Fundsupermart.com v11, Grexit or not, Europe will sail on...
SUSDavid83
Aug 9 2015, 11:23 AM
Tomorrow bloody bath? China July producer prices slump to near six-year lowBEIJING (Reuters) - Producer prices in China fell to a near six-year low in July while consumer inflation remained subdued, signaling the world's second-largest economy was still facing deflationary pressures and that Beijing has room to further support the sluggish economy. The producer price index (PPI) fell 5.4 percent from a year earlier, the National Statistics Bureau said on Sunday, compared with an expected 5.0 percent decline. It was the worst reading since October 2009 and the 40th straight month of price falls. URL: http://finance.yahoo.com/news/china-produc...-015101391.html
SUSDavid83
Aug 9 2015, 09:22 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2015, 09:19 PM) I may be seriously wrong...I think most XIRR formula did not have "month" factor in it. which means the results are the same in Jan, March, June, Sept....... can you PLEASE confirm if the XIRR value changed when the month are changed ? Maybe you use the wrong formula? My XIRR uses a function that calculate IRR up to days instead of months. LOL
SUSDavid83
Aug 9 2015, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2015, 09:31 PM) thanks tested mine....xirr value changes when the month changes I just saw this,... the "Last" example..... he has this.... Excel XIRR returns a compounded annual rate. If you want the equivalent compounded 9-month rate, you would use the following paradigm (see the screenshot below): (1+XIRR(F2:F6,A2:A6))^(9/12) - 1 http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/office/...6a3ece70?auth=1therefore I am just curious...he has this month factor in there and therefore I asked. If you use YEARFRAC(), then it'll in term of days. LOL
SUSDavid83
Aug 9 2015, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2015, 09:34 PM) use in "where"?  I guess should be: (1+XIRR(F2:F6,A2:A6))^ (9/12) - 1 to YEARFRAC(STARTDATE,ENDDATE) URL: https://exceljet.net/excel-functions/excel-yearfrac-function
SUSDavid83
Aug 9 2015, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2015, 09:44 PM) was wondering,...since many had said that, for investment of less than1 year, the XIRR calculation is not accurate.... will using this (the above) will solve the problem? Won't accurate as IRR is more meaningful for > 1 year. This post has been edited by David83: Aug 9 2015, 10:11 PM
SUSDavid83
Aug 9 2015, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2015, 09:53 PM) won't as in not accurate? I recall some months back.....some forummers "posted" about their high IRR rate... though of thinking that this formula can be used to avoid confusion... High IRR is misleading if holding is too short. You can have high IRR from China funds if you invest less than 1 year.
SUSDavid83
Aug 9 2015, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2015, 10:40 PM) yes,.... what if 'that formula" were to be used....will it shows a more accurate representation?  Also won't. I'm an engineer. It's normal for me to use formula up to certain precision until number may not be meaningful.
SUSDavid83
Aug 10 2015, 07:28 AM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 10 2015, 01:06 AM) yes......I would understand if it was referring to x.xxxx vs x.xxxxxxxxxx in IRR cal but for irr cal of less than 1 yr that formula would not be good to be used also? You meant the formula that Pinky used? IRR is just an indicator.
SUSDavid83
Aug 10 2015, 07:38 AM
Indonesia urges US Fed to hurry up and raise ratesJAKARTA: Indonesia wants the U.S. Federal Reserve to hurry up and raise interest rates because uncertainty over when it will tighten has created downward pressure on the rupiah, the country's chief economics minister said. Sofyan Djalil, coordinating minister for economics, told Reuters that he did not see the rupiah dropping when the U.S. tightening does come because the move has been built into market expectations, and in fact the currency is now undervalued. The Federal Reserve has kept rates at a near-zero level since December 2008 as part of its effort to spur the recovery from the 2007-2009 financial crisis. URL: http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...ates/?style=biz
SUSDavid83
Aug 10 2015, 09:53 PM
Idea Of The Week: 3 Tips For Investing In Volatile Markets [7 August 2015]1. INVEST VIA A REGULAR SAVINGS PLAN (RSP) 2. INVEST IN FUNDS THAT DISPLAY MORE RESILIENCE 3. INCLUDE FIXED INCOME TO BUFFER DOWNSIDE VOLATILITY URL: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=6142This post has been edited by David83: Aug 10 2015, 09:56 PM
SUSDavid83
Aug 10 2015, 09:55 PM
