, 11:46 AM)
another retard in the making of suggesting pegging.  u think this 1mdb has the ability to push usd myr from 3.2 to 3.7 in less than 6 months?

come on, 1mdb do have effect on malaysian currency depriciation, but is very minimal.

for those keep emphasizing sgd myr another record high, pls bear in mind, strong sgd vs usd which lead to strong usd vs myr is very Bad for singapore economy in mid term.

the main reason of usd strenghtening againts myr is because USD or USA will for the first time after many years to increase INTEREST RATE.

All this hot easy money when US is busy contemplating quantitative easing, or print money will eventually flow back to USA.

the main culprit of rapid drop of USDMYR is also the rubbish work of BNM that increasing rate too high from 2012 till now. instead, they should have maintain the rate till now.
Yes, many simply thought a rising Singapore dollar is good for Singapore. They just don't realize that if too many Singaporeans cross over to JB to shop and eat, or if tourists avoiding Singapore, a lot of shops and restaurants in Singapore would suffer.

SUSAllnGap
post Jul 7 2015, 11:58 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(cactus1 @ Jul 7 2015, 11:46 AM)
another retard in the making of suggesting pegging.  u think this 1mdb has the ability to push usd myr from 3.2 to 3.7 in less than 6 months?

Correct USD strengthening

BTW, federal reserve won't raise interest rate.
It is US tightening the monetary flow back to USD.

From the charts I think USD has hit maximum strength d.
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 11:58 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2015, 11:55 AM)
Such as?
We still importing our staple rice from Thailand.....
Don't tell me you don't know that we produce most of the rice that we need? I think only 30% is imported.
JohnLai
post Jul 7 2015, 12:01 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Jul 7 2015, 11:58 AM)
Don't tell me you don't know that we produce most of the rice that we need? I think only 30% is imported.
But, BERNAS said 30 - 40% ........

http://www.bernas.com.my/index.php/2013-11-07-09-29-58
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 12:03 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2015, 12:01 PM)
Depends on demand I guess. Imports might drop and local production would increase if foreign rice is more expensive, which is good for us.
+3kk!
post Jul 7 2015, 12:07 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2015, 12:01 PM)
price fluctuation from forex is small, if it were our inflation would show very different figures,

all one has to do is to look at Rm vs Bhat then compare that to our inflation levels,

likewise if we observe restaurants who do import a lot i.e. high end places, tend to not hike prices that much despite having a very price inelastic customers and higher forex risk

ohman
post Jul 7 2015, 12:10 PM

1,178 posts

Cukurlah musang king masih murah
ohman
post Jul 7 2015, 12:11 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jul 7 2015, 12:07 PM)

likewise if we observe restaurants who do import a lot i.e. high end places, tend to not hike prices that much despite having a very price inelastic customers and higher forex risk
How would you know?
cactus1
post Jul 7 2015, 12:13 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Jul 7 2015, 11:58 AM)
Correct USD strengthening

BTW, federal reserve won't raise interest rate.
It is US tightening the monetary flow back to USD.

From the charts I think USD has hit maximum strength d.
singapore could not afford to have strong usd vs sgd. i do not know where u get the info USA will not increase rate. to me, it is 100% rate hike, this is why, not just MYR is depreciating, most asia currencies are not spared.

if USA indeed rate hike in september, then good luck in my stock market.

if we have a strong usd vs myr, petronas coffer will be empty by now ( exageratting ), coupled with low oil price.

all these are not as simple as 42 billion Najib 1mdb issue. hundreds of billions are invloved.

to give u all a hints, low currency is the base in pushingeconomy for a manufacturing or export nation.

greece affect malaysia? puke, this is a damn lazy ass nation with gdp less than 0.3 globally.
ohman
post Jul 7 2015, 12:14 PM

1,178 posts

Macai working hard here
ohman
post Jul 7 2015, 12:14 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(cactus1 @ Jul 7 2015, 12:13 PM)
singapore could not afford to have strong usd vs sgd. i do not know where u get the info USA will not increase rate. to me, it is 100%  rate hike, this is why, not just MYR is depreciating, most asia  currencies are not spared.

if USA indeed rate hike in september, then good luck in my stock market.

if we have a strong usd vs myr, petronas coffer will be empty by now ( exageratting ), coupled with low oil price.

all these are not as simple as 42 billion Najib 1mdb issue. hundreds of billions are invloved.

to give u all a hints, low currency is the base in pushingeconomy for a manufacturing or export nation.

greece affect malaysia? puke, this is a damn lazy ass nation with gdp less than 0.3 globally.
But our export slumped

Hahahahahahah
Newsray
post Jul 7 2015, 12:15 PM

1,022 posts

Local product also about same price as import. If only few ringgit different, why I want to buy local product?

Dont know but I always have the bad perception with the local quality especially food product. See flies flying and sitting on food, nobody cares. Usual respond " ala lalat saje, makan x mati punye."

VanishS
post Jul 7 2015, 12:16 PM

234 posts

See the irony here ?
cactus1

131 posts

if 1mdb and najib issue become breach of criminal, this is not just affect foreign player run out from malaysia temporaly, but the most important issue is, THE INTEGRITY OF BANK NEGARA MALAYSIA.

