Income Tax Issues v4, Scope: e-BE and eB only

mini orchard
post Jul 14 2021, 06:27 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Jul 14 2021, 04:23 PM)
I have the same question about this, can anyone confirm? Tried to check online and found this..

"In June last year, the additional special tax relief was introduced for YA2020 as part of the government’s efforts to boost work from home arrangements due to the Covid-19 pandemic. It was then announced this year that the special tax relief would be extended to 31 December 2021. However, it is not entirely certain yet whether those who claimed the relief for YA2020 would also be able to claim it for YA2021; it is likely that LHDN will provide further clarification on this next year."

https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/income-tax/...for-ya2020.html
If LHDN is silent on the restriction, in my opinion is claimable.
mini orchard
post Aug 26 2021, 07:29 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(mr11 @ Aug 26 2021, 06:33 PM)
Hi sifu , I did my tax payment for BE form via IBG. Where can I get the tax receipt from LDHN website ? I can't found the navigation . Kindly advice , Thank you
I am not sure there is a link for receipts because I normally get a receipt immediate upon payment ...... you have to pay through their portal. Is the same for other bill payments.

mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 10:13 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(zfc @ Oct 30 2021, 09:46 AM)
I have a question regarding income tax for rental income. If the house is under my name, can I put my family member's name in the rental agreement, so that I do not need to pay tax for rental income? My family member will declare the rental income and pay the tax.
Legally, one CANNOT let out a property in his name when he is NOT a registered owner. Simply put it ...under contract law, a person entering into any contract must have the right to enter into a contract.
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 11:32 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(zfc @ Oct 30 2021, 10:47 AM)
What if I write another letter or agreement which mention that I pass the right of the property to my family member?
Your rights can ONLY be transferred to another through the change of name in the title.

Other than the above, you can authorise the person to deal and sign on your behalf but your name must be stated in the TA as the legal owner of the property, otherwise is consider fraud.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 30 2021, 11:42 AM
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 11:39 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 30 2021, 11:35 AM)
who need to declare tax? who kena tax? A or B?
The legal owner have to declare and pay tax.

Your salary, you pay tax. You cant ask another person to declare your salary as income tax.

Once transferred, the new owner will declare the tax.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 30 2021, 11:40 AM
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 11:46 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 30 2021, 11:43 AM)
so that means ZFC scenario as in post 7723 with condition as in post 7725,...he will need to declare that rental income?
If you are the registered owner, you pay tax. Any other way is not legal other than change of name in the title.

If is joint names (2) then is 50:50 declaration or any other combination.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 30 2021, 11:48 AM
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 12:11 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 30 2021, 11:57 AM)
i thought you mentioned "Simply put it ...under contract law, a person entering into any contract must have the right to enter into a contract."
post 7725, asked, what if "that right" are transfered to another person?
or you also mean "RIGHT" cannot be transfered..
Rights and authorised are two different thing.

Rights is something legally acquired.

Authorised is something given with permission. In the event anything happen, the legal person is also responsibile unless the authorised person acted beyond his authority given.....Principal and Agent relationship.

Legally speaking, if the house is in 2 names, then the TA should be in 2 names.

Lhdn dont care whether TA is 1 or 2 names but declare must be 2 names to follow title.
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 02:10 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 30 2021, 12:17 PM)
the owner is A,
B rent from Owner A (sign TA A & B)

can B rent out to C (sign TA B & C)?
Yes, subject to A's approval.....is termed sublet.

In post 7725, if owner wants to transfer, then a change of name in the title is required.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 30 2021, 02:15 PM
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 02:12 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Oct 30 2021, 02:05 PM)
Does anyone know if the additional lifestyle income tax relief (RM2500) is applicable for one time claim between June 2020 - Dec 2022?

Or is it 3 times for June 2020-Dec2020 + Jan 2021-Dec2021 + Jan2022-Dec2022?

