Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?

juichuan
post Jun 13 2007, 10:50 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(_killer_ @ Jun 13 2007, 10:34 AM)
better go for 3 star hotel laa...a lot of 2-3 star hotel there....i went to low cost apartment last time...better than equatorial
which one? unsure.gif
juichuan
post Jun 13 2007, 02:59 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Jun 13 2007, 12:52 PM)
Their service apartments sucks big time, I think you are not the first to note it... but I have always liked Equatorial... quiet peaceful and nice surroundings.

Stayed there for most of my trips, their hotel rooms are clean and comfy... well, maybe my taste and requirements aint that high but have never tried their Apartments.. maybe after so many complaints I will stick to their Hotel rooms.. wink.gif
so there is actually a hotel and a service apartments under one name, Equatorial?
juichuan
post Jun 13 2007, 03:26 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Jun 13 2007, 03:09 PM)
Yes. The hotel is the Block in the middle where the lobby is. They also have Apartments in their second tower block as well as the rustic walk ups around the hotel.

I have stayed at Strawberry Park as well as Cool Point before but, I still find EQ to have one of the best in terms of locality and convenience. Maybe I got suckered by EQ... sad.gif. And on off periods, its below 200/- per night which I think is ok. Get the hotel rooms and ask for high floor overlooking Kea Farm or Tringkap... the view is great. Just DONT get one on 5 or 6th floor above their kitchen... SIGH.. makes u hungry all the time.. wink.gif.

Added on June 13, 2007, 3:20 pm

Hey, let me explain my experiences at EQ and the bird droppings... they are guano.. BAT droppings.

Stayed there way way back on my honeymoon... so was down at their coffee house for breakfast, it was January - flies were aplenty, its their season. Our breakfast was dining with flies as well as a plateful of flies caught in glue next to us and the waiters did nothing! We wrote in to the GM to complain... PRESTO.. next day we had complimentary drinks at their Cricket Lounge as well as a fantastic fruit basket on our departure!

Many visits later... when I have kids and all, we instructed them to clean up the room before 2pm as with a baby, we need the room to be ready when we are back from our excursion, but room was not made up... there we go round the mulberry bush again... wrote in to complain.. made hell of a noise! Viola! We had complimentary cakes that we were salivating on our way up near the lift served to us.. and PRESTO.. another fantastic fruit basket to our room the next morning!

One thing I learnt. If you are not satisfied.. make hell lot of a noise. You are bound to get noticed. On my second brush with them, I actually took the letter straight to the GM's office when the Manager on Duty was just apologising and I say its lip service! The Manager was asked to apologize to us again on our departure.. (actually I felt bad for her) but... well... since then, my experiences at EQ was pretty pleasant.
but why such a vast difference in terms of service between the apartment and the hotel? unsure.gif

juichuan
post Jun 18 2007, 02:28 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(kai_rel @ Jun 16 2007, 01:49 PM)
never slept in hotel during all my trip to cameron.

bring my own tent n just pay RM2 per entry to the forestry department campsite at tanah rata. smile.gif

it would be nice if i could slept at the hotel with the golf course view.. looks like a 4 star hotel..
forestry department? where is the entrance and the payment office?

i've merged two similar threads

This post has been edited by juichuan: Jun 18 2007, 02:32 PM
juichuan
post Jun 19 2007, 10:08 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

there u go.. 2 merged threads..
juichuan
post Jul 2 2007, 11:51 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

threads merged
juichuan
post Jul 10 2007, 11:08 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

2 threads merged
juichuan
post Jan 23 2008, 09:12 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

I am the project manager for a team of committee from my batch from Taylor's School of Hospitality and Tourism, to organize a tree planting project at Gunung Berinchang Cameron Highlands. We're also recruiting members of the public to join us in this project.

Benefits:
-have a short holiday of 2d1n
-do your part for the environment and plant a tree saplings all by yourself at the reforestation site in gunung berinchang
-get to tour Mossy forest to see the original state of the cleared site
-get a certificate and a potted plant as a souvenir

we're collecting about +- RM 150 per person including transport from KL, accommodation, meals and a steamboat dinner. we are charging at cost basis. this is non profit based project.

to know more please add me on msn: jc929@hotmail.com

i will upload our porject proposal soon
juichuan
post Jan 24 2008, 06:35 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(xNightCastlex @ Jan 23 2008, 11:57 PM)
there are many of them seriously
since it's CNY
expect cut throat price of accomodation, meals and also traffic jams
(mayb water / electricity shortage if u r "lucky")

anyway, u can check out apartments like
villa dahlia, star regency, equatorial, honeymoon villa, Desa Anthurium

Added on January 23, 2008, 11:59 pm

interested
wait for ur proposal
I've just submitted the final copy for upper management's approval. tentatively the planting date is 22nd and 23 MAR 08.
juichuan
post Feb 9 2008, 09:33 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

Tree Planting Project details as follow:

date: 22nd & 23rd March 2008
price: RM 150 per person
inclusive:
Lunch
steamboat dinner
breakfast
1 night accommodation at budget hotel
transport (KL-Cameron)
transport (Tanah Rata-Tree planting site @ g. berinchang)
tour to mossy forest
tree salpings
certificate of achievement
potted plants as souvenir

***this is a environmental project. The site has been illegally cleared by farmers 3 years ago. so in conjunction with REACH we're doing this tree planting project to reforest the site. Tour to mossy forest is to see the original state of the cleared site.

