Is it worth investing in CyberCafe?, What will you do with 500k?

TSCloud2322
post Jul 1 2015, 08:33 AM, updated 11y ago

Bob Marley
517 posts

Need advice..

Here's my rough plan for a CC.

Hardware, renovation, rental, system most of them is settled.

But I need to know how do I register a Cyber Cafe company + getting license in Selangor. Will it be hard? Or anyone have runner to introduce who can settle all the licenses for me?

Anyway, I'm still looking for few CC management system providers such as setting up the server and ERP system provider. If you're doing such services/have contact please do provide me.

Other than e2link what others provider they have outside?

This post has been edited by Cloud2322: Jul 2 2015, 03:37 PM
SUSjdgobio
post Jul 1 2015, 10:21 AM

1,010 posts

Is it still profitable to do this business? I see many cc are being sold off - maybe because their hardware is aged and they don't wanna reinvest.

What is your outlook for this business?
Hun Eung
post Jul 1 2015, 11:01 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 1 2015, 08:33 AM)
Need advice..

Here's my rough plan for a CC.

Hardware, renovation, rental, system most of them is settled.

But I need to know how do I register a Cyber Cafe company + getting license in Selangor. Will it be hard? Or anyone have runner to introduce who can settle all the licenses for me?

Anyway, I'm still looking for few CC management system providers such as setting up the server and ERP system provider. If you're doing such services/have contact please do provide me.

Other than e2link what others provider they have outside?
Most are not issuing new licence for internet cafe. You need to acquire an existing licenced internet cafe.

By the way, is it still justifiable to open a new internet cafe with low ROI and high initial investment. Not to mention depreciating assets (Computer, etc).

TSCloud2322
post Jul 1 2015, 11:16 AM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(Hun Eung @ Jul 1 2015, 11:01 AM)
Most are not issuing new licence for internet cafe. You need to acquire an existing licenced internet cafe.

By the way, is it still justifiable to open a new internet cafe with low ROI and high initial investment. Not to mention depreciating assets (Computer, etc).
True, but CC is just a stepping stone for me. I'm planning for something else.

Let's say you have half a million what would you do other than investing in opening a CC?
I'm not planning to invest in properties yet. Estimated ROI for my project is 2years.
puchongite
post Jul 1 2015, 11:22 AM

33,736 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 1 2015, 11:16 AM)
True, but CC is just a stepping stone for me. I'm planning for something else.

Let's say you have half a million what would you do other than investing in opening a CC?
I'm not planning to invest in properties yet. Estimated ROI for my project is 2years.
CC is a good place to camouflage gambling. Sure make a lot of money. But need to kau tim the "authority". Need to have good "Polis-Rakyat" relationship.
SUScute_miao
post Jul 1 2015, 10:14 PM

Look at MY STARS!!!!!!!!!
1,438 posts

Agree with puchong gila.

Running a cc is not easy now

The return will come in 2 yrs as mwntioned..bt at the time, u need to put in money to maintain ur computer system due to aging factor or upgrade,

Many cc in setapak is closing now
Baconateer
post Jul 1 2015, 10:17 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

half a million???? there are profitable franchises out there u can choose...
puchongite
post Jul 1 2015, 10:23 PM

33,736 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jul 1 2015, 10:17 PM)
Oh really ? Name me a few. I am interested.

But don't ask me to run it. Only want to take out capital, invest and make money. No time to handle operation and staffing issues.
SUScute_miao
post Jul 1 2015, 10:28 PM

1,438 posts

I also want to know...keke
TSCloud2322
post Jul 1 2015, 11:46 PM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 1 2015, 11:22 AM)
CC is a good place to camouflage gambling. Sure make a lot of money. But need to kau tim the "authority". Need to have good "Polis-Rakyat" relationship.
To do that, I need a lot of jalan and money to spend.. half a million will not be sufficient.. also there's a risk there but high return.

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 1 2015, 10:14 PM)
Agree with puchong gila.

Running a cc is not easy now

The return will come in 2 yrs as mwntioned..bt at the time, u need to put in money to maintain ur computer system due to aging factor or upgrade,

Many cc in setapak is closing now
But are those CC up to par? It really depends on where is my CC location, I estimate longest is 2years and fastest is 1year.