Zeti should resign now to.path way for investigation. for mr najib, i have no comment, as u all know, malaysia, with 1 million ringgit, u can buy everyone include judge.
teongpeng

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

I dunno I should scold badwords or not.

+3kk!
post Jul 7 2015, 12:18 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Jul 7 2015, 12:11 PM)
How would you know?
Iberico ribs I had ytd cost about the same before
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 12:20 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Jul 7 2015, 12:14 PM)
But our export slumped

Hahahahahahah
But our imports also slumped, which means global demand is bad. China, our biggest trading partner, is slowing down.
yahiko
post Jul 7 2015, 12:23 PM

1,215 posts

if USD naik meaning our country debat also naik la
petirbuas
post Jul 7 2015, 12:25 PM

( 。◕ ‿‿ ◕。)
898 posts

Suka-suka nak peg. How to ganti our reserve later?
Ini semua Proton propaganda
cactus1
post Jul 7 2015, 12:27 PM

131 posts

do not use the word slumped, it is a strong words. of course export decrease, especially south east asia, as everyone is feeling the heat of china slowdown.

why gdp and export of malaysia slower, come on, in 2014, when malaysia ringgit is 3.2 times 110 usd per barrel oil, againts now, 3.70 myr times 60 usd per barrel oil, what is the difference?

cpo, 3.2 times peak at 3000 myr againts 3.7 times 2200 average nowadays, how much the different.

the economist are mot genius or as smart as engineering field, they only use final sales amount figure to configure gdp, this is also why, only top students are doctors, engineers, not economist.
ohman
post Jul 7 2015, 12:32 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(cactus1 @ Jul 7 2015, 12:27 PM)
do not use the word slumped, it is a strong words. of course export decrease, especially south east asia, as everyone is feeling the heat of china slowdown.

why gdp and export of malaysia slower, come on, in 2014, when malaysia ringgit is 3.2 times 110 usd per barrel oil, againts now, 3.70 myr times 60 usd per barrel oil, what is the difference?

cpo, 3.2 times peak at 3000 myr againts 3.7 times 2200 average nowadays, how much the different.

the economist are mot genius or as smart as engineering field, they only use final sales amount figure to configure gdp, this is also why, only top students are doctors, engineers, not economist.
Slumps la macai

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3633351&hl=
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 04:08 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(Toyoi @ Jul 7 2015, 04:00 PM)
too simplistic but caused even far bigger problems now: student loan debts PTPTN (mere SPM applicants will do) and jobless graduates

the only good thing is easy money (ptptn loans) for private universities and colleges

how about quality? itu lain cerita
You prefer parents spending hundreds of thousands or even millions of ringgits to send their children overseas to study?

Local student loan debt is not very high. Around the price of a car only. And got chance to get converted into scholarship.

Without PTPTN how to support the growth of local private universities and colleges?

gestapo
post Jul 7 2015, 04:11 PM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

list of made in malaysia items mana
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 04:27 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(Toyoi @ Jul 7 2015, 04:20 PM)
total cost is high enough for PTPTN to supplement loan fund from epf

its not about growth of local private universities and colleges (quantity) but the quality... if not there would not be high number of jobless graduates... but to solve the problem is relatively simple: only give PTPTN loan to minimum STPM/A-Level students

you'll see a big drop of PTPTN loan applicants, local universities colleges receive quality and really committed students (after they passed the hellish STPM/A-level), hence become quality graduates that is readily employable (and no need retraining which incure hundred millions of HRD funds again)

how about those who failed? they should be allowed to repeat as many times until they pass and then eligible for PTPTN loan. If they still failed, no worry as other options skill-based trainings (vocational, Giatmara, Akademi CIDB etc.) should be their next option rather than living off with SPM certs alone

those wanna open private college also think twice as number of qualified applicants is limited

so there you go, all those quality-quantity craps solved by itself
You thought this problem happens in Malaysia only?

Actually the big problem is the pursue of university education itself. What we need is more vocational training like the Germans. Even Singapore gov is discouraging its people from taking university education because there just not enough jobs for graduates, but plenty of jobs for high skilled blue-collar workers. Look at countries like Japan and South Korea then you would see the problem.

With jobs scarce, South Korean students linger on campus

Government efforts in recent years to encourage young people to pursue careers that don't necessarily require a university degree have had limited success in a country obsessed with education.

-Aktan-
post Jul 7 2015, 04:50 PM

2.6b dah masuk bro
873 posts

Do not blame najib, BN always jaga orang kite...
Artus
post Jul 7 2015, 04:53 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(Toyoi @ Jul 7 2015, 04:48 PM)
are those countries also experiencing private college owners enjoying easy money from student loans fund (acute profiteering from education)..??
The problem is far worse in the developed countries.

deejay_krish
post Jul 7 2015, 04:54 PM

You're Just Another Part Of Me
1,015 posts

If buatan malaysia up to quality, why would anyone buy imported goods? Buatan malaysia macam sial dan quality lebih buruk dari barang buatan China. Design, buat aku muntah darah. Product 1Malaysia, ptuikkkkkkkkkkks...................
vearn29
post Jul 7 2015, 04:56 PM

25 posts

jangan beli, boleh jimat
budakgua
post Dec 21 2016, 08:40 PM

buy rice from kedah farmer.

0.0312sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled