is bodybuilding supplement bad for health?, Kidney, liver, bones, cancer?

TSAudiophilic
post Jun 22 2015, 05:27 PM, updated 11y ago

79 posts

Hi all, as per title, some of the bodybuilding supplement are not tested by lab, and a year ago bodybuilding.com get sued because of selling supplements which contained steroid. It actually made me felt no confident with those supplements in the market, we actually dont know what we are consuming, at the early stage we might don't feel anything with our body, but at the later stage when we grow older, will the supplement affect our health and caused us serious problem like cancer, joint, kidney etc problem. Really appreciate if those experts in nutrition or healthcare or professional eg: specialist or GP to share some info to the layman in bodybuilding or healthcare like me. notworthy.gif
Miracles
post Jun 22 2015, 07:24 PM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

QUOTE(Audiophilic @ Jun 22 2015, 05:27 PM)
some of the bodybuilding supplement are not tested by lab, and a year ago bodybuilding.com get sued because of selling supplements which contained steroid.
Sources?

Most of the big brands are approved by FDA before selling them out in the market.
TSAudiophilic
post Jun 23 2015, 09:19 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(Miracles @ Jun 22 2015, 07:24 PM)
Sources?

Most of the big brands are approved by FDA before selling them out in the market.
as far as i know, they just approve it by paperwork but then no lab test before selling it. i think when someone has problem then they only begin to test.

http://www.fda.gov/ICECI/CriminalInvestiga...s/ucm305494.htm
ghoster
post Jun 23 2015, 11:14 AM

I got 4 stars
641 posts

if you use any supplement without knowing what its actually for, and dont have enough knowledge to use it accordingly, it will affect your health.

why we put the highlights on bodybuilding supplements only? eat lots of junk food everyday will affect your health too ya know? smile.gif
TSAudiophilic
post Jun 23 2015, 01:48 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(ghoster @ Jun 23 2015, 11:14 AM)
if you use any supplement without knowing what its actually for, and dont have enough knowledge to use it accordingly, it will affect your health.

why we put the highlights on bodybuilding supplements only? eat lots of junk food everyday will affect your health too ya know?  smile.gif
Ya definitely improper diet will affect our health, my thread only focus for BB supplement discussion smile.gif
degraw1993
post Jun 23 2015, 02:20 PM

1,892 posts

do you know actually what's supplement for? and why it's called supplement? people often mistaken supplement as a replacement food that's why they consume too much.
TSAudiophilic
post Jun 23 2015, 04:36 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ Jun 23 2015, 02:20 PM)
do you know actually what's supplement for? and why it's called supplement? people often mistaken supplement as a replacement food that's why they consume too much.
ya i understand it , but my main concern is the SUPPLEMENT side effect in long term because you do not know what the ingredients they use, and i've met some hard gainer out there their daily dietary is packed with different types of supplement with the main food like morning whey+bcaa, afternoon whey, pre-workout creatine + preworkout supplement, post workout whey, before bed Casein and ETC. i am quite worry about that if the supplement which will bring hazards to our body. hopefully my question above is clear to everyone. not discussing about supplement replacing main sources of food.
VeeJay
post Jun 23 2015, 04:46 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(Audiophilic @ Jun 23 2015, 04:36 PM)
ya i understand it , but my main concern is the SUPPLEMENT side effect in long term because you do not know what the ingredients they use, and i've met some hard gainer out there their daily dietary is packed with different types of supplement with the main food like morning whey+bcaa, afternoon whey, pre-workout creatine + preworkout supplement, post workout whey, before bed Casein and ETC. i am quite worry about that if the supplement which will bring hazards to our body. hopefully my question above is clear to everyone. not discussing about supplement replacing main sources of food.
Scientifically there had been tons of study on the effectiveness of these individual supplements and its long term effect.

thus far as long as its taken as per the recommended dosage, there had not been any ill effect of these supplement.

Here is one on Creatine
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26016930

kshen
post Jun 23 2015, 08:52 PM

If only these stars are edilbe
702 posts

QUOTE(Audiophilic @ Jun 22 2015, 05:27 PM)
Hi all, as per title, some of the bodybuilding supplement are not tested by lab, and a year ago bodybuilding.com get sued because of selling supplements which contained steroid. It actually made me felt no confident with those supplements in the market, we actually dont know what we are consuming, at the early stage we might don't feel anything with our body, but at the later stage when we grow older, will the supplement affect our health and caused us serious problem like cancer, joint, kidney etc problem. Really appreciate if those experts in nutrition or healthcare or professional eg: specialist or GP to share some info to the layman in bodybuilding or healthcare like me.  notworthy.gif
yea , they're fine.

