How easy is it for condo committee to cheat money?

SUSic no 851025071234
post Jul 7 2015, 08:57 AM, updated 11y ago

1,231 posts

My condo there seem to have very heated competition by few to take up committee and alot drama la last year. Finally with the current chairman kick out previous chairman and the apparently current chairman is related the treasurer or something.

If this the case is it very easy for the chairman to just pocket the maintenance fund and all into own account or is it very well regulated?

Seem like very long time already and they should have called for agm few months ago but conveniently forgot. Even people complain the committee just ignore and all. Do you think there is personal gain?
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 7 2015, 09:04 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Of course can be abused. So many cases and big drama at AGMs all over the country.

I am in the JMB, so I know this. But honesty must start somewhere.
alucard_my
post Jul 7 2015, 09:06 AM

320 posts

Very easy. The chairman has two votes. So if he gets any members or especially office bearers to side him, he could put in all his contacts for the various jobs required in the condo. Some of the sure things that will happen when a change of committee occurs, for bad, new management company, new security, new landscaping, new janitor etc, each one collect a few % commission. If the committee is honest one, they'll so the same, but only to flush out old 'koncos' of the previous 'bad' committee. But they are answerable if they were to utilise the sinking funds. If I'm you, I'll propose myself as a committee member to safeguard the condo.
Kevin Chan
post Jul 7 2015, 09:49 AM

1,997 posts

President/Chairman can only sit 2 years and other position can only sit 3 years.

Just make sure that there is a healthy change of people from time to time.
HELLO HELLO
post Jul 7 2015, 10:05 AM

5,436 posts

Pakat with contractor. Choose few contractor to quote high to low cost. At the end choose the mid cost with okok workmanship. And discuss the rebate. 700k paint jobs markup to 800k. Or 800k paint job discount 100k. Contractor under table rebate 100k back but the fund goes into chairman +committee pockets. Of coz chairman must pakat with few committee also. Split the meat.

Actually chairman n committee is a sibeh kuli work. No pay and get all kind of complaint. Sometime Weekend need to work. Everytime got meeting got emergency meeting need to sendiri pay petrol come back if they own a unit but not stay there. Tak macam politician yang kena voted manyak high gaji + manyak traveling, food, Baju and all kind of allowances n no need to work so much. Just make sure work done by other n come out show face n make sure face on newspaper ok Liao.

This post has been edited by HELLO HELLO: Jul 7 2015, 10:13 AM
SUSic no 851025071234
post Jul 7 2015, 10:10 AM

1,231 posts

QUOTE(alucard_my @ Jul 7 2015, 09:06 AM)
Very easy. The chairman has two votes. So if he gets any members or especially office bearers to side him, he could put in all his contacts for the various jobs required in the condo. Some of the sure things that will happen when a change of committee occurs, for bad, new management company, new security, new landscaping, new janitor etc, each one collect a few % commission. If the committee is honest one, they'll so the same, but only to flush out old 'koncos' of the previous 'bad' committee. But they are answerable if they were to utilise the sinking funds. If I'm you, I'll propose myself as a committee member to safeguard the condo.
My place already change committee 3 times since move in. Everytime change committee will change management company.

QUOTE(Kevin Chan @ Jul 7 2015, 09:49 AM)
President/Chairman can only sit 2 years and other position can only sit 3 years.

I thought is only 1 yr but seems like this time the committee no news at all like bisu and pretend nothing happen din call agm. I just scared they slowly put money on pocket without anyone know and we bodoh bodoh pay maintenance every month. No audit or anything 1?
kochin
post Jul 7 2015, 10:14 AM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

QUOTE(Kevin Chan @ Jul 7 2015, 09:49 AM)

can president step down after 2 years and become treasurer and vice versa treasurer become new president? keep on repeating?

or what about if residents likes the management and decided to continue with them for more than 2 years?
aurora97
post Jul 7 2015, 10:21 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jul 7 2015, 08:57 AM)
My condo there seem to have very heated competition by few to take up committee and alot drama la last year. Finally with the current chairman kick out previous chairman and the apparently current chairman is related the treasurer or something.

If this the case is it very easy for the chairman to just pocket the maintenance fund and all into own account or is it very well regulated?

Seem like very long time already and they should have called for agm few months ago but conveniently forgot. Even people complain the committee just ignore and all. Do you think there is personal gain?
How to be a Chairman 101.

Rule 1: Never pocket maintenance fund into your own account.
Rule 2: inflate prices of service.
Rule 3: always take indirect money from vendor.
Rule 4: if you need to (in contravention of rule 1), you can buy using your credit card and tell the committee that you wanted to collect points (make sure it is in minute). Use the reward points convert into shopping voucher.
Rule 5: make sure bank statement and cheque book is kept in your house.
Rule 6: hire your own ma chai (crony) to become your accounts and auditor.
Rule 7: request mini-mart/restaurant to share half of their profits with you or get kicked out and then you can set up your own business.
Rule 8: you can buy and make claim from JMB/MC at “inflated price of course”.
Rule9 : make sure you pay your staff fat increment and bonus to shut them up.
Rule 10: repeat 1 to 9.

aurora97
post Jul 7 2015, 10:24 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(alucard_my @ Jul 7 2015, 09:06 AM)
When there is equal votes in the committee, the chairman gets one additional vote to break the deadlock.

