Honda City 1.5 iDSI Jerks, When Shifting Up From Low Gears

TSYa Rerd
post Jun 28 2015, 10:56 PM, updated 11y ago

Banzai!
772 posts

Hi guys,

Hope you can help me out here with my problem with my Honda City iDSI.

Whenever I drive, usually when my car's shifting from low gears (1/2) during a standstill or after I've slowdown considerably, to higher gears into cruising speeds . It's not multiple jerks by just one strong like when your car suddenly went into gear, a slight pull back then launch forward.

Any ideas what could be the problem? I haven't sent to Honda for them to check
Volfeed
post Jun 29 2015, 02:11 AM

396 posts

Had the same issue and solved by replacing one of the aged coil plug. You can ask Honda to check that.
TSYa Rerd
post Jun 29 2015, 01:43 PM

Banzai!
772 posts

QUOTE(LittleBear @ Jun 28 2015, 10:58 PM)
mileage of your car?
it's more than 250K

QUOTE(Volfeed @ Jun 29 2015, 02:11 AM)
Had the same issue and solved by replacing one of the aged coil plug. You can ask Honda to check that.
how much is that coil plug cost? and you said one of, how many there is to change? if i'm suey then i may have to change more than one! cry.gif
Volfeed
post Jun 29 2015, 01:45 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(Ya Rerd @ Jun 29 2015, 01:43 PM)
it's more than 250K
how much is that coil plug cost? and you said one of, how many there is to change? if i'm suey then i may have to change more than one!  cry.gif
Let Honda check all. You can only replace the necessary one.

Price for your reference:

http://www.mudah.my/Honda+City+Jazz+Plug+C...al-21396649.htm

http://www.mudah.my/City+Jazz+Ignition+Plu...da-26535696.htm

This post has been edited by Volfeed: Jun 29 2015, 01:46 PM
Kirie
post Jun 29 2015, 01:54 PM

Change plug coil..Rm160 per piece
WA300
post Jun 29 2015, 04:01 PM

440 posts

Just let SC check your car, it might be due to the plug. Last time mine vtec city(CVT type) also the same.

heavenly91
post Jun 29 2015, 06:18 PM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

QUOTE(Ya Rerd @ Jun 29 2015, 01:43 PM)
it's more than 250K
how much is that coil plug cost? and you said one of, how many there is to change? if i'm suey then i may have to change more than one!  cry.gif
V12Kompressor
post Jun 29 2015, 10:06 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Jun 29 2015, 06:18 PM)
if I am not mistaken, iDSi has 8 plug coils... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

4 front, 4 rear. mellow.gif
heavenly91
post Jun 29 2015, 10:28 PM

1,717 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Jun 29 2015, 10:06 PM)
if I am not mistaken, iDSi has 8 plug coils... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

4 front, 4 rear. mellow.gif
So many?
Gg.com
V12Kompressor
post Jun 29 2015, 10:32 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Jun 29 2015, 10:28 PM)
So many?
Gg.com
yup. got 8 spark plugs to begin with. Even the fusebox got 2 fuses, one for each bank of ignition coil.
Kirie
post Jun 29 2015, 10:35 PM

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Jun 29 2015, 06:18 PM)
This is plug cable..not plug coil..your city is distributorless type

electron
post Jun 30 2015, 08:23 AM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Jun 29 2015, 10:28 PM)
So many?
Gg.com
may not need to change all at one go
replace the faulty ones
TSYa Rerd
post Jun 30 2015, 10:57 AM

Banzai!
772 posts

i'll head to an SC this week to get it checked out. i'm worried it may cause more damage if i just ignore it
heavenly91
post Jun 30 2015, 11:40 AM

1,717 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Jun 30 2015, 08:23 AM)
may not need to change all at one go
replace the faulty ones
Since one already fail
Sooner or later the rest will fail as well
Might as well change all at one go
This is what we call preventive maintenance
wyshin88
post Jun 30 2015, 02:57 PM

105 posts

I had the same problem with my wife's Honda City IDSI year 2005. Went to the local mechanics and he confirmed it was spark plug coil's faulty but IDSI has 8 of them and he can't check which one fails, the cost is RM160 each, total cost will be RM2K plus, the local mechanics didn't want to change for me fearing if the new spark plug coil is faulty, he can't bear the cost and give me warranty on it. He suggested me to go back to Honda SC.