Tell me about it.

nexona88
post Jul 2 2015, 12:04 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,589 posts

like? hmm.gif
SUSdD_se7en
post Jul 2 2015, 12:07 AM

Ang! Ang! Ang!
887 posts

orange, tbun, kingsurf, cybertime?
Baconateer
post Jul 2 2015, 12:25 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

food industries perhaps...
Sunny zombie
post Jul 2 2015, 12:31 AM

551 posts

i only aware the most profitable franchise is MCD, 2.5 mil or 4 mil for those wit drivethru
SUScute_miao
post Jul 2 2015, 06:10 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Sunny zombie @ Jul 2 2015, 12:31 AM)
i only aware the most profitable franchise is MCD, 2.5 mil or 4 mil for those wit drivethru
Mcd now susah nak dapat franchise bro
SUSsupersound
post Jul 2 2015, 09:07 AM

11,554 posts

Yup, that's right, then ask your children to study doctor and open a clinic beside it. Sure make more money thumbup.gif
TSCloud2322
post Jul 2 2015, 09:14 AM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jul 2 2015, 12:25 AM)
food industries perhaps...
Evergreen industry.. but alot of hardwork and 365days chained.
if your food sucks or doesnt meet expectation be ready to close down.
nowadays people want good service good food but pay peanut.

It depends on location as well.. the investment required for that is ridiculous.. if i have that much i wouldnt invest in mcd already.. I will get other franchise that's not in Malaysia yet..
SUScute_miao
post Jul 2 2015, 10:58 AM

1,438 posts

i tried asking bar bq plaza whether i can do franchise or not, but they emailed me that no franchise...ishh...
TSCloud2322
post Jul 2 2015, 11:18 AM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 2 2015, 10:58 AM)
i tried asking bar bq plaza whether i can do franchise or not, but they emailed me that no franchise...ishh...
Their only specialty if their sauce. Nothing else

You can open a similar one and improve the quality, there's currently one call BBQ town in Midvalley. Look great to me

Best fnb industry is halal steamboat.
SUScute_miao
post Jul 2 2015, 11:22 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 2 2015, 11:18 AM)

You can open a similar one and improve the quality, there's currently one call BBQ town in Midvalley. Look great to me

you are absolutely right

but its not easy for a cainis to get a halal logo..rite?
TSCloud2322
post Jul 2 2015, 11:25 AM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 2 2015, 11:22 AM)
you are absolutely right
but its not easy for a cainis to get a halal logo..rite?
Xya approval from jakim bro..
What you do is to hire all Malay friends to work. There's a few chinese operate restaurant but all employee is Malay is doing very well.
SUScute_miao
post Jul 2 2015, 11:28 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 2 2015, 11:25 AM)
What you do is to hire all Malay friends to work. There's  a few chinese operate restaurant but all employee is Malay is doing very well.
so it will be ok if the owner is chinese, and involve directly to the operation behind it?

the employees must be 100% meleis, or can have a mix of 80%meleis, 20%cainis
gugukrez
post Jul 2 2015, 11:33 AM

943 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 2 2015, 11:18 AM)

remember that.. fnb staff turnover is high...
gugukrez
post Jul 2 2015, 11:36 AM

943 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 2 2015, 11:28 AM)
so it will be ok if the owner is chinese, and involve directly to the operation behind it?

not compulsory must be 80% meleiss.. and now days hardly can employ local staff.. as most of the corporate is taking nepal/bangla/myammar instead of local.. due to turn over is high and foreigner is cheaper + less problem + they work for 12 hours..
TSCloud2322
post Jul 2 2015, 11:36 AM

Bob Marley
517 posts

According to my observation.. is 99% malay.. only boss is cina
SUScute_miao
post Jul 2 2015, 11:37 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 2 2015, 11:36 AM)
According to my observation.. is 99% malay.. only boss is cina
aduihai

bangla = muslim.

