Nokia N80 Club Reborned!, Continue all our discussion here...

mikeis18
post Dec 2 2006, 11:40 AM

472 posts

Hey people. I've got a N80 too, and it rocks! Luv the speed, display, and wifi. Size is a lil small for my large hands though...

I just updated to the latest version via Nokia Software Updater i downloaded from the Nokia UK site last night. Haven't tested it enough.. but I found that after I restore the backup, the programs i installed prior to updating are gone, like autolock, agile, etc.

I want to ask if anybody uses any messengers on their N80. Agile messenger works like a charm, but it has a 7-day limit sad.gif so I'm looking for cheaper alternatives. I tried to install Live messenger for MSN and Yahoo Go! but both of them doesn't work on my Digi WAP. It comes out with a unable to connect to server error for both. I won't be able to try for Wifi until monday at work. Anybody has a cheaper way for messenger? 'illegal' methods are not preferred, but it is good information to know... cool.gif

notworthy.gif Thanks! notworthy.gif

P.S. Add me in the user list!! Thanks! notworthy.gif
mikeis18
post Dec 2 2006, 02:00 PM

472 posts

it took me about 15 mins... including restoring my backup. remember to backup your data!
mikeis18
post Jan 30 2007, 11:36 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Jan 29 2007, 02:10 PM)
I want to flash my firmware to n80ie... can anyone show me how..

GTG
Yay! I upgraded my firmware from N80 to N80iE! just follow the instructions at this site. The instructions are step by step. All I can say is, TENSION ALL THE WAY!! Oh ya, and my N80iE supports chinese chars rclxms.gif Just use the Hong Kong ver for product code... Not sure how this effects the warranty for my unit, but most probably no more warranty tongue.gif

mikeis18
post Feb 2 2007, 01:35 PM

472 posts

Sorry... I was away for a couple of days, so didn't catch up over here tongue.gif

QUOTE(vampiric @ Feb 1 2007, 07:18 PM)
Just finish upgrade for my friend to HK apac version.
Funny thing is hehe... found his phone pronouce the chinese character in cantonese!!

dunno can switch or not.

Mine is china apac, so it pronounce in mandarin. dun bother to flash mine, cause tedious process.. sleep.gif
Where can I access this text to speech program? So far I only use it to read some chinese SMS... other than that no use coz I'm not really good in chinese tongue.gif

QUOTE(kenneth87 @ Jan 31 2007, 01:17 AM)
Cant access leh....  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

EDIT: Just found out another site to do that...

Update FIRMWARE to IE ver.

I want to ask 1 thing, do i need to follow the region in order for me to update successfully? Mine is from US, which region should i choose? I would prefer that my phone can read chinese. Need it for dictionary purpose desperately... sweat.gif
I think for the phone, the hardware is the same for any region... the firmware installed will follow watever product code u put in... even if u put in Arab product code in US phone, it will install the Arab firmware. Just remember to download the firmware for the right region (APAC)!!!

0.0168sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:42 PM