QUOTE(mamamia @ Dec 6 2016, 06:40 PM)
Ur answer above is what my understanding too.. that's y I'm curious on why is the place of work determine whether the income is taxable or not.. resident status n non resident status is just to determine the income tax rate to be pay..
For the scenario I given is just exactly what my friend have.. he is engineer who is consider as "freelance", he can be unemployed for few months.. his work is from local recruitment agencies who recommend work to him at oversea. Some project is china co pay salary to him, some is through agency. My advice to him is his income is taxable since his contract is with local agency even his salary is pay by oversea co unless he can get the oversea co to issue a employment letter to him.
So, after i read the other sifus here mentioned is based on where the work performed, which is different with my understanding, that's y I try to ask further so that sifus here can advise..
I know. I am in this situation.
It's actually simple. Doesn't matter where your income is derived.
1. Most important is that taxes is paid.
2. If your employment requires you to stay in overseas more than the dates as mentioned by cherroy, you pay taxes according to that country regulations. If overseas less than that, pay in Msia.
3. Even if some countries already pre-taxed your income, you can show proof in Msia and at the end of the day the taxes will need to deduct the amount already deducted (double taxation treaty)
4. So at the end of the day, no.2 above applies. You still pay taxes either way.