Nokia N80 Club Reborned!, Continue all our discussion here...

jwai85
post Oct 2 2006, 10:53 PM

252 posts

hie guys... n80 user here...just decided to come to lyn to check out the n80 scene here ;P...

why isnt anyone talking about software???
imho...n80 is a good phone...can do alot with it...edit word docs, excel etc with office suite...
use it to organise my life...a pocket pc would be better but cant complain for the price i paid for my unit plus it has 3g...
so far i convert my vids and movies to mp4 coz playback is smooth and good ... (download super video converter from erightsoft.com for free)

im still trying to get smart movie and divx player to play avi files properly, it lags and goes out of sync alot and the quality sucks...anyone has experience converting movies to avi and playing it on smart movie or divx player ?? (divx player is free btw)

another thing is ive read alot about surfing the net with the n80 browser where there is a little map of the whole page and then there is the cursor and stuff where they say is like the real internet browsing experience on a phone..but i dont know how to use any of them..all i get is standard web browsing where the page is downsized to fit the phones screen...any hints guys??

keep this thread informative ppl...

jwai85
post Oct 5 2006, 02:08 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Oct 2 2006, 11:08 PM)
if i'm not wrong the N80 have 2 web browser, one for WAP and the other for surfing the full website pages one. Refering to my N93 i have 2, both is globe icon but name is different, for WAP it's call "services" for full html website one is called "web"
QUOTE(Survivor @ Oct 3 2006, 07:58 AM)
Yeah, u must be careful when you choose the browsing application in N80. For WAP, u will need to use the "Services", for full HTML website, use the "Web" instead.
haha..silly me...thanxx a bunch buys...

can anyone answer these questions :
1) Has anyone done diy firmware update with the nikia software???
2)any dangers or things i have to keep in mind while using the software so tat i dont brick my phone??
4)mine is an ap set branded with some hk service provider , 3 mobile i think... can i update the fw and get rid of it?? advice anyone ???

thanx in advance smile.gif
jwai85
post Oct 6 2006, 06:15 PM

252 posts

i just noticed that my previous post had so many spelling errors doh.gif ...hahaha..paiseh paisehh blush.gif ...

i tried using the updater yesterday and it failed ... sumhow there was a prompt that said that there werent any updates for my n80..and mine is v3.0617 ...i think sumhow maybe i hafta get rid of the 3 telco branding 1st... what about u guys?? anyone using overseas n80 with branding but successfully updated their phone to nonbranded fw??

one more thing im curious to know is if its possible to add more icons to the GO TO function?? there is a search bar, but onli 3 icons (inbox, notepad,calender) i mean how stupid can it be??

Survivor , sorry to hear about your phone...im sure everyone updating their phones will be xtra careful after what happened to yours...
jwai85
post Oct 6 2006, 06:27 PM

252 posts

i just comfirmed at the nokia forum...my fw will depend on 3 telco...so i hafta flash the telco free fw 1st... then onli can update as usual...arghhh!!!!
hafta spend sum money upfront after all...
jwai85
post Feb 28 2007, 06:40 PM

252 posts

can anyone give me a product code for N80 with chinese support, wanna update my n80 to N80IE coz mine is Maxis 3g branded...wanna unbrand it
jwai85
post Mar 2 2007, 03:10 AM

252 posts

Thanx for the info vampiric, appreciate it... will update when i go home this weekend, line slow here plus im using my roomies maxis bb...sucks...

0.0388sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:45 AM