Income Tax Issues v4, Scope: e-BE and eB only

lowjiunhorng
post Mar 6 2025, 06:05 PM

28 posts

I have a queries on tax filing calculation:

On my previous working with foreign company for period of 6 months, working location in Malaysia however my salary is paid in US dollar, monthly salary is remitted directly to RHB Bank multi currency account.

If I want to declare this income in Malaysia Ringgit, how should I do the currency exchange from USD to MYR ?
should I do conversion based on the Bank Negara exchange rate on every particular salary month or I can use current exchange rate ? ( fyi there is still unconverted USD in my multi currency account)
lowjiunhorng
post Mar 7 2025, 03:13 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(1mr3tard3d @ Mar 7 2025, 11:28 AM)
it's not if u want to, but ought to
when exercising employment in Malaysia, the employment income is derived from Malaysia, which is taxable regardless of the company status/salary currency (reference #6).
unless u screenshot the bank rate on the day u received salary, BNM rate on the date of receiving salary should be acceptable (when exchange USD to RM is irrelevant)
QUOTE(confusedway @ Mar 7 2025, 11:49 AM)
If you really worry than this may help... it from LHDN...

https://www.hasil.gov.my/en/international/f...-exchange-rate/
Thank you sifus !

0.1204sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:06 AM