Nokia N80 Club Reborned!, Continue all our discussion here...

kevin613
post Feb 27 2007, 04:57 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Feb 27 2007, 10:47 AM)
Frankly speaking, I didn't experience any lag before the firmware upgrade and I didn't experience any lag also after the firmware upgrade. For your information, my phone is on 2G memory card some more. Maybe the definition of lag is varies between people but I think N80 is giving me very satisfactory fast respond  thumbup.gif
me, my bro and my dad is on N80+2Gb Toshiba MiniSD too, i don't really feel the lag, unless if i set the message to store in memory card, then it'll be laggy when opening SMS.
kevin613
post Apr 29 2007, 11:40 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Soulsareworthless @ Apr 29 2007, 02:01 AM)
My 11 month old N80's screen has been giving problems for the past week. There are minute horizontal lines across the screen occasionally. I'm using the default theme and the blue tone also appears purplish.
ur ribbon is wornt, better send it to claim warranty while u still can...
kevin613
post Apr 29 2007, 02:31 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Soulsareworthless @ Apr 29 2007, 01:30 PM)
What's a ribbon?
the very very thin cable that connects the upper half and the lower half of N80. some call it as flexi cable as well cause it's thin and flexible, usually used in slider and flip phones..
kevin613
post Apr 29 2007, 07:55 PM

2,236 posts

dunno the exact figure for N80, my bro's N80 failed once for the same reason too, sent for warranty, while my N80 and my dad's N80 are still working fine, albeit the loose slider.. but common sense is that the price will probably be 3 digit, and the figure probably starts with 2 or 3.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kevin613: Apr 29 2007, 07:56 PM
kevin613
post Apr 29 2007, 09:53 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Apr 29 2007, 09:25 PM)
wow.whole family using the N80.  thumbup.gif  laugh.gif

any reason behind this? tongue.gif
my bro runs a hp shop.. tongue.gif
when my bro gave the 1st N80 to my dad, he noticed the hassle of different charger connector between the older nokia models and the N series..
so he gradually upgraded my whole family's phone to N series so we can just bring 1 charger when we go for family outing..

anyway, all our Nseries are not new units, all are traded in units after raya, which most probably had just been used for few months and still in good condition.. there's always this trend every year, the sales would peak before raya, then after raya, the purchasing power will decrease cause everyone no more money, and that is when they will come trade in their expensive phones for cheaper ones and get some cash from us..

every year this trend would repeat itself, and by next raya, my current N80 warranty will probably be running out already, so it's time to dispose them off (to save the risk of repairing cost if problem arise) and wait for traded in units.. this explains why my family members change phone by annual basis.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kevin613: Apr 29 2007, 09:57 PM
kevin613
post Apr 29 2007, 11:46 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Soulsareworthless @ Apr 29 2007, 11:02 PM)
TAKAKOM said the AP warranty doesn't cover the ribbon.  sad.gif
shit them.. buy from another AP company next time or get ori..
my bro's AP N80 managed to claim the ribbon.. his is even more serious, the screen is blank when fully slide up, only visible when the slide is half..
kevin613
post May 3 2007, 07:28 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Serial8000 @ May 3 2007, 05:08 PM)
How iF I wish to download "Chinese Dictionary" & I've already got the aplication but cannot "Install" yet , so I update the "Firmware" to the super Latest :

V 4.0707.0.7
28-03-2007
RM-92
Nokia N80 (02)

But I Still cannot "Install" the Chinese Dictionary apps" ? so where did I missed ? HOW ? plz Help ty icon_question.gif  blush.gif
do u have the dictionary installer file? it's around 3.6mb, u need to have that file before u can install the dict, otherwise, the dict will only appear as a link in your application folder.. another thing probably is the language.. u flash ur phone online? that should be english only rite?
kevin613
post Sep 12 2007, 09:30 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Sep 12 2007, 09:22 AM)
thanks for ur reply bro... dunno how come like that... i take care of my phone so well. Nvr drop on da ground b4 or knock anything hard. Anyways, which nokia center u took to? can do it in one day? i mean sent in n take back on the same day itself?

Is every nokia center capable of fixing the phone?
it is not a matter of knocking or dropping, being a slider itself is already a guaranteed that it'll fail sooner than those model that doesn't use ribbon, cause theres wear and tear everytime u slide it up and down. anyway, i've seen the whole process of replacing the ribbon(my own phone), and it can be done in matters of 30 minutes max, so its definitely possible to replace it within 1 day, it all depends on how efficient is the service centre.. i have mine replaced by my brother's staff, including tightening of the whole slider mechanism(by bending a small metal piece that grips between the upper piece of N80 and lower piece of N80), now the whole sliding feels more solid, not loose like before..
kevin613
post Sep 12 2007, 01:10 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Sep 12 2007, 12:10 PM)
i c i c. thanks for enlightening me. So is this confirm a ribbon problem? I'll b in KL this weekend for Jacky Cheung concert, so any Nokia Service Center at Midvalley or 1U?

Bro Kevin, how much u fixed ur ribbon problem? Is ur bro's staff wif Nokia Service Center? If dun mind, can tell me da place and name of da person in charge of service?