I was lazy and bear with the jerking for about 6 months, and finally during this year CNY, went to HZN Honda Service Centre in Glenmarrie, left the car there and the free shuttle service sent me to Empire Subang in the morning instead of me waiting there. In the afternoon, the free shuttle service came and pick me back up and I waited in the SC for a while more, and finally they have found out that the spark plugs that I have replaced last time is Denso brand and Honda is using NGK (if I remember correctly, or could be the other way round). Anyway, they went ahead and change all spark plugs and the cost was about RM130+ and come with a free car wash, and free unlimited milo and nescafe.

IT solved the problem, till now there is no more jerking.

Honda SC said they follow the procedure, change the spark plugs first, since it is not according to their specs, if that fail, they will change the next thing and so on.
SUSstinky
post Feb 1 2016, 04:31 PM

1,436 posts

QUOTE(wyshin88 @ Jun 30 2015, 02:57 PM)
I had the same problem with my wife's Honda City IDSI year 2005. Went to the local mechanics and he confirmed it was spark plug coil's faulty but IDSI has 8 of them and he can't check which one fails, the cost is RM160 each, total cost will be RM2K plus, the local mechanics didn't want to change for me fearing if the new spark plug coil is faulty, he can't bear the cost and give me warranty on it. He suggested me to go back to Honda SC.

I was lazy and bear with the jerking for about 6 months, and finally during this year CNY, went to HZN Honda Service Centre in Glenmarrie, left the car there and the free shuttle service sent me to Empire Subang in the morning instead of me waiting there. In the afternoon, the free shuttle service came and pick me back up and I waited in the SC for a while more, and finally they have found out that the spark plugs that I have replaced last time is Denso brand and Honda is using NGK (if I remember correctly, or could be the other way round). Anyway, they went ahead and change all spark plugs and the cost was about RM130+ and come with a free car wash, and free unlimited milo and nescafe.

IT solved the problem, till now there is no more jerking.

Honda SC said they follow the procedure, change the spark plugs first, since it is not according to their specs, if that fail, they will change the next thing and so on.
My car same problem with TS.
Wanna balik kampng for CNY this week....

wanna ask, so after changing the spark plug no more issue? No need to change the coil plug?

This post has been edited by stinky: Feb 1 2016, 04:31 PM
pikkidok
post May 30 2017, 01:16 AM

102 posts

I sold my city because it became jerky. Bcos of spark plugs or bcos of CVT? It was like "jumping" between gear ratios. The SC told me it is CVT and it cost rm20k to replace. So i had to get rid of it while the problem was still minor
therain01
post May 30 2017, 01:54 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(pikkidok @ May 30 2017, 01:16 AM)
I sold my city because it became jerky. Bcos of spark plugs or bcos of CVT? It was like "jumping" between gear ratios. The SC told me it is CVT and it cost rm20k to replace. So i had to get rid of it while the problem was still minor
I feel you. I have the car sold after the car was just out of 3 years warranty. Honda Malaysia denied my nearly rm30k warranty claim because the CVT faulty issue was not obvious when the car was under warranty.

This post has been edited by therain01: May 30 2017, 01:55 AM
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post May 30 2017, 09:26 AM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

QUOTE(pikkidok @ May 30 2017, 01:16 AM)
Which year and model is your City? IDSI or VTEC 7 speed CVT version?
pikkidok
post May 30 2017, 05:53 PM

102 posts

My car was 2007 model idsi.
Entirely serviced at Honda Malaysia.
And i am not those people who play with the gear one
I read an article saying that the city/jazz cvt doesnt have a torque converter unlike the ones found in Nissan and toyota. It seems they have changed the design and put in a torque converter into the cvt now.

Anyway, honda idsi was a super fuel efficient and practical car. Such a pity the cvt was not reliable.

0.0226sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:25 PM