Indonesia’s GDP Slides Again! So What’s Next For The Southeast Asia’s Largest Economy?TAKEAWAYS Year-to-date (as of 7 August 2015), the JCI Index has posted a negative return of -7.27% in local currency term (-4.26% in MYR term). Owing to the recent drawdown of the Indonesian equity market, the market is currently trading at a PE ratio of 15.4X, a significant decline from its 2015’s high of 16.8X (26 May 2015). Nevertheless, the market is still trading at a premium (see Figure 9) compared to our fair PE ratio of 14.0X and represents a tepid annualised return of 6.8% based on end-2016 earnings. Given the expensive valuation metric, along with deteriorating economic outlook, we urge investors to trim down their allocation into this market and consider allocating their monies to relatively attractive markets such as the Asia ex-Japan region, Emerging Markets and the North Asian countries. For those who have less tolerance for risk and are concerned of the elevated volatility within the equity markets, they can opt for more weighting in bond funds for the purpose of diversification and capital preservation while waiting for a better opportunity to re-enter the equity markets. URL: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=6153
SUSDavid83
Aug 11 2015, 02:12 PM
U.S. dollar on the rise as China devalues yuanSYDNEY (Reuters) - The U.S. dollar lunged higher on Tuesday as China allowed its yuan to fall to three-year lows, a shift that heightened unease about the world's second-largest economy even as it promised a much-needed boost to export. Asian stocks slipped and sovereign bonds rallied as investors weighed the implications of the surprise move, which seemed to end months of officially sanctioned yuan strength. China's central bank described the move as a "one-off depreciation" of nearly 2 percent, and said it was based on a new way of managing the exchange rate that better reflected market forces. URL: http://finance.yahoo.com/news/asia-stocks-...-002632659.html
SUSDavid83
Aug 11 2015, 08:19 PM
Aladdin fund hit all time high yesterday with NAV @ 1.3913
SUSDavid83
Aug 11 2015, 09:04 PM
Foreign funds net selling hits RM388m as ringgit weakenKUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia’s FBM KLCI closed down nearly 18 points on Tuesday, in line with the Asean markets, while the ringgit continued to weaken against the US dollar as investor sentiment was battered by China’s devaluation of the yuan. At 5pm, the KLCI was down 17.66 points or 1.07% to 1,636.71 which was the lowest since March 2013. Turnover was 1.98 billion shares valued at RM2.02bil. Losers beat gainers 529 to 290 while 346 counters were unchanged. URL: http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...kens/?style=biz
SUSDavid83
Aug 11 2015, 10:05 PM
I'm not surprised. KLCI has been dropped nearly 20 points for 2 days.
SUSDavid83
Aug 12 2015, 07:38 AM
Dow falls triple digits on surprise yuan devaluation; Google jumpsU.S. stocks closed lower by about 1 percent on Tuesday after an unexpected move overnight by the People's Bank of China to depreciate the yuan by nearly 2 percent. ( Tweet This ) "The major concern is, the prospect of a China hard landing is more ominous as far as its impact on global growth," said Eric Wiegand, senior portfolio manager at U.S. Bank's Private Client Reserve. The Dow Jones industrial average closed about 210 points lower, wiping out most of Monday's gains. The index's 50-day moving average fell below its 200-day moving average, a bearish condition many analysts term a " death cross . URL: http://finance.yahoo.com/news/dow-falls-tr...-141452894.html
SUSDavid83
Aug 12 2015, 06:25 PM
Broad selloff sends KLCI near 1,600 as ringgit weakest since 1998KUALA LUMPUR: Asian market and currencies skidded on Wednesday, with the FBM KLCI almost close to the crucial 1,600 level in a broad selloff as the ringgit fell past the 4.000 level to the US dollar. The ringgit ended at 4.0275 to the US dollar – weakest since 1998 -- while most Asian currencies fell after the unexpected depreciation of the yuan. URL: http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...KLCI/?style=biz
SUSDavid83
Aug 12 2015, 06:28 PM
CIMB GTF edges all time yesterday with NAV @ 0.8679
SUSDavid83
Aug 12 2015, 06:31 PM
China devalued RMB again today: The People's Bank of China set the yuan fixing at 6.3306 against the U.S. dollar on Wednesday, 1.6 percent weaker than the previous day's level. URL: http://finance.yahoo.com/news/wall-street-...-093543936.html
SUSDavid83
Aug 12 2015, 06:48 PM
Gold: Will Price Dip Below $1,000 If Fed Hikes Rates?Five Factors that Could Drive Gold and Silver…Lower or Higher Gold and silver prices have fallen considerably from their 2011 highs. Silver peaked at nearly $50 per ounce and now trades below $20. Gold topped out at about $1,900 an ounce and is currently close to $1,200. Both metals are not only trading far below their peaks, but also their inflation-adjusted highs set in 1980 (Figures 1 and 2). This gives a sense of the scale of their downside and upside potential. Read more: http://www.cmegroup.com/education/featured...ikes-rates.html