Photography Nikon D40/D40X, finally, dslr for noobs

orenzai
post Sep 10 2007, 10:41 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 10 2007, 08:31 PM)
if u ask me...i'd say d80...400d feels...cheap...seriously...
even the low end d40 feels much more solid...and of coz...d40 rocks!
ez...
lens with AF motor will usually have these names:-
1 - nikon = AF-S
2 - Sigma = HSM
rclxms.gif d40 rox...i agree...oh ya..thanks for telling me bout the two names...how bout tamron?

QUOTE(aceejay @ Sep 10 2007, 10:15 PM)
dude..i was in the same dillemma as u on buying these camera..
nikon d40x or canon 400d.. and ended up on buying the d80 haha..

d40x and 400d are good but then both camera weight are too light for me and
not shown as solid as d80..handgrip too small..

if u want to get those satisfiying quality picture, just go straight for d80 ..
its okay if u buy the d40x but sooner or later,u will be upgrade to d80 and thats no doubt about it..

no offence from all d40x/d40 lovers here .. hehe  whistling.gif
if you dunno how to take picture also same thing whistling.gif but yeah..d40 is some sort like a stepping stone onli...for sure...

This post has been edited by orenzai: Sep 10 2007, 10:42 PM
orenzai
post Sep 11 2007, 06:36 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 11 2007, 06:21 AM)
there's no AF motor for tamron...no tammy can be used with d40...=)...unless MF lor...
sad.gif can recommend good lens for d40? i know 50mm f1.8 and 55-200mm is good..any other cheaper alternatives>?

QUOTE(aceejay @ Sep 11 2007, 06:31 PM)
hahaha.. hurry trade in ur d40 nia ..later d80 out of stock sin thumbup.gif
waiting for my mums fren use then when wanna change cam sell to me laugh.gif i use d40 atm and very happy with it...
orenzai
post Sep 11 2007, 07:46 PM

3,114 posts

notworthy.gif bro...should put that in the first thread...very helpful...btw..shashinki dun sell sigma 18-200...how much is it?
orenzai
post Sep 12 2007, 06:47 PM

3,114 posts

apalar...6.3k you say cheap... laugh.gif i wanna get a 50mm and 55-200 by this year end...enough me play for the coming years(if i dun get poison whistling.gif)
orenzai
post Sep 13 2007, 08:13 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 12 2007, 07:35 PM)
when u realised the power of small-f after using 50mm...
u'll feel handicapped with the 55-200 vr...=)
trust me...i have both...
so...ull be poisoned very often with nikon "gold ring" =)
hm...i am not quite familiar wit the term fast lens... it always stated there as f1.8 for the 50mm..but then wont the DOF be VERY shallow? please enlighten me and clear my doubts smile.gif
orenzai
post Sep 14 2007, 05:00 PM

3,114 posts

but as shallow as f1.8 you can hardly capture and normal sized object clearly.. unsure.gif
orenzai
post Sep 15 2007, 09:44 AM

3,114 posts

unsure.gif my question not answered gok ler... er... what would be the use of shooting things at f1.8? i tried wit my kit lens at f3.6 edi the DOF is less than 2cm... pleas tell me more all sifu out there..thanks..
orenzai
post Sep 15 2007, 11:22 AM

3,114 posts

but whe n i shoot at f3.6 on a flower its edi so blur...only one small part in the middle is clear...
orenzai
post Sep 15 2007, 11:26 PM

3,114 posts

hm...i gotta experiment more then smile.gif
orenzai
post Sep 16 2007, 11:15 AM

3,114 posts

d40 is about RM18xx for a 2gb card and a bag if i am not wrong..
orenzai
post Sep 16 2007, 03:12 PM

3,114 posts

what? did i hear the word regret? oh hell NO!!! tongue.gif but d40 should be a stepping stone if you wanna go far...
orenzai
post Sep 17 2007, 02:14 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(wzseow @ Sep 17 2007, 11:06 AM)
Wow I saw in fotokem's advertisement in the newspaper, they are selling d40 for RM2688. Where to get d40 for around RM18xx?
i guess that shop must be big shop targetted for tourist... i bought mine about 3 weeks ago for 2250 for Hoya filter+Bag...and that is kuching price..which means kl sell cheaper...

here is the link to this guy selling at 18xx: here

sorry..i saw wrong...no card and bag...hehe...
orenzai
post Sep 18 2007, 06:03 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Sep 18 2007, 02:38 PM)
but for normal use, sb 400 enough adi right?just that the flash can't move sideways
what's the extra feature for the sb 600 and 800...the range,wireless,lcd, somemore?

sb800 and 600 are a lil' complicated from my opinion..

what to consider when buying a flash?
the guy that sold me my cam(30 years experience) said that the sb400 is not much diff from the built in flash in terms of the power...better get sb600 or 800 is wanna use for long term...
QUOTE(wzseow @ Sep 18 2007, 03:26 PM)
I dont know if this has been asked before. A thousand apologies if you guys have to repeat the answer for me.

I plan to get a dslr. But i am a newbie in this stuff. Are there any major differences between D40 and D40x apart from their resolution? Is D40 sufficient for me, and I can use the money saved instead of getting a D40x on a lens?
Thanks in advance
d40 enough lar...unless you make A2 prints frequently..
orenzai
post Sep 19 2007, 11:09 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Sep 19 2007, 03:24 PM)
gotta wait for abt 5 more weeks b4 i can fulfill my d40 dreams...after my UEC....my parents kinda agree jor..i hope my dreams can be fulfill ^^

Added on September 19, 2007, 3:26 pm
where u bought ur cam...??

>>to orenzai--U plan to get a 55-200mm vr first or a flash?
a 55-200 would be more ideal to me...then only i get a flash smile.gif
orenzai
post Sep 21 2007, 09:42 PM

3,114 posts

lolz...he was just straight forward...not angry...haha...
orenzai
post Sep 22 2007, 10:23 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Sep 21 2007, 10:46 PM)
orenzai u take ur macro shots on flower using the kit lens right??
what was the distance from the camera lens and the flower??
roughly how much??
i went the closest i could get...which was i think 20cm from the flower...55mm focal length...
QUOTE(zzloo @ Sep 22 2007, 03:45 PM)
bb lo, hv to leave D40/D40x club ed lo...

tis morning my dad sold the D40 n bought a D80~
mad.gif you leave so fast!!!

damn rich sial...give me one d80 also rolleyes.gif

anyways...dun worry...out parents stil the same... NIKON laugh.gif

just that you become our brother lor..
orenzai
post Sep 22 2007, 10:27 PM

3,114 posts

you not yet post up ler...hehe...waiting.. whistling.gif
orenzai
post Sep 23 2007, 10:24 AM

3,114 posts

d300 is dream cam lar... i will get that...when it stop production edi whistling.gif
orenzai
post Sep 23 2007, 07:47 PM

3,114 posts

what god looks?

its god features!!! laugh.gif
dp review say its very good...we also say very good lor tongue.gif
orenzai
post Sep 23 2007, 08:01 PM

3,114 posts

roughly 7k...go to shashinki website to see..can start pre order edi...

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0477sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:01 AM