Crimson 16.2.1 is causing my R9 390 not run at full GPU clock speed
Anyone having the same issue?
sHawTY
post Mar 5 2016, 08:12 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(area61 @ Mar 5 2016, 08:06 PM)
not having any issues with my r9 290  with 16.2. is the card throttling?
I didn't have any issues with 16.2 either
Only after upgrading to 16.2.1 the issue surfaces

No, it's not throttling
If it's throttling, the speed would go to the max before it goes down
But in my case, it doesn't go to the maximum clock speed at all

ASUS R9 390 Strix
Playing Need For Speed 2015
With 16.2 it runs perfectly fine at 1050MHz
But on 16.2.1, it runs only in between 650MHz ~ 800MHz

Will revert to 16.2 afterwards
Wanna have dinner first

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 5 2016, 08:12 PM
sHawTY
post Mar 5 2016, 10:39 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 5 2016, 10:00 PM)
Hmm.. i'm on 16.2 + Vulkan5 driver. Everything work like it should.
Didn't test 16.2.1 because i read it only add Primal CFX profile.
I'm back on 16.1 but still the same
It just won't go above 758MHz

I used DDU to uninstall 16.2.1 & then install 16.1
Damn 16.2.1, it screwed up everything mad.gif

By the way, what's Vulkan5?

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 5 2016, 10:39 PM
sHawTY
post Mar 6 2016, 03:50 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(meons @ Mar 5 2016, 08:05 PM)
on few game test yap spot about you mention...    batman arkham knight    3xx mhz ja sweat.gif
Manage to solve the issue with unconventional method
While in game, press ALT+TAB to go back to Windows then go back into the game
Then walah! I'm back at 1050MHz

Troublesome but at least the GPU is running at full speed

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 6 2016, 03:51 PM
sHawTY
post Mar 6 2016, 08:24 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 6 2016, 07:28 PM)
Maybe you can try installing  16.2 and then install 16.2.1 on top because i read 16.2.1 missing some registry information.
I'm already using 16.2 + Vulkan
sHawTY
post Mar 8 2016, 04:51 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(pjsplayez @ Mar 6 2016, 07:52 PM)
As u can see in my signature...im using acbel 650W 80 bronze psu....i know this psu is crap n not good. So if let say i change to seasonic with also 80+ bronze psu.....would it make the TnB bill go lower?
No, it won't lower your TNB bill
sHawTY
post Mar 15 2016, 01:37 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 15 2016, 01:36 PM)
290x2 successor
It's 295X2 bro biggrin.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 16 2016, 11:58 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Time to sell both of my 380X & 390
Getting ready for Pascal's launch
Nanti Pascal keluar, surely 380/380X/390/390X price drop like hell sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 16 2016, 01:21 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Mar 16 2016, 12:53 PM)
how much? I haz excess PCI-E slots brows.gif
Kennot say the price now lar, later so many people PM me
You know I sell stuff always cheap cheap

Hahahaha
QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 16 2016, 01:00 PM)
Pascal confirm April release?
Don't know, that's why I'm thinking of selling it now, before the release to avoid huge price drop from AMD sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 16 2016, 01:28 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Made a mistake, what I meant earlier was to sell both of my 380x & 390 before Polaris keluar
Pascal is Nvidia LOL doh.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 16 2016, 02:28 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Mar 16 2016, 01:49 PM)
sama je,
either launch will mean current gen price drop no matter what...  laugh.gif
Damn, that means I ahve to sell my cards even earlier

The sad thing is, I won't have any card to play games with if I sell both of em, had to wait a few months before the next gen came out
Not sure to upgrade to Pascal or just wait even longer for Polaris

Is Polaris going to use GDDR5X/HBM1/HBM2 or stay with GDDR5?

Baru je start playing Just Cause 3 sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 16 2016, 07:18 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 16 2016, 07:07 PM)
What if they release low-midrange card first that perform similar to your 390 but cost similar to a new 390? tongue.gif
You're trying to scare me ah?
Job well done. biggrin.gif

But seriously, I'm not afraid of the price, I'm just afraid they release low to mid range card first then only release high end card afterwards doh.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 17 2016, 10:22 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Mar 17 2016, 08:57 AM)
saw it...........like i did with my R9 290 TriX and CM HAF912  cry.gif
Wah, ini mmg jenis tak kisah pasal cable management ni
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 17 2016, 01:48 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Mar 17 2016, 01:09 PM)
dry.gif  cheaper than me ?  whistling.gif
Hahahaha
QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Mar 17 2016, 01:14 PM)
should i go for Radeon Duo PRO or wait Polaris...
I'm thinking the same, lama tu nak tunggu Polaris
Vega is even longger sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 18 2016, 11:06 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Mar 17 2016, 11:14 AM)
bukan tak kesah, tak dapat.......
the space on the side of the case is not as big as CM advertises it, so not enough space to shove all the cables there.
I'm also running 6 drives (4*HDD, 2*SSD) so almost all SATA power cables are used.
plus the casing is so......frigging small.....(only realised now) cry.gif cry.gif
QUOTE(Lurker @ Mar 17 2016, 04:48 PM)
Manage to find this on reddit

Sapphire r9 390 in a cm690ii
Tukar je casing, senang cite laugh.gif

I've long abandoned both of my CM 690 & CM 690 II for Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Huge room to work inside & plenty of places to hide those "cacings" thumbsup.gif

Enthoo Pro also okay, the only reason why I choose Luxe is because I'm using a thick 280MM radiator in push & pull setup installed on the top of the casing without hitting the motherboard
sHawTY
post Mar 18 2016, 02:37 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Mar 18 2016, 11:18 AM)
Double the price of cm690 bro!
Check the specs & review bro, 100% worth it thumbsup.gif
QUOTE(Gregyong @ Mar 18 2016, 02:13 PM)
selling? how much  drool.gif
Enthoo Luxe I tgh guna ma, kenot sell LOL

CM690 & CM690 II Advanced dah lama jual tongue.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 23 2016, 10:08 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Just got a check for completing a side project for my company. Upgrading my card
Will be selling my R9 390 STRIX tomorrow icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 23 2016, 10:08 AM
sHawTY
post Mar 23 2016, 12:01 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Mar 23 2016, 11:46 AM)
Replaced with the 390x?
How you know? shocking.gif
Upgraded to POWERCOLOR Radeon™ DEVIL R9 390X 8GB GDDR5

Here's hoping the temperature will be better. Will be doing a push & pull method on the radiator

Yeah, I know not worth it upgrading to 390X since 390X is just an overclocked 390
Malas nak buat full fledge watercooling and finding a full cover waterblock for 390 STRIX is a PITA
Thought of going with Corsair H90 + NZXT Kraken G10, but having trouble finding a suitable heatsink for the PWM on the 390 Strix

So I just abandon everything and go for the Devil
PowerColor FAKAP tak guna watercooling on the Devil 13. Kalau diorang buat watercooling for the Devil 13, I would get that instead of the 390X Devil

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 23 2016, 12:08 PM
sHawTY
post Mar 23 2016, 02:12 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Gregyong Because Fury X with liquid cooling is extra 1K rclxs0.gif
The cheque that I got only enough for the R9 390X Devil by Powercolor
sHawTY
post Mar 23 2016, 02:20 PM

Frequent Reporter