99% bangla (educated ones, not construction bangla)

1% handsome boss~!
SUScute_miao
post Jul 2 2015, 11:38 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(gugukrez @ Jul 2 2015, 11:36 AM)
not compulsory must be 80% meleiss.. and now days hardly can employ local staff.. as most of the corporate is taking nepal/bangla/myammar instead of local.. due to turn over is high and foreigner is cheaper + less problem + they work for 12 hours..
agree//bangla easeiest and cheapest in the market

they accept pay rm500 to 800/month

indon min rm900, tht also need to see their face n gv them holiday 1 day

nepal = good looking, but a wood. wont move till u instruct

myammar = moderate salary, and willingly to work

Hun Eung
post Jul 2 2015, 11:39 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 2 2015, 11:25 AM)
What you do is to hire all Malay friends to work. There's  a few chinese operate restaurant but all employee is Malay is doing very well.

If you intend to grow big and build a brand, certified Halal is very important. It's not easy, even for a native Muslim. Halal is not only about no pork, no liquor. There's a lot of factor to be accounted for such as preparation of food, slaughtering of livestock, etc. I am not a Muslim, I can't say much. It's just from my line of work that I came across such matter few times.

Percentage of workers' faith in the kitchen is not that important as long as you have 2 or 3 workers that are directly involved in preparation of food in the kitchen is sufficient already.

Let me give you some idea on how some operate theirs, they employed Chinese Muslims (nationality of China). Cheap salary if you put their skill as a measurement and hardworking.
SUScute_miao
post Jul 2 2015, 11:45 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Hun Eung @ Jul 2 2015, 11:39 AM)
If you intend to grow big and build a brand, certified Halal is very important. It's not easy, even for a native Muslim. Halal is not only about no pork, no liquor. There's a lot of factor to be accounted for such as preparation of food, slaughtering of livestock, etc. I am not a Muslim, I can't say much. It's just from my line of work that I came across such matter few times.

Percentage of workers' faith in the kitchen is not that important as long as you have 2 or 3 workers that are directly involved in preparation of food in the kitchen is sufficient already.

Let me give you some idea on how some operate theirs, they employed Chinese Muslims (nationality of China). Cheap salary if you put their skill as a measurement and hardworking.
aduiz...sakit kepala..

feel dowan to work anymore n run own biz
TSCloud2322
post Jul 2 2015, 11:48 AM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 2 2015, 11:37 AM)
aduihai
bangla = muslim.

99% bangla (educated ones, not construction bangla)

1% handsome boss~!
I prefer Nepalese and Indon.. bangla is so stubborn.. always repeat their stupid mistake.

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 2 2015, 11:38 AM)
agree//bangla easeiest and cheapest in the market

they accept pay rm500 to 800/month

indon min rm900, tht also need to see their face n gv them holiday 1 day

nepal = good looking, but a wood. wont move till u instruct

myammar = moderate salary, and willingly to work
Actually all same same need to see their face also.. so pandai2 sikit when you become boss.
actually nepalese and myanmmar is good.
but if you want business hire local. Salary is around 1.1k-1.3k include meals. It cost a little bit more, but your customer will be more satisfying.
i have no confident to walk into restaurant full of foreign workers.

QUOTE(Hun Eung @ Jul 2 2015, 11:39 AM)

Malaysian have the stereotyping concept. They see Chinese only, they think its not halal already.
Anyway, we do not have the logo but we can get supplier who has the logo. In the end its still halal.
For steamboat restaurant you do not need a fixed chef there.. anyone can boil their own soup.

klthor
post Jul 2 2015, 11:50 AM

5,469 posts

sorry to say, but i see alot of ppl start business with capital but less time to mange fail big time.... unless u get very good manger for it, and u monitor the manger very well and have sufficient exp to guide and set direction... i have seen fail business becoz my relatives didnt put time on it... list that i can remember....
steamboat
bar
minimarket
beverage manufacturer
travel agent
health and beauty shop
japanese restaurant
coffee shop