Whey supplements are fine , they're just convenient source of protein. Just watch out for amino spiking in protein supplements. Helps u hit your macros.

Fat burners , can't comment much on this as I haven't use much fat burners , high dose of caffeine (that's all i know lol) and ingredients that contribute to an increase in heart rate, hence the jittery and "beastmode pumped hardcore at the gym" feeling.

Pre-workout , haven't use much . Tried a few samples , felt nothing lol.

Mass gainers, tons of sugar , tons of calories , quite a decent amount of protein. Watch out for amino spiking. Amount of calories per serving equivalent to that of a Large McDonald's Big Mac Set meal consisting of large fries, large coke and a huge ass big mac that is not that big IMO.

Creatine , refer to VeeJay's reply.

Those are just brief explanation of what I can offer in my opinion. I might have left out a few. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kshen: Jun 23 2015, 08:54 PM
Manlet
post Jun 24 2015, 10:36 PM

ᕦ (ò_óˇ) ᕤ
762 posts

i'd say depends, some supplement is even better than whole food in some way

as far as i know a world champion weightlifter, ilya ilyin, ditched meat, and gone vegan but drinking 5~7 protein shakes a day. According to him, he felt like meats like pork and lamb are so hard to digest he can feel it digesting when training, which affected his performance. In this case, protein shakes even performs better than whole food, real meat.

It just really depends on knowing what are you putting into your mouth. Anything can be bad and anything can be good too. Like some vitamin C can be taken empty stomach and some fruit actually not suitable to be taken empty stomach and so on
low yat 82
post Jun 25 2015, 09:19 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

vegan is good. it doesnt upset d stomach. mueheh..

on serious not, if u so scare of d content, buy those supplement been approved (usually locally made) by malaysia ministry of health. dats d safest way.
lingleeyen
post Jun 25 2015, 03:56 PM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jun 25 2015, 09:19 AM)

on serious not, if u so scare of d content, buy those supplement been approved (usually locally made) by malaysia ministry of health. dats d safest way.
Serious or troll?
low yat 82
post Jun 26 2015, 01:17 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Jun 25 2015, 03:56 PM)
Serious or troll?
serious la. unless u wanna send those supplement urself to hav it test at U dat hav facilities. our local lab test r still hav much better integrity compare to US n stricter rules when comes to locally made supplements / health related.
ah_suknat
post Jun 28 2015, 02:20 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

I would be more worried of fake major brand supplements.

Its so easy to fake them, just put in some flavoured powder and copy the packaging.
helven
post Jun 28 2015, 03:25 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

in bolehland?
Armesh
post Jun 28 2015, 10:23 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Jun 28 2015, 03:25 PM)
in bolehland?
https://www.facebook.com/MxTMuscleEnergySup...73193206127751/
alpha33
post Jun 29 2015, 02:13 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Jun 28 2015, 10:23 PM)
maybe its me. tried the MXT 3 boxes with no results. sad.gif

Armesh
post Jun 29 2015, 05:09 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Jun 29 2015, 02:13 PM)
maybe its me. tried the MXT 3 boxes with no results. sad.gif
Wao people actually buy that bs.... while I advertise legit coaching service 0 response.

This post has been edited by Armesh: Jun 29 2015, 05:23 PM
rakyat
post Jun 29 2015, 05:30 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

MXT is all over fb w plenty of abang sado endorsing. Your advertisement posted where? Maybe wrong media?
Armesh
post Jun 29 2015, 05:46 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Jun 29 2015, 05:30 PM)
MXT is all over fb w plenty of abang sado endorsing. Your advertisement posted where? Maybe wrong media?
FB also, but I don't promise "SADO DALAM 1 BULAN!" or whatever magic marketing with obvious fake testimonials. I keep it honest & real. The "abang sado" also just like random guys posing with the product.

However I advertise in English and target all races.
Not to be racist of anything, but I notice that like 99% of the people who comment (and probably buyers) on the MXT ad are Malays. Weird pattern, boggles my mind.

This post has been edited by Armesh: Jun 29 2015, 05:47 PM

0.0215sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:35 PM