For more info pls pm me or msn jc929@hotmail.com
juichuan
post Feb 24 2008, 11:41 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Feb 22 2008, 05:37 PM)
guys, I'm planning to go there nxt Sat. will be goin with around 8-9 colleagues. Need advice on good apartments to accommodate us all. Btw, are there any taxi services to ferry around in CH? Which bus company provides the best and comfortable ride from KL to CH?
usually those old taxis driver they charge 3 hours for RM 50. its more convinient to stay around town if u dun have ur own transport. Daniel's Lodge tauke soh Ms Karen can help u find apartment. 016-5422249 . btw i might be going there too next saturday
juichuan
post Mar 1 2008, 11:48 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Feb 28 2008, 04:25 AM)
backpacking for RM8 a night at Kangs
Daniels Lodge also RM 8 a night. but mind the sleeping condition, its just bed and share it with other peolpe. smile.gif quite adventurous.

I have not tried steamboat in Berinchang, heard its more expensive than tapah.

BTW anymore interested candidates to join in our tree planting project this 22nd March? RM 150 only plus transport and accommodation at Daniels Hotel plus meals and tree planting logistics.
juichuan
post Mar 2 2008, 12:11 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

yeah its really steep up to gunung berinchang. my bf drove his 20 yrs nissan sunny also can reach.
juichuan
post Jul 15 2008, 11:37 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(vchenv @ Jul 15 2008, 10:31 PM)
Greetings,

This will be my first time in Cameron Highlands. Hope can relax there. Any recommended for

1)Food outlets (steamboats, vegetarian stalls)
2)Shopping for souvenirs/ fresh veggies/ cactus/ orchids
3)Interesing places that i should go
4)Any recommended tour companies for nature sight seeing, slight jungle trekking
(PS: I have read the previous post, it really helps newbies before getting there. Hope to get more new info)

Thanks a lot.
since you are going there, you can consider taking up a tour organized by REACH. only RM 50 per person you can plant a tree at the reforestation site while taking a tour to mossy forest and drop by BOH plantation if time permits.

here is the website. u can contact them. http://www.reach.org.my/

when i participated last time, there was a local guide who gave terrific explainations about tea and nature because the tree planting site is near BOH and at gunung berinchang. so why not give it a try smile.gif
juichuan
post Nov 6 2008, 11:42 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

anyone want to go climb gunung irau this 20th december?
juichuan
post Nov 24 2008, 10:40 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

i got the news that this awal muharam cameron is full..
juichuan
post Dec 4 2008, 11:26 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Dec 3 2008, 08:07 PM)
Hi everyone.

I'll most likely be goin to CH tomorrow and probably staying til Friday or Saturday.

just wondering is the night market at Brinchang open on Thursday night as well?

Many thanks. notworthy.gif
wow... not afraid of no water. it's always a problem there unless u camp by the river thumbup.gif
juichuan
post Dec 12 2008, 09:45 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(karLz @ Dec 12 2008, 02:13 AM)
will go there this chinese new year....  icon_rolleyes.gif
want to take the chance to go plant some trees? contact REACH, environment organization in cameron highlands.

chinese new yea gonna be another peak period. hope no problem with the water @ your hotel
juichuan
post Feb 7 2009, 09:53 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

hi everyone,

i am planning to organize a self drive tree planting program at cameron highlands. this event is liasing with R.E.A.C.H an environmental group in cameron highlands. staying over at a budgetted accommodation (Kang's travellers lodge). highlight of course is planting trees at a site destroyed by farmers about 5 years back.

each participant will have the chance to learn about forests of cameron, plant the trees yourself, go for a jungle trek at mossy forest (guided by experienced nature guide) and visit + explanation of the tea plantation.

the site looks something like this..

budget around RM100-150 which could include 1 steamboat dinner, 1 night stay at budgetted hostel, tree planting (1 potted plants to bring home, tree planting experience, refreshment, tour to mossy forest and tea plantation)
juichuan
post Feb 11 2009, 09:24 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(ilovelyn @ Feb 8 2009, 12:45 AM)
how is cameron highlands??
it have been few years the last time ive been there..
is it still cold up there??
not as cold as 10 years ago.. global warming.. btw where is the starbucks? i never notice one in cameron..

anyone interested to join tree planting project?

0.0443sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:17 AM