please prepare ur time for it else just get franchised
TSCloud2322
post Jul 2 2015, 11:59 AM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Jul 2 2015, 11:50 AM)
sorry to say, but i see alot of ppl start business with capital but less time to mange fail big time.... unless u get very good manger for it, and u monitor the manger very well and have sufficient exp to guide and set direction... i have seen fail business becoz my relatives didnt put time on it... list that  i can remember....
steamboat
bar
minimarket
beverage manufacturer
travel agent
health and beauty shop
japanese restaurant
coffee shop

that's why I said if you ever open a business be prepared for 365 days busy and chained.
unless youre so lucky and meet someone who can run the business for you. Give them shares for their hardwork so you can seat at home and shake your leg.
Hun Eung
post Jul 2 2015, 12:17 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 2 2015, 11:45 AM)
aduiz...sakit kepala..
feel dowan to work anymore n run own biz
From your signature, you seem to be in business?

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 2 2015, 11:48 AM)
I prefer Nepalese and Indon.. bangla is so stubborn.. always repeat their stupid mistake.
Actually all same same need to see their face also.. so pandai2 sikit when you become boss.
actually nepalese and myanmmar is good.

but if you want business hire local. Salary is around 1.1k-1.3k include meals. It cost a little bit more, but your customer will be more satisfying.
i have no confident to walk into restaurant full of foreign workers.

Malaysian have the stereotyping concept. They see Chinese only, they think its not halal already.
Anyway, we do not have the logo but we can get supplier who has the logo. In the end its still halal.
For steamboat restaurant you do not need a fixed chef there.. anyone can boil their own soup.
Burmese have a lot of issues. Not suitable for restaurants that cater for upmarket. Locals are unpredictable and in food business, unpredictable is totally not acceptable. you can't risk having no-show for some days. You hire local to be your front/sales (Manager, order-taking waiters) and foreigners as your operation.

Trust me, your assumption is wrong on the stereotyping issue. Maybe right for a very small pie of consumers' mindset but not the majority. I have very accurate data on such matter from my line of work.

QUOTE(klthor @ Jul 2 2015, 11:50 AM)
sorry to say, but i see alot of ppl start business with capital but less time to mange fail big time.... unless u get very good manger for it, and u monitor the manger very well and have sufficient exp to guide and set direction... i have seen fail business becoz my relatives didnt put time on it... list that  i can remember....
steamboat
bar
minimarket
beverage manufacturer
travel agent
health and beauty shop
japanese restaurant
coffee shop

Franchise is not fail-proof. Have you notice some Pappa Rich, Nelson and Old Town outlets closed down due to loss? Manager is not the key to a successful food business. It's the whole team. It's how you as their employer, train them, make them committed to what's been taught and perform it with smiles. Look at the difference between McD and KFC. Even if KFC makes a matching menu, price and quality, McD will still retain their market share.

This post has been edited by Hun Eung: Jul 2 2015, 12:30 PM
klthor
post Jul 2 2015, 12:25 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 2 2015, 11:59 AM)
that's why I said if you ever open a business be prepared for 365 days busy and chained.
unless youre so lucky and meet someone who can run the business for you. Give them shares for their hardwork so you can seat at home and shake your leg.
yep, but my relatives always think to spin off from their main business and invest this invest tat and ended tutup shop this tutup shop tat... do a feasibility study and then go ahead with plans but remember to pour in effort and time... but frankly speaking, in current era cyber cafe doesnt seem worth to invest in... 1st of all, i guess 80% household owns a computer/laptop, and then computer is slowly being phase off by tablet and smart phone... 3rdly , data and internet plan are getting cheaper compare during cyber cafe boom which is 2000 + - if u ask me, i rather invest in a mamak stall than a cyber cafe nowadays.

what is the purpose of cyber nowadays other than gamble?

LAN game? most of the big games out there stop providing LAN function, dota2, sc2, etc...
online game? phase off by mobile game and online game requires lots of grinding... i dun think ppl wanna go cyber to play it nowadays
movie? license problem and torrent at home
surfnet? tablet mobile phone can do it

but its just my own opinion, like other ppl said.... alot of cc closing down selling off assets. maybe foreigne labour might love to visit cyber cafe for youtube... thats the only thing i can say workable... student also seldom go ed since most of them owns a laptop of their own.
klthor
post Jul 2 2015, 12:30 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(Hun Eung @ Jul 2 2015, 12:17 PM)
From your signature, you seem to be in pet business?
Burmese have a lot of issues. Not suitable for restaurants that cater for upmarket. Locals are unpredictable and in food business, unpredictable is totally not acceptable. you can't risk having no-show for some days. You hire local to be your front/sales (Manager, order-taking waiters) and foreigners as your operation.