The standard modus operandi is always got a few supporters (or yes man).
Kevin Chan
post Jul 7 2015, 10:28 AM

1,997 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 7 2015, 10:14 AM)
can president step down after 2 years and become treasurer and vice versa treasurer become new president? keep on repeating?

or what about if residents likes the management and decided to continue with them for more than 2 years?
Kochin brother have "potential", this loophole is totally allowed.

for those case where resident "sendiri cari pasai" lazy, its their own fault for not running it properly. come vote also lazy.
tongue.gif
jinsailoo
post Jul 7 2015, 10:30 AM

2,036 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Jul 7 2015, 10:21 AM)
How to be a Chairman 101.

Rule 1: Never pocket maintenance fund into your own account.
Rule 2: inflate prices of service.
Rule 3: always take indirect money from vendor.
Rule 4: if you need to (in contravention of rule 1), you can buy using your credit card and tell the committee that you wanted to collect points (make sure it is in minute). Use the reward points convert into shopping voucher.
Rule 5: make sure bank statement and cheque book is kept in your house.
Rule 6: hire your own ma chai (crony) to become your accounts and auditor.
Rule 7: request mini-mart/restaurant to share half of their profits with you or get kicked out and then you can set up your own business.
Rule 8: you can buy and make claim from JMB/MC at “inflated price of course”.
Rule9 : make sure you pay your staff fat increment and bonus to shut them up.
Rule 10: repeat 1 to 9.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

wow pro chairman, sure fat fat
aurora97
post Jul 7 2015, 10:31 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(jinsailoo @ Jul 7 2015, 10:30 AM)
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

wow pro chairman, sure fat fat
unfortunately i am still poor like shet. cry.gif
Thiamwah
post Jul 7 2015, 10:35 AM

66 posts

Man of integrity is always poor. Hahaha
aurora97
post Jul 7 2015, 10:36 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(Kevin Chan @ Jul 7 2015, 10:28 AM)
Kochin brother have "potential", this loophole is totally allowed.

for those case where resident "sendiri cari pasai" lazy, its their own fault for not running it properly. come vote also lazy.
tongue.gif
Actually all this problem arise because of the indifference of owners, AGM/EGM also don’t attend and leave it to “certain people” to run the management. The rot normally starts slowly with minor inflated claims, after that the amount gets bigger and bigger. Since no one query, the opportunity for wrong doing grows bigger day by day.

This is proven, as our auditor went into investigate item by item (not forensic type of audit), the claims get bigger and bigger, the reason for the claim also get more and more ridiculous. (example: night club expenses in Penang, kononya have to entertain some bomba people cause they creating some problem, when condo is in KL).

Also, another account normally will be affected is the sinking fund.

aurora97
post Jul 7 2015, 10:50 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 7 2015, 10:14 AM)

See 2(5)/(6) of Schedule 2 SMA.

Actually that is the right way of getting around the problem.

The law is quite clear. Cannot 2 years consecutively become Chairman, Treasurer or Secretary.

So this year Chairman, next year Treasurer, year after become Secretary and rotate around like musical chair, shouldn’t be a problem. Worse become committee. Committee can sit up to 3 years.

kochin
post Jul 7 2015, 10:57 AM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

i actually have a plan on how to develop a maintenance free development.
meaning once you buy into the development, it is perpetually self generating income and need not have any service charge.
will built one if i ever have the fund to do so.
kakakaka.
no more hanky panky then.
puchongite
post Jul 7 2015, 11:00 AM

33,725 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 7 2015, 10:57 AM)
meaning once you buy into the development, it is perpetually self generating income and need not have any service charge.
kakakaka.
Please share your invention. rclxms.gif
aurora97
post Jul 7 2015, 11:01 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

kakakaka.
Sounds great, but things that sound too good to be true normally smell like a Ponzi scheme.
HELLO HELLO
post Jul 7 2015, 11:06 AM

5,436 posts

kakakaka.
condo side income.. carpark rental, venue/function room rental, shop rental, bbq area rental, car wash fee...ada apa lagi?
provide unit cleaning service? rent and sale service? or macam japan punya robot hotel. use robot to manage.

This post has been edited by HELLO HELLO: Jul 7 2015, 11:07 AM
kochin
post Jul 7 2015, 11:07 AM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

QUOTE(HELLO HELLO @ Jul 7 2015, 11:06 AM)
condo side income.. carpark rental, venue/function room rental, shop rental, bbq area rental, car wash fee...ada apa lagi?
provide unit cleaning service? rent and sale service?
if it's so simple, people would have done it long ago lah.
trust me, i just revisited my model. it looks solid.
definitely doable.
but don't think it would ever see the light of days. cry.gif

0.0260sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:50 PM