By da way, do i need to backup my phone b4 sending it in?
i got mine fixed at cost price(only the ribbon cost), which i cannot disclose here.. my bro is the owner of a HP shop, not related to nokia service centre..
and no backup needed, all data should still be intact after the ribbon being replaced. but it doesnt hurt to backup also if u're worry..
kevin613
post Sep 12 2007, 05:53 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Sep 12 2007, 03:34 PM)
oh crap oh crap.. im experiencing the same problem here!!  sad.gif
sometimes ok sometimes white screen..
then the phone abit lag lag..
so its the ribbon problem la?
wah... even the menu button press oso cannot ar...  doh.gif
white screen confirmed is ribbon issue.. i replaced my ribbon last time because of white screen also..
kevin613
post Sep 16 2007, 02:30 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Jazzing @ Sep 16 2007, 12:39 PM)
have this question bugging me very long d....when i charge my n80 i need to put a book or something below the charger pin where it connects the phone. if i dont it wont charge. izzit the phone? the charger? the cable? or something else? or izzit all the n80 also like this?? my dad uses a ciplak nokia phone that can share the same charger also dun have this problem.....tak boleh tahan my dad kutuk my n80...sakit hati >.<
probably your phone's charger pin is damaged already.. never had this problem..
kevin613
post Sep 20 2007, 12:40 PM

2,236 posts

have been using mine for more than a year, never had problems with my keypad.. the seller said common problem only, just as a convenient excuse for himself.. should have check here 1st.. anyway, nowadays nokia centre also con eh.. charge so much for simple repair..

toby.c13. yours is the blank screen problem?
no need to change LCD lah, just change the ribbon..
kevin613
post Sep 23 2007, 12:49 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Sep 21 2007, 01:45 AM)
harr.. not to say really blank screen..
sometimes slide up then white screen. sometimes ok.
shit told them to change it d..

exactly same like mine lah bro... just replace the flexi cable or ribbon.. no other replacement needed..
kevin613
post Sep 25 2007, 02:49 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Sep 24 2007, 06:36 PM)
habis le.. just got my phone today..
charge me 360 for everything.. sigh..
but got some minor glitch..
the phone sometimes switch off by itself.
how come ar?  sad.gif
holy sh1t... RM360???
mine kaotim below RM50 lah..
where u repair, send the phone back and ask them why auto off.. mine never had this problem..
just simple as open up, replace the flexi cable/ribbon, pasang balik, done..
kevin613
post Sep 25 2007, 04:28 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Sep 25 2007, 01:11 PM)
sigh.. kena pawned kao kao.. sad.gif
sigh...
the LCD no need replace lah..
it's just the flexi cable cracked, failed to send signals to the LCD, thats why white screen..
doh.gif
kevin613
post Oct 8 2007, 11:34 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Oct 8 2007, 04:45 PM)
Did i nid 2 change my hotlink sim card for the 3G???  rclxub.gif
no u dun need.. just activate 3G, and it should work..
i never change mine also, using since 2002 and i'm using it fine..
kevin613
post Oct 9 2007, 06:42 PM

2,236 posts

it's normal for the battery to be warm when it is charging.. so, maybe it's your friend's unit that is weird.. common sense lah..
kevin613
post Oct 26 2007, 12:07 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(azamreeves @ Oct 25 2007, 04:32 PM)
hi ..just want to update...i have repaired the phone at nokia care jln pahang.....as i predict..my lcd is working fine...only the slider problem(change the slider rm 120) & ribbon (rm 80)...thank i god...if not i'm wasting RM 320 just for LCD screen...

so those have problem with nokia ..u can go to nokia care at jln pahang...if u go to berjaya ..u may overcharged with wrongly phone diagnosis.

Added on October 25, 2007, 4:59 pm

mine also almost a year condition still ok..just after 1 month the warranty expired then it have the problem...so for nokia n80 beware on how u slide ur phone...make sure it not to loose..if not the same thing will happen to u
changed the slider??
what is there to change? as far as i know, there's nothing much to be changed for the sliding mechanism, cause N80 is not spring loaded, there's just 2 piece of metal on left and right holding the upper and lower piece, and 1 piece of metal to provide the grip only.. the grip/tight/firm feeling when u slide the phone is basically the friction of the metal piece on the phone body, and the metal piece will eventually go slightly out of shape, and hence, loose slider..
the grip can be made firm again by bending the center metal piece, and no changing of parts needed.. i hope u're not paying RM120 to nokia centre just to have that small piece of metal bended..
RM80 for the ribbon is considered expensive too.. but if u say u're paying the premium for peace of mind, then it's your choice loh.. i'm just trying to let u know that all the problem can be solved for less than RM50 if u have any trusted technician.. mine is repaired at cost price that would simply sound ridiculous to u after u paid RM200 to fix the problem.

This post has been edited by kevin613: Oct 26 2007, 12:16 AM
kevin613
post Oct 26 2007, 08:23 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(azamreeves @ Oct 26 2007, 09:38 AM)
hmm..you're too late to telling me all these.i have already repaired the phone..maybe u can advise to other forumer which still searching help....u can put your friends phone here or request the frumer to pm u for more detail...but i'm not trusting any of mobile kiosk in sg wang or other places because my friends have experience with h/p component been swapped.

my point telling my story is better not to to nokia care berjaya  vmad.gif .....which i can detect their unprofesionalisme.quoting the unnecessary repairs..and it take take for 3 day to quote the price....while in nokia care jln pahang ..the quotation is done in 5 minute & the repairing done in 20 minute.... whistling.gif
my advice would be to skip nokia care if your phone is no longer under warranty.. i can smell that nokia care is trying to earn some quick buck by always quoting extra.. my bro runs a HP shop, and he's the 1 that fixed my phone, if u lives around kajang/bangi area, then PM me, and i'll tell u where to find my bro.. smile.gif
kevin613
post Nov 13 2007, 08:37 AM

2,236 posts

for those around kajang or bangi area and wanna change ribbon, PM me.. can get it done for less than RM50..

0.0525sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:16 AM