Trust me, your assumption is wrong on the stereotyping issue. Maybe right for a very small pie of consumers' mindset but not the majority. I have very accurate data on such matter from my line of work.
Franchise is not fail-proof. Have you notice some Pappa Rich, Nelson and Old Town outlets closed down due to loss? Manager is not the key to a successful food business. It's the whole team. It's how you as their employer, train them, make them committed to what's been taught and perform it with smiles. Look at the difference between McD and KFC. Even if KFC makes a matching menu, price and quality, McD will still retain their market share.
franchise is a weird thing to me, yes its not fail proof but the time you required to stay there is minimum since the client based are there you just need to maintain... you dun have to build relation with customer. and for KFC, i never understand their strategy.... 1 street u can have 2 KFC next to each other... example, wangsa maju carefour 1 KFC and next to carefour theres a shared building of KFC and pizza...

This post has been edited by klthor: Jul 2 2015, 12:31 PM
TSCloud2322
post Jul 2 2015, 03:19 PM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Jul 2 2015, 12:25 PM)
yep, but my relatives always think to spin off from their main business and invest this invest tat and ended tutup shop this tutup shop tat... do a feasibility study and then go ahead with plans but remember to pour in effort and time... but frankly speaking, in current era cyber cafe doesnt seem worth to invest in... 1st of all, i guess 80% household owns a computer/laptop, and then computer is slowly being phase off by tablet and smart phone... 3rdly , data and internet plan are getting cheaper compare during cyber cafe boom which is 2000 + -  if u ask me, i rather invest in a mamak stall than a cyber cafe nowadays.

what is the purpose of cyber nowadays other than gamble?

LAN game? most of the big games out there stop providing LAN function, dota2, sc2, etc...
online game? phase off by mobile game and online game requires lots of grinding... i dun think ppl wanna go cyber to play it nowadays
movie? license problem and torrent at home
surfnet? tablet mobile phone can do it

but its just my own opinion, like other ppl said.... alot of cc closing down selling off assets. maybe foreigne labour might love to visit cyber cafe for youtube... thats the only thing i can say workable... student also seldom go ed since most of them owns a laptop of their own.
Nowadays CyberCafe is like a niche industry. It depend on which location are you setting your shop. Demographics is very important, I know people who open CyberCafe that's why I'm thinking of opening one.
The cybercafe is certain places is 60% occupied at most of the time. But the only worries I have is the ROI only.. 2 years seems slow for me.. But as for CC we are counting at the rate if 60% cause we still have the assets left.

About the other part of the stereotyping one. From the current trend I see is cafe, the market never stops and it keeps growing altho it's been years already. Furthermore because of the market competitiveness we get even more unique cafes and different type of food. To invest in that kind of business, my capital have to be 1mil and above.. Especially employee training part is very important. Like what you mentioned about KFC and McD.

I wonder what's the current rate of restaurants full-time/part-timers is earning right now..?
foohoa
post Jul 2 2015, 03:22 PM

981 posts

previous cc owner here, this is sunset business, not worth to invest on it
the illegal one is much better than the legal one, at least profitable and u only need to face the boss and police those

but if legal one, u need face so dayum many licensing problem and those kastam, kpdnkk, police apa saja u can name keep come kacau you, those so called licensing company also come kacau you
TSCloud2322
post Jul 2 2015, 03:31 PM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(foohoa @ Jul 2 2015, 03:22 PM)
previous cc owner here, this is sunset business, not worth to invest on it
the illegal one is much better than the legal one, at least profitable and u only need to face the boss and police those

but if legal one, u need face so dayum many licensing problem and those kastam, kpdnkk, police apa saja u can name keep come kacau you, those so called licensing company also come kacau you
LOL.. your signature is funny..
Looks like I should be investing the $$ elsewhere already. You know any dailou? I want to open illegal one already LOL
puchongite
post Jul 2 2015, 03:40 PM

33,736 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 2 2015, 03:31 PM)
LOL.. your signature is funny..
Looks like I should be investing the $$ elsewhere already. You know any dailou? I want to open illegal one already LOL
If run legal cc business, likely cannot make money.