Reason for this question is because the announcement is talking about “extension”, instead of yearly tax relief so I’m a little confused.
3 times .... once for each year of assessment
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 02:22 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 30 2021, 02:14 PM)
so LHDN will see the reported rental returns of B only as the TA is signed between B & C.....and nothing to do with the actual owner A?
B cannot declare rental income because he is not the owner.

He can deduct the sublet rental from his rental paid to A, so his nett rental is less . In his tax returns he can declare as 'other income' and NOT rental income, if he wants declare it.

In business, co will declare if paid to co but seldom for individual in sublet cases.
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 02:31 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 30 2021, 02:27 PM)

A sublet TA is different from the main TA. In the sublet TA, the legal owner name must be mentioned, other wise is fraud.
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 02:45 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 30 2021, 02:41 PM)
yes, need mentioned A, but the TA is between B & C.....for sublet purposes,...
sublet is not considered as rental?
Why would B want to declare the income ? Is no benefit to him as he will be paying tax.

Many would like to avoid declaring if possible, just like the forumer asking the question.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 30 2021, 02:46 PM
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 02:46 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Oct 30 2021, 02:43 PM)
Meaning it’s 2.5k+2.5k for 3 times?
Yes, that is my understanding.
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 02:51 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 30 2021, 02:47 PM)
bcos, was thinking of
A is TS,...
A rent out to B for 100
B sublet to C for 1000

B is his relative that he mentioned he want to declare tax
A as the rental is just 100, may not be subjected to tax
Dont underestimate lhdn, otherwise many landlords would have done it.
mini orchard
post Oct 30 2021, 05:49 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 30 2021, 02:57 PM)
hmm.gif just wondering how many did not do that,
if there are so many "not able" to do things as posted by you...

:thumbsup:  notworthy.gif learnt alot of not able to do things today.
You dare to submit rental income declaration for 1200 pa when the market is about 12k as per your example ?
mini orchard
post Oct 31 2021, 05:58 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 31 2021, 01:19 AM)
for Lifestyle Tax Relief (ignore the additional relief for this year), if say I buy a phone that cost RM 800, a laptop that cost RM 600, and a tablet that cost RM 700, can I claim all of it under Lifestyle Tax relief?

been asking LHDN few times now but they didn't give me a clear answer
The total for each tax assessment year is limited to 2.5k and can comprised of items listed in the category and not limited to one of the similar item.
mini orchard
post Nov 3 2021, 02:31 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(klaw @ Nov 3 2021, 01:54 PM)
Actually I would like to know the same thing.
For YA2020, I have already claimed RM2500 from purchasing a tablet.

If I purchase a laptop this year (2021) and then a smartphone next year (2022), does that mean for YA2021 and YA2022, I can claim the RM2500 annually as well?

Or does the term "extend" here mean that if you didn't claim in YA2020 or YA2021, you can still claim the full RM2500 relief in YA2022?
But if you claimed already in YA2020, you won't be able to claim anymore since this is a "special" relief and it's a one time thing.

Sorry if I am overthinking this tongue.gif
The special relief is yearly.
mini orchard
post Nov 9 2021, 06:29 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(lulusantos @ Nov 8 2021, 02:01 PM)
Guys, for the lifestyle tax relief, can I declare my smart watch purchase under sports equipment?

P.s. Using the watch to track my exercise.
You can claim for everything in a self tax declaration as lhdn wont know until your file is audited.

You can make a comparison of tax payable before and after to find the difference. From there you decide.
mini orchard
post Nov 9 2021, 01:20 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 9 2021, 12:50 PM)
That's not very advisable...
Otherwise, appoint a tax agent.
mini orchard
post Nov 10 2021, 05:14 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(jayreekazin @ Nov 9 2021, 09:39 PM)
If i pay child care fees for jan & feb 2022, but payment made in this year. Can i claim tax relief for childcare for YA2021?
Yes .... as long you dont claim again for YA22.

For eg, for some telco Jan statement. Billing will be for part Dec and Jan. So either claim in YA21 or YA22. In the claim year, there should only be for 12 months.

Or request receipt dated in Jan 22 to claim in YA22.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 10 2021, 06:01 AM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2252sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:18 AM