125 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V4!, Happy Chinese New Year 2007 ! Rock on !

skydancer
post Jan 20 2007, 11:33 AM

308 posts

its due to the shape is copyright of the jackson rr. so they cannot make the same shape to sell. but then, his sig for example saw tooth oso have larger horns compare to rhoads ledi. but those signature series have even larger horn, making it looks like king V
DisenchanteD
post Jan 20 2007, 12:47 PM

anyone know where i can get the best deals for an Ibanez PF series acoustic guitar around klang valley and also in S'pore?? apreciate if anyone can advise me.....ThanxxX cool.gif
blacktrix
post Jan 20 2007, 01:05 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

I got mine from Rhapsody in Midvalley. RM800 I think.
ian31
post Jan 20 2007, 02:13 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(skydancer @ Jan 20 2007, 11:33 AM)
its due to the shape is copyright of the jackson rr. so they cannot make the same shape to sell. but then, his sig for example saw tooth oso have larger horns compare to rhoads ledi. but those signature series have even larger horn, making it looks like king V
yeah it's only for the US market. No problem for the japanese market though. Lucky buggers!
blacktrix
post Jan 20 2007, 02:28 PM

13,063 posts

There we go.......... the ESP with gain boost........

http://www.bmusic.com.au/prod4022.htm

I want IT!!!!!!

And here's the Sawtooth:

http://www.bmusic.com.au/prod3672.htm

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Jan 20 2007, 02:29 PM
skydancer
post Jan 20 2007, 02:46 PM

308 posts

wow, and now they come with gain boost like wut alexi is using. but check out the price
asura_86
post Jan 20 2007, 03:53 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

a little question here...

just came back from bentley and tested one of their jackson with emg-hz pickups...it's cool to have the booster built into the guitar itself

can i like install one myself into my guitar which doesn't come with the extra booster knob to begin with?
Everdying
post Jan 20 2007, 04:14 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

obviously you can, if you got an extra hole somewhere.

i guess its the EMG PA-2 booster, same one thats in the Kerry King EMG set.
and we all know Slayer are one of Alexi Laiho's influence tongue.gif

i first heard CoB about 7-8yrs ago, wasnt a fan then and still not.
asura_86
post Jan 20 2007, 04:21 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

my guitar doesn't have an extra knob hole, that means i need to bring it to a shop and have them dig a hole for me?
Everdying
post Jan 20 2007, 04:30 PM

30,735 posts

you can do it yourself if you got a power screwdriver.
btw, the hole isnt as big as the knob holes.
but a big BUT tongue.gif
the PA-2 isnt available in malaysia.
bentley didnt want to bring it in...same with the Kerry King EMG set.
so i just got the ZW set, and maybe find the PA-2 later on when i want it to make it a Kerry King set tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jan 20 2007, 04:36 PM
blacktrix
post Jan 20 2007, 04:33 PM

13,063 posts

Yup. They'll have to drill a hole in your precious guitar...... if you can live with that.

And FYI, Alexi uses a gain boost that Jackson stopped making at the end of the Eighties..... it's basically a clone circuitry of that..... I don't think he uses the EMG Gain Boost.

And I just discovered COB for less then a year, and already they are on my top 5 bands list.

Everdying
post Jan 20 2007, 04:41 PM

30,735 posts

i guess that jackson boost was used when he was using jacksons tongue.gif

i would say its abit weird to have his brand new signature model using an out of production part right?
unless of cos his own model is different from his signature, which then contradicts everything since everyone assumes he plays his exact own production model.
asura_86
post Jan 20 2007, 04:49 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

an another question here, other than being active and passive pickups...does the tone of the emg81/85 and emg hz differs alot? if they're to put into my thin guitar...
Everdying
post Jan 20 2007, 04:53 PM

30,735 posts

the EMG-HZ has less gain.
Alexi laiho has tried the active EMGs, but it clashed with some part of his rig...
think was feedback, thats why he uses the HZ.

btw, the only CoB songs i have are them doing covers.
Slayer - silent scream
Ramones - somebody put something in my drink
Iron Maiden - the trooper
Ozzy - shot in the dark

and the ultimate CoB cover...
britney spears - oops i did it again
blacktrix
post Jan 20 2007, 05:29 PM

13,063 posts

Oh yeah...... that's the ultimate cover...... they play parts of it live sometimes.

But according to some, his guitars were done by ESP Custom in Japan, which is why they looked very much similar to the RR models that he used to play. Once production came to build his Signature, they had to change the design.... so Alexi is playing his Customs, and the public basically gets the knock-offs.
blacktrix
post Jan 20 2007, 11:03 PM

13,063 posts

Oh man, Jack Bauer is officially my new GOD!!

He's getting his own SIGNATURE ES-336 guitar!!!!! And what an original name..... the KS-336....

And of course he has a boat load of Gibsons!

But this looks really interesting:

http://www.gibson.com/namm2007/PoweTune.html

Might retro-fit it into my LP-100........ save alot of tuning hassles!

Oh, and speaking of Gibson Guitars..... Zakk's new Flying V is literally just a Gibson Flying V with EMGs and the bullseye. Can be seen prominently in the Blood Is Thicker Than Water video:

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Jan 20 2007, 11:08 PM
headhunter7
post Jan 20 2007, 11:30 PM

2,355 posts

Lol.the vid looks very cheesy to me.. >_>
Everdying
post Jan 20 2007, 11:54 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jan 20 2007, 11:03 PM)
But this looks really interesting:

http://www.gibson.com/namm2007/PoweTune.html

Might retro-fit it into my LP-100........ save alot of tuning hassles!
i would rather you just change the tuners to grovers and put in tonepros.

blacktrix
post Jan 21 2007, 12:16 AM

13,063 posts

Oh yeah...... First change is definitely Grovers and might install a tailpiece for me to wrap the strings around the bar..... I forgot the company name...... can anyone remember??

But the PowerTune...... Man....... that could be VERY handy.... Can finally play Mark Tremonti Open Tunings without much hassle!

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Jan 21 2007, 12:18 AM
skydancer
post Jan 21 2007, 12:27 AM

308 posts

been listening to CoB 6 years ago, and they're like one my best. just love alexi's guitar works. i read bout it too, that alexi uses gain boost that jackson stop making. its not during his jackson, its on his esp.

and yes, his customs are made in japan, u can check his guitars at the japan market, www.espguitars.co.jp or through the english site, www.espguitars.co.jp/oversea
they're not exactly the same, they have slightly larger lower horns, but those ESP ALEXI LAIHO has even larger horns.

125 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:50 AM