Please start another thread about how to start a franchise business for 500k capital. Preferably no need involvement, just take out money type.

LOL.
TSCloud2322
post Jul 2 2015, 03:50 PM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 2 2015, 03:40 PM)
If run legal cc business, likely cannot make money.

Please start another thread about how to start a franchise business for 500k capital. Preferably no need involvement, just take out money type.

LOL.
Franchise business 500k.. ada kah?
I wish so too.. 500k == no need involvement just take out money
puchongite
post Jul 2 2015, 03:54 PM

33,736 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 2 2015, 03:50 PM)
So it does not exist ? cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

How about polling 2 or 3 people together and up the capital to 1 mil ? blush.gif
puchongite
post Jul 2 2015, 03:54 PM

33,736 posts

So it does not exist ? cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

How about polling 2 or 3 people together and up the capital to 1 mil ? blush.gif
confuseinlife
post Jul 2 2015, 05:15 PM

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 1 2015, 10:23 PM)
Oh really ? Name me a few. I am interested.

But don't ask me to run it. Only want to take out capital, invest and make money. No time to handle operation and staffing issues.
u better keep it in your bank, the way you investing blush.gif i guess stock market the only way to not handle LOL
confuseinlife
post Jul 2 2015, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 2 2015, 03:54 PM)
So it does not exist ?  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

How about polling 2 or 3 people together and up the capital to 1 mil ?  blush.gif
paparich slightly higher than that, call them and ask?
SUScute_miao
post Jul 2 2015, 06:31 PM

1,438 posts

Invest bajet hotel
nexona88
post Jul 2 2015, 06:55 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,589 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 2 2015, 06:31 PM)
Invest bajet hotel
too many competition nowadays unless u offer something "special " icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by nexona88: Jul 2 2015, 06:55 PM
SUScute_miao
post Jul 2 2015, 09:07 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 2 2015, 06:55 PM)
too many competition nowadays unless u offer something "special " icon_idea.gif
Yes....gt the connection with THEM.

Reserve 1 level for them for aquarium viewing
suadrif
post Jul 2 2015, 11:43 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

1. get a small shop nearby college area
2. rent a photocopy machine
3. employ at least 3 student to work as part time. make sure they got shift and backup each other.
4. ask them to start photocopying!

p/s: your rate must be competitive. if not competitive, then u need to open 4-5 branches in nearby area for monopoly tongue.gif

tried and proven
Sunny zombie
post Jul 3 2015, 12:22 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jul 2 2015, 09:07 AM)
Yup, that's right, then ask your children to study doctor and open a clinic beside it. Sure make more money thumbup.gif
before that,i also have to come out with the money to allowed him pursuit DOCTOR
Sunny zombie
post Jul 3 2015, 12:24 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 2 2015, 11:43 PM)
3. employ at least 3 student to work as part time. make sure they got shift and backup each other.

p/s: your rate must be competitive. if not competitive, then u need to open 4-5 branches in nearby area for monopoly tongue.gif

tried and proven
capital involved and how long it took to make profit??
SUSsupersound
post Jul 3 2015, 01:56 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Sunny zombie @ Jul 3 2015, 12:22 AM)
before that,i also have to come out with the money to allowed him pursuit DOCTOR
Open the junk food restaurant already, sure have money laugh.gif
suadrif
post Jul 3 2015, 05:42 AM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(Sunny zombie @ Jul 3 2015, 12:24 AM)
capital involved and how long it  took to make profit??
Capital is not even reach 100k
Might go to lower than 50k depend on how much resource u want and location for shop rental
Profit can gain but little bit slower
It boost your profit based on volume
Agent 45
post Jul 3 2015, 08:35 AM

934 posts

I plan to start a budget hotel, calculated budget need around 500k, but problem is 500k is not easy to get, somemore I read that getting loan is quite difficult.
puchongite
post Jul 3 2015, 09:21 AM

33,736 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Jul 3 2015, 08:35 AM)
I plan to start a budget hotel, calculated budget need around 500k, but problem is 500k is not easy to get, somemore I read that getting loan is quite difficult.
500k can invest and operate a budget hotel ? Must be outside Klang Valley I supposed.

