125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V4!, Happy Chinese New Year 2007 ! Rock on !

MetalZone
post Nov 7 2006, 01:38 PM

2,515 posts

You can try calling Foo (0166286248). he does refrets pretty well i heard from jamtank.

or maybe you don't need a refret yet, just a recrown.

@giant hamster in the sky (man still remember this? laugh.gif kiddin bro) yeah better not send to woh fatt.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Nov 7 2006, 01:39 PM
TSantonio
post Nov 7 2006, 01:55 PM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Nov 7 2006, 01:38 PM)
You can try calling Foo (0166286248). he does refrets pretty well i heard from jamtank.

or maybe you don't need a refret yet, just a recrown.

@giant hamster in the sky (man still remember this?  laugh.gif  kiddin bro)  yeah better not send to woh fatt.
Where is the brother Foo located??? flex.gif

Diazepam
post Nov 7 2006, 01:58 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Nov 7 2006, 01:38 PM)
@giant hamster in the sky (man still remember this?  laugh.gif  kiddin bro)
Yea . . . tongue.gif
MetalZone
post Nov 7 2006, 01:58 PM

2,515 posts

I'm not sure, in PJ or KL i think.
Everdying
post Nov 7 2006, 04:31 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

DO NOT SEND TO WOH FATT.

and foo hasnt got time to do any long jobs, means refrets are out of the question.
led_zep_freak
post Nov 7 2006, 05:17 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Diazepam @ Nov 7 2006, 01:33 PM)
Don't think I'd trust Woh Fatt to do a good job though.
Yeah, just ask Blacktrix. rclxm9.gif tongue.gif
noisetrigger
post Nov 7 2006, 05:51 PM

687 posts

For the best refret job, GG is the man. More expensive than the rest but you guitar will come back playing like a million bucks I kid you not.

Guitars with bindings have extra charge though. RM50 to RM100 extra.
noisetrigger
post Nov 7 2006, 05:54 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Nov 7 2006, 12:56 PM)
u hamsap laugh.gif

http://www.excite.co.jp/world/english/web/...p=JAEN&wb_dis=2
this V seriously can kill
got everything anyone ever wants minus its 3.5-3.8k price tag [not including shipment]
24 frets, neck thru, OFR, EMG 81 plus the kick ass shape
only thing now we need teh pinstripes!!!!
rolol
I have been eyeing that one but the price tag is a bit high. Weirdly the Edwards Alexi Laiho sig is actually cheaper. Rm3k++ before shipping. I would have thought a sig should be more expensive.

Given the choice the between the two I will still take the Laiho one cause buzzsaw inlays, single pickup, and pinstrip just rules!!!

Everdying
post Nov 7 2006, 06:13 PM

30,735 posts

tham is still a faster job, 1-2 weeks.
still faster than GG's waiting list that can stretch up to 6 months.

both are good, just depends where you stay.
for me, no way in hell am i gonna go all the way to gombak just to see GG.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Nov 7 2006, 06:13 PM
TSantonio
post Nov 7 2006, 06:17 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Nov 7 2006, 05:51 PM)
For the best refret job, GG is the man. More expensive than the rest but you guitar will come back playing like a million bucks I kid you not.

Guitars with bindings have extra charge though. RM50 to RM100 extra.
QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 7 2006, 06:13 PM)

Two weeks???? shocking.gif

Owh then i need to straind my hand ASAP then when the fingers suffers injury...sent guitar to either one for repairs.... tongue.gif Just can't live without em more than a day... whistling.gif

Who is GG tongue.gif

Everdying
post Nov 7 2006, 06:21 PM

30,735 posts

seriously, a good refret will never take a day.
once the frets are off, you have to let the neck settle down etc.
stick on the frets, readjust truss rod, level them etc etc etc.

you want in a day, can, go to woh fatt.
then you'll be cursing for a whole year tongue.gif
TSantonio
post Nov 7 2006, 06:24 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 7 2006, 06:21 PM)
seriously, a good refret will never take a day.
once the frets are off, you have to let the neck settle down etc.
stick on the frets, readjust truss rod, level them etc etc etc.

you want in a day, can, go to woh fatt.
then you'll be cursing for a whole year tongue.gif
Thats why now i need to get home quick and shredd the hell out of it...muahahhaa... laugh.gif

but then about the pots which type should i get??? I mean any specific brands of set sells at guitar shops???
noisetrigger
post Nov 7 2006, 06:29 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 7 2006, 06:13 PM)

That's an exaggeration. My friend sent two guitars to GG and both were done in a little over a week.

The key is to call and ask him first before sending in your guitars. There are times where he will be very busy and if you show up unannounced, you will kena from him la.

Where you stay? For me since I am in Ampang, nearer to go see GG than Tham in PJ.
TSantonio
post Nov 7 2006, 06:31 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Nov 7 2006, 06:29 PM)
That's an exaggeration. My friend sent two guitars to GG and both were done in a little over a week.

The key is to call and ask him first before sending in your guitars. There are times where he will be very busy and if you show up unannounced,  you will kena from him la.

Where you stay? For me since I am in Ampang, nearer to go see GG than Tham in PJ.
Guitar Workshop that i've contacted and was reffering to Robin, anyone heard of him???

noisetrigger,
any recommended pots??? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
noisetrigger
post Nov 7 2006, 06:32 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Nov 7 2006, 06:17 PM)
Who is GG  tongue.gif
Probably the best luthier in this country. He is the man to go to for broken necks, new fretboards, inlays, extensive routing and modifications to the bodies or necks, refinishing and painting, refretting...

His price is high but there is also a reason why he is in such high demand. While I will admit that I have never seen Tham's work before but GG refretting quality is only something I have seen on an Ibanez J Custom. The way the frets were rounded off at the edge is something you won't see on any USA fender or Gibson.

TSantonio
post Nov 7 2006, 06:38 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Nov 7 2006, 06:32 PM)
Probably the best luthier in this country. He is the man to go to for broken necks, new fretboards, inlays, extensive routing and modifications to the bodies or necks, refinishing and painting, refretting...

His price is high but there is also a reason why he is in such high demand. While I will admit that I have never seen Tham's work before but GG refretting quality is only something I have seen on an Ibanez J Custom. The way the frets were rounded off at the edge is something you won't see on any USA fender or Gibson.
yeah ok...i got the picture here...

now the 'pots'...which one?? whistling.gif

noisetrigger
post Nov 7 2006, 06:46 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Nov 7 2006, 06:38 PM)
yeah ok...i got the picture here...

That one was written before you replay actually. I posted like a minute after you.

As for pots, I never changed mine. My stock pot works fine, though I have heard the Fender one works fine.
led_zep_freak
post Nov 7 2006, 07:02 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Nov 7 2006, 06:38 PM)
If you go for Tham, he orders his pots from StewMac. Relatively expensive but you get what you pay for. Not sure about GG though.
noisetrigger
post Nov 7 2006, 07:08 PM

687 posts

GG also orders from Stewmac and Warmoth. He can also get you other stuff that you can't find here. His price is reasonable.
blacktrix
post Nov 7 2006, 07:55 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Ooooooooh.... you think it's worth then to get an Epi Explorer and a Floyd Rose (S. Mac of course) and get either Tham or GG to fix it up???

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:28 AM