is bodybuilding supplement bad for health?, Kidney, liver, bones, cancer?
Jun 22 2015, 05:27 PM, updated 11y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
79 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Hi all, as per title, some of the bodybuilding supplement are not tested by lab, and a year ago bodybuilding.com get sued because of selling supplements which contained steroid. It actually made me felt no confident with those supplements in the market, we actually dont know what we are consuming, at the early stage we might don't feel anything with our body, but at the later stage when we grow older, will the supplement affect our health and caused us serious problem like cancer, joint, kidney etc problem. Really appreciate if those experts in nutrition or healthcare or professional eg: specialist or GP to share some info to the layman in bodybuilding or healthcare like me.
Jun 22 2015, 07:24 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,171 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Jun 23 2015, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(Miracles @ Jun 22 2015, 07:24 PM) as far as i know, they just approve it by paperwork but then no lab test before selling it. i think when someone has problem then they only begin to test. http://www.fda.gov/ICECI/CriminalInvestiga...s/ucm305494.htm |
Jun 23 2015, 11:14 AM
641 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
if you use any supplement without knowing what its actually for, and dont have enough knowledge to use it accordingly, it will affect your health.
why we put the highlights on bodybuilding supplements only? eat lots of junk food everyday will affect your health too ya know? |
Jun 23 2015, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(ghoster @ Jun 23 2015, 11:14 AM) if you use any supplement without knowing what its actually for, and dont have enough knowledge to use it accordingly, it will affect your health. Ya definitely improper diet will affect our health, my thread only focus for BB supplement discussion why we put the highlights on bodybuilding supplements only? eat lots of junk food everyday will affect your health too ya know? |
Jun 23 2015, 02:20 PM
1,892 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
do you know actually what's supplement for? and why it's called supplement? people often mistaken supplement as a replacement food that's why they consume too much.
Jun 23 2015, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(degraw1993 @ Jun 23 2015, 02:20 PM) do you know actually what's supplement for? and why it's called supplement? people often mistaken supplement as a replacement food that's why they consume too much. ya i understand it , but my main concern is the SUPPLEMENT side effect in long term because you do not know what the ingredients they use, and i've met some hard gainer out there their daily dietary is packed with different types of supplement with the main food like morning whey+bcaa, afternoon whey, pre-workout creatine + preworkout supplement, post workout whey, before bed Casein and ETC. i am quite worry about that if the supplement which will bring hazards to our body. hopefully my question above is clear to everyone. not discussing about supplement replacing main sources of food. |
Jun 23 2015, 04:46 PM
3,854 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(Audiophilic @ Jun 23 2015, 04:36 PM) ya i understand it , but my main concern is the SUPPLEMENT side effect in long term because you do not know what the ingredients they use, and i've met some hard gainer out there their daily dietary is packed with different types of supplement with the main food like morning whey+bcaa, afternoon whey, pre-workout creatine + preworkout supplement, post workout whey, before bed Casein and ETC. i am quite worry about that if the supplement which will bring hazards to our body. hopefully my question above is clear to everyone. not discussing about supplement replacing main sources of food. Scientifically there had been tons of study on the effectiveness of these individual supplements and its long term effect.thus far as long as its taken as per the recommended dosage, there had not been any ill effect of these supplement. Here is one on Creatine http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26016930 |
Jun 23 2015, 08:52 PM
702 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: Malaysia , KL , wangsa maju |
QUOTE(Audiophilic @ Jun 22 2015, 05:27 PM) Hi all, as per title, some of the bodybuilding supplement are not tested by lab, and a year ago bodybuilding.com get sued because of selling supplements which contained steroid. It actually made me felt no confident with those supplements in the market, we actually dont know what we are consuming, at the early stage we might don't feel anything with our body, but at the later stage when we grow older, will the supplement affect our health and caused us serious problem like cancer, joint, kidney etc problem. Really appreciate if those experts in nutrition or healthcare or professional eg: specialist or GP to share some info to the layman in bodybuilding or healthcare like me. yea , they're fine. Whey supplements are fine , they're just convenient source of protein. Just watch out for amino spiking in protein supplements. Helps u hit your macros. Fat burners , can't comment much on this as I haven't use much fat burners , high dose of caffeine (that's all i know lol) and ingredients that contribute to an increase in heart rate, hence the jittery and "beastmode pumped hardcore at the gym" feeling. Pre-workout , haven't use much . Tried a few samples , felt nothing lol. Mass gainers, tons of sugar , tons of calories , quite a decent amount of protein. Watch out for amino spiking. Amount of calories per serving equivalent to that of a Large McDonald's Big Mac Set meal consisting of large fries, large coke and a huge ass big mac that is not that big IMO. Creatine , refer to VeeJay's reply. Those are just brief explanation of what I can offer in my opinion. I might have left out a few. This post has been edited by kshen: Jun 23 2015, 08:54 PM |
Jun 24 2015, 10:36 PM
762 posts Joined: Nov 2012 From: 我们都是炎黄子孙 |
i'd say depends, some supplement is even better than whole food in some way
as far as i know a world champion weightlifter, ilya ilyin, ditched meat, and gone vegan but drinking 5~7 protein shakes a day. According to him, he felt like meats like pork and lamb are so hard to digest he can feel it digesting when training, which affected his performance. In this case, protein shakes even performs better than whole food, real meat. It just really depends on knowing what are you putting into your mouth. Anything can be bad and anything can be good too. Like some vitamin C can be taken empty stomach and some fruit actually not suitable to be taken empty stomach and so on |
Jun 25 2015, 09:19 AM
4,081 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
vegan is good. it doesnt upset d stomach. mueheh..
on serious not, if u so scare of d content, buy those supplement been approved (usually locally made) by malaysia ministry of health. dats d safest way. |
Jun 25 2015, 03:56 PM
1,376 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
Jun 26 2015, 01:17 PM
4,081 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Jun 28 2015, 02:20 PM
5,170 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: /k//k/, /k/undasang |
I would be more worried of fake major brand supplements.
Its so easy to fake them, just put in some flavoured powder and copy the packaging. |
Jun 28 2015, 03:25 PM
919 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Jun 28 2015, 10:23 PM
1,493 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jun 25 2015, 09:19 AM) vegan is good. it doesnt upset d stomach. mueheh.. on serious not, if u so scare of d content, buy those supplement been approved (usually locally made) by malaysia ministry of health. dats d safest way. QUOTE(helven @ Jun 28 2015, 03:25 PM) https://www.facebook.com/MxTMuscleEnergySup...73193206127751/ |
Jun 29 2015, 02:13 PM
1,010 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(Armesh @ Jun 28 2015, 10:23 PM) maybe its me. tried the MXT 3 boxes with no results. |
Jun 29 2015, 05:09 PM
Jun 29 2015, 05:30 PM
1,349 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: USJ |
MXT is all over fb w plenty of abang sado endorsing. Your advertisement posted where? Maybe wrong media?
Jun 29 2015, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(rakyat @ Jun 29 2015, 05:30 PM) MXT is all over fb w plenty of abang sado endorsing. Your advertisement posted where? Maybe wrong media? FB also, but I don't promise "SADO DALAM 1 BULAN!" or whatever magic marketing with obvious fake testimonials. I keep it honest & real. The "abang sado" also just like random guys posing with the product.However I advertise in English and target all races. Not to be racist of anything, but I notice that like 99% of the people who comment (and probably buyers) on the MXT ad are Malays. Weird pattern, boggles my mind. This post has been edited by Armesh: Jun 29 2015, 05:47 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
5 queries
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:34 PM |