Renovation Cost = ????

Shop lot rental = ????

Staffing = ????
nexona88
post Jul 3 2015, 11:03 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,589 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 2 2015, 11:43 PM)

tried and proven
I assume you're doing tis tongue.gif rclxms.gif
suadrif
post Jul 3 2015, 11:13 AM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 3 2015, 11:03 AM)
I assume you're doing tis  tongue.gif  rclxms.gif
Nope
I've done this as a sharepartner only
Its profitability kinda good but little bit boring
Thats why need to get part timer to do it

nexona88
post Jul 3 2015, 11:24 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,589 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 3 2015, 11:13 AM)
Nope
I've done this as a sharepartner only
Its profitability kinda good but little bit boring
Thats why need to get part timer to do it
oh okay I see smile.gif
troller2
post Jul 3 2015, 12:06 PM

170 posts

If you were to invest in a cyber cafe (a real cyber cafe, not gambling), I think it is better for you to put your money into public mutual, better return probably.

Another thing is you can try a Chatime franchise. I am not sure where you are living, but find an area around colleges, offices where there's no Chatime yet.

This post has been edited by troller2: Jul 3 2015, 12:07 PM
TSCloud2322
post Jul 3 2015, 03:17 PM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(troller2 @ Jul 3 2015, 12:06 PM)

If you were to invest in a cyber cafe (a real cyber cafe, not gambling), I think it is better for you to put your money into public mutual, better return probably.

Another thing is you can try a Chatime franchise. I am not sure where you are living, but find an area around colleges, offices where there's no Chatime yet.

Chatime franchise 1million.
Whats the return of public mutual?
can i get at least 60% return in 2years?
troller2
post Jul 3 2015, 03:49 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 3 2015, 03:17 PM)
Chatime franchise 1million.
Whats the return of public mutual?
can i get at least 60% return in 2years?
The last I checked for Public Mutual, the highest return, was a little higher than 20% annually. But that is aggressive. That was 2014/13.
So, with 20% compounded, you will get around 44% in 2 years.

72% in 3 years

100% in 4 years

148% in 5 years. etc.

Agent 45
post Jul 3 2015, 10:03 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 3 2015, 09:21 AM)
500k can invest and operate a budget hotel ? Must be outside Klang Valley I supposed.

Renovation Cost = ????

Shop lot rental = ????

Staffing = ????
plan to do it in penang, using container. my initial plan was to use concrete pipe like those in langkawi and sg lembing. but then i think it is not so convenient especially for female, since bathroom cant be fitted in and the space is not well utilized because of its shape. if i put in a bathroom, space will be very limited. i crack my head for months, but then decided to go with container.
Hun Eung
post Jul 3 2015, 10:12 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(troller2 @ Jul 3 2015, 03:49 PM)
The last I checked for Public Mutual, the highest return, was a little higher than 20% annually. But that is aggressive. That was 2014/13.
So, with 20% compounded, you will get around 44% in 2 years.

72% in 3 years

100% in 4 years

148% in 5 years. etc.
Unit trust 100% in 4 years? Is it unit trust we are talking?
nexona88
post Jul 3 2015, 10:15 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,589 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Jul 3 2015, 10:03 PM)
plan to do it in penang, using container. my initial plan was to use concrete pipe like those in langkawi and sg lembing. but then i think it is not so convenient especially for female, since bathroom cant be fitted in and the space is not well utilized because of its shape. if i put in a bathroom, space will be very limited. i crack my head for months, but then decided to go with container.
I think penang already have some container hotel nod.gif u should visit them & see if got demand or not 1st icon_rolleyes.gif
Hun Eung
post Jul 3 2015, 10:16 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Jul 3 2015, 10:03 PM)
Containers are not cheap. Can't we put 3 concrete pipe together? The left unit and the right unit serve as room while the middle unit was divided into 2 en-suite bathrooms?

