Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?

jcst83
post Apr 24 2012, 10:56 AM

216 posts

hi all,

i need an advice here...
i plan to go Cameron Highland this coming May for either 2D1N or 3D2N (From 3th - 4th or 5th may). 2 persons.
my location at penang, will try to take bus at morning and reach there afternoon (around 2-3pm or earlier).
After that, i plan to look forward for hotel at tanah rata (just becoz it's near to the bus terminal... that's what i think la...any comment?..tongue.gif)
Currently spotted cool point hotel at tanah rata... any comment or other suggestion with it?..tongue.gif...

The other day morning, plan to follow the tour like a package to follow them go to the place of interest. if i remember correctly, there should have the have half day trip and full day trip right?... im not sure how it's work ord... can some one advice me on that....?...smile.gif... i wan to know the rate and time...
plan for a half day trip actually, so that in the noon time around 5-6pm i can take bus straight go back penang ord...else i have to stay 1 more night at there ord lo...

Thanks if u guys can advice me.... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by jcst83: Apr 24 2012, 10:57 AM
jcst83
post Apr 24 2012, 01:47 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ Apr 24 2012, 01:47 PM)
Last time i went with my gf i stayed in the Hillview Inn which is within walking distance with the bus station. I find the hotel is quite strategic in place but the only pitfall is it's located behind an abandoned construction site. the hotel is spacious, clean and cozy. I got it RM90 per night for that time(non-peak). It is near to the Mayflower steamboat restaurant which is quite recommended by the forumer here too smile.gif

If i'm not remember wrongly, the half day tour should cost RM25 per pax and it will bring u to around 8 attractions (BOH sg palas farm, rose garden, strawberry farm, butterfly farm, temple etc). I went there last year Jan, so i'm not sure whether the price has increased.
thanks for ur recommendation bro.... rclxms.gif

btw can i know what's the half day trip time start and end?..coz i plan to go back penang after the tour.. just c whether enuf time or not....
and i think i have to check out from hotel before follow the tour....

Added on April 24, 2012, 1:52 pmops...just saw it at here.....tongue.gif
http://www.hillview-inn.com/Tours.html
do u think the trip is organized by hillview inn themself or what...
i think last time i follow de tour looks different... just forgot what's the different ord...tongue.gif...hehe

Added on April 24, 2012, 4:31 pmToo bad they charge me RM140 at 3rd may...sad.gif...they said public holiday wor that day.... huh.gif
then i call cool point hotel... they said all fully booked... doh.gif

any other suggestion?....hehe..tongue.gif

else i have to book at Hillview inn for RM140 ord la..... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by jcst83: Apr 24 2012, 04:31 PM
jcst83
post Apr 25 2012, 12:25 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ Apr 25 2012, 12:24 AM)
I book the tour from other travel agency which is available at the main street there.
The street is full with what you needed. Banks, restaurants, shops as well as travel agencies and hotels.
This is the agency which I think I booked with them last time..forgotten already XD tongue.gif
Half day tour I took the countryside tour
Full day tour
You can always call them and inquire for the tour duration.
I have checked out the website you given. The countryside tour for both are actually the same. If you really want to stay in that hotel, you can just book the tour with them and try to ask for discount la..haha icon_rolleyes.gif

Last time I went to see the Hillview Inn's room one by one and then only I choose the one with ensuite toilet as well as a personal balcony. Yeah, I love the balcony a lot!
3rd of May is holiday? What holiday is that?
Last time I stay from Thursday to Saturday but they just charged me the weekday rate - RM90/night for both days.
I guess should be because that time was Jan and it was really a low season up there.
Or you can just go around the town and check out the hotels one by one to check the cleanliness of the room then only you choose which one you want to stay with smile.gif
There are many hotels around the town and I believe there will be one which suit your budget  nod.gif
Thanks for all ur reply... notworthy.gif ...

i ord book 1 room at 3rd May at hillview inn, but haven't paid la...think still can cancel it last minute mayb...tongue.gif.....not sure la..i go this time also my second time only...1st time i go also long time ago ord...kind of forget all liao..haha...tongue.gif...

I'm not sure y they said 3rd may as holiday....mayb due to 1st may labour day and 5th may wesak...then they declare that whole week as "holiday".... doh.gif
i not sure i can argue with them or not when i paid that time..hehe.... have to use the trick "cannot less ar? i go find other la....XD"
jcst83
post May 7 2012, 12:29 AM

216 posts

Ok, just came back from the trip to Cameron Highland, and i have a bad review for the hillview inn... Personally feels like wont stay at there any more for my future trip... If for environmental wise, Hillview inn is quick a good place. Just they have a bad service to their customer... Feels like not welcome us come to stay at there (especially the old Indian lady there)... doing thing also blur blur de...sleep.gif... no smile at face.. hard to communicate with her...
I taking the cheapest room RM99 with no tv and breakfast provided... no balcony coz its at the ground flow.. ask y in web stated cheapest is RM90 and she said no...cheapest is RM99...so...im ok with it... sleep.gif

Another thing is, never ever buy bus ticket or mini van services from that hotel. coz their will charge more than ticket price.... i ask for the mini van service going back penang, she said RM38.. then I paid for that.... after coming back from my country trip, she said ...sorry, the van wont go to penang coz only have u 2 person.. then have to change to bus at 2:30pm then... she said bus and mini van fee same at RM38 and ask us to wait at there coz she said the bus will come here later...

While waiting.. i noticed the notice board there stated "mini van 1:45pm (RM35) VIP coach BUS 2:30pm (RM38)"...then i started .... sleep.gif......

ok fine, we went out find something to eat 1st, then after come back at 2:20pm the other Indian guys said "u guys waiting for the bus right?".. " ok, u guys go there turn here walk straight and wait at there.. not far, just need 2 mins of walk.." then he pass us the "unititi" bus ticket that only cost RM32...sleep.gif....

"I Go Buy it myself better lar!!!".......

This post has been edited by jcst83: May 7 2012, 12:33 AM

0.0400sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:41 PM