Keep me updated, if you are going for it.
Agent 45
post Jul 3 2015, 10:22 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 3 2015, 10:15 PM)
I think penang already have some container hotel  nod.gif  u should visit them & see if got demand or not 1st  icon_rolleyes.gif
not sure about this, haha, as far as i know, i havent seen any in penang. will go and have a look smile.gif
Agent 45
post Jul 3 2015, 10:34 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(Hun Eung @ Jul 3 2015, 10:16 PM)
Containers are not cheap. Can't we put 3 concrete pipe together? The left unit and the right unit serve as room while the middle unit was divided into 2 en-suite bathrooms?

Keep me updated, if you are going for it.
i plan to use 3m container for standard room which is around 3k/unit. i think not possible, when u put 2 concrete pipe together, only a small portion will be touching each other, even if u hack it off, they cant join together because of the circular surface, and need to cover up with partition. also, need to consider for headroom issues as well.
Sunny zombie
post Jul 3 2015, 10:43 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Jul 3 2015, 10:34 PM)
i plan to use 3m container for standard room which is around 3k/unit. i think not possible, when u put 2 concrete pipe together, only a small portion will be touching each other, even if u hack it off, they cant join together because of the circular surface, and need to cover up with partition. also, need to consider for headroom issues as well.
can do within TS budget 500K?
Agent 45
post Jul 3 2015, 10:49 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(Sunny zombie @ Jul 3 2015, 10:43 PM)
can do within TS budget 500K?
my calculation is around that figure.
darylding2000
post Jul 3 2015, 11:03 PM

25 posts

Easy to get license for budget hotel or boutique hotel???
troller2
post Jul 4 2015, 02:02 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(Hun Eung @ Jul 3 2015, 10:12 PM)
Unit trust 100% in 4 years? Is it unit trust we are talking?
Mutual Fund.
Sunny zombie
post Jul 4 2015, 02:11 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(troller2 @ Jul 4 2015, 02:02 AM)
Mutual Fund.
which fund bro!
nexona88
post Jul 4 2015, 05:24 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,589 posts

QUOTE(10996455 @ Jul 4 2015, 02:19 PM)
His id name troller u still don't get a hint meh ??
+1 laugh.gif
SUScute_miao
post Jul 5 2015, 11:39 AM

1,438 posts

Invest in share
puchongite
post Jul 5 2015, 12:22 PM

33,736 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 5 2015, 11:39 AM)
Invest in share
Most people are aware of investment in share market or unit trust.

There are threads for them already.

For discussion purposes, maybe let's just assume that people already have x% of his money in share market or unit trust.

For diversification, people want to invest y% of his money in real physical business activities.

The y% might be RM 500k or so.

So how ? blink.gif

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jul 5 2015, 12:22 PM
troller2
post Jul 6 2015, 09:10 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Sunny zombie @ Jul 4 2015, 02:11 PM)
which fund bro!
Public mutual, CIMb, Kenanga (the best performing).

My ID is 'troller', but I only troll in Kopitiam.
haziqnet
post Jul 7 2015, 12:53 PM

1,305 posts

cyber cafe is not a profitable business anymore...u should open a service shop like printing, laminating and so on...this day services business is the most profitable...i already open cybercafe for 6 years now, and within this 2 years the business profit down more than 80%...if u want to open cyber cafe make sure u also do services and not 100% cyber cafe...
prozac88
post Jul 7 2015, 01:47 PM

186 posts

Cybercafe not profitable... lol... Exited it 6 years ago..
eternity4life
post Jul 9 2015, 02:29 PM

113 posts

With 500k I'll just go offshore investments. I'd prefer my money not to be in Malaysia under the current financial times.

Or maybe go with private equities or hedge funds available. Some wholesale funds also not so bad.

0.0311sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:11 AM